Two Tofu Dishes and Some Thank Yous

Hello everyone! Hope you’re all doing well. Here’s what I woke up to this Tuesday morning:

That’s Canadian weather for ya. Oh well, suck it up and move on. Before I forget, I’ve been meaning to tell you that WordPress recovered my lost comments from one of my posts a while back. I had published a post, gotten comments for it, went back and tried to add a link to a giveaway on the same post, and lost all my comments. Although they were unable to recover every comment, they did recover most of them. They told me that other people had comments erased on that day as well and it was nothing that I did that caused the comments to get erased and apologized. So thank you WordPress for replying back to my email and recovering what you could.

Anyways, I made this tofu dish last week.

And boy was it delicious! If it looks familiar, it’s probably cause you saw it on the lovely Jessie’s post @ The Happiness in Health. If you want the full recipe just click on the link. Not only is this girl one of the most sincere bloggers you’ll find in the blogosphere, but she also has pretty awesome, nutritious recipes. Please drop by her blog and say hi when you get a chance. I promise you won’t be disappointed. I’m so happy to have become friends with her through this wonder world of blogging. She was also sweet enough to pass the “I Love Your Blog” award on to me. Thank you so much Jessie! You don’t know how happy this makes me feel to receive an award from you 😀 If I were to make a list of the bloggers I want to pass this award on to, the list would probably never end so instead I’m passing this award on to all of my readers and all the blogs I’ve ever visited and commented on. If I didn’t love your blog I wouldn’t be reading and commenting on it.

I was also lucky enough to receive this award:

This award was passed on to me from the CookNGs sisters @ cookng. Thank you for thinking of me ladies 😀 These sweet sisters love to share their wonderful recipes, restaurant reviews, and stories. If you love food, they have some pretty great recipes so please drop by their blog and say hi when you get a chance.

Here are the rules:
1. Copy and paste the award on your blog.
2. List who gave the award to you and use a link to her blog (or hyperlink).
3. List 10 things that make you happy.
4. Pass the award on to other bloggers and visit their blog to let them know about the award.

Because this is my second time to have the honor of receiving this award, I’m going to link numbers 3 & 4 back to my previous award post here. And to show my appreciation to the CookNgs sisters I’d like to share this stir-fried water spinach with fermented tofu (AKA fu yu ong choy) recipe with them cause a little birdie told me how much they love fu yu, and with all of you as well.

ingredients:

  • 1 batch water spinach (ong choy)
  • 1 Tbsp chopped garlic
  • 2 Tbsp cooking oil
  • 2 Tbsp white cooking wine
  • 1 or 2 chopped red chili peppers (optional)

fermented tofu sauce:

  • 3 or 4 cubes fermented tofu
  • 1 tsp chicken or vegetable broth powder
  • 1 Tbsp corn starch
  • 3/4 cup water

In a bowl mash up 4 cubes of fermented tofu with a fork and stir until you achieve a smooth consistency. Add the chicken broth powder, corn starch, and water. Mix and stir the ingredients together trying to get rid of as many lumps as possible. Set aside for later use.

In a wok heat up 2 tablespoons cooking oil on high heat. Add garlic and cook until the garlic starts to turn golden brown. Add the water spinach along with 2 tablespoons cooking wine. Toss the water spinach around until fully cooked (all the stem and leaves have turned a dark green colour).

Turn the heat down to medium. Add the fermented tofu sauce and the red chili pepper (I chose to leave the chili pepper out because of my kiddies but I highly recomend adding them). Stir the sauce around until it has coated all the water spinach. Turn off the heat and plate.

If you do decide to make this dish, I really hope you enjoy it as it is my favorite veggie dish to make and order at restaurants.

And last but not least, the lovely Leah @ Why Deprive shared this award with me. If you’re one of the lucky ones who have discovered her blog then you’ll know what a pleasure it is to read everyday. And if you’re a dog lover like me, she often shows pics of her cute doggie. This girl writes rain or shine and she’s not afraid to speak the truth. I appreciate your honesty on your blog Leah so it actually means a lot to me to receive this award from you! Thank you so much!

So heres how it works, I list some random facts about myself, and then I pass this award on to some other bloggers.

Here are my random facts:

  1. I LOVE dogs. I used to have a Min Pin but he passed away a couple of years ago and I can’t wait till my kiddies get older so I can get another dog.
  2. I have theme songs of kiddie shows like Dora, Ni Hao Kai-lan, Wonderpets, etc. running through my head all day….sigh.
  3. I’m learning to not have the urge to straighten everything on the table 😉

I’m just going to list 3 since this is a pretty long post and I don’t want to bore you if I haven’t already.

Here are my nominees:

Aletheia @ The (incr)edible life of la fille naturelle

Devaki @ Weave a Thousand Flavors

Natasha @ 5 Star Foodie Culinary Adventures

Lazaro @ Lazaro Cooks

Once again, please do not feel that you need to participate. I just wanted to pass this award on to you to let you know how much I love your yummy food blog. That’s it for today everyone. Hope you’re having a great week so far. Until next time friends and family.

34 Responses to “Two Tofu Dishes and Some Thank Yous”


  1. 1 Devaki May 5, 2010 at 1:22 am

    Dear lequan – I love ong choy a.k.a kang kong with sambal – hot and spicy – that is how we used to chow down in Singapore! But I also love how you’ve fixed yours with garlic. So yum…:)

    That snow is freaky! WOW – I know my little boys would love to make snow angels. Hope you cuddled in and stayed warm.

    Ciao, Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  2. 2 tigerfish May 5, 2010 at 4:08 am

    It is snowing? Wow. With these dishes you made, I will stay home and be good.

  3. 3 A Canadian Foodie May 5, 2010 at 7:36 am

    What is water spinach? Where would I find fermented tofu? TNT? But the water spinach really interests me. What is it – where would I find it… how does it taste compared to spinach… help us out here who are so interested and so uninformed about so much of your cuisine! It looks yummy. And fermented tofu sounds like it might be a bit sharp – or sour? Maybe it adds a citrus note?
    🙂
    Valerie

    • 4 luvtoeat May 5, 2010 at 6:51 pm

      Water spinach hmmm….how would I describe it? A bit more crunch than regular spinach for sure. Tastes better too (at least to me). They sell them at TNT or any of the bigger Chinese supermarkets such as Lucky 97 in china town. It would probably be called Ong Choy though rather than water spinach. Fermented tofu can be found in the same stores as well. It comes in a glass jar. Very salty and strong tasting. I’m so sorry, I’m not the greatest at describing tastes. Anyone wanna help? Lol. Hope that helps a bit at least. I love your curiosity in new foods! 😀

  4. 5 Ameena May 5, 2010 at 7:40 am

    I used to love tofu until I realized it makes my skin totally break out!! I love your recipes because you are so creative!

    I can’t believe the weather you have over there. I thought the snow is over by April?? Talk about a late storm.

  5. 6 Kristen @ Change of Pace May 5, 2010 at 9:17 am

    Omg… Want to trade weather for a couple days? It’s 85 degrees right now here. I will gladly take the snow! Well maybe just for a little bit…. I have those exact songs in my head too all day. Wonderpets is the worst for some reason!

  6. 7 MaryMoh May 5, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    My gosh…still snowing there! It’s not snowing here but still freezing cold 😦 I really miss the sun and hot weather back home.

    Your tofu and ong chai (we cal it kangkong) look very delicious. I miss the kangkong. I don;t like the ones sold here…more stems than leaves and expensive.

    Congrats on your award! You surely deserve it. You have a lovely blog. Thanks very much for sharing. Keep Blogging Keep Smiling! 😀

  7. 8 5 Star Foodie May 5, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    Is it really snowing, wow! Congrats on your award and thank you so much for sharing it with me too!

  8. 9 eatspinlive May 5, 2010 at 5:37 pm

    Oh my goodness! I cannot believe that you are experiencing snow right now and we are about to open a pool here 🙂 Snow is sometimes nice for the first few days- but I hope it wont be too bad for you! Your food all looks delicious and I am so glad that you won the award! You are absolutely deserving of it! You always are so encouraging and are very inspirational! Congrats!

  9. 10 aletheiazoe May 5, 2010 at 5:42 pm

    Hi LeQuan,

    The joy that I get from receiving the Happy 101 award from you is almost too much to bear. I want to run away out of shyness and hug you out of gratitude at the same time. I’m weird. But that’s why you like me, right?

    🙂 Thank you.

    Also – your water spinach looks AMAZING! Just like Mom makes at home! 😀 Your stir-fry = so simple, and yet so delicious. YAY!

    I wanted to add that all the kind words you said about Jessie are TRUE. She – along with you and Tou Tou – are a handful of the most sincere bloggers that I have ever come across in the blogosphere. These kinds of rare finds must be treasured. I value rare people. Thank you so much for being awesome.

    🙂 aletheia

  10. 13 whydeprive May 5, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    I can’t believe its snowing there!!
    Maybe you can pretend its christmas and the snow will seem more fun!

    Thank you for saying such nice things about me amd my blog! I told my mom about my blog and she says “so what you just talk about yourself? And people actually read it?”
    Ill have to tell her that you think I’m interesting!!

  11. 15 Jessie May 5, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    Thanks for your sweet words, LeQuan! You are incredible to say such nice things about me – I swear, I’m blushing over here! I would say the same doublefold about you: you are one of the nicest, most sincere bloggers I’ve ever had the fortune of meeting, and I’ve loved all our correspondence! I hope we can meet in person someday 🙂 I’m so glad you enjoyed the tofu!

    Congrats on the well-deserved awards! I know Peter will want to make your delicious water spinach and fermented tofu dish. We actually have fermented tofu sitting in a jar in our pantry already, so we’re already halfway there!

    Do you know what kind of dog you’ll get when Kayla and Lex are older? I think I know what Ni Hao Kai-Lan means! It means “Hello, Kai-Lan”, I’m guessing? I’m practicing my Mandarin 😉 Stay warm, LeQuan, and have a wonderful evening! 😀

    • 16 luvtoeat May 5, 2010 at 11:26 pm

      i’m only speaking the truth Jessie so there’s no need to thank me.would totally love to meet you in person, too bad we;re so far away.

      i’ve always wanted a Chihuahua but Gary wants a Doberman. Yeah night and day lol. Maybe a Jack Russell cause that’s what i wanted after i got my min pin and that’s an in between dog too, not too big not too small. and they are so smart too.

  12. 17 Lazaro May 5, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    I think it is pretty clear that everyone loves Lequan and Jessie. You two are amazing bloggers and sweet people. Lequan congrats on your award, very deserving.

    I found you through Denise and I have enjoyed reading your blog. I often see you supporting many foodies I read. I want to thank you for being so supportive. People appreciate that more than words can say.

    Thank you for thinking of us and passing on this award.

    Cheers!

  13. 19 Ann May 5, 2010 at 9:28 pm

    OMG! its snowing? looks like typical winter! I bet the Spicy tofu is a perfect way to warm up the day, looks so ddelicious.

  14. 20 Cindy Aguilar May 5, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    Okay, that is incredible snow, it was like 80 degrees here today (ha ha rubbing it in :)!!) That Tofu dish looks great, I love tofu!! Congrats on the award, you deserve it most defenently!! Have a great week 🙂

  15. 21 sweetlife May 5, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    snowing wow, here in texas it hot hot..great dishes..congrast on the award..

    sweetlife

  16. 22 denise @ quickies on the dinner table May 6, 2010 at 2:12 am

    Hi LeQuan – Oh wow! I love kang kong (water spinach) and that tofu looks so yummy! That’s real Asian comfort food I’m looking at!

    You know you might want to smack me for saying this, but that snowy picture looks like absolute bliss to me 😀 I’m practically melting right now and praying that I don’t kill my AC from having it on round the clock (YIKES!)

    Btw – I have some prezzies for you over at my place. You don’t have to pass any of it along but I hope you will accept them all. Hope to see you seen dear 🙂

  17. 23 denise @ quickies on the dinner table May 6, 2010 at 2:14 am

    Oh! I forgot!! LOL Congratulations dear, on your award and yes I have to agree – Jessie is a dream 🙂

  18. 24 Katherine: What About Summer? May 6, 2010 at 7:28 pm

    do you always use white cooking wine or do you ever use vinegar or a real white wine?

  19. 26 Roti n Rice May 6, 2010 at 10:06 pm

    I hope it won’t snow here but it has been cold and rainy. The yard is a mess because of the strong winds. Can’t wait for it to warm up again.

    The ong choy looks good! I like it with the chilis. Ong choy used to be quite easily available but for the past two years, I’ve not seen it at the stores. Apparently contamination in the soil down south where it was grown. It’s sad cause it is a really delicious veggie.

    Congrats on your awards!

  20. 27 sophia May 7, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    I already know Jessie! I ADORE HER TO BITS!!! She is so pretty, but soooo sweet and warm and real that you can’t help loving her.

  21. 28 Devaki May 7, 2010 at 9:39 pm

    HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY Lequan!

    Just wanted to pop in & wish you 🙂

    Ciao, Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  22. 29 lisa ng May 11, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    Thank you for your kind words and especially the fu yu tong shoi! that’s one of my favorites! have you had baby tong choi?

    • 30 luvtoeat May 11, 2010 at 5:28 pm

      The pleasure was all mine Lisa 😀 No, I don’t think I’ve ever had baby tong choi. Do you have it in one of your recipes on your website? I’m quite intrigued.

      There is no part of the body that when broken, hurts as badly as the heart. (anonymous)

      Sent from my iPhone

  23. 31 MaryMoh June 10, 2010 at 12:26 am

    Now I’m so glad I’m not staying in Canada…snowing so bad. I’ll earn to stop complaining about Aberdeen…haha Love the tofu and water spinach dish. You have just started my craving…haha. Congrats for the awards. You really deserve it. Keep Blogging Keep Smiling!


  1. 1 Chinese Dinner With A Canadian Foodie « luvtoeat Trackback on December 19, 2010 at 4:51 pm
  2. 2 Spicy Water Spinach, Easy Omelet, and an Award « Roti n Rice Trackback on February 8, 2012 at 7:49 pm

Leave a comment




Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other subscribers