Brunch at The Kitchen Buffet and Bistro

Thank you for all your comments on the last post. As always, I enjoyed reading all of them. This weekend we did some Costco shopping. My kiddies love it when we go to Costco cause that means they get to eat samples. I’m not going to lie, I get excited going to Costco too 😉 Yes, I live such an exciting life.  Do you think Lex knows he’s at Costco?

We also dropped by the Home Depot (again, exciting life). That has to be the most boring place for kids to go to. I used to hate going to those places with my Dad. And now it’s my turn to drag my kiddies there.

But then some genius came up with this brilliant shopping cart idea. LUV LUV LUV these! 😀 I haven’t been to the Home Depot in a while so this is new to me. Whoever thought of this, THANK YOU!

We also visited Grandma and Grandpa.

And we had brunch a the River Cree. This is our go to brunch place. Here’s  their rack of lamb, waffles, and omelette station.

Gary loves their rack of lamb, but I’m really picky when it comes to meat so I usually pass on these. I just can’t stand the smell and the gamey taste of lamb. Although Gary does say that their lamb is not gamey at all and that it’s quite succulent, tender, and cooked to perfection (medium rare). Everyone we’ve taken to this brunch seemed to love these as well. I can stand the smell of durian but not lamb…hmmm…go figure.

They also have a bread station which includes croissants, bagels, muffins, strudel,  bread (of course), and a toaster.

Here’s their appetizers station. Be warned though, this changes every week. So if you do decide to give this brunch a try and then decide to bring some friends on another weekend, don’t expect to have the same appetizers. Right beside their appetizers they have a salad station as well but I forgot to take a picture of that.

From top left going clockwise: scallop and pineapple salsa, tuna tartar on crouton, Thai beef salad on wonton, and shrimp cocktail. Sometimes on my lucky days they even have lobster sashimi.

I couldn’t get a good picture of their main cooked food station cause there was always a huge line up so I’ll show you pics of some of our plates instead (sorry).

Here are some mixed greens and some kind of raspberry dressing which I tried for the first time. Not bad. Wasn’t as raspberry-ey (yes, I’m just making up words) as I expected though. I’m still on a search for a favorite dressing when it comes to salads. What’s your favorite salad dressing? Any suggestions?

Here’s one of Gary’s plates. Yes, I said one of. I don’t bother keeping track of how many plates dude eats at buffets anymore…sigh. Oh and I guess I should mention that this is an all you can eat brunch buffet.

If I remember correctly he had scallops, halibut, smoked salmon, prime rib, shrimp, rack of lamb, and some kind of pork all on that one plate. Don’t worry, he did get a plate of vegetables, salad, and fruits as well later. Other cooked items included in this buffet but not shown here were salmon Wellington, eggs Benedict, hash browns, bacon, oatmeal, and vegetables.

Now here’s my favorite station:

Yup yup, that IS a chocolate fountain you see. They have a beautiful selection of desserts but this also changes every week.

And the thing I love about this buffet is that they are kid friendly. So how much does it cost? It used to be $25.95 per person but they raised it to $27.95.  I blame Gary, I think he single-handedly raised their price by eating so much…teehee. All non-alcoholic drinks are included in the price and kids under 5 eat FREE. I love that word 😀 Considering the number of plates of lamb Gary eats, and the amount of seafood they have, we think it’s worth the price. Aaack! I almost forgot to mention that if you go and sign up for a Player’s Club membership card, you get a 20% discount. So it actually works out to about $22.50  per person with the discount. Click here if you want more info.

All right time to get some shut-eye. This is an older picture but it’s one of my faves so I thought I’d share. I like to call it, “Sleeping With the Enemy” 🙂 For those of you who are new to this blog, my son’s name is Lex. 😉

I almost forgot to ask, my hubby has been wanting to get some All Clad cookware lately. I know some of you who read this blog are foodies so I wanted to get some of your advice. Have you ever used All Clad, and what do you think of it? If not, what line do you like or use? Right now we’re using Saladmaster but we’re looking at other lines just to keep our options open. Hope everyone had a great weekend. Don’t forget to check the giveaways page. Until next time friends and family 😀

24 Responses to “Brunch at The Kitchen Buffet and Bistro”


  1. 1 liawrites April 25, 2010 at 11:58 pm

    The dessert buffet line looked so amazing…YUMMY…I just posted a buffet blog too…lol, well it was old…just finished putting up pics today…more to come. I dont know how you do it…kudos to such great effort in posting. 😉

  2. 2 aletheiazoe April 26, 2010 at 12:32 am

    So since returning home to family this evening, I had this irresponsible urge to drive to Costco and buy everything that I’ve ever wanted in bulk but never could afford on a student’s budget all within the span of one hour.

    I didn’t do that, however. Instead, I read this post and lived the Costco-experience vicariously through you and your family. Thank you, LeQuan, for helping my Costco-withdrawals in maniac-and credit-card-friendly ways.

    Your buffet eats make me drool. This is probably not a normal response to have to pictures of food at 2:30 in the morning. I’M GOING TO BED! AND DREAMING ABOUT COSTCO!

    Love,
    Aletheia

  3. 3 Devaki April 26, 2010 at 1:53 am

    Dear LeQuan – Looks like I found a Costco buddy in you!

    Girl you’re living it up! Why did I never think of going to a lovely buffet like this one that makes me drool? Oh I know – probably becuase I’ve spent all my moolahs at Costo!

    Just kidding…that buffet looks amazing. What a fantastic array of choices.

    Ciao, Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  4. 4 A Canadian Foodie April 26, 2010 at 6:33 am

    A great weekend day. We live in Lewis Estates, yet have never been to the brunch. I have only been there once, and as I am a non smoker and this is still a smoking location (on Cree land), I cannot tolerate the oder in the building. I know they have non-smoking spots, but that just didn’t work for me. A shame, as I know they have had some really great events and food. Enjoyed the read!
    🙂
    Valerie

    • 5 luvtoeat April 26, 2010 at 10:42 pm

      Wow! Really? I cannot stand the smell of smoke either but I have never smelled an odor there. I definitely would not be taking my kids if I had smelled any smoke at all. Perhaps we were in different parts of the building or they have changed the policy. Although I know kids are only permitted through a certain set of doors.

  5. 6 MaryMoh April 26, 2010 at 8:34 am

    Wow…love all the food….am drooling! I love Costco too….lots of things to see. Your kids are so adorable 😀 I’m sure they enjoy all those rides in the trolley and also the food.

  6. 7 Cindy Aguilar April 26, 2010 at 9:06 am

    I used to love Costco as a kid (and I now still love the samples also!). The dessert bar looks amazing and the chocolate fountain, YUMMY!! I use some All Clad pots…I like them a lot, but I am not a chef :)!

  7. 8 Jocelyn @ Peace.Love.Nutrition April 26, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    Omg- your kids are beyond cute. Love the superman costume!And that buffet is incredible!! I want to do there so badly

  8. 9 Kristen @ Change of Pace April 26, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    My little one loves to go to Lowes with us. Seriously, whomever invented those carts were are genius! It keeps them occupied the whole time!

    I was wondering… How far apart in age are your kiddos?

  9. 11 Jessie April 26, 2010 at 6:19 pm

    I feel like there’s a dusty picture of me somewhere where I look exactly like Lex does on Grandma’s knee, with food in my mouth. My Chinese grandmother was always feeding me 🙂

    It seems like the kiddies are loving Costco AND Home Depot! I remember being thrilled to go on errands with my parents when I was a young-un, but the thrill has worn off by now. At least you had a delicious buffet! We definitely think alike, because I’d be headed to the chocolate fountain first – yum!

    I’m not a huge fan of lamb, either, unless it’s smothered in curry in an Indian dish. What does durian smell like?? :O

    • 12 luvtoeat April 26, 2010 at 10:28 pm

      What does durian smell like? Lol. How should I say this? There’s just no pleasant way of saying it. Some people have described it as smelling like fart. Why am I giggling whilst typing this? I’m so mature like that.

  10. 13 Lazaro April 26, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    Wonderful post. Thank you for sharing. Looks like a tasty meal. You have a lovely family. Many blessings. Cheers!

  11. 14 Ameena April 26, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    SO cute…I love that Costco shot! And the brunch looks amazing…all that food for such a reasonable price…and I totally know what you mean about Gary single-handedly increasing the price. Ali is good at that.

    I don’t know much about All-Clad but I have Calphalon and I am pretty happy with it. No matter what though, it seems like my pots/pans need replacement every couple of years! Could be user error though. 🙂

  12. 15 Roti n Rice April 26, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    My teenage boys love buffet and with them, it is definitely worth the price! The only problem is that I tend to overeat and that is not a good thing.

    That’s an adorable picture of Lex 🙂

  13. 16 denise @ quickies on the dinner table April 27, 2010 at 9:31 am

    LeQuan you eat at the coolest places! And my God, your kids are adorable. I think they wouldn’t be safe with me – I’d squeeze them till they’re eyes popped ROFL Especially Lex. Big sis is cute too, but Lex melts my heart 😀

    So much food *eeeek* I wouldn’t dare go near the buffet table, though the macarons look soooooooooooooo tempting.

    Btw – thanks for the beautiful comment you left on my latest post – so heartfelt! I love long,long comments and get so much pleasure from reading them 🙂

  14. 17 whydeprive April 27, 2010 at 10:56 am

    That food all looks so good!!

    I LOVE Costco! I get super excited going there too – its awesome 🙂

    I love that buggy – they dont have those at the Costco near me. Your kids look SO adorable “driving”!!

  15. 18 amandasunshine April 27, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    i am secretly addicted to Costco. there, i admitted it! the first year we got our membership, i got the letter at the end of the year with the very small “check” they send you for spending money there. i was informed that i had spent just under eleven-thousand dollars there. now granted, a lot of that was TVs and such, but a lot of it was just careless spending due to my increase in income that year (i dabbled in real estate and got lucky) and when a costco opened near us, i went nuts. seriously, couldn’t you just make a meal out of the samples? =)
    …and i ADORE brunch places like this one. i went to one in California called Peppery and oh-my-gosh i obsess over it and this one looks very similar! yum!

  16. 19 tigerfish April 28, 2010 at 2:58 am

    I like window-shopping in Costco cos they carry certain products that we don’t get to see in other regular stores.

  17. 20 Stella April 28, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    Hey LeQuan, I love that stroller from Home Depot. Whoever thought of that is a genius, b/c your’e right. Kids hate Home Depot and I still do! Oh, and your’e hubby needs to be careful with all that meat. Is he one of those people that can eat tons of saturated fat and cholesterol and still have good blood readings? Some people are like that…
    By the way, my best cookware is Le Creuset. It’s pricey, but it last forever and cooks everything so wonderfully. Some people don’t like it b/c it’s heavy. I have to admit I haven’t used All Clad though, so I wouldn’t know about it.

  18. 21 actorsdiet April 28, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    i’ve only been to costco once and i will NEVER go on the weekend again. that said, it was still fun.

  19. 22 5 Star Foodie April 28, 2010 at 9:03 pm

    The dessert buffet looked terrific! Your kids are so cute!

  20. 23 Simply Life April 29, 2010 at 6:20 am

    oh that brunch looks amazing!

  21. 24 eatspinlive April 29, 2010 at 7:29 pm

    That looks like a really wonderful day and everyone looks so happy 🙂 Being with family is always a wonderful thing!


Leave a comment




Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other subscribers