Random Food Thoughts

Thank you to those of you who replied and/or emailed me about my cookware question. Your advice and comments were very helpful and I will take all of them into consideration when I make my choice on which one to buy. Anyways, I’d like to share some random food thoughts I had throughout the week with you . My parents had a couple of boxes of these at their salon for their customers so I decided to try a pack. Now I don’t consider myself a coffee drinker but ever since my first instant bag of this frothy yumminess, I was hooked.

Neither my hubby nor I drink coffee so we don’t have a coffee maker and we’re too cheap to buy a fancy espresso or cappuccino maker. But we do love this machine. Can you spot my OCD in this picture? 

If you’re Asian, you either have one of these in your home or have a relative who has one. We actually got this machine when Kayla was born to heat up her milk bottles. Instead of spending money on a bottle warmer that we’d probably use for only a year, we opted to buy this instead so we could continue to use it years down the road. I love the fact that at the press of a button I have instant hot water for tea or now my instant FROTHY cappuccino.

Check out that froth…mmm.

Another random thought:

We had the pleasure of visiting Vietnam about 3 years ago. It was there that I was introduced to a coconut dessert that I’ll never forget and till this day am still searching for anything that comes close to it here in Canada. Basically it’s a young coconut filled with coconut juice and coconut jelly dessert. If you’ve been to dim sum and have ordered those white cubes of coconut milk desserts then you’ll know what I’m talking about.

Oh yummy coconut dessert, when will we meet again?

(Vietnam 2007)

This is the closest thing I’ve found here.

It came in a vacuum sealed bag and came nothing close to tasting like the ones I had in Vietnam 😦 

Here’s something else from Vietnam that I LOVE to eat:

Dried squid. Have any of you tried these before? These actually came from Vietnam. We have some friends visiting us from there this month and they brought some over for us. Pop these babies into the mini oven at 375 degrees F for about 5 mins or until they curl up into a tube and you’ve got yourself some dried deliciousness. We love eating these so much that my parents actually got a machine from Vietnam that compresses and rolls out the squid to make it more tender. It’s almost like a pasta roller.

So how do you eat these? Rip into shreds and pop them in your mouth. I like to eat these squid plain, without any dipping sauce but my parents like to mix hoisin sauce, shredded carrots, and chili sauce to use as a dip. I should warn you though, once heated in the oven your house is going stink.

If you ever get a chance to visit Vietnam I would highly recommend it. They’ve got some pretty good eats there. The only thing I avoided was their street food (which looked so tempting) and their ice and tap water. Not that I’m a street food snob, (I’ve had some pretty awesome street food before ) but being brought up in Canada almost all my life I don’t think my stomach would be able to handle the street food in Vietnam. I’m sure most of you know what I’m talking about. Have any of you been to Vietnam? Would you eat street food and if so, where was the best street food you’ve ever had or would like to try? Well I’ll leave you with those random thoughts for now. I hope all of you have a spectacular weekend! Until next time friends and family 😀

26 Responses to “Random Food Thoughts”


  1. 1 denise @ quickies on the dinner table April 30, 2010 at 11:13 pm

    ROFL – the wound up and tied electric cord!!!! I could spot another OCD casualty a mile away! Used to be one myself *sigh* till my boys and hubby cured me. I’m just outnumbered by messy people here *frown* Hmm…then again, could be the prisine sticker still perfectly attached to the boiler – no dog ears on those corners LOL Nah..I’m going with the chord 😉

    I love dried squid/cuttlefish! Stinky, but good. I use it in soups and stocks or shred it and add it to fried veggies like cabbage or jicama. And OMG – that squid roller is tres cool – looks so retro. I want one now!!

    Never seen the coconut dessert you’re talking about though, but I do love to split open a young coconut and slurp up the goodness inside. It’s not easy describing the deliciousness of coconut juice straight out of a young coconut to any one who hasn’t tried it *sigh*

    • 2 luvtoeat May 2, 2010 at 10:06 pm

      i think i’m slowly learning to be not as OCD from my hubby and kiddies as well. don’t know if that’s good or not though cause then who’s gonna clean the house? lol.

  2. 3 eatmovelove May 1, 2010 at 6:08 am

    I picked up that Cappuchino too – it looks good hah!!

    Have a great day girl !

  3. 4 Chef Dennis May 1, 2010 at 7:08 am

    I do understand I saw the cord!! my part of OCD requires me to completely remove any label, not only from electronics, pillows, but even my magazines….sigh….
    and I use to use my frother on my cappuccino machine to make the best hot chocolate from packets!!
    Have a great day
    Dennis

  4. 5 Blessedhi5ive May 1, 2010 at 9:28 am

    I have not tried the coconut jelly but definitely eaten the young coconut meat and it sure was good and tasty. The squid is an interesting thing – asian stores has these seasoned and ready to eat but charge a lot more. I would like to try the durian dim sum. I must go for dim sum on Sunday. Have a great foodie weekend.

  5. 6 Kristen @ Change of Pace May 1, 2010 at 10:00 am

    Haha all my cords in my kitchen (well really through the whole house) are like that too! So funny! I dunno if I could do the dried squid……

  6. 7 aletheiazoe May 1, 2010 at 10:13 am

    WHOA that froth DOES look good – and I don’t even need to be a coffee-drinker to appreciate THAT. Ha! I think your Viet coconut dessert sounds incredible. And the thing that you said is the closest one you can find to it but tastes nothing like it still looks amazing. Too bad I don’t know what the real thing actually tastes like – otherwise I’d probably join you in your universal quest to track down a taste-alike! Ha!

    Dried squid is GOOD! It’s like a cross between pork rinds and beef jerky but stringier and, well, fishier. I don’t think dried squid can beat its deep-fried counterpart though – one of my dim sum FAVES. Wahaha.

  7. 9 A Canadian Foodie May 1, 2010 at 10:17 am

    I love that you introduce us to Vietnamese food from a personal perspective. Keep doing that. I have a couple of Vietnamese cookbooks and love some of the recipes I have made from them. I have no idea if I make them “right”, but they are extraordinarily delicious and fresh and nutritious (some of them) and lush!
    I don’t think I would go for the dried squid. I have had it in bags already shredded – and it is far too strong for me… too fishy – which is odd, for squid – or any fish that is fresh to be so fishy. Did I just try the wrong kind?
    As for the chocolate… try buying some real over 50% dark chocolate and melting that with a mild and adding a little froth on top. If you are going for chocolate, go big, or go home!
    (double grin)
    🙂
    Valerie

    • 10 luvtoeat May 2, 2010 at 10:16 pm

      i like your thinking on the chocolate Valerie, “go big or go home.” Thank you for that tip too, will def give it a try…mmmm.

      i don’t think those strands of dried squid that they sell in the Chinese supermarkets are as good as roasting an actual dried squid. i feel they over flavor the squid to the extent that you don’t taste much squid taste.

  8. 11 Ameena May 1, 2010 at 10:27 am

    A friend of mine just came back from Vietnam and said it was gorgeous…I can’t wait to visit there although I’m not sure I am such an adventurous eater!

    Love your neat and tiday cord. Totally something I would do!

  9. 12 amandasunshine May 1, 2010 at 11:53 am

    oh yum…
    my ‘extended family’ is chinese and when i was dating my ex husband, we used to go to china and take trips into chinatown. i love dried squid and i’ve had that yummy coconut stuff you’re talking about! you’re makin’ me hungry, girl!

  10. 13 Roti n Rice May 1, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    I do the same – tie the cord with those twisties. Keep it nice and tidy 🙂 Am I OCD too? I started using those hot pots when I had my first child and have been using them ever since. Always have hot water handy for tea, etc. I prefer warm water to cold any time. I’ve had the one that I am using now for the past 8 years or so, and it’s time to change as it is getting loud 😦

    Funny, I just received some of theose dried squid from a friend who got them from Vietnam. Still trying to decide how best to use them. I should roast them soon as they look so nice and fresh, not like the ones found in the Asian stores here.

  11. 14 Lazaro May 1, 2010 at 11:07 pm

    Fantastic post. Great froth on that coffee. My wife makes me Cuban coffee and she is quite proud of her frothy achievements. I love dried squid, it takes some getting used to, but once you do…you’ll go back for more. Cheers!

  12. 15 Jessie May 2, 2010 at 4:51 am

    What a nice neat counter with a rolled up and tied cord 😉 I do that too, although these past few months, all our cords have been going haywire! I’ve seen instant coffee but never instant cappuccino – look at that froth! Even if I didn’t drink coffee I would draw to that because it looks like a dessert. Mmm, I’ll have to see if they have that brand here in the stores.

    I actually love dried squid! I would always buy bags of the shredded stuff when visiting relatives in Toronto and chew chew chew (I guess I was supposed to bake it first 😉 ). Pungent!! I’d love to go the Vietnam, although I don’t think I’d eat the street food (or drink the water). I’m going to Beijing next month, and the first thing someone told me was “Don’t eat the street food, or you’ll get sick!” Considering my past history with “strange” foods, I think that is very good advice 🙂

    Have a wonderful Sunday, LeQuan! 😀

    • 16 luvtoeat May 2, 2010 at 10:25 pm

      i’m sure you’ll find that brand of cappuccino. you guys have everything that we have here in Canada and more, not to mention cheaper too….grrr lol).

      oh no, i don’t think you need to bake the shredded squid you buy in bags. that’s already cooked. the ones we got were not cooked so we had to roast them in the oven first. i used to eat those shredded ones in the bag until my jaw actually got tired from chewing. chew chew chew is definitely right!

      Beijing! how exciting is that! yeah definitely be careful of what you eat there. i’ve been there and totally stayed away from the street food too. i’ve even heard some of their bottled water is fake…scary. i still had a super time though. one of those vacations you’ll never forget.

  13. 17 stef May 2, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    LOL “If you’re Asian, you either have one of these in your home or have a relative who has one.” SOOOO true! i loved this post bc of all the VN talk, i think i told you my mom is from vietnam! i’ve been back there 3 times and absolutely love it. the street food – amazing. at the time i went back there i was not veg so i ate my fair share of meaty street food, but the grilled corn is probably my favorite. or the che desserts, or the mangoes, etc. i only got sick once and it was totally worth it bc everything was so darn tasty!

  14. 19 Cindy Aguilar May 2, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    That little water machine looks awesome, I would love having hot water on the spot!! I have never tried those cappuccino things, but they look good! I do not like regular coffee but I like a very occasional cappuccino or latte. The coconut looks interesting, I love coconut ice cream though!

  15. 20 Devaki May 2, 2010 at 8:18 pm

    Dear Lequan – How clever instead of buying the baby bottle warmer! Love the dried squid. I have never actually eaten this straight and have only ever used them for fish stocks.

    Thanks to you I have now learned something. Love your ramblings. BTW, I am a sucker for fresh young coconut but have never had this dessert.

    Love your ramblings.

    Ciao, Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  16. 21 Stella May 3, 2010 at 3:28 pm

    Hey Lequan, I haven’t read this post yet, but I wanted to say ‘hi’! Oh, and I’m making that shrimp, tofu, and spinach dish again for my Mom-she wants it. I’m checking the recipe portions real quick.
    By the way, my Mom was sitting with me while going down the page and she made me stop to look at your husband! The grill picture photo is apparently flattering, as she stared for a moment and said ‘ooh, he’s cute!’. I had to admit that the first time I saw it I noticed the arm muscles too (smile).
    Thanks for the sweet comment on my blog. As my sister always says in her funny language that is all her own ‘mer likes yer’…

    • 22 luvtoeat May 3, 2010 at 10:54 pm

      hope your Mom likes the dish as much as Cauldron Boy did. LOL about the hubby comment. please say thank you to your Mom for me. i’ve never me your Mom but i think i’mma starting to like her already haahaa.

  17. 23 tigerfish May 3, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    I have that “machine” (which my mom and some stores call it “air pot” – totally sound like airport) back in Asia but ever since we moved to the US, we have done without the machine. But I am with you on instant hot water at press of a button – so convenient.

    Dried squid sure makes soup very tasty 🙂

  18. 25 sophia May 4, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    Hey, those squids are not just available in Vietnam…I know for sure the Koreans LOVE it to death, too! We sell them by the streets, and the train, and most of all, the pubs. Men love to chew on those stuff while they chug their beer! It’s actually my dad’s favorite food!

  19. 26 Stella May 6, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    Hey Lequan, i couldn’t decide if it was the cord being tied up properly (hello, that’s not OCD, that’s safe) or if it is how the machine is so tightly pressed against the fridge-like things in a neat row…
    By the way, in Latin America, Nescafe is very popular along with other beverages like this, so I developed a love for this type of thing due to my high school sweet heart. I even crave it sometimes…
    Oh, and I would totally eat street food-I can deal with a bout of revenge or other form of pathogen here and there (smile)!


Leave a Reply

