I’m an Eater, Not a Hater

I’ve been meaning to post this earlier but since the weather has gotten so much nicer, it’s only fair to take the kiddies out more. Gotta take advantage of the 2 months of really great weather us Canadians only get 😉 My in-laws came into town from Vancouver so we tried out a dim sum place in Chinatown called Urban China.

Those eggplants are my fave at dim sum. And we usually order anything and everything with shrimp.

These durian pastries were mmm…mmmm…good 😛 I almost had the whole plate to myself. Durian is definitely one of those you either really hate it or really love it type of food.

We thought the food was pretty good but the service was lacking a bit. I’d probably go again though.

Okay before I forget, I have to share this cool trick with you. I was telling Jessie about this and thought why not share it with the rest of you on my blog. Are any of you out there plant lovers? I love looking at flowers and plants but I’m really bad at keeping them alive so rather than having the poor plants suffer, I choose to leave them in the stores so they can find a better home. My Dad on the other hand is a plant lover. Okay so here’s the cool trick I learned from him. Take a really ripe banana, peel it, wrap the banana in a piece of cloth and squeeze the juice out. Then use that juice to wipe the leaves and you’ll get a shine like this:

Yes, if you’re retired and have absolutely nothing to do but wipe every leaf on your plant then this is pretty cool. But if you’re like me and think your time could be better spent on MANY, MANY other things then yes, this is pretty crazy. Oh and I’m no expert on plants so please try this at your own risk. Not sure if the banana juice would be harmful to the leaves or not. I don’t see why it would be though. Anyone know? My Dad wiped his plant once about 2 months ago and this is a very recent picture. Oh and another great thing is that he says it keeps the dust off too. Just thought I’d share.

Anyways, I never shared my birthday meal with you so I’ll let the pictures do the talking. We decided to have a barbecue at my parents’ house so I made sure I wore my eating pants 🙂 When we barbecue, Gary is usually in charge of the grill. “Be a man, do the right thing.” Sorry, that Russell Peters quote just popped in my head for some reason. 

My sister in-law was sweet enough to make tamarind crab for us. She didn’t want to be in the picture.

A plate of beef sashimi with a Vietnamese twist. Chopped up mint leaves, red chili peppers, crushed peanuts (which I had to pick off), the juice of a lime, and salt and pepper to taste. Sorry if this grosses some of you out.

I had some of everything. If you’re wondering, that fish beside my steak is salmon sashimi. And yes, we made sure we froze the fish and beef for a certain amount of time before eating it sashimi style. After this I also ate probably one whole crab. Who said little 5 feet Asian girls can’t eat? 🙂

No birthday cake for me this year. But after all that pigging out, I’m not sure if I would’ve been able to eat cake. Hope you’re all having a great week. Don’t forget to check the giveaways page as I just added some new ones today. Untill next time friends and family.

39 Responses to “I’m an Eater, Not a Hater”


  1. 1 aletheiazoe April 22, 2010 at 9:56 pm

    Dear Luv-to-Eater:

    Your birthday meal is like an Asian culinary FEST. WOOHOOO for CRABS! Maybe it’s because I’m Asian, but seriously: CRABS >> LOBSTERS. RIGHT?!

    Although I love pretty much any and all dim sum treats, my favourite is probably the fried taro pastries. Do you know what I’m talking about? Deep-fried squid is delicious too. And yes, our family pretty much always orders everything and anything with shrimp. Oh, Shrimp…how you are so succulent and so delicious…

    ALSO your kids’ birthday cakes look like near-life-sized toys! :O

    🙂 aletheia

    • 2 luvtoeat April 23, 2010 at 10:58 pm

      The fried taro with the pork inside? I really like those too but I’m not a big fan of pork so sometimes I just eat the taro part and give the pork to my hubby…teehee. Oh and deep fried squid is so yummy too. Oh man, now I want dim sum again and it’s almost 11:00 pm.

  2. 3 Cindy Aguilar April 22, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    Oh my, your family seriously knows how to have a great party and woman, the FOOD!! I do not think I have tried half that food 🙂 Sometime! I love that my hubby does the BBQ also, I agree, the man’s job 🙂 and the steak looks, yummy! Your kids have awesome cakes!!

  3. 4 denise @ quickies on the dinner table April 23, 2010 at 12:47 am

    Ugh! You’re making my life feel positively boring! I love tim sum, but you can keep the durian pastries, thanks 😛 LOL

    Neat tip about the banana juice polish – my mum will squeal with delight when I tell her! She’ll be polishing EVERY leaf on EVERY plant outside LOLOL

    I’ve never had tamarind crab before – I wonder, might you be prompted to post a recipe, sometime soon? And uh, maybe one for the beef sashimi too *grin*

    Love the Dora and Super Teddy cakes *giggle*

    Btw, I have “eating pants” too 😉

    • 5 luvtoeat April 23, 2010 at 11:09 pm

      Haha, I’ll ask for the recipes just for you Denise 😉 But everytime I ask for measurement amounts, the answer is always, “a little of this, a bit of that” or “some of this, some of that.” Oh and my favorite answer, “just keep adding and adjusting to your own liking and preferred taste”….sigh. But you know the saying, “Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.”

  4. 6 serena April 23, 2010 at 5:01 am

    You are so right about durian. half my family love it, the other half run from it.
    So the banana polish won’t make the leaves sticky?

  5. 8 Stella April 23, 2010 at 6:58 am

    Hey LeQuan, you guys know how to eat! And, yes, you seem to have shrimp love for sure. I do too by the way, but it’s so hard to get fresh seafood here on the Gulf of Mexico (it has, unfortunately, become a big dumping zone). Ooh, and I want some of your sister-in-law’s tamarind crab-that sounds so awesome.
    By the way, I’m posting that award, but it’sweet of you to tell me I don’t need to do so. I want to, and I also want to feature that shrimp, spinach and tofu dish. So the post will be up soon…

  6. 9 Jessie April 23, 2010 at 7:02 am

    What cute cakes!! Your little ones must have LOVED those. I know I would have been so thrilled getting one of those (even now!).

    I’ll take one of those tamarind crabs please 😀 Good for you for practicing good food safety on the sashimis! I love a good salmon sashimi, plain or with a little soy sauce.

    Have you ever had taro cake at dim sum, with Chinese sausage in it? I think that one is my favorite 🙂

    Have a lovely day!

    • 10 luvtoeat April 23, 2010 at 11:25 pm

      I’d email you this comment reply through email but I don’t know how to do that yet cause I’m technology challenged…teehee. I’ve tried the deep fried taro with the ground pork inside but I’ve never had one with Chinese sausage, sounds interesting. I love meatless taro bakery buns though. Eeek, all this food talk is making me crave for a snack.

      • 11 Jessie April 24, 2010 at 7:19 pm

        Maybe it’s actually pork that I’m thinking of … whatever it is, it’s darn good!

        When I want to reply to a comment through email, I just hit “reply” on the email that WordPress sends me when someone leaves a comment, and it sets up the email for me. Hope that helps! 😀

      • 12 luvtoeat April 24, 2010 at 11:31 pm

        Thanx for the advice Jessie 🙂 I think I actually tried this before but it didn’t work quite the way I wanted. Oh well. Have a great Sunday 😀

        There is no part of the body that when broken, hurts as badly as the heart. (anonymous)

        Sent from my iPhone

  7. 13 A Canadian Foodie April 23, 2010 at 7:12 am

    How could anyone be grossed out by anything on that birthday dinner table. YUM. I can only dream of being able to cook and eat a meal like that. Absolutely fabulous. And outside, too – in APril! I bet that was a first.
    The cakes are gorgeous. Really sweet. You must tell your friend to get a blog up and post her work.
    ANd my parents are retired… so they gave away all of their plants. 🙂 But, great idea (doesn’t the goo attract dust and become really fuzzy and dirty faster?) Just asking.
    🙂
    Valerie

    • 14 luvtoeat April 23, 2010 at 11:29 pm

      I asked the exact same question about the plant Valerie, but he said it is a bit sticky at first but it dries really fast. Once it’s dried it’s not sticky anymore and it stays shiny for quite a long time. Hmmm, go figure.

  8. 15 Roti n Rice April 23, 2010 at 9:39 am

    It’s mid mornng here and you are making me very hungry. I am only planning on having a pita with hummus for lunch and now I am craving for more.

    I can’t believe they serve durian pastry at a dim sum restaurant. Is it popular? A lot of people can’t stand the smell of it.

    Apparently the banana peel thingy also works as a shoe shine. Of course, try it at your own risk.

    And lastly, you guys sure know how to feast 🙂

    • 16 luvtoeat April 23, 2010 at 11:34 pm

      Actually this is one of the rare restaurants that I’ve seen this durian pastry in so I don’t think it’s very popular here. It is definitely an acquired taste, like sashimi. And the smell, oh gosh the smell can definitely clear a room in record time lol.

      Shoe polish? Really? Cool!

  9. 17 Ann April 23, 2010 at 9:55 am

    OMG that fried crab is sooo tempting my taste buds.. awesome.

  10. 18 Cindy April 23, 2010 at 10:03 am

    Holy Cow! That’s some seriously good eats!! All of it!

  11. 19 actorsdiet April 23, 2010 at 10:15 am

    i’m having dim sum this weekend with my auntie! can’t wait. i’ve never had durian before – am curious to see if i would like it…

    • 20 luvtoeat April 23, 2010 at 11:38 pm

      I was just saying to Biren that it’s definitely an acquired taste, like sashimi. And the smell can for sure clear a room in record time. You gotta be able to get past the smell first. Just like stinky tofu. I’d be interested to know if you ever try it what you think of it.

  12. 21 luckytastebuds April 23, 2010 at 2:49 pm

    wooow!!! When it comes to food, i’m totally an eater and not a hater. Dim sum is my weakness because there are a few items i LOOOOVE and have been known to order 2 orders just to i can eat them all! hahah shrimp dumpling would definitely be one of them. NOM!!! Har gaw….love.

    That is the most adorable cake EVER!!!!

  13. 22 eatmovelove April 23, 2010 at 5:41 pm

    Adorable cake! I love it. I’ve never done a Dim Sum…hmmm. Love dumplings though. Your in Edmonton? I lived there for awhile – have to be honest – I didn’t really like it…but I wasn’t happy in general – still not – …but I did LOVE the River Valley..;)

    • 23 luvtoeat April 23, 2010 at 11:48 pm

      Oh I highly recommend dim sum if you’ve never tried it. It’s quite an experience.

      Yuppers, the city of champions 😉 Although these days our hockey team hasn’t really been living up to that 😦 I’d have to agree with you though, there’s not really much to do here. We’ve talked about moving to Vancouver. So much better food there 😛 lol.

  14. 24 Lazaro April 23, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    Great photos. Love dim sum. What an amazing spread for your birthday and those cakes were beautiful. Thank you for sharing! Cheers!

  15. 25 Can You Stay for Dinner April 23, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    LeQuan!!! What a lovely spread of food. I thought the dim sum was amazing and then I saw your birthday barbecue and nearly fell over. I’m so jealous of all of it! I’d love to join you and your family for a wonderful meal- I love that you enjoy your food so much and that you eat such a wide array of dishes. It’s so important to eat what you love, love what you eat. You are so inspiring.

    I’m so happy you had a wonderful time with your family! And the cakes, oh I almost forgot to mention how much I loved the cakes! They were so creative and expertly done! Your friend should have her own baking show! I’d watch and order those any time!!

    Have a great weekend, love!!

    • 26 luvtoeat April 23, 2010 at 11:56 pm

      Oh I definitely eat what I love. There’s no holding me back when it comes to food
      😉 Actually instead of holding me back, it’s probably safer if you stand back, like WAY back lol. With that said, you’re more than welcome to join us for dinner any day Andrea. But do so at your own risk
      😉 Hope you have a wonderful weekend as well, dear!

  16. 27 5 Star Foodie April 23, 2010 at 9:04 pm

    Quite a feast here and the cakes are so neat!

  17. 28 Simply Life April 24, 2010 at 4:37 am

    YUM! That looks like a great meal out!

  18. 29 DEVAKI April 24, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    Hi LeQuan – I saw the pics of the dim sum and you already had me on my knees and then I got to the tamarind crabs and I was a gonner.
    It is so marvelous to see a spread like that and all the love of family together.

    Fantastic spread and fantastic post! So glad I stopped by and I’ll be back 🙂

    Ciao, Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  19. 30 Ameena April 24, 2010 at 4:59 pm

    What beautiful cakes and a great feast! I love how your sister-in-law didn’t want to be on your blog, neither does mine!

    I love love love anything with tamarind. My mom makes this tamarind chutney that is out of this world.

    Have a great weekend!!

  20. 31 MaryMoh April 25, 2010 at 12:28 am

    Wow…..so much good food here!!! I love all of them. Best when you don’t have to do any cooking 😛 Love that birthday cake….so cute! Thanks lots for the tip on making leaves shiny…blows my mind…haha. I’m not sure whether I don;t like plants or plants don’t like me. They never survive well on my hands 😦

  21. 32 Chef Dennis April 25, 2010 at 4:34 am

    looks like you had a wonderful day!! everything looks marvelous.
    All the best
    Dennis

  22. 33 eatspinlive April 25, 2010 at 7:38 am

    LeQuan,

    I am so happy that you enjoyed such a wonderful time with the people you love! I love how you incorporate amazing foods and family all at once! That is truly amazing to see 🙂
    All of the dishes look amazing! I wish I could have been there too! Hehehe! You are such an inspiration and it is so nice to see someone who knows what to value most in life! I am glad you had such a special day-you deserve it!

  23. 34 glidingcalm April 25, 2010 at 8:14 am

    so much gorgeous food!!! I adore dim sum, and Vietnamese food is my all time favorite!! 😀

  24. 35 whydeprive April 25, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    First of all, I LOVE dim sum. It is SO GOOD!!

    Second, those birthday cakes are amazing.

  25. 36 sophia April 25, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    OMG. Pig out time!!! What a spread! And your dim sum pictures had me drooling like no other! Oh you wicked lady, tempting me with things I can’t get here within my vicinity! boo hoo!

    Oh, and haha, I find that 5 feet petite Asians can eat about double more than the average person, yeah?

  26. 37 amandasunshine April 27, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    DIMSUM is my absolute favorite thing to eat – period. I would LOVE to live near a chinatown, but I wouldn’t be able to fit through my front door.

  27. 38 Blessedhi5ive May 1, 2010 at 9:21 am

    Tamarind crabs! Any recipe to share? Your food pictures just make me hungry… Love the birthday cakes. Your friend is very talented indeed.


Leave a Reply

