My Guilty Pleasure, Because I’m Shameless

Deep fried oyster wraps. Yes, you read right, deep fried oyster wraps. Don’t knock em till you’ve tried em ;-). I wasn’t going to post this because well… honestly? I was a bit ashamed to. It’s no secret, when some people hear the words “deep fried”, they turn and run in the other direction. So when the BFF came over and asked if I’ve been making anything new? These of course came straight to mind (there are no secrets between BFF’s).  Then when she asked if I was going to do a post on them, my response was, “Heck no, woman! Are you crazy?!’. The truth was that I didn’t want the blogging world knowing that I eat this kind of stuff. By “this kind of stuff” I mean something Richard Simmons wouldn’t touch even with a five foot pole.

Truth be told, I’m no Richard Simmons. I mean, dude is adorable and all but, well…let’s just stop there for both our sakes. Anyways, this is what I eat, this is my blog, and I really enjoyed the meal so why not share it? My blog is not a health blog and I am not here to try to make myself look like an all around healthy eater. So BFF, this one’s for you ;-). This recipe makes about 6 oysters. I used one oyster per wrap. My hubby, also known as “The Hungry Hubby”, used 2 oysters per wrap. What veggies you choose to use in the wrap is up to you. Also, I don’t have a deep fryer so these instructions are for deep frying in a 5 – 6 quart sauce pan.

Ingredients for deep fried oysters (makes about 6 medium sized oysters):

  • 1/3 cup all purpose flour
  • 2 large eggs beaten 
  • 1 cup Panko bread crumbs
  • 2 quarts vegetable oil (or just enough to cover the oysters)

Instructions:

1. Have everything for deep frying laid out and ready to go. Place flour, eggs, and bread crumbs in separate containers.

2. Fill a sauce pan with enough vegetable oil to cover two oysters at a time and heat the oil on high heat for five minutes.

3. After five minutes, turn oil down to medium heat.

4. Roll oyster around in flour until completely covered. Shake off extra flour.

5. Dip oyster in eggs until fully covered. Flip to cover the other side.

6. Roll oyster in Panko bread crumbs until fully covered.

7. Carefully and slowly slide oyster into the oil and fry for about one and a half minutes per side or until both sides are golden brown. (No longer than two minutes per side.)

8. Drain fried oysters on paper towel.

Because I’m such a (in the words of my hubby) “DORK”, no worries, I’ve called him much worse (naughty wink and smirk), I used my tomato plate in an attempt to make it look more healthy, but who am I kidding? This is pure guilty pleasure. There, consider that your warning ;-).

Ingredients for wraps: (makes 2 wraps)

  • 1 handful spinach
  • 1 handful bean sprouts
  • 1 small sweet pepper sliced into strips
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheese
  • Thai sweet red chili sauce
  • 2 tortilla shells
  • 1 or 2 deep fried oysters per wrap

I bought this Thai sweet red chili sauce from Costco – LOVE IT!

The assembly:

A bit of an Asian wrap, I’d say :-).

Can’t forget my beloved cheese :-P.

This is optional, but I wrapped it and microwaved it for 30 seconds just to melt the cheese. I like my cheese ooey gooey. I left one end open because it was too hard to wrap up both ends.

Peek-a-boo.

I-see-you!

See those streaks? Sauce started dripping out the bottom end so I shamelessly tried to swipe it up with my wrap. 

This was the best wrap I’ve ever had. Hubby agreed and we both wondered why nobody sells these (not that we know of at least). They’re so so easy, quick, and delicious. Definitely not an eat two or three times a week type of meal, but if you’re looking for something quick, fun, a bit naughty and delicious to eat, this is your meal. If you don’t have the sauce, please look for it. This sauce and the deep fried oysters are the stars of this meal. This recipe and wrap would work well with shrimp also. Enjoy!

I washed this down with some Chrysanthemum Tea.

Chrysanthemum tea is known to help aid digestion of greasy foods. It is also “classified as a cool, acrid herb which is good for relieving heat of the upper body“. You can read more about the benefits and nutritional value of chrysanthemum tea here.

So, BFF…when are you coming over for some deep fried oyster wraps? Oh, and it’s obvious by now that I have no problem using the term BFF like a giddy little teenage girl. No offense to any teenage girls reading this. If anything, I’d much rather be your age again, trust me. Until next time, friends and family :-D.

49 Responses to “My Guilty Pleasure, Because I’m Shameless”


  1. 1 Sharon Moh February 21, 2011 at 11:30 am

    LOL you’re so funny LeQuan. We all have our guilty pleasures don’t we? And if we’re honest, we have to admit that deep fried stuff is good! Haha. I LOVE the wraps! The deep fried oyster look so good. I could easily eat that on its own with some good chilli sauce! Have to keep a lookout for that at Costco now. The colour of it looks much better than the normal Thai chilli sauce you get. Boy are these making me hungry. This looks MUCH better than the raw oysters I had once (must be one of those acquired taste things). I suppose the way you deep fried the oysters can be used for any other type of meat right? I sound like I’m about to deep fry everything in sight lol. I love chrysanthemum tea. Never knew it was good for digestion though!

    Your writing makes me laugh :). Honestly people are wondering why I’m laughing to myself and just grinning at my computer screen lol.

    • 2 lequan February 23, 2011 at 12:17 am

      Hey Sharon,

      Sorry for the late reply. I didn’t realize your question until the second time I read this. Honestly, after making these I was thinking of what other things I could possibly deep fry. I’m sure you could do this with chicken. Is that what you were thinking? I even thought about trying it with durian. Yeah, I’m truly shameless :-D. I’d only deep fry seafood if I had to finish it and it wasn’t at it’s freshest state. I’m a seafood fanatic and much prefer my seafood fresh and even raw if possible. I could down 12 raw oysters easily. Can we still be friends? Haha.

      Ditto on the writing, my friend. When I read your blog I don’t do the cute little girlie teehee giggle. It’s more of a down right lol. Shameless I tell ya, shameless ;-).

      • 3 LeQuan February 23, 2011 at 8:41 am

        PS
        If you do this with meat, make sure you finish cooking it by baking it in the oven though :-).

      • 4 Sharon @ Fun and Life February 26, 2011 at 4:13 pm

        Hi! That’s ok, I checked back the first two days then I thought you might be busy so gave it another few days lol. Deep fried…durian…??? Now THAT is certainly something else haha.

        No no, we can no longer be friends 😛 LOL. Just kidding haha. We love durian so that over-rules 😉 lol.

        Thanks for the tip! I wouldn’t know to do that otherwise! Knowing me, I’d deep fry the meat, bite into it and go UGGHHHHHH it’s NOT COOKED! Lol.

      • 5 Sharon @ Fun and Life February 26, 2011 at 4:17 pm

        Ok that big grin after “No no, we can no longer be friends” was meant to be 😛 (a little face with tongue sticking out thing). It was NOT meant in any way to read as a “yay I’m getting rid of her” statement by putting a big smile after it lol.

      • 6 Sharon @ Fun and Life February 26, 2011 at 4:18 pm

        Ok I don’t know why it did that again. The semicolon (:) + (p) becomes a big grin. Hope you get what I mean. And sorry for practically spamming your blog!

      • 7 LeQuan February 26, 2011 at 5:18 pm

        It’s all good, I spam your blog all the time ;-). No worries, I totally know what you meant. We sorta think on the same wavelength.

  2. 8 Leah @ Why Deprive? February 21, 2011 at 12:28 pm

    GAH!! That looks SO good! 🙂

  3. 9 Pachecopatty February 21, 2011 at 12:44 pm

    I for one, am so happy that you don’t have a “healthy” blog, whew!
    These fried oyster wraps are amazing looking, way better than the green salad I’m going to make myself for lunch. My husband would go crazy if I made fried oysters for him;-) He’s getting roast chicken tonight;-) I think you softened the unhealthy blow of this dish by adding all the veggies, I mean you could have fried the whole thing, honestly, maybe this is a healthy blog, you are too funny. I love seeing what you are cooking up in your kitchen please don’t hold anything back, LOL;-) Have a great week!

  4. 10 tigerfish February 21, 2011 at 1:38 pm

    I actually love deep-fried food but it does not appear often in my blog (not because I only showcase healthy food!) but because I don’t like to deep fry at home (esp. to handle the aftermath of a greasy wok, stove, kitchen etc.). In short, I am a lazy cook.

    I would not mind eating those deep-fried oysters if they are served right in front of me!!! :p

  5. 11 Light Delight with Tou Tou February 21, 2011 at 5:10 pm

    This Is Delicious!!! I wish I could make it! there is no shame about food, LeQuan! I like the Oyster pancakes a lot, yet never tried these deep fried oyster anywhere! hehe, you definitely have the talent to make the most enticing food around the blog world…

  6. 12 j3ss kitch3n February 21, 2011 at 6:51 pm

    LeQuan haha each and every of us has our own guilty pleasure sometimes! the wrap looks so good with the oysters in it! yum!

  7. 13 anncoo February 21, 2011 at 7:11 pm

    I love deep fried food, very much indeed! I wish I can have a big bite on that oyster in the wrap…hahaa…nothing to feel guilty about ;))

  8. 14 Quay Po Cooks February 21, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    LeQuan, when it comes to good food, I seldom feel guilty, hahaha. For example, I am allergic to some kind of prawns but I still eat them and take anti-histamin after that. Bad ha? your deep fried oyster wrap looks divine! I will eat it anytime without guilt.

  9. 15 Ameena February 21, 2011 at 8:34 pm

    No need to apologize my friend! Deep fried anything tastes amazing and really, why not? Life is too short not to indulge here and there.

    That tomato plate is very authentic looking – brilliant idea to make yourself feel better. 🙂

  10. 16 Blackswan February 22, 2011 at 12:36 am

    OMG! Lequan, we’re both sinful people with so much similarities! Yours is Deep-Fried Oysters & I did a post on Deep-Fried Mussels when I just started blogging in 2009!

    I’m a sucker for fried food & I’m the most unhealthy among my friends. Hahaha! At least yours come with vegetables. I just ate mine as a snack while watching TV. Terrible!

  11. 18 A Canadian Foodie February 22, 2011 at 2:51 am

    Everyone has their guilty pleasures! So happy you shared this one as the fried oysters are also a family favourite over here. When I was tiny, my mom’s dad used to get gallon buckets full of freshly shucked raw oysters flown in every Christmas. He would order a pail for our house, too (they were literally shiny silver new paint pails) and he and my dad would sit with their chins over the sink downing raw oysters until their tummies hurt when they first arrived. After that, it was the big oyster fry. And the next, and the next, until the bucket was gone – it took a few days over the holidays.
    We prefer the smaller oysters from the west coast for this. I can only find them at Fin’s anymore when in season. Dad doesn’t like the big ones (the ones you have) at all. I do, but I have also done an oyster tasting – well, with three kinds, as that’s all that were in at the time. I think I wrote about two of them in a post about raw oysters on my site.
    Every Christmas since, I make fried oysters as part of our celebration meal. It is just how it is. It would not be the same without these little fried jewels on our plates.
    The wrap idea is brilliant. People don’t sell them here because we are in the prairies and they are not regional, but they do sell these fried oysters on the coast. Now, the wrap idea? You go for it! Sell your idea to someone. It has to be worth something! Start a trend! They sound good to me! But, I must admit, as these are such a rare treat around here – I love them raw and fried. Doing anything else to them, for me, is just not necessary!
    YUM!
    🙂
    Valerie xo

    • 19 LeQuan February 23, 2011 at 12:30 am

      Love love love raw oysters! I enjoy them with a few dashes of Tobasco sauce. Must be the small ones though. Fin’s huh? I need to check that place out! Christmas must be such a huge feast at your house with many many wonderful dishes.

  12. 20 Biren @ Roti n Rice February 22, 2011 at 7:28 am

    Let’s face it, we all love deep fried food. I indulge my boys (and myself) once in a while as long as we put in the rest of the good stuff. Your deep fried oysters look fabulous! Though the wraps look good, I think I will go straight for the deep fried stuff alone 🙂

  13. 21 5 Star Foodie February 22, 2011 at 8:12 am

    I love the idea of deep fried oyster wraps! So yummy with the melted cheese too, I can see how I could be addicted to these as well 🙂

  14. 22 Aletheia February 22, 2011 at 11:57 am

    Oh man, LeQuan. I AM YOUR BFF.

    Ever since I saw these on your facebook page I have alwaaays wondered how to make them. If only I could get my hands on some oysters now, that would be superawesome… 🙂

    Bring on the deep-fried goodness, darling!

  15. 23 Jos February 22, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    I confess, I love deep fried stuff (tempura, french fries..anything savory!) I’ve never tried deep fried oyster though..I’m sure it tastes amazing!

  16. 24 MaryMoh February 22, 2011 at 1:44 pm

    Fried oysters in this way…mmm…am sure I can eat a few pieces. Whoever run away from it, I will invite them when I cook this. I get to eat all….haha 😀 I tried the raw ones once…at Hong Kong. My gosh..that was hard to swallow. I must have looked like those westerners trying to eat mochi balls. You don’t know whether to swallow or to spit out…haha. Love the oyster wrap…mmmm.

    • 25 lequan February 23, 2011 at 12:39 am

      Omg, too funny Mary! Reminds me of the time I took my friend to try her very first raw oyster. She didn’t know whether to swallow or spit it out either. The look on her face was priceless.

  17. 26 foodcreate February 22, 2011 at 2:12 pm

    I love deep fried oyster wraps! So Delicious with the melted cheese , Looks Yummy 🙂

  18. 27 Anna Johnston February 22, 2011 at 10:44 pm

    Look at the size of those oysters…., I’m so jealous 🙂 I’ve never tried one of these, but I’d be totally up for the experience, it sounds amazing & who cares about what other folk say…., I’m all about the taste and this oyster wrap sounds delicious (probably not the sort of thing a girl would tuck into more than every now’n & then…, but I’d so absolutely want to try it, I think it’d end up a real fave 🙂 BFF’s are the business Lequan., where would we be without our BFF’s….., sadder, poorer, lonesome & giggle free girls. 🙂 Have an awesome week my friend 🙂

  19. 28 denise @ bread expectations February 23, 2011 at 6:46 am

    You’re a Dork?!!!?? I thought the tomato slices were real until I read what you wrote ROFLMAO *blush* We should start Dorks Anonymous 😉

    Oh LeQuan!!! Your wraps are gorgeous, but I’m gonna tell you what I told Devaki and her wonderful Fried Oyster Po Boys. I am afraid of oysters – they are my nemesis *hangs head down*

    Does that sound strange from a mussel, escargot and clam lover?? I have had a raw oyster and it was my last ever. Maybe that was my mistake – should have started with your wraps or Devaki’s po boys…

    Btw – I don’t run away from ‘unhealthy’ food. I think you should post what you eat and enjoy, not what anyone might think you *should* post. If anyone is concerned about the health factor of your food, there are dozens of health nut blogs out there waiting for them 😉

  20. 29 lena February 23, 2011 at 8:56 am

    hi le quan, 2nd time to your blog, the first time was thru marymoh’s blog when you were writing a guest post on that. I think your deep fried oysters look delicious and putting in some cheese sounds really yummy ! Looking at the tortilla wrap, you just inspired me with some ideas for some other fillings for tortilla.

  21. 30 pigpigscorner February 23, 2011 at 1:31 pm

    Fats=flavour! I love deep fried stuff, that’s if others are doing the dirty job…haha

  22. 31 sophia February 23, 2011 at 4:42 pm

    Well, THIS is why I love you, Lequan. Unapologetic for your gastronomical pleasures. As you should be, that wrap looks amazing!! Actually, FAR better than amazing, it looks like the kind of thing I’ll eat and die happy. Health nuts don’t know what they’re missing! Sad, sad, lives they lead!

  23. 32 Uncle Lee February 23, 2011 at 6:02 pm

    Hi, Wow! Looks sinfully delicious.
    Looking at it, I think 4 pieces, maybe 5 will do me fine, ha ha.
    You are very good, creative too.
    I guess this requires dexterity, delicacy, finesse, coordination and patience coming out with your masterpiece here.
    You are good!
    Have a nice day. Lee.

  24. 33 Autumn @ Good Eats Girl February 23, 2011 at 7:01 pm

    These look amazing! I think we all have our guilty pleasures!! I do the same thing sometimes….I eat something bad, and then don’t want to post about it! 🙂

  25. 34 Faith February 23, 2011 at 8:30 pm

    Mmmm, those look soooo good! I’m glad you decided to share this with us, LeQuan! And don’t worry, we all have our guilty pleasures. 😉 And now for a little confession…I’ve never had a deep-fried oyster!! Judging from your pics, I know I’ve been missing out. I bet I could get my hubby on board, so I’m hoping these will be in our near future. 🙂

  26. 35 Monet February 23, 2011 at 10:21 pm

    I have never heard of these…but you shouldn’t be ashamed about loving them. After seeing your pictures and hearing you describe them, I want one right now! I can’t wait to make these for Ryan. He adores oysters. Thank you for sharing such a tempting meal! I hope you are doing well. Stay warm and enjoy the end of your week!

  27. 36 Stella February 24, 2011 at 8:50 am

    LeQuanis, I don’t know why you don’t feel this is healthy?! I mean, oysters are wonderful and so are all those veggies. If anything, I have more issue with wraps (a.p. flour-I use it, but it’s not healthy). Frying has been a cooking technique for as long as humans have been able to extract fats from animals and vegetables. You know, in the health world, it’s actually considered healthful in most realms of holistic eating. There are three major rules to frying that are considered important for healthful frying. I’ll tell you them if you’re interested. Maybe I’ll do a post on it soon…
    Healthy or not though, I don’t think you should deprive the world of this. Posting was the right decision, my lovely. This really looks super delicious, and just so you know I eat stuff like this all the time. Well, not all the time but more than one would imagine from looking at my blog (smile but seriously)!
    *Hope my favorite blogger is doing well;-)

    • 37 lequan February 24, 2011 at 9:44 pm

      Hey Stella!

      I would love to hear or read the three major rules to healthful frying. You’ve definitely perked my interest there. If I can have the cake and eat it too, by all means, bring it on lovely witch. Doing a post would be a great idea. Knowledge like that must be shared 😀

  28. 38 Lawyer Loves Lunch February 24, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    You already know my love of deep fried food so I’m ALL over this recipe. And I love that there’s cheese in your sorta-Asian wrap. And really, what is it with people looking down on fried food? It’s delicious! 🙂

  29. 39 Stevie February 25, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    I’ve never considered such a fantastic recipe! It looks absolutely perfect! I’d want at least two oysters in my wrap to really enjoy myself. Happy weekend!

  30. 40 Karlynn February 25, 2011 at 3:54 pm

    Those look fantastic! Deep fried has me running TOWARDS the person making it,mmmm especially oysters! It gives their, well, kinda gooey texture a much needed crunch!

  31. 41 Magic of Spice February 26, 2011 at 9:29 pm

    LeQuan, you are too funny…love the tea add, but really we are all just wanting to jump on those wraps. Wow, delicious…I mean really if we worry too much we can’t eat at all, and these are worth the trip to guilty pleasure land 🙂
    Wishing you and your family a fantastic weekend.

  32. 42 cooking gallery February 28, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    Oh yum yum yum…! That Asian wrap looks so luxurious…:D)!!

  33. 43 Juliana February 28, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    LeQuan, you are SO SO funny…your wrap looks delicious, love the crispy texture mixed with the veggies…and oysters yes! Your tomato dish is so cute 🙂 And I’ll definitely look for the Thai sauce at Costco. Have a great week ahead 😉

  34. 44 Reese Darragh April 11, 2011 at 12:00 pm

    Le Quan,

    Nothing to feel bad about with fried oyster, kaki furaido as the Japanese calls it. When I was in Tokyo for my exchange term, more often than I like to admit on a weekly basis, I’ll walk to the grocery store in Takadanobaba and bought myself a couple of the 10 piece pack fried oyster for lunch/dinner/snack. The grocery store people known me as the kaki furaido gal. That is how addicted I was to these babies.

    Reese

  35. 48 Reese Darragh April 12, 2011 at 6:02 pm

    Oh God! I have to go get one when I go visit my sis this weekend. I miss durian a lot!


Leave a comment




Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other subscribers