Out of the Ordinary

First of all, I’d like to thank all of you who commented on my last post. I really appreciate your honest opinions and helpful advice. You guys rock! Oh, and one more thing about my blogroll and being placed under a certain list; well of course I consider all of you my bloggie friends but I just needed a way to separate the foodies from the non-foodies. Just because you’re under Edmoton Bloggers or because I “stalk you” 😉 doesn’t mean you’re not my friend. I knew you were just kidding Denise, but I wanted to make it clear so no one feels left out. The next thing I want to address is this guy:

Here’s a better view.

He’s been living outside my window for a while now. Just to give you an idea of how big he actually is, those little black dots all around him are mosquitoes sand small bugs  trapped in his web. I’m assuming it’s a he because there’s a smaller one that’s always around, which is probably the Mrs. Then again, I’m no spider expert so it could be the other way around. Any spider experts reading this want to comment on that? And should I be afraid of this guy? Don’t forget, I trap spiders and bugs under a glass and put a book overtop (as if I were dealing with Spiderman) and wait for Gary to come home and take care of it. So if this guy ever got into the house, I would FREAK!  He’s no ordinary spider, that’s for sure. I have to admit, every morning when I check and see that he’s in his spot, it gives me a sense of relief.

Here’s another thing out of the ordinary.

Yup, those things on the left are snails. Best friend was craving snails so she bought some from T&T, along with some clams, and brought them over to my house to cook while the kiddies enjoyed a playdate. She also brought these, which I didn’t know what she wanted me to do with them. And yes Jessie, those are thousand year old eggs (well not literally of course).

I felt like I was in a cooking challenge on one of those cooking shows or something. “Here are your ingredients, now make something with them in a certain amount of time”. So I just boiled the snails and clams. Haha, that’s why I’m not on any cooking show.

Warning: If you’re squeamish about snails, you might want to scroll past the next two pictures after this one.

We just used pointy toothpicks to pick them out of their shells after boiling them for about ten minutes. Be sure not to over-boil them as they will shrink.

Dipped in some fish sauce (the type you have with spring rolls) with minced garlic and chili sauce. It’s hard to believe, but they were MMM MMM good. Did I just lose half my readers?

Don’t forget to take off the flap.

We dipped the clams in fish sauce as well.

Kiddies enjoyed making the shells talk :-).

After reading Jessie’s post, I was craving tacos, but when we got to the grocery store I saw the barbecue chicken and changed my mind. I wanted to make chicken wraps instead. Plus, I was a bit lazy to cook. So we bought a whole barbecue chicken and shredded the meat into two separate piles, dark meat for the hubby and white meat for me.

Along with some shredded cheese, lettuce, black olives, and spinach tortillas. Forgot the tomatoes :(. They were still pretty good wraps though.

I love my cheese and olives!

Maybe we should’ve made a smaller wrap for the little guy. Sorry baby boy. He still enjoyed it though.

K enjoyed both drumsticks from the barbecue chicken and a wrap as well.

And Gary approved of the yumminess too. If you don’t feel like cooking but want a quick dinner at home, this is the perfect meal. Fun for the kids to make as well. Wanna know what else I did out of the ordinary this weekend?

That’s right, I baked. If you’ve been following this blog for a while, you’ll know baking is not my forte. But when I saw Ameena‘s Godiva Chocolate Bar Cake, I knew I had to try it. The recipe calls for an 8″ x 8″ baking pan but I didn’t have one so I used a larger deep round pan, and that’s why it looks like there’s so much more rising room. And trust me, her’s looked much much better, see for yourself in this post. What can I say, I’m learning, I’m learning. If you want something chocolatey and yummy, this is your cake. Thank you Ameena for the recipe! I’ll be making this again soon.

Weekends always go by way too fast don’t they? That’s all I have for you this week peeps. I’ll leave you with these questions: Have you ever tried eating snails before? If not, would you ever try eating one? And are you a dark meat or a white meat fan? Hope you all had a great weekend. Until next time friends and family :-D. 

37 Responses to “Out of the Ordinary”


  1. 1 MaryMoh August 16, 2010 at 10:57 am

    Oh gosh, LeQuan…looks like you are surrounded by weird things and also venturing out into eating weird things, too! But I eat those , too…haha…only that I can’t get them here 😦 Oooops, guess you must have forgotten that your son has small mouth than yours & your hubby’s…..poor boy….haha. He looks so cute trying to bite into that wrap. Next time make mini ones for him 😀 Never see green tortillas here. Aberdeen is just a very small place…can’t expect too much…..hmmm

  2. 2 The Hungry Hubby August 16, 2010 at 11:13 am

    It is always a surprise when I get home and see a glass or plastic container sitting on the floor upside down with a spider in it. you really should let me know earlier so that I don’t kick those things over by acident…

    • 3 luvtoeat August 16, 2010 at 11:33 am

      Dude! You really are stalking me aren’t you? I JUST posted this. Since when did you start commenting anyways? And why aren’t you working? Bring home my bacon. Lol.

  3. 4 Leah @ Why Deprive? August 16, 2010 at 11:56 am

    I have tried snails before, but it was a one time thing! lol I wouldnt do it again. Theyre just not my thing. Those wraps on the other hand look fabulous!! 🙂

    I saw Ameena’s recipe for that cake too. It looks ridiculously good!

  4. 5 Ameena August 16, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    I had escargot once. And then I nearly threw up. Totally a mental thing I know – there is just something about slimy foods that I can’t handle! I have issues. But the wraps look delicious…totally something both Maya and Ali would love.

    Your Godiva cake looks awesome, far better than mine. Good call using the round pan…I’m sure it looks much better on a cake plate than mine does. I’m glad you liked it LeQuan!

    That spider is freaking me out. You are not only an adventurous eater but an adventurous but trapper. That spider wouldn’t survive 1/2 of a day in my window!

  5. 6 Ameena August 16, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    I really need to proofread better!! I always hit submit and then notice an error…I meant:

    You are not only an adventurous eater but an adventurous BUG trapper.

    • 7 luvtoeat August 16, 2010 at 2:41 pm

      But(t) trapper…teehee. If only I were an adventurous but(t) trapper, maybe then I’d be able to hold in my butt flab ;-). I’m so mature ain’t I?

      The spider is actually outside my winder but I’m still afraid it’ll somehow make it’s way inside.

  6. 8 5 Star Foodie August 16, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    I’ve had snails but I have to admit to not ever cooking them at home 🙂 They look yummy and so do the wraps!

  7. 9 serena August 16, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    ok, so that’s where we differ. I do the dark meat 🙂 I do baked escargot with garlic/pesto/butter, and dip the yummy-ness with bread. The ones I’ve tried at asian restaurants, I am weary because usually they have baby snails in them 😦

  8. 10 Jessie August 16, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    Ok, LeeQs, I need some warning here because I totally SHRIEKED when I saw that picture of the huge-A spider. Are you sure that thing isn’t a miniature, I don’t know, bat or something?? And there’s a Mrs.?? You know what this means, right?? Mr. + Mrs. = baby huge-A spiders!! I’d say get Gary to get the spiders our pronto (sorry, Gary! 😛 ).

    I’ve had escargot a couple of times sauteed in enormous quantities of butter and garlic, but I’ve never had them in their shells. They look delicious! I’ll have to look for them at the Asian grocery (while I’m looking for water spinach) and try them with yummy fish sauce. I’m guessing they’re not too hard to extract, since you were able to use toothpicks? Love the 1000-year old eggs – we actually got those exact same eggs the last time we were at the Asian grocery, although we haven’t decided what to do with them yet. Hmmm, if I find a good recipe I’ll let you know! 🙂

    Can I just say that that picture of L is just the cutest thing evah? And that chocolate cake, mmm. Ameena has goood recipes 🙂

    Have a great evening, Leeqs!

    • 11 Jessie August 16, 2010 at 2:11 pm

      *get the spiders “out” pronto. Duh. Still doesn’t let you off the hook Gary.

    • 12 luvtoeat August 16, 2010 at 2:54 pm

      Sorry Jessie! Guess I really should warn people next time huh? Mr. And Mrs. are actually living outside my window but I’m still scared they’ll find their way in. Plus, you’re right about babies. They would definitely be able to get in. Eeeek! I just feel so bad moving them and breaking their web. But you’re right, it must be done.

      I usually just cook those eggs in my congee with some kind of seafood like shrimp or scallops, as I’m not much of a pork fan.

  9. 13 Juliana August 16, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    LeQuan…love reading your post…I enjoy snails, but my husband will have a heart attack if I decide to cook at home…I guess you can pictures what is going on 🙂

  10. 14 kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com August 16, 2010 at 4:05 pm

    spinach wraps! i just had one yesterday! i’ll have to post it soon. theyre yummy and so fun to look at too 🙂

    im always finding big ass spiders around the house. recently one was hiding in my shirt (left it on the floor) so when i picked it up, a HUGE spider dropped out, AHHHHH *shriek*

  11. 15 Stella August 16, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    Hey LeQuan! That spider looks kind of serious, no? I mean, it has a bulb for a bottom-better not let it in (smile).
    You know, I love snails or as my family calls them ‘baboush’. They’re good. I like the way you guys ate them too. Garlic makes everything delicious! I don’t know about the fish sauce, but I have some. I would try it-just don’t think Cauldron Boy would go for it;)
    Oh, and I’m kind of more of a dark meat person. I always really like the dark meat on chicken and other foul. White meat has its place though too.
    p.s. thanks for that agar agar link, LeQuanis. It’s perfect. The exact same brand of agar agar was used for the recipe in that post-nice.

  12. 16 sophia August 16, 2010 at 7:45 pm

    Yes, I’ve eaten snails before. In Singapore, we BBQ it with tons of good stuff (I don’t know what, but it’s CRACK!) and we just pile the empty shells high. Mmm…

  13. 17 aletheiazoe August 16, 2010 at 10:29 pm

    So I’ve had a bunch of weird asian things before — but never snail!!! I DIDN’T KNOW THEY SOLD THAT AT T&T!!!!! It must be an Edmonton-exclusive thing. Seriously. They don’t got no escargots at the Toronto location! What do they taste like? (Sorry if you answered this in a previous comment)

    I love, love, love the picture of your baby boy trying to chomp that spinach tortilla roll! BWAHAHAHA. He definitely looks like he’s struggling — but it’s soooo cute! 🙂 Your hubby looks real happy too with his wrap. Clearly, you’re an excellent wrap ‘n roller. Snails, chicken, GODIVA and all!!!!!!!!!!

    loooove,
    Aletheia

    • 18 luvtoeat August 16, 2010 at 11:36 pm

      I’m shocked TO T&T doesn’t have snails. Usually what we have here, you guys have, but cheaper. Hmmm…what do snails taste like? I’d have to say, like clams? The top part is more chewy though. It’s all in the sauce. I wouldn’t eat snails plain, but I would enjoy clams plain. I enjoy clams a lot more, especially with black bean sauce mmm…

  14. 19 Patty Price August 17, 2010 at 8:39 am

    That is one serious spider you have lurking outside your house, hope he doesn’t have any friends or relatives! I tried sea snails in France and I thought they were good but we don’t really see them in the market here. I love the sweet pictures of your children, the baby is a good little eater! I like the white chicken meat better cold than the dark, if that makes sense??

  15. 20 Roti n Rice August 17, 2010 at 1:04 pm

    I have eaten those snails before but I can’t say I miss them. I much prefer the clams. But I can certainly handle that Godiva chocolate bar cake 🙂

  16. 21 Tanantha @ I Just Love My Apron August 17, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    Yike! You and Patty can have a spider talk. She killed one before at her house! haha. Me me me, I’ve tried snails before! They tasted like clams sorta. I like to try new things once in my life. Now I totally agree with you it would be so much fun if we’re an eating trip together! Oh, I’m a dark meat person but I also prefer to mix both.

    PS: That’s a lot of cheese in the bowl for your wraps 😀

  17. 22 Brittany August 17, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    AH spider!!! I dont know if i could have waited lol! it would have haunted me!!! Snails-never tried. not sure if i am ready yet….but…..What you made LOOKS GOOD! so maybe i just might be ready : )

    CHEERS!

  18. 23 rebecca August 17, 2010 at 5:07 pm

    wow you have such a fun blog, and you guys really like snails he he I had a huge spider like that on my mesh recently looked it up it was a hairy recluse scary thanks for visiting my blog Rebecca

  19. 24 A Canadian Foodie August 17, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    OH MY! What diversity!!! Enough for three posts, LeQuan!! I love snails, but have NEVER had them fresh. I am assuming the ones from T and T were alive… like the clams. Why do you take off the foot – or flip or whatever you called it? I would get hungry eating them as they are clearly so much work to get out of the shell that when I was finished, I am sure I would have worked up an appetite!
    And, I think I would still prefer garlic butter – maybe with some fish sauce and hot sauce in it.
    And, a chocolate bar cake? Is that legal??? Seriously!!! I have to go to her post shortly!
    I love tacos and wraps and anything and everything fresh and easy and nutritious. When I was first introduced to tacos, I had to make my own soft shelled tortillas as there were none for sale anywhere. Eventually, the hard stupid shells came out – and about 3 years later, the soft shells. It was crazy.
    Isn’t it so fun what you can do with them? I am still so far behind on my readings. I am now teaching another cooking class to kids every afternoon. Fun, but tiring!
    GARY looks like a very happy camper with his dinner!
    And why not? YUM!
    XO

    • 25 luvtoeat August 18, 2010 at 8:36 pm

      Hey Valerie,

      I called it a flap but I’m sure that’s not the proper name haha. It’s hard and not edible, that’s why I took it off. Yup yup, the ones at T&T were live. Oh and actually, they’re not too hard to get out of their shells. If they’re undercooked then you’ll have a hard time getting them out, but then you’d want to discard those ones anyways.

      If I had to make my own shells, I don’t know if wraps would be on my quick dinner list so kudos to you! Wow! Another cooking class? Already? Have fun, but I know you will, you always make everything fun.

      Hugs!

  20. 26 Lazaro August 17, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    I think it is great that you expose your children to all types of foods at a young age. They will grow to be well rounded culinarians.

    Yes to snails…

    Dark meat for sure!

    Good luck with those spiders.

  21. 27 Lawyer Loves Lunch August 17, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    Heh, I had no idea snails were so curly! I’ve had them once on a cruise so probably not the best reflection of what they were supposed to taste like, Yours are much more natural! Oh, and I’ve said it befoe but I’ll say it again- that chocolate cake looks so GOOD! 🙂

  22. 28 tigerfish August 17, 2010 at 11:37 pm

    For me, no bugs, no mosquitoes and no spiders 🙂 …no to snails but YES to clams. And the spinach tortillas make me think of green Popiah(Nyonya spring rolls).

  23. 29 denise @ quickies on the dinner table August 18, 2010 at 9:16 am

    That is one fat and juicy looking spider *evil grin* Haha – KIDDING!!! I’ll eat most anything but draw the line at spiders. Hope he stays in his spot forever *shudder*

    I think clams, cockles, snails are so tasty, they’re even good boiled. The chilli dip is of course a must! I’ve had a few types of snails – whelks, escargot and really huge ones called “gong gong” over here. Love em’ all! And of course I would eat them again and again and again….

    Chicken – I like wings. Is that light or dark? 😉 So nice to see that you’re kids will eat just about ANYTHING 🙂 I should’ve started introducing more foods to my kids sooner!

  24. 30 Light Delight with Tou Tou August 18, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    Hiiiii Lequan!!! Thanks for stopping by 🙂 I just realized that you live in Edmoton ! to prepare for my interviews, I actually ‘study’ the city for quite a while! I should have asked you!

    I love eating snails, thanks for bring my memory back!! it’s my grandparents favorite, favorite, favorite food, and I love the stir-fried version with lots of chili!

  25. 31 Ellen@FirednFabulous August 18, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    Yummm, everything looks so good. Mexican night is the best…I just had one the other day. You can’t go wrong with fajitas.

  26. 32 Cindy @ This Adventure, Our Life August 20, 2010 at 8:52 am

    Okay, that spider, AHHH! I would freak out! I would have to put him into the relocation unit, and find him a home!!

    Now to your Questions:

    Have you ever tried eating snails before? No

    If not, would you ever try eating one? No, I try a lot of things, but some things make me squeamish! I scrolled through the photos!

    And are you a dark meat or a white meat fan? White meat all the way, I really do not care for the dark meat.

    I hate that the weekends go by soo fast! Have a great weekend!!!

  27. 33 Chef Dennis August 20, 2010 at 4:45 pm

    Le Quan
    what a great post!!! you are so much fun to read, and I love everything you make! I have not had snails in soooo long, I don’t think I could get my wife to eat them..lol.
    I love the picture of you feeding your son the chicken burrito! it is priceless!!
    thanks so much for sharing your family and creations with us!
    hope you have a great weekend!!
    Dennis

  28. 34 actorsdiet August 20, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    SNAILS! i used to love sucking those suckers out of their shells whenever i went to a (now burnt down) restaurant in chinatown as a kid. it’s been too long. yum.

    ameena’s cake rocks, doesn’t it? i’ve had the pleasure of sampling it made by THE BAKER (and her magical assistant) herself 🙂

  29. 35 Cooking Gallery August 25, 2010 at 1:28 am

    The stir fried clams look absolutely delicious…!!

  30. 37 Joyce T June 22, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    Kota Kinabalu is the one place we can gave good seafood! Wraps are good! Love eating dem! Might want to try n make some!


Leave a comment




Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other subscribers