Happy Mother’s Day Mommies!

Sorry my foodie friends, no food talk or pics today so if you want to skip this post I totally understand. Instead I’d like to share with you my thoughts and experiences on motherhood. I’m posting this one day early so I can stay off blogging (well my blog at least ;-)) on Mother’s day. Here are a few things I’ve learned so far through my wonderful journey.

Until you’re a Mom you don’t really understand:
the TRUE POWER of a baby’s smile.
how unselfish you really can be.
the value of time.
the definition of heartmelting.
that even the strongest bonds can be made without saying a single word.
the meaning of responsibility.
how to nurture.

That above is what I like to call the “Mother of all Rainbows”. Like they say, “at the end of every rainbow is a pot of gold,” here’s mine:

They fill my days with joy, love, laughter, and blessings. They are so many things to me:

the reason I breathe.

my source of laughter.

my sunshine on a cloudy day.

the reason I continue to learn so that I can someday pass on my knowledge to them.

my monsters by day,

but angels by night.

Uh huh, sometimes my kiddies may seem like little monsters, but they’re MY little monsters and even little monsters have to nap.

That’s when I can’t help but watch them with loving eyes and think to myself how lucky I am. I thank the powers above for blessing me with such beautiful children.

So how many times have people tried to give you advice that you don’t agree with? Being Asian, I know all too well that there are too many Chinese superstitions/traditions out there to follow. If I listened to all of them it would drive me up the walls. So I try to do whatever works for me. Same goes with reading those baby books. Don’t treat those books as a bible, treat them as a reference or a guide to your journey through motherhood. If someone tells you not to pick up your baby when he/she cries cause you’ll spoil him/her but you feel the need to pick him/her up, then do it. I’m sure every parent will agree that babies grow way too fast. Before you know it they’re toddlers who ask you way too many questions or teenagers who slam the door in your face. Sure, you’re spoiling your baby but I don’t see anything wrong with spoiling your baby with love and attention. So hold that baby in your arms while you can and just enjoy the bonding time.

“I loved her first, I held her first
And a place in my heart will always be hers.
From the first breath she breathed,
When she first smiled at me,
I knew the love of a father runs deep.
Someday you might know what I’m going through,
When a miracle smiles up at you.
I loved her first.”
(By Heartland)
Until you’re a Mom you will never truly understand the power and   heartmelting feeling one gets when your baby smiles at you for the first time. So with that said I’d like to leave you with this touching song. Every parent who has a daughter can probably relate to the heartfelt words in this song. It’s definitely one of my favorites. This song brings tears to my eyes everytime I listen to it. If you have a daughter, you’ll enjoy this music video. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do. (Sorry, I couldn’t find a song for sons, but if anyone would like to share one with me I would love to hear it.) And this is a country song. Yes, I like country music, so what 😀
I Loved Her First by Heartland
Happy Mother’s Day to all the lovely Mommies out there who sacrifice their time, sleep, friends, sanity, and ALCOHOL 😉 to better the life of their children!
43 Responses to “Happy Mother’s Day Mommies!”


  1. 1 A Canadian Foodie May 8, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    What a beautiful post. Your mother must be so proud… isn’t that so true. Motherhood changes everything. It opens up an whole part of your mind – or brain, and a capacity for loving that one doesn’t even know exists, until that first child is born. It is truly a miracle that also brings us each closer to our own mothers.
    Happy well deserved mommy day!
    Valerie

    • 2 luvtoeat May 10, 2010 at 8:21 am

      Well said Valerie! I’ve got so much to learn from other Moms. Thank you for dropping by to say Happy Mother’s Day! Hope you had a great one!

  2. 3 Jessie May 8, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    When I read your post, I just think about how I can’t wait to be a mother. What a touching tribute to motherhood! I know that I can’t understand yet the little things that make motherhood so wonderful. Your little ones seem like a blessing in every form, and darn cute to boot!

    Happy Mother’s Day, LeQuan!

    • 4 luvtoeat May 10, 2010 at 8:25 am

      You’re going to be a great Mom Jessie! And your children are going to be beautiful. Peter sure is a lucky man and I can’t say that enough. Can’t wait for you to experience this awesome journey. Thank you for dropping by to say Happy Mother’s Day!

  3. 5 Roti n Rice May 8, 2010 at 3:56 pm

    What a beautiful post and song! Only after I became a mom did I understand why my mom did the things she did. When the kids are young and you are “struggling” through it all, you wonder when they will ever grow up. Time flies and now I dread the day when my boys will have to leave home for college.

    Thanks for sharing and have a wonderful Mother’s Day!

    Biren

    • 6 luvtoeat May 10, 2010 at 8:28 am

      Heck I’m dreading the day my daughter goes off to playschool haha. Good thing college is still a ways away 😉 Thank you for dropping by to say Happy Mother’s Day Biren. Hope you had a great one.

  4. 7 luckytastebuds May 8, 2010 at 4:38 pm

    Happy mothers day to you my dear. This was such a beautiful post and everything about it is SO true. I’m not a mom yet, but i can’t even imagine what it feels like to be TRULY unselfish, responsible, and giving. I know you’re such an incredible mommy I hope your children and husband appreciate all that you give to your family. 🙂 Have a wonderful day!!

    • 8 luvtoeat May 10, 2010 at 8:32 am

      Aaaw, thanks for the sweet words Michelle 🙂 One day you will have your own little miracle and you will know. Just enjoy life for now cause having kids is a life changing experience. Live like there’s no tomorrow and laugh like no one is watching 😉 Thank you for dropping by to say Happy Mother’s Day!

  5. 9 eatmovelove May 8, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    I agree with Jessie…I’ve never wanted to be a mother…but lately…and this is just so heartwarming. Can I say too that you officially have the CUTEST, most adorable kids I’ve ever seen!!! Oh my Gosh!! Love them.

    And thank you for your comment about the job…it does help actually…it just scares the pants off me having financial instability or living off of credit cards…

    • 10 luvtoeat May 10, 2010 at 8:38 am

      Thank you for the compliment about my kiddies 😀 All children are beautiful but a mother always loves to hear that hers are the cutest lol. Someday you will experience this beautiful journey but for now just enjoy life (freedom) without kids 😉

      Like I said, shoot me an email any time you want to talk. Thank you for dropping by to say Happy Mother’s Day!

  6. 11 Stella May 8, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    Hey LeQuan or maybe I should say ‘mamita’! Happy Mother’s Day! I know your’e a good and proper mother-your kids look so happy. I hope I can be a Mom someday, as I’m starting to want a baby.
    I love that photo that is almost at the bottom of the page by the way. My sister used to straddle my back like that when she was little…

    • 12 luvtoeat May 10, 2010 at 8:43 am

      I know you’re going to make an awesome Mom someday Stella. I’m so jealous for my kids that your kids get to eat all that wonderful baking of yours 😀 Cauldron Boy sure is a lucky man. Thank you for dropping by to say Happy Mother’s Day!

  7. 13 whydeprive May 8, 2010 at 8:00 pm

    This is a fabulous post! I love it.

    I also LOVE that song – I totally tear up whenever I hear it and I dont even have kids. Good lord Im going to be a basket case as a mom!! lol

    HAPPY MOTHERS DAY! 🙂

  8. 15 5 Star Foodie May 8, 2010 at 8:02 pm

    Happy Mother’s day to you!!!

  9. 17 kimmy0808 May 8, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    Happy mothers day to you and what a cute children.

  10. 19 Ameena May 8, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    You put it so well!! I am not so good with words but really, you put exactly what I was thinking down perfectly. Your kids are just too adorable. And aren’t kids the most angelic and perfect when they are asleep? Honestly, I love looking at Maya at night because she is so innocent and perfect.

    Happy Mother’s Day to you. I hope you have the best day ever. You deserve it!!

    • 20 luvtoeat May 10, 2010 at 9:16 am

      Thank you for always leaving such sweet compliments Ameena! There is definitely something about a sleeping child that we Moms can’t take our eyes off of. Or maybe we’re just thankful for that little quiet time that we get…teehee. Thank you for dropping by to say Happy Mother’s Day Ameena! Hope yours was beautiful and wonderful as well 😀

  11. 21 Cindy Aguilar May 8, 2010 at 11:27 pm

    Happy Mother’s Day to you Lequan!! You wrote beautifully about being a Mom!! You described everything I feel also 🙂 You are a great Mommy. I totally agree on the advice, love your child and do what works for you. Your children are beautiful! Hope your day is great!

    • 22 luvtoeat May 10, 2010 at 8:47 am

      Thank you for your compliments Cindy, you are too kind. I’m just trying to take a page out of your book cause you write such true heartfelt stuff like this everyday. That’s why I love reading your blog cause I can totally relate. Bailey is a very lucky girl to have such a loving Mother in you. Thank you for dropping by to say Happy Mother’s Day! Hope yours was great!

  12. 23 Lazaro May 9, 2010 at 12:00 am

    Heartfelt post. Wishing you a great Mother’s day Lequan. You have a lovely family. Many blessings for you. Those little ones are lucky to have you as their Mom. Cheers!

    • 24 luvtoeat May 10, 2010 at 8:56 am

      Thank your for your sweet comments always Lazaro and thank you for dropping by to say Happy Mother’s Day! I loved your Mother’s Day post! It was so touching and very well written.

  13. 25 denise @ quickies on the dinner table May 9, 2010 at 4:20 am

    Hi LeQuan 🙂

    Thank you so much for your Mother’s Day wishes and for this beautiful post. So many things ring true for me and reading it made my eyes sting with emotion *sigh*

    You’re so right about not treating parenting books like the bible! If you want to carry your baby, and your baby wants to be carried, then go ahead and DO IT!!! I’ve heard this so many times about ‘spoiling’ your baby by giving too much attention and I say “hogwash” Babies were made for spoiling!

    I wish I knew that the first time I became a mum. I went too much by those books and consequently I’m not as close to my eldest boy as I am to my younger ones. It’s something I regret so I tell every new mum now to hug and kiss and carry your baby till your arms fall off. Never, ever let your children have the slightest doubt that you love them. Tell them every chance you get, even when they’re grown up.

    Happy Mother’s Day dear, sweet LeQuan. Give your angels kisses and hugs for me 🙂

    • 26 luvtoeat May 10, 2010 at 9:23 am

      I know you’re a wonderful Mom, wife, and COOK lol so there is nothing to regret my dear. I’m sure your sons know they are well loved. Thank you for dropping by to say Happy Mother’s Day Denise! You’re always so kind and thoughtful. Hope you had a wonderful, lovely Mother’s day as well cause you well deserve it!

  14. 27 actorsdiet May 9, 2010 at 11:31 am

    happy mother’s day!

    • 28 luvtoeat May 10, 2010 at 9:26 am

      Thank you for dropping by to say Happy Mother’s Day! It means a lot to me that you did! And thank you for introducing me to this wonderful world of blogging. You’re right, it has been such a great adventure.

  15. 29 Chef Dennis May 9, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    what great pictures, thanks for sharing them with us!! I hope you had a spectacular Mothers Day!

  16. 31 sophia May 9, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    Aw, beautiful post! My dad, upon my birth, wrote a heartfelt, tear-stained letter to my granddad thanking him for his love…that only after having his own daughter, did he realize the amazing love and dedication of a parent…

    • 32 luvtoeat May 10, 2010 at 9:04 am

      That is so touching! What a wonderful way to show his thanks. You know, that also shows his enormous love for you. Children truly are one of God’s many miracles! Until your own miracle looks up at you, you don’t know the power you have as a daughter. Thank you for sharing that with me Sophia! And thank you for dropping by to say Happy Mother’s Day! I hope your Mom had a wonderful Mother’s day also.

  17. 33 eatspinlive May 9, 2010 at 8:18 pm

    I absolutely love that song! It always makes me tear up a little because of how beautiful it is! 🙂 I hope you had a wonderful mother’s day! you definitely deserve it!

    • 34 luvtoeat May 10, 2010 at 9:06 am

      Such a beautiful song isn’t it? I loved your Mother’s day post Amanda! Your Mom must be very proud of you! Thank you for dropping by to say Happy Mother’s Day!

  18. 35 blessedHi5ive May 10, 2010 at 12:33 am

    Your post is beautiful and it is well spoken on behalf of many mothers. Your boys are so lucky to have you. Happy Mother’s Day!

    • 36 luvtoeat May 10, 2010 at 9:46 am

      my eldest is actually a girl but ever since birth she has always looked like a boy so everyone mistakens her for one lol. thank you for your kind words 😀 and thank you for dropping by to say Happy Mother’s Day!

  19. 37 aletheiazoe May 10, 2010 at 9:13 am

    Dearest LeQuan,

    Even though your children are too young to know this or understand this, they have the best mother that God could ever have given them. You, my friend, are amazing. It took me 18 years to realize how many silent sacrifices my parents made for me – and in fact, I am still realizing, with each passing day, just how much more they love me. Be patient with your young – if they’re like me, they’ll be slow to catch on, but in the end, love is also a learning process. We are learning to love – everyday. Isn’t that amazing?

    Much Love to you,
    🙂 Aletheia

    • 38 luvtoeat May 10, 2010 at 10:02 am

      Thank you for the sweet words my dear! Aletheia that was so well stated! Your parents are very lucky to have such a wise, loving, hilarious, smart daughter like you! Always know that you are so very much loved by your parents. There is nothing in this world compared to the love that a parent has for their own children. I will be very patient with my lovelies cause you are so right, love IS a learning process. I hope my kiddies learn to be as unselfish as they’ve taught me to be. You are quite wise beyond your years my dear friend 😉 Thank you for dropping by to spread your love! Hope you have a super week Aletheia! 😀

  20. 39 MaryMoh May 11, 2010 at 1:03 am

    That’s such a heart-warming post. LeQuan, you are an awesome mom. Your kids are so lucky to have you. You have very adorable kids. I’m very happy each time to see that you spend quality time with them. They grow up very fast and soon they will be doing a lot of things on their own. Do enjoy your time with them as much as possible. I’m sure you had a wonderful Mothers Day!

  21. 40 luvtoeat May 11, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    Thank you for your sweet words Mary. I’m still trying to learn more of your wonderful dishes so I can make them for my family. You are right, they grow up way too fast but I will try to soak up all these lovely times while they are still young and loving me before the horrible teenage years I keep hearing about…teehee. Hope you had a wonderful Mother’s day 😀

  22. 41 Jenna May 11, 2010 at 7:07 pm

    Love your blog- check out mine and follow 🙂
    jenna

  23. 42 amandasunshine May 16, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    i love this – i’m not sure how i missed it… you’re an incredible mommy – it’s always refreshing to find myself in the presence of someone who loves being a mother as much as I do… I hope your Mother’s Day was blessed. Thanks again for all the sweetness you leave on my blog! x’s & o’s!

  24. 43 hidden_voice May 19, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    awww what a sweet post, you’re a great mom lequan! and yes…billie’s smile makes my heart melt every time, just one smile and i’m under her spell.


Leave a Reply

