Like Lynn Chen, My Parents Rock!

Thank you for the wonderful comments on the last two posts and for taking the time to share your thoughts, experience, and opinions with me. I enjoyed reading what you had to say about blogging and agree with some of your thoughts. I’ve only been blogging for about a month now and it’s nice to get thoughts from more experienced bloggers.

I know I should totally take advantage of my Mom’s salon but if you know me in real life, you’ll know I’m not much of a girlie girl. I’m one of those girls who will only put on make-up and dress up when I really need to, like attending a formal dinner or a birthday party. Most of the time you’ll see me in a superman t-shirt (I own like at least 20 different ones…haahaa) and either sweats or jeans and runners. I’m all for comfort over trying to look pretty. I know my hubby and friends will definitely concur to that. I mean come on I’m married with 2 kids, who’s there to impress? I know it’s a little clichΓ© but I definitely agree that true beauty comes from within! Anyways, on with my next post (sorry for the rambling).

So being the freeloader off my parents that I am, I think it’s only right to take them out to dinner every so often. They ask me why I keep taking them out to eat and I tell them it’s cause I love to eat so much. Really it’s cause I love spending the time with them but I ain’t gonna get all sappy like that and tell them πŸ˜‰ I took them to our usual hot-pot restaurant the other day. I don’t know what took me so long to blog about this place. It’s called Kings Noodle And Hot Pot. Here’s the menu. It’s all you can eat hot-pot buffet for $21.99. What I love about this place is their wide selection of food. From different types of broth, to seafood, noodles, veggies, and meat.

You just check off which items you want and your dishes come out on a cart like this.

And they have a variety of cooked foods as well, which I love cause if the kids get hungry I can let them munch on those while the raw food isbeing cooked. Our favorite cooked dishes are the sweet potato fries, green onion cakes, curry fish balls, and deep-fried chicken wings.

If you’re in Edmonton and looking for a good hot-pot restaurant, I’d highly recommend this place. We probably eat here at least two to three times a month.

I always try to spend as much time as I can with my family on the weekends but somehow I always end up on the computer blogging. Like pop, I think this has quickly become an addiction for me. Anyways, here’s what else I did this weekend. We thought we’d use the extra time to finally promote Kayla from this sleeping arrangement into a big girl bed. We didn’t want to start her off with too high a bed in case she rolled off then it would be such a high fall.

This is an old single bed frame we had lying around the house. Being the cheap arse that I am, I didn’t want to throw it away but I didn’t want to waste the money buying a new bed frame either. So my Daddio kindly offered to make an extension to widen the bed frame for Kayla. This was a simple task for him since he renovated half his own house into a salon for my Mom.

I took out the drawers on the bottom and off to work my dad went.

(So glad the snow has finally melted.)

Long story short, and about an hour later, Kayla had a new bed frame. You can see the extension on the left side (and my son’s lovely round head haha).

It’s not the prettiest girlie bed frame out there but if it saves me a couple hundred dollars, it’s mighty pretty enough for me. Looks like I owe my Dad a couple more dinners to come πŸ˜‰

With the free hair cuts, yummy home cooked meals, free babysitting and a Dad who can build me anything I want, I’d have to say my parents rock! Speaking of “rock” and parents, I’d like to share a cute story with you. If you don’t already know, my email address is lynnchenrocks@hotmail.com cause I absolutely adore Lynn Chen. I think she’s an extremely talented, down to earth actress, and the real deal. Anyways, I have another email that I usually use when I email my mother in-law but then I started emailing her using the lynnchenrocks address. One day my husband said to me, “My Mom likes your other email address better. She doesn’t understand your new email address. She says she doesn’t know who Lynn Chen is and why she has a rock.” Haa haa! Not only do parents rock, but they are so cute sometimes. Wendy, if you ever do read this, your grandchildren and I think you rock too πŸ˜‰

By the way, the lovely Sophia at Burp and Slurp is having an awesome giveaway. Go check it out!

So there are the highlights of my weekend. I know, not all that exciting. Hope you’re having an exciting weekend! Until next time friends and family.

12 Responses to “Like Lynn Chen, My Parents Rock!”


  1. 1 Cindy Aguilar March 28, 2010 at 6:20 pm

    That sounds like a great weekend!! I love the little bed!! That food place looks fun also. Parents are great to have around, I know I love spending time with mine also!!

  2. 2 Jessie March 28, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    Haha! That story about your parents and your email address made me giggle out loud πŸ™‚ I agree – parents rock! Sadly, my father lives on the other side of the country so I don’t see him much, but my in-laws live 15 minutes away and I adore them! I don’t think we could ever more away from them because they are wonderful – and yes, they’re cute sometimes, too πŸ™‚

    I love hot pot! I haven’t had hot pot in a long time because it’s just not popular here in CT. I’m glad you had a good time πŸ™‚

    Have a great evening! (Also, I like the fact that you have 20 Superman shirts πŸ˜‰ )

  3. 3 denise @ quickies on the dinner table March 28, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    LeQuan, could you stop making me jealous…please?! LOL Yes, your parents most certainly do rock, big time! I love hotpot too, only we call it steamboat here. And I go nuts when they offer two different flavoured broths in the same pot. Oh Happy Day! πŸ˜€ Yes I need to get out more!

  4. 4 Ameena March 28, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    The Hot Pot restaurant looks delicious…I have never had hot pot before! Definitely would love to try it one of these days.

    Congrats to little Kayla…love her big girl bed. They get big so fast, don’t they?

  5. 5 Kristen @ Change of Pace March 29, 2010 at 10:30 am

    I would give anything for a restaurant like that near us! Isn’t it funny how us moms are drawn to other mom’s blogs. I love reading about your kiddos too! I also love reading about your food though too… Everytime I read a post I have an instant craving. Which is hard because a lot of the food you post I can’t make myself and can’t find it!

    I’m also one of those moms that just puts make up on for special occasions. It’s just too much work to make myself pretty haha! πŸ™‚

  6. 6 Jessie March 30, 2010 at 6:02 am

    LeQuan is an awesome mommy and a super person! Oh, and Lynn Chen rocks! πŸ˜€

    • 7 luvtoeat March 30, 2010 at 2:02 pm

      LOL! You’re such a sweetie for recommenting Jessie! I’m just mad that you guys took the time to comment and they got deleted. You totally rock for recommenting!! πŸ˜€

  7. 8 denise @ quickies on the dinner table March 31, 2010 at 11:46 pm

    I’m ba-aaaaaaaack! LOL Can I borrow your dad LeQuan? tell your mom I’ll send him back in one piece πŸ˜‰ You are one lucky girl! and uh, Hi LeQuan’s mum – I was just kidding, honest!!! πŸ˜€

    • 9 luvtoeat April 1, 2010 at 9:05 am

      Lol!! I’m sure she sent him over to my house to try to get rid of him. He’s always trying to fix things at their house and making so much noise. I don’t mind as long as when it’s dinner time we all get called back teehee πŸ˜‰

      I’m sure he’ll be happy to turn your house into a restaurant for you haha.

  8. 10 Joyce T June 22, 2011 at 8:16 pm

    Hahahah…I know that hair removal technique using thread. Is quite popular here in my hometown..but i’ve never tried it before. lol.

    • 11 LeQuan June 23, 2011 at 7:50 am

      I’ve only tried it once. My Mom did it on me before my wedding. Didn’t like it so never did it again. Haha. You should try it. It’s not as painful or awkward as it looks. Something to experience I guess.


  1. 1 Two Tofu Dishes and Some Thank Yous « luvtoeat Trackback on May 4, 2010 at 10:57 pm

Leave a Reply

