A Little Or A Lot Of Ginger

So today we went to Joey’s for lunch with one of our friends. For some reason I was craving for a burger so I decided to get the mushroom burger. I was surprised at how big the burger actually was. I split the burger and fries with my daughter Kayla. When we go out to eat I try to let her order whatever she wants cause she’s pretty good with eating her fruits and veggies at home. That burger really hit the spot for me.

Gary ordered the rotisserie chicken with fries.

And my friend Nancy had the Souvlaki chicken wrap.

After lunch we went over to my parent’s house to watch the hockey game. What a great nail biter game it was! By the time the game was over it was almost 5:00 so we headed home to make dinner. If you like ginger you’re gonna like this dish. It’s basically steamed fish (I used Tilapia tonight but you can use any type of fish) topped with ginger, green onions and garlic. So I started off with 4 pieces of skinless, boneless Tilapia fillets.

Any of you ever seen this before? I don’t know what the technical name for this thing is called but I call it the claw. I love using it when I steam stuff.

It claws onto your dish so you can take your dish out or lower it into the steamer without burning your hands. Pretty cool huh?

I chopped up about 10 cloves of garlic and cut up a bunch of green onions and some ginger into strands. The good thing about this dish is that you can use a lot of ginger or a little bit of ginger. As you can see I chose to use a lot of ginger cause it makes the dish extra tasty. All those ingredients were then browned with some oil in a sauce pan and poured on top of the steamed fish.

There’s the finished product with some soy sauce added at the very end. Such a simple, quick dish to make.

For a vegetable dish I made some brocoli tenders. I’ve never heard of these before so I decided to buy a pack when I saw them at Costco. They actually didn’t look like broccoli at all to me. The reminded me of a chinese veggie called “gai lan”.

Anyways, it wasn’t until halfway through cooking one of the bags that I realized I could have saved myself some cooking and washing time cause I could have microwaved them straight in the bag…..sigh.

Remember that huge bowl of cole-slaw I made with the Bullet Express the other day? Well I didn’t want that to go to waste so I dumped it in with the broccoli tenders and stir-fried them.

Two simple dishes accompanied with some white rice. There’s my plate.

As you read more you’ll discover that I don’t cook pork at all cause I don’t like to eat pork. A lot of my dishes will consist of some kind of seafood. Well I hope you enjoyed your weekend. I’m off to catch some zzzz’s now. nighty night.

4 Responses to “A Little Or A Lot Of Ginger”


  1. 1 serena March 1, 2010 at 6:56 am

    I like a little ginger and my mom loves a lot. So we compromise and she cuts the ginger into bigger slices so it would be easier for me to pick them out. I think we use to call your claw a “keem” or a clamp.

  2. 2 Ameena March 1, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    I like the taste of a little bit of ginger but I don’t like it when I bite into a big chunk of it.

    Dinner looks awesome…I don’t eat pork either. I am much more of a seafood person.

  3. 3 Gaby March 8, 2010 at 7:33 am

    Dear Luvtoeat, the talapia with ginger and garlic look and sound divine! Also like the different dishes you, your friend and husband ordered earlier that day. I have to say Geez Louise, all my favorite foods. This is my first visit to your site and it’s exceptional. Well organized, well written and great clear pictures. I shall enjoy returning for a bite of more. Thank you for sharing,
    Ciao, Gaby
    You can visit me at http://ptsaldari.posterous.com


  1. 1 Chinese Dinner With A Canadian Foodie « luvtoeat Trackback on December 19, 2010 at 4:51 pm

Leave a comment




Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other subscribers