Mona Vie? We’ll See

Hey everyone! Thank you for all your well wishes on my back! First thing I’d like to address is my blogroll. I’ve been meaning to update it for a while but just haven’t had the time. Well, this weekend I finally got a chance to update it. I’m still trying to figure out WordPress, so until I figure out how to have different blogrolls, I’m just having my 1 blog listed on my blogroll transferred to a certain page on my blog. On that page will be all my favorite blogs organized into certain groups. If your blog is on a list and you’d rather it be in another list, feel free to shoot me an email. I wasn’t sure if some of you were foodie blogs or not so you’ll have to forgive me if I put you in the wrong group.

The other thing I’d like to address is the interest some people showed in my experience with Mona Vie on my last post. So as promised, I’m going to keep you updated. Keep in mind that I don’t work for Mona Vie and am not selling their products, nor am I trying to sell you anything. So everything I’m about to say is through my own experience only and I was not paid to write about Mona Vie on my blog.

Last week a friend asked me to attend a two and a half hour seminar on Mona Vie with her. I wanted to know more about this product, what was so special about it, and why they’re charging so much for it, so I agreed to go.  (Sorry for the bad iPhone pictures, I forgot my camera.)

In short, here’s what I found out:

It contains 19 health-promoting fruits including the acai berry (which I could’ve found out from their website anyways).

You drink 4 ounces per day (2 ounces in the morning and two ounces in the evening). You can drink this for health reasons, plus make money off of it. For the record, I’m trying this product to see if it will help lessen my back pains. I have no intentions of making money from this product.

Throughout the two and a half hour seminar, I kept being reminded of how this husband and wife team made millions off of Mona Vie….yadda, yadda, yadda. There wasn’t really much information on the product itself, but more emphasis on how to sell the product. I was expecting a questions period at the end, but that never happened either. Hmmm…..? As you can see, I was not impressed with the seminar because I wasn’t there to learn how to make money, but to be better informed about Mona Vie.

I’ve been drinking Mona Vie for 3 weeks now and here are my personal thoughts and opinions:

Pros:

  • I like the taste, but it does take a little getting used to in the beginning.
  • I DO feel a bit more energized and less stressed.
  • I’ve completely cut soda out of my life to try to get the best results.

Cons;

  • Definitely pricey! $40/bottle, which only lasts a week!
  • Still experiencing back pains.
  • I feel as though this product is being introduced to people for the wrong reasons, the sole purpose of making money rather than for health reasons.

Well, there are my honest thoughts. If anyone knows anything about this product or has tried it, I’d love to hear your thoughts and opinions. Even if you’ve never tried it, any thoughts? I welcome all your comments on this, good or bad. That’s it for this week. Until next time friends and family.

42 Responses to “Mona Vie? We’ll See”


  1. 1 Leah @ Why Deprive? August 10, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    $40 a bottle? Are the bottles made of diamonds? Thats crazy!

  2. 2 The Hungry Hubby August 10, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    If the juice actually helps with your back pain, I think the price is worth it, although still pricy. But if it is purely a product to make money thru a pyramid scheme with no added health benefits, then I would be careful and not be persuade by the apparent wealth or success claimed by individuals that are trying to promote this product or business model.

  3. 5 Ameena August 10, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    Wow $40 a bottle is really expensive! I have had great luck with drinking 100% cranberry juice diluted with water (1/2 cup each) and I swear it has helped my system detoxify overall. I’ve been drinking it daily for almost a year and the difference is quite noticeable. It can’t hurt to see if that helps your back – it is definitely cheaper. Also, maybe fish oil tablets will help? I’ve heard that makes a difference. It is worth a shot.

    Thanks for adding me to your blogroll, I love that you call it your OCD-ed Blogroll.

    • 6 luvtoeat August 10, 2010 at 1:22 pm

      Thanks for the great advice Ameena! We drink cranberry juice often as well and it’s great with alcoholic mixes too (wink and lol). Because of breastfeeding for the past year I’ve been afraid to try anything. But now that he’s weaned, the options are definitely open. Hope you’re off to a good start today 😉 and have a great rest of the day!

  4. 7 A Canadian Foodie August 10, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    I always wonder about products sold this way. Usually the product has to be pretty good for people to get excited about. Does it claim to help with back pain? ANd cutting out the soda at the same time was bad timing – as that will improve your health without doing anything else.
    🙂
    I got horrible back pain when my kids were young from lugging them all over. You have no idea how hard that is on a young mom’s back. Maybe sit and have them come to sit in your lap – and stop the picking up?
    XOXO

    • 8 luvtoeat August 10, 2010 at 3:22 pm

      They actually do claim that it helps with back pain and that’s what I’m trying to find out. I thought about the pop thing too. One of those damned if you do, damned if you don’t situations. Even if it doesn’t help me with the back pains, at least I’ve proven to myself that I CAN cut pop out of my life (for the most part at least).

  5. 9 Lawyer Loves Lunch August 10, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    Heh, I like the OCD’ed blog roll. I totally have to redo mine as well. And man, $40 is definitely pricey. You’ll have to keep us posted on if you believe it’s helping 🙂

  6. 10 Jenn @ Chinese Baba August 10, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    Hi Lequan,
    Hmmmm… 40,00$/bottle, back pain still there, takes some getting used to for taste, and no health benefits promoted during seminar? I’d say ditch. I’m pretty sure Stella could give you pointers cos she’s magic like that!
    Have you tried acupuncture or maybe Chinese herbal medicines? I know they taste like crap, but they may help. Or used Tiger Balm? I love that stuff! Maybe just do some stretches and maybe some core exercises. Apparently the key to a healthy back is a strong core. Trust. Good luck!

    • 11 luvtoeat August 10, 2010 at 5:05 pm

      Hey Jenn,

      thanks for the wonderful suggestions! sadly to say though, i’ve tried all of those and none of them have helped. the stretches that my physiotherapist told me to keep doing do help but after doing them too much my back gets quite sore. i totally agree with you though, a healthy back IS a strong core.

  7. 12 Stella August 10, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    Hey LeQuan, you know how I feel about Mona Vie (smile & wink).
    Oh, and I was wondering why you feel that this product would help your back in particular rather than another. I know some of your friends have had good experiences with it in reference to certain ailments. Do you, for example, suspect your back problem is cartilage related and feel the Mona Vie for joints might help rebuild the cartilage a bit? Or do you suspect muscular damage & take it strictly to foment the healing process in your body in hopes that the concentrated doses of antioxidant rich Mona Vie will help this process get on with itself?
    Just wondering-if that’s okay?! I’ve actually been thinking about your back a lot this week. Back and musculoskeletal problems are such a pain. With proper investigation, they can often be remedied though. So answer if you feel comfy. If not, that’s okay too;)
    p.s. So disciplined that you’ve stopped with the Soda, LeQuan. I know that’s your favorite!

    • 13 luvtoeat August 10, 2010 at 5:38 pm

      hi Stella,

      those are great questions, and honestly, i don’t even know exactly what’s wrong with my back. just like i told you in my email, my doctor never ordered an x-ray…SIGH! so right now i’m just trying different things. although all the methods i’ve tried never fully healed it, i’d have to say there was a big improvement. from literally taking an hour to get out of bed and crawling to the washroom in pain, to taking 10 minutes just to get in and out of my car, to walking with a hunched back, to being able to walk straight up again. so now it’s just the final healing stages which also has taken the longest. maybe i just have to acept that i’m getting old lol. now that my son is weaned off nursing, my options are a lot broader too. at this point i’m almost willing to try anything (bigger sigh).

      • 14 Stella August 11, 2010 at 3:05 pm

        Hey LeQuanis! Did you know Cauldron Boy calls you “LeQuanis”? I don’t know why. It’s kind of pretty though, no (smile)?

        Yeah, I guess I’m just curious as to whether Glucosamine helps or not. For example, if you did try taking 1,200 mg of a good quality liquid Glucosamine for a month and noticed a lot of pain relief, that would mean you have some cartilage damage that is being helped by the Glucosamine. If it didn’t help at all, then muscle/connective tissue has been torn or even an intervertebral disc, which is no bueno! I can’t believe you were in that amount of pain that you just described and no X-Ray was ordered. Sorry LeQuan-that’s just weird.

        Anyway, I’ll stop going on and on… I hope you feel better soon. I would think the baby getting bigger and walking on his own will help to not exacerbate things, so that’s good.

        p.s. Good quality glucosamine almost always helps pain from joint damage, so taking it would be a good test to see if that’s what this problem is-Cauldron Boy did that for his back btw. It’s probably some type of muscle damage though that is not joint related, but you never know?!?

        Un Beso Grande-XO 🙂 Stella

      • 15 luvtoeat August 11, 2010 at 6:19 pm

        Lol at LeQuanis! I have many nicknames and now I have another (huge smile). Thank you so much for the info and suggestion on glucosamine! I have been looking into that. You are the second person that has brought this up. Yes, now that I think back, I should’ve asked my doctor to order me an x-ray. Although, he really should’ve ordered one in the first place. Change of doctor? Lol. Now you know I don’t go to the doctor’s much, which is a good thing I guess. Anyways, thank you muchly again Stella! I always really appreciate your helpful comments!

  8. 16 Brittany August 10, 2010 at 4:30 pm

    Hey there LADY! nice try on Selling this “lol” just kidding!!! HAPPY TUESDAY!!!! My daughters babysitter has it …..and has yet to be sick in 2 years (well a minor thing here and there) but still WOW!!!!! I just get caught up with the amount $ it cost OUCH!

  9. 17 Roti n Rice August 10, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    $40 a bottle is a little pricey but you wouldn’t know unless you try it. I congratulate you on giving up soda as it contains a lot of sugar which we don’t need. You will feel righ at home when you come to my house. I don’t buy soda. You can have sky juice (which is H2O) or tea or maybe zevia if I happen to have some 🙂

    Thanks for including me in your blogroll 🙂 🙂

  10. 18 MaryMoh August 11, 2010 at 3:17 am

    LeQuan, so sorry to hear you have backache. Wonder how you got it. I remember I had backache after my eldest. For months I was suffering. Then when I had my second, an elderly friend came to visit me during my first week of confinement. She asked whether I took wolfberries. Then she told my mother-in-law to add more and eat everyday to prevent backache. Whether coincidence or not, I did not have backache since then. I hope you recover very soon. Please take care. Hugs. Mary

  11. 19 Patty Price August 11, 2010 at 8:36 am

    Hi LeQuan,
    I’m sorry you have such severe back pain, I know when my children were little and I picked them up and carried them all the time my back was always sore. The best improvement I found for the pain was doing Pilates every week. I take classes and do the strength and stretching exercises at home as well. It takes time but it is so worth it. I hope you find some relief because I know it’s miserable to have this kind of pain, take care, Patty

  12. 20 tigerfish August 11, 2010 at 12:48 pm

    I don’t think this will help you ease your back-pain but surely, the Acai-Berry (being rich in anti-oxidants) can lead to a better internal health if taken regularly?

  13. 21 Tanantha @ I Just Love My Apron August 11, 2010 at 1:11 pm

    First, the blogroll looks real good and thank you so much for including me there LeQuan!

    Hmm..I’ve never tried Mona Vie. So, I don’t really know what is good there. I’m sorry about your back pain. Yes, $40/bottle is kinda pricey. I spotted what Jenn said about Tiger Balm. Man, I love that stuff too! Can a doctor tell what causes the pain? Have you tried detox and eaten only vegetable for a week? Not sure if it will help but seems to clean the body. I hope your back pain goes away soon LeQuan. Lots of love!

    • 22 luvtoeat August 11, 2010 at 2:23 pm

      Thanks for the kind words Tanantha! Tiger Balm works great for muscles but I don’t think that’s my problem and I wish the doctor would’ve ordered an x-Ray but he didn’t. I can definitely go a week or more (and have) w/o meat as I’m not such a huge fan. My next step is vitamins/fish oil pills and looking into a chiropractor. The things you take for granted when you’re healthy eh?

  14. 23 actorsdiet August 11, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    christy swears by mona vie. when i was really depressed 2 years ago she came running to my house with a bottle – i thought it was wine at first and that she was coming to get me wasted.

  15. 25 Laney August 11, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    Hi Lequan, I just came across your blog cause I was doing a search on Mona Vie. Anyways, I’ve been trying it for a couple of months now and I haven’t seen any real improvement. What I have noticed though is that my blood sugar has been kinda high since I started taking Mona Vie. I think it’s because Mona Vie is just really really concentrated fruit juices. I read another commentor’s comment about doing Pilates and I have to agree that I think the best way to a healthy back is by having a strong core. We are held up by our core and back muscles. But when our core muscles are weak, our back muscles have to work extra hard to compensate and that can lead to back pain. I imagine when you were pregnant and nursing your son you probably weren’t working your core muscles as much so your back had to work extra hard to keep you balanced during that time. One thing to remember when you are working on strengthening your core muscles is that you have to make sure you’re back isn’t working. That way you protect your back when you are exercising and are only focusing on strengthening your core muscles. If you google up Pilates style core exercises you will find some visual examples of what I am talking about. Anyways, those are just my two cents cause I read you were looking for opinions, good or bad. I hope your back gets better. You sound like a very sweet and loving person and I wish you the best!

    • 26 luvtoeat August 11, 2010 at 6:35 pm

      Hi Laney,

      Thank you so much for all this helpful information! I really appreciate you taking the time to read this post and taking the time to leave such a caring comment! I definitely will check out pilates for back injury. Thank you again Laney!

  16. 27 5 Star Foodie August 11, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    Wow, $40 a bottle is certainly expensive but it would be worth it if it helps.

  17. 28 Autumn @ Good Eats Girl August 12, 2010 at 9:03 am

    I’ve never heard about this…interesting! I’m sorry that the seminar wasn’t what you wanted it to be and you aren’t sure if it is working! I hope that you do find something that works for your back pain soon!

  18. 29 kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com August 12, 2010 at 5:04 pm

    i think if it tastes great and totally helps improve ones health, then 40 dollars might be worth it. i like a cai in general and definitely heard some great things about it.

  19. 30 denise @ quickies on the dinner table August 13, 2010 at 4:44 am

    I don’t mean to burst your bubble LeQuan but this whole thing really smacks of pyramid selling. I can’t help but feel that all you did was make those people $40 richer and that Acai berry though it may be beneficial, has been seriously hyped up so people can make millions and millions 😦

    When I had back, pelvic and knee problems, I found that a supplement of glucosamine, chondroitin and white willow bark extract did wonders for me! Of course I had to stop running and doing Tae Kwan Do for good before the pain went away permanently.

    I think you should be wary of putting too much hope in this product and try a proven supplement like glucosamine, light exercise and a generally healthy diet instead. Soda never did anyone any favours anyway. My two cents worth, which I apologise for in advance if it offends or upsets you 😦

    • 31 luvtoeat August 13, 2010 at 10:15 am

      Hey Denise!

      Absolutely no offense taken! I actually want to thank you for all your helpful and honest opinions and advice. I am really glad to hear that your back, pelvic, and knee problems went away permanently. Tae Kwan Do? I would be crazy to mess with you after hearing that. Teehee. But on a more serious note, your honest advice and opinion is always welcome here my friend. So thank you again!

  20. 32 Cindy @ This Adventure, Our Life August 13, 2010 at 8:41 am

    I have seen this product advertised….thanks for sharing, I did not really know what it was at all…Things are always worth a try 🙂 I have a friend who tried it also and she believes it is more about money than health…she felt no results either!

  21. 33 Jessie August 13, 2010 at 10:07 am

    I LOVE the fact that your blogroll is now organized down to a T – I wouldn’t expect anything less of you, LeeQs! 😉 I’m sorry to hear the seminar was a bust. I have to say, I’ve been skeptical of MonaVie ever since I first heard of it about a year or so ago, and I’m afraid the seminar supports my suspicions that it’s a fancily packaged and marketed product that is taking advantage of the current desire for antioxidants. Taking 2 oz. 2x/day sounds a bit like they’re trying to make it sound like medicine. I think it’s great to try it for a while if you’d like, but for $40 a bottle, I think you need to see a LOT of improvement to continue! Especially as juices often lack many of the micronutrients that whole fruits have, and as Laney wrote above, they tend to raise your blood sugar as they don’t have fiber to slow that process down.

    Even so, I’m thrilled to hear that soda has gotten the boot while you’re trying this! And really, LeQuan, if the juice is helping, why not? I feel so bad for you and your poor back – you’ve suffered way too much and way too long 😦 I wish there was a magic wand that I could wave to take the pain away. Have you ever tried massage and/or gentle yoga or pilates? With doctor clearance, of course.

    Take care, dear LeeQs!!

    • 34 luvtoeat August 13, 2010 at 10:30 am

      Hey Jessie!

      You bring up some great points here! Like I said to Denise, I always welcome honest opinions on my blog and all of you have been so helpful and honest about this. I feel so honored to have such a great bunch of readers and commenters. I always appreciate your professional advice and definitely take every word/suggestion to heart. After all, you were brave enough to try durian (wink). Thank you so much for always being so honest Jessie!

  22. 35 Magic of Spice August 13, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    Sorry about your back…I think I missed that. Hope you are doing better. I have a friend that sells or sold this and she swore by it, but I have never tried it.

  23. 36 Pilates August 13, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    Hi luvtoeat,
    Get well soon. I hope, you’re ok now. If there isn’t a serious thing, nature can help us sometimes. I believe like things.

  24. 37 Chef Dennis August 14, 2010 at 5:55 am

    thanks for a honest review of this product, i have been wondering myself what all the buzz was about!

  25. 38 sophia August 14, 2010 at 7:59 pm

    Um, $40 a bottle is 20 Supersize McD french fries. It sounds awesome, but my cheap Asianness just cannot tolerate the price! Haha!

    Oh Lequan, back trouble really suck…my dad has that, and it really is one of the worst things possible. I’m so sorry! I hope you feel better soon…my dad’s back got a LOT better when my whole family laid our hands on it and prayed for him. Maybe you can get your kids to do that for you! 😉

    p.s. Is there a SUPER DUPER AMAZINg category to your blogroll? I belong there. Muahahahhahaa!!!

  26. 39 Devaki @ weavethousandflavors August 15, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    Dear Le Quan – I am so glad that you took the time to educate us on this new product. I am a follower of Ayurveda and herbal medicines so as much a I can appreciate the qualities of the acai and goji berries, the $40 price tag makes me shudder.

    And people need to just stop with the hard sell on how we can all become millionares and owns big boats, non?

    I am sorry you have back pains – may be a good chiropractor or acupuncture? That is worse of all!

    As a rule I am wary of hyped up, faddy heath products. I prefer to stick with nature grown, out of the ground stuff. I found your post very informative and honest so THANKS

    Ciao,

    Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  27. 40 Mona Vie September 13, 2010 at 11:28 am

    We love Monavie, it has totally helped our family and friends.


  1. 1 Out of the Ordinary « luvtoeat Trackback on August 16, 2010 at 10:39 am
  2. 2 KISS « luvtoeat Trackback on August 22, 2010 at 11:06 am

Leave a Reply

