My Own Restaurant, Supermarket, and Hair Salon

This must be a very familiar sight for a lot of parents. We usually keep our cabinets locked but sometimes we forget and as soon as this little guy sees, it’s off to the races literally for both of us 😉

My Dad came to pick up the kiddies and I today to spend a day at their house. When I looked outside, I wasn’t impressed. Just when I thought I could take my kiddies to the park soon cause all the snow had melted, old man winter decided to drop by again…grrr.

So out came the winter jackets and head-gear, into the van went the kiddies, and off to Grandma and Grandpa’s we went. Now that I look at this picture, I realize I must be challenged at colour coordinating. My poor daughter…haha. 

Not only do the kids love going to my parents’ house but so do I cause there’s always free food, and who doesn’t love free food? My Mom made some siu mai for us. This is the only pork meat I’ll eat. She makes them extra lean for me. These are nothing like the dim sum ones, they’re more like pork meatballs.

I stuffed them into a baguette and made a siu mai sub. She also made shrimp salad rolls. These are usually stuffed with slices of fatty pork meat but she knows to leave those out for me. It’s not so much that I’m worried about the fat, it’s more the chewyness and texture of the pork skin that deters me.

Of course while I was having lunch, someone continued getting into trouble. If you’re wondering what’s happening in the background, that’s my Mom doing a pedicure on a client. My parents turned half of their house into a salon.

This is her doing threading on a client. I’m not even going to attempt to explain what that is so I just linked it. If you look closely you’ll be able to see the string.  Any of you ever tried this before?  Definitely one of the coolest but strangest hair removal techniques I’ve seen.

Whenever we go to my parents’ house we usually stay for dinner as well. Tonight we had oven roasted eggplants topped with green onions and some fish sauce, stir-fried ong choy (definitely one of my favorite Chinese dishes), pan-fried eggs, pork meat, and some kind of Chinese herbal soup. 

I guess I can say their house is like my own restaurant cause you know how parents are constantly trying to feed their kids. Except this is better cause it’s free 😀 It’s also my own salon cause we get free haircuts after dinner when needed. And it’s my own supermarket cause sometimes I even take groceries home. The fact that I’ve moved out of their house doesn’t stop me from still being a freeloader 🙂 Oh and I almost forgot to add the free babysitting service we get there too. I’d have to say, parents rock! I hope I’m as good a parent to my kids as my parents are to me. Hope you had a good hump day.`

The lovely ladies at Why Deprive and Lucky Taste Buds are having a giveaway. Check them out quick, may be ending soon.

15 Responses to “My Own Restaurant, Supermarket, and Hair Salon”


  1. 1 Ameena March 25, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    I get my eyebrows threaded once every 2 months or so. At first it hurt but now it is a piece of cake! How great your mom can give you perfect eyebrows and nails, right in the comfort of her home. I am pretty jealous.

    Sorry about the weather! I thought winter was basically over everywhere but that is one scary picture!!

    • 2 luvtoeat March 25, 2010 at 11:35 pm

      She did the threading on me only once before my wedding and never again. I don’t have a high threshhold for pain. I’m such a wimp. And I know I should take advantage of the salon but I’m totally lazy when it comes to putting on make up.

  2. 3 whydeprive March 25, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    Well, the good news about the snow is your kids look ADORABLE all bundled up!

  3. 4 Stella March 25, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    Hey LeQuan, I want to go to your parent’s house and eat delicious food and also be able to get my eyebrows threaded and hair cut. Kind of awesome… Oh, and the kids are so cute as usual. I know I’m not supposed to have favorites, but your little girl makes my heart skip a beat. I love that round face-so precious!

  4. 5 denise @ quickies on the dinner table March 25, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    OMG – you’re kids are so adorable, I want to squeeze them through the screen!

    I am getting so jealous reading about your parents- free eats, haircuts, babysitting, groceries. They’re supercool 🙂 Threading is pretty common over here though I’ve never had it done on me. It requires a lot of skill and it’s quite amazing to watch!

    Snow when it’s coming on April?? That is weird!

  5. 6 A Canadian Foodie March 25, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    LeQuan,
    WHAT a spread! For lunch and for dinner. Who does all of the cooking? Your mom, in between appointments, or is your dad retired? That would take me an entire day to put out. I had a colleague who came over one weekend and taught me how to cook Chinese… her mother’s dishes… kind of. She worked hard, but so fast, if was hard to learn from her. The food was like nothing I had ever eaten. It was beyond delicious. Lucky, lovely you!
    🙂
    Valerie

    • 7 luvtoeat March 25, 2010 at 11:18 pm

      You answered both your own questions haha. But my Mom is super fast at whipping up dinner. I’m still a baby chef compared to her. That’s the thing with Chinese cooking, you don’t really measure anything and just dump everything in. Maybe that’s why it’s so hard to just watch and learn. There’s no measuring involved so it’s so frustrating (for me) to learn. It’s always just a bit of this and a bit of that or a touch of this and a dash of that.

  6. 8 Merry120 March 25, 2010 at 7:03 pm

    LeQuan – It’s great to “meet” you! Thanks for friending me on Twittermoms! I love your blog! I can’t wait to read more. I wish I got that kind of food & some eyebrow threading when I went to my parents house! 🙂

  7. 9 Jessie March 25, 2010 at 7:11 pm

    What do you mean? I think red and purple make a great color combination! 😉

    That’s so nice that your mom leaves out the fatty slices. Knowing my desire to eat healthy, my father-in-law hints that he’s going to make fun “treats” for Peter’s and my future kids, so that they’ll always want to go to Grandpa and Grandma’s house 😛 Oh well, he’s just kidding … I hope …

    Have a great evening! 🙂

  8. 11 Sook @ My Fabulous Recipes March 25, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    All the food looks scrumptious! Yum!

  9. 12 BlessedHi5Ive March 26, 2010 at 6:59 am

    You have the best deal and yr mom is a super mom. Yr kids are so adorable and oh so lucky with all the love and homecooked food. I have never tried the siu mai sandwich style. I got eye brow threading once and had endured the pain with lots of tears. The talented Indian lady t the mall was able to get perfect brows while holding one side of the thread with her teeth and talkind on her blue tooth phone. Yes yr parents are awesome!

  10. 13 eatspinlive March 27, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    It must be so wonderful to be able to get your hair done at your parents house! And the food looks really good too 🙂

  11. 14 sophia March 27, 2010 at 9:38 pm

    Haha, I would love to grocery shop at my parent’s house…come back home with a jar of homemade kimchi!


  1. 1 Like Lynn Chen, My Parents Rock! « luvtoeat Trackback on March 28, 2010 at 11:39 am

Leave a comment




Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other subscribers