An Honest Opinion

I’m not going to talk much about food or my kiddies today but more on blogging. It was quite interesting reading your comments on the New Moon post. At first I wasn’t sure if I wanted to post it but now I’m glad I did. I appreciated and enjoyed reading your honest opinions and comments. I hesitated about posting it because I didn’t love the movie (and books) like a lot of people did. But I didn’t hate it either so I’m sorta in the middle. I know how much some people (particularly one person) did love this movie and I didn’t want to do a bad job writing a post on it and ruining it for them. And frankly, I was also afraid of starting a war in my comments box haha. After contemplating for a day I came to the conclusion that no matter what I write about, I’m never going to please everybody. Some people are going to like it, some people are going to dislike it, and some people may not have a clue as to what I’m talking about anyways.

As somewhat of a new blogger I have to remind myself that blogging should be about anything I want without having to worry that my readers will hate it. It shouldn’t be about making up stories and going with the flow trying to get as many readers as possible. Although getting comments and making many new friends are nice bonuses. Blogging should really be for myself, to relieve stress, to talk about my honest thoughts and opinions, and to enjoy a new hobby. So with that in mind I decided to blog about New Moon not caring if people were going to hate it or love it. Even though I’m not a big fan, I did have a great time with my friends (who threw an awesome party), my hubby and daughter, and had yummy food, so I think that’s definitely worthy of a post.

I see so many blogs out there that have 20 or more comments daily and I’m in awe that these people (you know who you are) are getting so many comments. I’d be lucky if I got 5 comments teehee. Kudos to all those bloggers. You’re definitely doing something right to be getting so many readers. As I read all these lovely blogs I started seeing something that they all had in common. All these bloggers are blogging straight from their hearts with honest opinions on all sorts of things. Whether it be food, clothing, books, movies, family, or even their life struggles, they’re speaking from experience and not making up stories just to attract an audience. I guess that’s why I’m so intrigued with reading other people’s blogs because unlike a fictional story, blogging is personal and real. With each day you learn something new about the person behind the writing. And also cause there is a nosey part of me who likes to vicariously live through other people’s lives (especially people who have no kids to chain them down and are free to travel and eat and do anything they want whenever they want) 😉

So with that said, I’d like to thank you for all your honest comments on my blog. Not just that but also for allowing me to follow your blogs and escape this hectic life of a mother and live life through your eyes for a while. I’d also like to thank those friends and family who do read but don’t comment. It means a lot to me that you’re taking the time out of your busy lives to get to know a little bit of mine. Gosh I felt like I was one of those actors/artists accepting an award after saying that. Again, only in the blogging world am I able to dream like that haha. Sorry, back to what I was saying. I’m still trying to figure out for myself if the blogging world and the real world can exist as one. What I mean by that is if I’m willing to announce my blog to ALL my friends and family yet cause so far I’ve only told a few close friends and very few family members. I guess I’ve rambled on enough for today so I’ll leave you with this thought. Do you think the blogging world and the real world can coexist “publicly”? If so, what made you want to share your blog with ALL your friends and family?

I’m craving for some smelly goodness right now. If you’ve had these you’ll know exactly what I mean by “smelly” haahaa. This picture was taken on my visit to Vietnam about 3 years ago. So much yummy food there. Off to look for a snack now 😀

Until next time again y’all. Hugs and

14 Responses to “An Honest Opinion”


  1. 1 whydeprive March 23, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    No one in my real life knows about my blog. Ok – thats not true. My boyfriend does, but he doesnt read it. My family doesnt know, and only one of my friends does. I keep it to myself mostly because I dont feel like my family needs to know some of the things I post about. Ive never been comfortable talking to my parents about serious things, and I would like to have an outlet where Im comfortable saying anything.

    My boyfriend of course nearly died because he did announce at his family’s Christmas dinner that I started a blog. If his Grandma hadnt been there, I may have stabbed him with a fork.

  2. 2 Ameena March 23, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    I find it easier to say things when I know strangers are reading! But now that some of my real-life friends read my blog I find it hard to say certain things for fear of offending them.

    You should definitely say whatever is on your mind. I am trying really hard to follow my own advice!

  3. 3 lauralei March 23, 2010 at 5:03 pm

    i find that most of the people i know don’t read my blog – they ask questions sometimes and i want to say “if you would actually read my blog you would know”

  4. 4 Jessie March 23, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    I love that picture of you! Who knew durian was so exciting? 😉

    Thank YOU for reading my blog – I am certainly enjoying reading about you and your family and the foods in your life 🙂 You are right – blogging should be for ourselves, as stress relief or whatever we like. We should be honest, or else blogging will be a struggle.

    Have a great evening!

  5. 5 luckytastebuds March 24, 2010 at 3:20 pm

    Aw…I know you mean! There are so many bloggers out there who have a TON of comments, but you know what? I’d rather a long, thoughtful comment than 10 short ones that were hurried and not from the heart. 🙂 Make sure you’re always blogging for YOUR happiness and not to please others or ever compare yourself to others. It will make blogging no fun at all!

    With that being said, OH MAN, durian!!!! I used to love it when I was younger, but Now i can’t seem to stand the smell…I blame it on living in the US for too long and not getting to eat any for such a long period of time!

  6. 6 Stella March 24, 2010 at 3:20 pm

    Ooh, that fruit at the bottom is the fruit that Anthony Bourdain hates!
    Anyway, I really appreciate this post. Blogging should be about whatever makes you happy in the artistic sense (as well as any other sense). That’s what makes any blog unique. I think the only rule is to not be outright nasty or offensive, which you and most people aren’t, so whatever. Que Sera, Sera…

  7. 7 denise @ quickies on the dinner table March 25, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    Hi LeQuan – I really enjoyed reading your post. It was honest and a lot of what you said is what I, and I think many bloggers, feel as well.

    I am so pleased that you read my blog – thank you for spending your time(I can tell you don’t have a whole lot to spare) actually reading what I have to say. Your comments have always been from the heart, not just a rushed out 4-word line. I feel honoured.

    My experience with blogging has been a mixed one. There are some great bloggers out there and yes, you’re one of them, for sure :). There are some less great ones who are very singleminded and don’t care that it shows.

    Funnily, my family and friends know that I blog but most of them don’t read. I have this cousin who reads everything I post and talks to me about it but refuses to comment LOL Go figure!

    I think you have an amazing family(you’re kids are angels!) and I love how you blog from the heart. I look forward to reading more 🙂

    ps – I hate durian *arrrgh* sorry – I know, I’m Asian and it’s sacrilege but I just can’t stand the smell on my hands LOL

    • 8 luvtoeat March 25, 2010 at 11:47 pm

      Wow! Thank you for your wonderful comments! I’m touched that you took the time to write all this and not once but twice. Hope you don’t mind me keeping both comments because you took the time writing them I don’t want to delete and flush your time down the drain.
      I’m still figuring out if I want to tell EVERYBODY I know about my blog yet. I’m afraid of accidentally offending someone I know.
      Durian is definitely one of those either you really hate it or love it kind of things.

  8. 9 denise @ quickies on the dinner table March 25, 2010 at 6:29 pm

    Sorry if this becomes a repeat post – my earlier comments didn’t appear. Can’t remember if you moderate. Please just delete as needed.

    Anyway I just wanted to say that I think you’re the real deal LeQuan. I loved your post – so honest and from the heart, just like you are 🙂

    I wanted to thank you too – for reading my blog and leaving comments that clearly came from your heart and were not just rushed out 4-word lines. I know you don’t have a whole lot of time to spare and feel honoured you would choose to spend any of it at my blog.

    I think you have an amazing family – you’re kids are squeezable cute LOL and I love how you keep it so real 🙂 I look forward to more of your great posts!

  9. 10 Sze March 25, 2010 at 11:06 pm

    LeQuan, your blog is amazing! I gotta admit I don’t know a lot about blogging…you know i’m not the type to spend alot of time on the Internet amongst the bare minimal time I have between Teresa and working, but I’ve been sorta addicted to your blog lately. Before, I read, but don’t know what to say, or maybe I’m just a little leary about posting a public comment….so I didn’t, but your post here sorta hit it home with me.

    What is more satisfying than to be our true selves, without worrying about prejudice, acceptance, and just what others think in general? Also, to be able to speak our mind in order to soothe or relax ourselves! You go girl, I’m very proud of you!

    Reading your blog reminds of me of when I use to “chase” novels, how I’m so anxious to read every word and not miss a single thing…10 years ago

    Gheez, did I just write an essay? Sorry…

    • 11 luvtoeat March 26, 2010 at 8:40 am

      No, you didn’t write an essay. I loved reading that. I’m glad you like my blog. You know you can always speak the truth to me and get the same in return. I know sometimes the truth is hard to swallow but I’d rather hear the aweful truth than a really good lie. You know what they say, honesty comes from the heart. And I know our conversations will always be heart to heart. Luv ya girl! Thank you for commenting.

  10. 12 BlessedHi5Ive March 27, 2010 at 12:09 am

    Hi there. I like reading your posts and enjoy seeing yr beautiful kids photos. I have no courage to put things down in my blog. I guess i feel more comfortable giving feedbacks than writing down my thoughts and experiences. Also I have concerns about internet safety and privacy. I must be from an older generation. In my mind the blog world must be what i want it to be with a bit of fantasy mixed in whereas the real world just pushes down to keep my feet on the grounds. We need a little escape from the daily grind. When I told some of my friends about recently becoming a blogger they wanted tto see my blog right away. I felt a bit embarrassed as I am not able to keep up my blogging. Thanks for sharing yr thoughts.

    • 13 luvtoeat March 27, 2010 at 1:50 pm

      hi BlessedHi5Ive!

      it’s great to see you comment. i’ve been checking your blog once in a while to see if you have any new posts up cause as a “somewhat” new blogger i like to support other new bloggers as well. i thought i had added you to my blog roll but i guess it may have gotten deleted when i was trying to figure out how to categorize/group my blogs. i’m so sorry, but i’ve just readded you.
      i totally know what you mean about privacy, especially when i talk about my kiddies. i always try not to give out too much info when it comes to them. especially later on when they get older and go to school and are not by my side 24/7. this blog definitely allows me to escape motherhood for a while and i’m glad i’ve started it. you don’t have to feel embarrassed if you don’t have the the time to write posts. as long as your blog is accomplishing what you set out for it to accomplish then it’s doing it’s job. hope to see you around in the blog world and read more of your posts. keep on blogging, but at a comfortable pace for yourself 🙂


  1. 1 Like Lynn Chen, My Parents Rock! « luvtoeat Trackback on March 28, 2010 at 11:39 am

Leave a Reply

