Bullet Expressing Thoughts

Before I start I just want to announce that the lovely ladies at The Actor’s Diet are having another giveaway.

Sheesh, it looks like this is turning into a weekend bloggie for me. The only thing I have time to do on weekdays is read other blogs, no time to write at all. Anyways, down to business. So I’m a huge sucker for infomercials. Especially anything that has to do with the kitchen. I swear if it weren’t for my hubby Gary, I’d probably throw all my money away on every kitchen related infomercial gadget out there. I’ve purchased pieces such as the Bamix, the Magic Bullet, the Bullet Express, and Salad Master cookware. The list goes on but those are some just to name a few. My most recent purchase was the Bullet Express. Some of my friends and family have the Magic Bullet and have been asking me if I like my Bullet Express. Unfortunately I haven’t been able to tell them cause I haven’t had time to try it out until this past week. So I’ve decided to share my thoughts about the Bullet Express with you on this post.

I made Citrus Grilled Chicken Breasts using the juicer. I peeled some oranges, limes, and a lemon.

Into the juicer they went. All the pulp got strained out into the container at the back. It wasn’t too noisy either.

Next, the juice was poured into the meal mixer with a few cloves of garlic and salt and pepper to taste. I found this machine to be quite noisy. Probably a bit noisier or equally as noisy as the Magic Bullet.

Once everything was chopped up and mixed together, it got poured over the chicken breasts and put into the fridge overnight to soak up the flavors. I was surprised to get so much juice from 3 oranges, 2 limes, and a lemon. There were about 5 pieces of chicken breasts in that bowl.

And there’s the finished product. Instead of grilling the chicken breasts I put them on a skillet and pan-fried them. Here in Edmonton Canada we still have snow so I didn’t want Gary to have to drag out the barbecue and barbecue in the snow…sigh.

There’s my plate. I also made some cole-slaw and shredded some sweet potatoes and pan-fried them to go along with the chicken.

Look, I finally found a use for the phonebook 😉 I had to set the bowl up as close to the machine as I could so the food wouldn’t spit everywhere. The shredder was the loudest of the 3 machines in my opinion. I definitely wouldn’t run it while my kiddies are napping.

I’d have to give it credit for making this big bowl of salad in about 2 minutes. The thing I disliked most about the shredder was that I had to cut up my food into small pieces just to be able to feed it into the opening of the machine. That prepping alone took me probably 10 minutes too.

As you can see, the pieces of food spit out everywhere. Some even got onto the floor but I didn’t take a picture of that. Because of such a mess that the shredder made and the fact that I had to cut up my cabbages into small pieces, this was definitely my least favorite of the 3 machines.

Onto the next experiment. So I decided to go all out and try to make cheesecake. I never ever bake cakes or cookies but the infomercial made it look so easy that I decided to try. See what a sucker and how gullible I am? First I mixed the butter and graham crackers in the meal mixer and then spread them on the bottom of my bowl. Yes I said bowl. I don’t ever bake cake remember? So I didn’t have the proper baking tray or a springform pan (I didn’t even have any idea of what that was until I googled it) for the cheesecake. The best I could come up with was a glass bowl. You can call me crazy, but at least I’m one determined, optimistic, crazy gal. Next I added the rest of the ingredients and mixed them together.


Not bad at all. The meal mixer was strong enough to mix all those ingredients fairly quickly to a pretty smooth consistency. I’d have to say I was impressed. So into my “bowl” went the rest of the mixed ingredients.

About two hours later…..voila, we have cheesecake! It turned out better than I expected. Not bad for my first time ever baking eh? (And yes, I’m Canadian…teehee)

So did I love this machine? Not as much as I thought I would. I didn’t hate it either. Let’s just say on a scale of 0 to 10 I’d probably give it a 7. Here’s a pros and cons list I made:

Cons:

  • Shredder was messy.
  • Need lots of storage space in cabinets.
  • Takes up lots of room in dishwasher.

Pros:

  • Fast/powerful
  • 3 machines in one at a decent price.
  • Not the quietest machine but the noise was bearable.
  • Dishwasher safe.
  • Great for making food for big parties.

Well there it is, my thoughts on the Bullet Express. If you’re looking to get one, I hope I was of help to you. Now I’m off to look for a springform pan 😉 Hope you all have a wonderful weekend.

3 Responses to “Bullet Expressing Thoughts”


  1. 1 whydeprive February 28, 2010 at 6:10 am

    Ok you are so my hero for posting this. I saw an infomercial last weekend, and havent been able to stop thinking about it since.
    I have a MAJOR lack of storage space, and that is the only reason I didnt whip out my visa and buy it right away. I mean, I have a food processor, I have a blender, do I REALLY need it?
    It would really only be for the juicer, and I could probably `borrow` my parents juicer if I wanted to.

  2. 2 Maisy March 2, 2010 at 8:32 am

    Hey LeQuan, thanks for sharing the post. I will stick to the magic bullet for now. Can I have a piece of cheesecake though? 🙂 😛

    xoxo,
    Maisy


Leave a Reply

