Pain d’Epi

 Hi everyone! As promised, I’m going to share one of the bread recipes with you from my bread making day with Valerie. Of all the breads we made that day, the Pain d’Epi was my favorite (thank you Patty for letting me know what the name of that bread was) so I’m choosing to share that recipe with you first. Here’s what it looks like:

It’s supposed to be shaped like a wheat stalk. I’m just going to keep this post short today and get started on the recipe. This is not a real recipe, just me recalling what I remember from that day as we did so much. Hope the pictures help. This was only my 4th time baking bread so if I make any mistakes here, you’ll have to forgive me. I’d appreciate it if you could correct any mistakes in your comment as well. Thanks in advance.

Ingredients:

  • 500 grams all purpose flour
  • 1 Tbsp fresh yeast (15-20 grams)
  • 350 grams water
  • 1 tsp salt (10 grams)

Directions:

Put the flour and yeast in a mixing bowl and rub in the yeast with your finger tips.

Add salt and water. Mix well until everything is combined.

Transfer dough to the counter to knead. (Here’s a video of the kneading technique we used.)

Once you’ve kneaded the dough, mold dough into a ball and place in a bowl covered with a towel in a warm place for one and a half hours.

Once your dough has been given time to proof, place a baking/pizza stone into the oven (if you don’t have a pizza stone then use a cookie sheet turned upside down) and preheat oven to 500 degrees F (or hottest setting).

Gently pour the dough out using the rounded side of your scraper to help you.

Form the dough into a rectangular shape as shown here:

Fold the dough in thirds by pulling up one side and pressing it into the center.

Do the same with the other side.

Pinch the seam closed.

Stretch the dough into a log.

Turn the dough over onto the seam. Allow to proof for another 30 minutes covered with a cloth.

Gently flour the top of the dough.

Now here comes the fun part. With a pair of scissors starting from one end, cut the dough t a 45 degree angle leaving about 1/4 inch from the bottom. Hopefully this video will explain it better.

Slide the loaf onto the baking stone and bake for 25 minutes or until golden brown.

These are the steps I recall taking. If there’s anything you want to add or correct me on, please feel free to do so in the comments section. If you’d like more bread recipes you can visit Valerie’s recipes page or Denise’s lovely bread blog.

Last night I finished off the last of my stash of bread with my Asparagus and Seafood Soup.

 

You can find the recipe over at my dear friend Mary’s blog at Keep Learning, Keep Smiling. The only thing I did different was that I added lobster. We had a party at a friend’s house the night before and had a lot of lobster heads left over (no one wanted them) so I took them home to make this soup. Let’s just say, “slurpity slurp slurp” :-P.

Also before I go, I just wanted to let you know that I had a guest post over at the lovely Lynn Chen‘s blog of The Actor’s Diet last week. Feel free to check it out if you have the time. If not I won’t be offended, I know how busy you all are. If you know me, you’ll know how much I adore Lynn and her work, so this was a huge honor for me. Thank you again for having me on your blog, Lynn!

Until next time, friends and family :-D.

64 Responses to “Pain d’Epi”


  1. 1 Quay Po Cooks April 11, 2011 at 5:16 am

    LeQuan, this looks like an easy bread to make and I love the part where the dough is cut. It look like a lot of fun to do that! It is so nice of you to include the video because if you did not, I don’t think I will be that smart to know how to get that shape.

    I am a bread lover I usually fill half of my stomach with bread before I even eat my appetizer. My Quaylo always tease me by telling his friends that it is very easy and cheap to please his Quay Po when taken to dinner. Just give me a big basket of bread! LOL!

    I am going to try to make this bread and take a video of how I do the cutting part and share with you. I am sure that will be hilarious! XOXO

    • 2 LeQuan April 11, 2011 at 8:39 pm

      Hi Veronica!

      The bread was actually pretty easy. I think you will do just fine :-D. I included the video b/c I was too lazy to upload all 20 pictures I had shot of that. Lol. Much easier this way.

      Haha! I’ll be sure to keep the bread basket full if we ever have lobster together :-P.

      I would love to see your video if you make one! XOXO!

  2. 3 Blackswan April 11, 2011 at 5:43 am

    Lequan, this looks perfect to me! I’m not a baker & probably never will. Hahaha! This is simply mission impossible for me.

  3. 5 thecompletecookbook April 11, 2011 at 5:58 am

    What a lovely looking loaf. I have just starting experimenting with bread too. I am looking forward seeing your other posts.
    🙂 Mandy

  4. 7 A Canadian Foodie April 11, 2011 at 6:49 am

    In English, it is just referred to as Ept. I had told you that, too. Must have been information overload. 😉 Wonderful post. Love the video. Isn’t it easy. This recipe makes two smaller epi’s beautifully, too!
    YUM YUM
    Just had another marathon bread baking day with Taste Tripping.
    🙂
    Valerie

    • 8 LeQuan April 11, 2011 at 8:56 pm

      Ept. Got it. I’ll remember that this time. Information overload is right! You and the video make it look so easy, wait till I try it myself. Knowing me, I’d probably cut right through the bread and then try to stick it back together. Haha. Hope all went well with the Taste Tripping! Can’t wait to read about it! Take care, Valerie! Hope to see you again soon.

  5. 9 MaryMoh April 11, 2011 at 9:12 am

    Oh wow…beautiful bread. LeQuan, you should have sent some over 😛 I cooked a big pot of soup today but no bread 😦 It’s for dinner and that’s all. Time to slim down everyone 😛

    • 10 LeQuan April 11, 2011 at 8:57 pm

      Give me your address ;-). With all the sports you guys are doing, I’m surprised you still need to slim everybody down. You’re too funny, Mary!

  6. 11 Min {Honest Vanilla} April 11, 2011 at 9:21 am

    I love the shape and had to watch the YouTube clip to figure out how it’s done 😛 Lobster head is excellent for stock! The soup must be packing a punch!

  7. 13 Anncoo April 11, 2011 at 9:31 am

    WOW! I love this Epi bread, very interesting on the cutting.
    Your lobster head soup looks very delicious too but lobster is very expensive here.

  8. 15 Pachecopatty April 11, 2011 at 12:31 pm

    Hi LeQuan, I am running out the door to meet my daughter and grandson but quickly wanted to leave a comment;-). This loaf of bread is beyond amazing and beautiful, it is a true work of art. I will come back to watch the video and check out your guest post later. Did you share your guest post on Facebook? Because I’m so glad you mentioned it or I would never have known;-)
    Hope the start of your week is a good one;-). Oh and that beautiful soup with the lobster, don’t want to leave that out, just one gorgeous post from start to finish!

    • 16 LeQuan April 11, 2011 at 9:03 pm

      Patty, I hope you had a great time with your daughter and grandson. You’re always such a sweetie! Thank you for your kind words. Yes, I think I did post the guest post on FB. As much as I’m on FB, it’s funny that sometimes I forget to post my new posts on there.

  9. 17 Stella April 11, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    Oh LeQuanis, that bread is really beautiful, and it does look like a wheat stalk. Amazing! You know what though?! I like the way the soup looks even better. It’s so super Asian and delicious looking with the egg (?) running through there along with the lobster and asparagus. Yum! And, plus, that was so witchy of you to take those lobster heads:-) Yeah! I always get some suspicious looks when I do stuff like that, but sometimes one just has to take the lobster heads (smile). That’s life…
    Hope your doing well, my sweet friend. And, I’ll be back soon…
    XOXO,
    Stella

    • 18 LeQuan April 11, 2011 at 9:04 pm

      Stella! So glad to hear from you! I emailed you, hope you got it. Yuppers, guess it’s called egg drop soup? Oh, when it comes to lobster or prawns, none of it goes to waste with me. Even if I have to look like a head hunter. Haha. Although when you’re a foodie, everybody knows who to give their “unwanteds” to. Teehee. Hope all is going well with you my dear witch.

  10. 19 Brooke April 11, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    This bread looks beautiful, and what an ingenius way of shaping it. 🙂

  11. 21 Ameena April 11, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    I used to buy “sour epi’s” at the grocery store years ago when I could still eat everything without problems gaining weight/stomach aches, etc. In other words, prior to Maya! Anyway, these look even better than the ones I used to be obsessed with. Amazing LeQuan!!

  12. 23 tigerfish April 11, 2011 at 3:10 pm

    The wheat bread is beautifully done! I am stalking on it! 😛

    Is there lobster in that seafood soup? Homemade bread plus seafood and asparagus soup – let me indulge!

  13. 25 Leah @ Why Deprive? April 11, 2011 at 5:46 pm

    That bread is so cool looking! I would love to try making it.

  14. 27 5 Star Foodie April 11, 2011 at 5:51 pm

    Thanks for sharing the recipe and the step by step instructions! The bread sounds so good and just perfect with that beautiful seafood & asparagus soup!

  15. 29 Lazaro April 11, 2011 at 6:29 pm

    That soup looks awesome. Gorgeous presentation. Love the asparagus.

    Two thumbs up!

  16. 31 sophia April 11, 2011 at 7:50 pm

    I’ve seen those kinds of bread before! And yours look so artful and I love the pale dusting on top. Like snow. Sigh…

  17. 33 Maki April 11, 2011 at 8:48 pm

    Wow. that looks amazing! My mouth is salivating. fantastic job!

  18. 35 Juliana April 11, 2011 at 9:06 pm

    LeQuan, your loaf of bread looks awesome, love how you cut/molded…and served with the seafood soup just sound perfect. Have a great week ahead 🙂

  19. 37 Anna Johnston April 11, 2011 at 11:13 pm

    I read this last night when it popped into my inbox & yet here it is still in my inbox, I must have just thought I’d commented.., but instead just went off thinking how much I wanted a bowl of lobster soup & this awesome bread. Apologies lovely LeQuan, I think I’d better leave off commenting when I’m so tired 🙂
    Love the little video too it really shows you how to so easily snip the dough & turn it (I’ve often wondered how they get that look). How fantastic to be part of Valerie’s bread day…, sometimes my bloggy friends are just too far away 🙂
    Have a great week 🙂

    • 38 LeQuan April 12, 2011 at 7:00 am

      No worries, Anna! I do that a lot too. Sometimes I’ll read a post when I have a couple minutes to spare in between doing things and then totally forget if I had commented or not. Hope you have a great week too!

  20. 39 Tanantha @ I Just Love My Apron April 13, 2011 at 1:00 pm

    Wow I was surprised by how few ingredients being used in this bread. I guess it comes to the kneading technique and cut/fold at the end skill. You did GREAT LeQ! Oh I like the lobster head on a side of the bowl hehe

    • 40 LeQuan April 13, 2011 at 10:19 pm

      Yeah, that’s what I love about this bread. It has very little ingredients and is so easy to make, yet looks gorgeous. Thanks Tanantha! I’ll take any part of a lobster I can :-D.

  21. 41 aletheiazoe April 13, 2011 at 7:15 pm

    Pain d’Epi? Don’t you mean EPIC BREAD?

    Even with scissors and all, my rolled up dough would NEVER look like that. NEVER.

    (Apologies if the epic pun has already been made.)

    lots of lurve and admiration,

    Aletheia

  22. 43 kjanzen April 14, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    WOW!!! Your bread from this post, and the post below look AMAZING! I’m hungry for carbohydrates now, LOL!!!

  23. 45 Biren @ Roti n Rice April 14, 2011 at 5:45 pm

    The way it is cut makes the loaf so interesting! I’ll have to give this a try sometime. 🙂

    • 46 LeQuan April 14, 2011 at 11:24 pm

      Doesn’t it look so neat? I can’t wait to make more of these! Thanks for checking out my guest post and for leaving a comment, Biren. I appreciate that.

  24. 47 denise @ bread expectations April 14, 2011 at 9:03 pm

    I like the look of pain d’epi, but I’d like to try making fougasse, one of these days. You both have inspired me to try it, and maybe to hunt down some fresh yeast too. It’s been decades since I touched fresh yeast LOL

    Your recipe is simple, and perfect! Thank you for sharing the knowledge you’ve garnered 🙂 Looking at the pictures, anyone would think you’re an old hand at breadmaking, not a fourth-timer 😉

    LOVE the soup, and I’m glad you’re out of bread cos it means you’ll probably be making more soon? 😀

    Congrats on your guest post. You know I am so going to check it out!

    • 48 LeQuan April 14, 2011 at 11:27 pm

      I couldn’t believe how easy the fougasse was. Looked really complicated, but I was amazed at how simple it really was. Then again, I’m easily amused/amazed :-P.

      I think Valerie gave us one of the simpler recipes she could find, which I’m grateful for. Aww, you’re always so sweet. Thanks for the compliment, Denise.

      I can’t wait to try making this bread again! Thanks for checking out my guest post! I know how crazy things are for you. I really appreciate it, dear.

  25. 49 pigpigscorner April 16, 2011 at 7:58 am

    Looks perfect! My bread-baking is never successful, they always turn out stodgy =(

  26. 51 Jessie April 16, 2011 at 8:09 am

    The pain d’epi really stood out to me in your last post, so I’m so glad you are sharing the recipe! I know Peter’s going to love this (although we’ll probably have to wait ’til summer to make the bread!). This is a loaf that I’d like to make for a dinner party, then put in the center of the table as a centerpiece that the guests can pull at to dip in their soup, lol 😛 I guess my centerpiece wouldn’t last long then, eh? Now that I know how the wheat-stalk look is made, I’m definitely going to have to try it! How clever!

    I have to say, LeeQs, your plating is just getting better and better – and your photography! Love the angle you chose and the composition of the asparagus and seafood soup, especially the asparagus and the lobster claw (and head!). Nicely done, LeeeeeeeQola!

    Congrats on your guest post! Going to check it out now 🙂

    • 52 LeQuan April 16, 2011 at 8:02 pm

      The centerpiece thing is a great idea, Jessie! You could even make smaller ones and have 3 or 4 stalks rather than the lone one in the middle. Although the lone big one would be great for sharing as well. Either way, that’s why I love this bread. It’s so simple yet presents itself beautifully. I need more breads like this to hide my amateur baking skills. Haha.

      Aww, thanks for the sweet words, dear! I figure since hubby got me a better camera, I should make some use of it. Teehee.

      Thank you for dropping by Lynn’s blog to leave me a comment. Highly recommend that water boiler, even when you don’t have kids. We sure do have quite a few faves in common, don’t we? Hope you, Peter, Madeline, and Bonnie are all having a super weekend! Stalk ya later 😉

  27. 53 Light Delight with Tou Tou April 16, 2011 at 11:27 am

    Wow Le Quan, the bread is SOOOOO professional ! I love the crusty top and fancy shape ( I didn’t know these are called pain d’epi, what a super ‘french’ name :)) You are jumping into the high level of bread making industry, haha !!!

    Have a great weekend, and surprise us with more fancy bread!

    • 54 LeQuan April 16, 2011 at 8:02 pm

      Thanks so much Tou Tou, Valerie did a lot of the work, I was just learning. Can’t wait to try this on my own though!

      Hope you’re having a great weekend as well! I’m planning to post at least two more bread recipes from that day.

  28. 55 Cooking Gallery April 16, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    Thanks for sharing this LeQuan! It sounds quite simple and I am tickled to try. Hopefully my laziness would not get the better of me 😉 especially because Germany has got gorgeous fresh bread everywhere. Anyway, I wish you a wonderful weekend :)!

  29. 57 The Bird Cage April 16, 2011 at 9:03 pm

    Hello,

    I just found your blog and I wanted to say it is absolutely delightful. I look forward to browsing through and reading your upcoming posts.

    Thanks for doing this 🙂

  30. 59 Miri Leigh April 16, 2011 at 9:28 pm

    Looks delicious! Absolutely can’t wait to try this one out!

  31. 61 Monet April 16, 2011 at 10:52 pm

    Smile. Soup and bread is my absolute favorite. I have seen epi bread before at the bakery, but I’ve never made it. I need to! Thank you for sharing your sweet self with me tonight. I always know I can find something delicious and uplifting when I visit. I hope you have a safe and happy Sunday.

    • 62 LeQuan April 17, 2011 at 12:20 am

      Soup and bread is a match made in heaven, isn’t it Monet? Thanks for your sweet words. I hope you have a wonderful weekend as well. Don’t forget to let those rays shine 😉

  32. 63 leo April 19, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    I love the shape .
    so interesting to make them.
    http://www.hellojersey.us

  33. 64 Magic of Spice April 21, 2011 at 6:28 pm

    I almost missed this post 😦 What a gorgeous bread…amazing! And love that soup, just beautiful 🙂


Leave a Reply

