Because Moms Love to Bake

And what is it that moms love to bake?

Bread. That’s right, bread,

bread,

bread,

and more bread.

And cinnamon buns? Whatever, they were GOOD! Plus, a girl’s gotta live a little, right?

If you know me, you know that baking and I are not good friends. In fact, we’ve agreed not to be friends until I’ve learned to properly tell time and return to my oven when I’m supposed to (not half way through watching Grey’s Anatomy while smelling something burning). So how was it that I managed to bake all that beautiful bread you just scrolled through? All thanks to truly one of the sweetest bloggers I’ve met in person: Valerie from A Canadian Foodie.

When a super cook and baker like Valerie invites you over to her house to bake bread with her, you jump at the opportunity. That’s exactly what I did. We even had to set a date a month ahead (she’s a very busy woman). I waited and waited (and ate lots of chocolate :-P) and waited. Then when the day almost came, we had to push the date back so that my mom would be able to join us (definitely Mom’s fault, I ain’t taking the blame for this one :-D). How sweet of Valerie to accommodate to Mom’s schedule, thank you dear! So I ate more chocolate and waited some more, and then the day finally came. Good thing, because my jeans were starting to get a little tight ;-). Baking with two cooks whom I very much look up to was super intimidating, but that’s how you learn, right? From the very best! Mom was actually there to learn as well.

Valerie, the great hostess that she is, offered us some tea while she got the ingredients out. Is this not a beautiful teacup? I had to take a picture of it.

I might as well show you these beautiful pillows I admired for a while too, because I’m a dork like that. Teehee. Valerie has great taste, doesn’t she?

We started out with each of us making a batch of dough from all purpose flour. Valerie made an extra one in her Thermomix, which she then added a starter to make a sourdough bread. You can read more about what a starter is and how to prepare one here. This is what it looks like.

Mix in with the ingredients for the bread.

After all the ingredients have been mixed together, the dough got ready for proofing in that pretty spiral bowl/container.

Allow to proof, covered with a cloth for one and one half to two hours.

Then turn it over onto a bread board to be ready to put into the oven.

Here’s how it turned out:

The inside was beautiful and the crust was baked to perfection. Although I have to admit, sourdough is not a type of bread that’s for everybody. I like it, but I know many people who don’t. Are you a sourdough fan?

Next, we each prepared a dough from three different types of organic flour: a soft white whole wheat flour, a high protein whole wheat flour, and a whole grain rye flour.

Many different breads were made out of these. By the time we were done kneading the three doughs, we were all ready for lunch. Who knew kneading would be such a workout. Someone remind me to wear my workout gear next time.

Talk about a sweetheart! Valerie made us her wonderful and delicious yam soup in her trusty Thermomix. There isn’t anything this woman can’t do in that machine. Which by the way, I’ve yet to hear the end of from Mom, Valerie. If only I were rich 😉

Look at that lovely velvety yam soup with freshly grated nutmeg.

I’m sorry Val, I don’t remember what those white balls were. Homemade creme fraiche in olive oil or sour cream? I do know that whatever Valerie offers you, you try because it’s always amazing! So yes, two for me please 😀

We ate the soup with our freshly baked sourdough and one of the white breads. Not only that, but we finished lunch with a piece of homemade apple pie that Christan had made for Valerie.

Talk about knowing how to treat your guests right! Seriously, every time I visit, she treats my family and I with nothing but the best. What did I do to be so lucky in finding beautiful friendships such as this one in the blogosphere? I can’t help but to keep asking myself that question every time we meet. You truly are an amazing, sweet, and sincere person, my dear friend. My only regret is not to have started blogging earlier.

After lunch we finished with the rest of the bread making and cleaned up. Six hours of bread making and many, many, many beautiful pieces of bread later, this is what Mom and I got to take home.

This one was my favorite in looks and taste combined. A very simple white bread. It looks complicated, but really it’s not. I don’t remember the names of any of the breads.Valerie, or anyone know what this one is called?

I’m hoping to post this recipe along with some of the other bread recipes at another time on another post as this post is already long enough.

Thank you so very much again Valerie for all your time, efforts (I know it takes a lot of effort to teach such a non-baker like me), patience, and generosity. You really are one of a kind. Please don’t ever change. What I ever did to find such a great friend in you will always be a mystery to me, but I will always be honored to be able to call you my friend. Mom and I both had a wonderful time. Hope we will be able to cook or bake again together soon.

Valerie’s not that short, she’s just being kind and crouching to our tiny 5 feet height. In fact, Mom and I had quite the time kneading on her high countertop. She even offered me a step stool, but I refused. Haha.

Before I leave, I just wanted to clarify something about my Facebook post last week. After I posted it, I realized it may have sounded like I was calling people with two Facebook accounts two-faced. That’s not what I meant at all. I really hope I didn’t offend anyone. I was just trying to be creative with the title. That’s it for this week. Thanks for visiting again and I’ll see you all next week. Hopefully I’ll be back next week with a recipe for you. Until next time, friends and family :-D. Do you have a favorite bread? I’m more of the simple white bread type.

67 Responses to “Because Moms Love to Bake”


  1. 1 Pachecopatty April 4, 2011 at 5:12 pm

    Hi LeQuan, I’m having so much fun with my blog and one of the things I like the most is connecting with a wonderful person like you;-) I can tell you’re having fun with Valerie and your mom here and what a bounty of amazing breads you have here, It’s hard to believe you’ve made all these different types and pie and soup;-) I would be checking things out too, I’m entertained by everything in a beautiful home as well. I also would have been counting down the days to spending the day baking bread at Valerie’s house!
    You and your mom are so cute with Valerie, it’s great that you enjoyed the day together. Now, I will be looking for more breads here at luvtoeat especially that pain d’epi which really does look like a stalk of wheat;-)

    • 2 LeQuan April 4, 2011 at 8:31 pm

      Hi Patty,

      When you’re in Valerie’s house, you can’t help but to look around. Her house is gorgeous. Aww, I’m so glad to have connected with you as well, both here and on stalkbook. Teehee.

      Ah, thank you for the name of that bread, pain d’epi, I’ll remember that.

  2. 3 Brooke April 4, 2011 at 6:23 pm

    This bread looks so amazing! I am super jealous as I have absolutely zero skills with anything requiring yeast. 🙂

    • 4 LeQuan April 4, 2011 at 8:32 pm

      Thank you Brooke! I’m like you too, but when you cook and bake with Valerie, she has this certain magic in her that instills confidence in you.

  3. 5 Quay Po Cooks April 4, 2011 at 6:41 pm

    LeQuan, Wow, please tell Valerie, I want to be her friend too!! I would love to learn to bake those SUPER AWESOME breads from her. I want to save up enough air fare and fly over to visit you and her and bake those breads together!! Valerie does have great taste. I love her pillow cases, they are so bright and cheerful, the tea cup is pretty and elegant and her kitchen!!!! OH MY GOD!!! that’s a dream kitchen for me!! Oh and please tell her she is a 5 star hostess.

    You know why you are so lucky to have a good friend like Valerie? My dear friend, it is not completely luck, it is because you are a very warm and sincere person and it is just so easy to be a friend to you. Haha, I speak as if I know you for a 100 years!!

    I love the last photo of you, your mum and Valerie. What a great photo and sweet memories. You look like your mum. She is a beautiful woman and look very graceful and elegant at her age. If you want to know how you look when you aged, just look at her and not in the mirror:D

    Thanks so much for sharing your fun day baking with Valerie and your mum. It is a wonderful post to wake up to.

    • 6 LeQuan April 4, 2011 at 8:34 pm

      Hi Veronica,

      I’m sure you and Valerie (and me of course) will definitely hit it off from the get go. If you ever visit before I get a chance to visit you, we’ll definitely have to have a baking day together. I’ll be sure to tell her she’s a 5 star hostess :-).

      Aww..thank you for your sweet words, my dear. You’re making me blush. I’m glad to have found a lovely friend in you as well. Someone really needs to invent a teleporting machine for bloggie visits. Lol. Also, thank you for your kind words about my mom. You’re too good for our egos.

  4. 7 A Canadian Foodie April 4, 2011 at 8:05 pm

    I know this was not an easy post to write as we had taken a myriad of photos…. and it was such a lovely, yet intense day, of baking bread. Some successes, some semi-successes – but lots of learning and lots of fun! Thank you for coming and sharing my day with me with your LOVELY mom… and Vanja has told me to tell you that if you bring one more gift into this house, you have to go home. Let’s just know we can learn from one another as I seem to recall almost a full day at your mom’s house making Chinese food! YUM!!!!
    XOX0
    Valerie

    • 8 LeQuan April 4, 2011 at 8:38 pm

      Valerie! Oh God, I actually wrote this post and then rewrote it because it didn’t seem to flow very well. Having to choose the pictures was really hard (too many to choose from). Semi-successes? What semi-successes? I thought they were ALL very successful. Then again, I also thought your tray of seedlings that you had on the floor were a tray of brownies. Lol. I had such a blast (as I always do with you). Thank you so very much again.

      Oh no! I guess I’ll have to wait till right before I go home to give you a gift from now on then 😛 teehee.

  5. 9 Blackswan April 4, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    Lequan, guess what? Baking & me, no good friends too! Don’t know the reason behind…. maybe I’m surrounded by baker friends, so there’s no need for me to learn, right? Is this reason lame enough?? Hahaha!

    To tell the truth, this New Year’s resolution is to start baking. 2 of my good friends even came to my house to break my oven & we made Pineapple Tarts. After that, it’s silent again :< Think I need more motivation…

    Valerie, you're such a doll! I agree with Quay Po…. makes me wanna book a tix & fly there to meet u ladies 🙂

    • 10 LeQuan April 4, 2011 at 10:10 pm

      It’s so true Shirley, when you’re surrounded by people who already know how to bake, you tend to get lazy.

      Ooh, pineapple tarts sound yummy. What happened to mine? 😛

  6. 11 Ameena April 4, 2011 at 9:26 pm

    I have yet to bake a loaf of bread that wasn’t a disaster…unless you consider my passable banana bread a success. I’m not sure if it’s cause I’m too lazy to follow instructions perfectly, or because I rarely have all the ingredients in the first place but really, I am quite pathetic in this arena.

    Amazing job…what a lovely afternoon! I can’t think of a better way to spend a day with friends and family.

    • 12 LeQuan April 4, 2011 at 10:14 pm

      Oh Ameena, you’re always so hard on yourself. I’ve tried making your banana bread and your Godiva cake and let’s just say I’ve put your recipes page in my bookmarks for quick reference :-). I am the worst at following recipes.

  7. 13 5 Star Foodie April 5, 2011 at 6:52 am

    Wow, look at all the gorgeous bread loaves you guys made! Jr. and I need to experiment with bread making soon, it looks like so much fun!

  8. 15 Anna Johnston April 5, 2011 at 7:22 am

    LeQuan…I’m totally blown away with your (& your Mom & Val’s) amazingly productive baking day. Is there anymore fun than cooking the day away with great cooks. It’s kinda hard work, but you learn so much don’t you & its such fun too. I love going out to the farm & spending the day cooking with ‘the gals’ in our family, they’re amazing cooks & I always come home with new tricks ‘n tips they’ve taught me (& a bounty of amazing foods). I envy you living near Val…, she’s one fine cook isnt she.
    Have an awesome week LeQuan, & I totally relate to feeling such fondness & friendship about our bloggy friends, blogging has brought such good friends into my world too…, so I totally get where your coming from there.

    • 16 LeQuan April 6, 2011 at 12:18 am

      ‘Twas a LOT of fun! I learned so much from Valerie (as I always do). That sweet woman is a walking book of knowledge. Doesn’t blogging totally rock!? Hope you have an awesome week as well, Anna!

  9. 17 Jos April 5, 2011 at 9:52 am

    That’s a LOT of bread and you all knead them by hand??? Quite a workout!! Kudos to you, your mom and Valerie! I don’t think I’ll have any patience kneading bread manually (hey that’s why they invented the bread machine right? Just mix all ingredients, press the button and forget about it until it’s done risen..haha.

    I used to like whole wheat bread – toasted and topped with nut butters – delicious!

    • 18 LeQuan April 6, 2011 at 12:22 am

      Yup yup, all of them were kneaded by hand, except for the sourdough. I actually like the kneading part. Yeah, call me crazy.

      Whole wheat with nut butters – yum! Except I’m allergic to nuts, so almond butter for me 🙂

  10. 19 Tanantha @ I Just Love My Apron April 5, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    Whao, that’s a lot bread!!! GREAT job LeQUan! All the breads look fantastic. The photo of all the breads together made me said WOW out loud! Hmm..I think I like baguette the most. It’s crunchy and great with anything.

    • 20 LeQuan April 6, 2011 at 12:24 am

      Yeah it WAS lots of bread. I’ve yet to finish my share…sigh. Lots of soup being made here, that’s for sure. Ooh, baguette’s a great choice.

  11. 21 Leah @ Why Deprive? April 5, 2011 at 1:25 pm

    Holy wow thats a lot of bread! And it all looks amazing.

    I’ve never been brave enough to tackle bread without my bread maker. I keep meaning to ask my Grandma to teach me because hers is obviously the best ever.

  12. 23 pigpigscorner April 5, 2011 at 4:15 pm

    OH WOW, that’s a lot of gorgeous looking bread! So fun!

  13. 25 tigerfish April 5, 2011 at 6:51 pm

    Woohoo….looks like a bread attack!

    I am a bread person, actually. Bring all the breads to me.

  14. 27 Autumn @ Good Eats Girl April 5, 2011 at 7:48 pm

    Oh, wow! What a GREAT day! I would have loved this! Can’t wait to see the recipes that you used!

  15. 29 Twins April 5, 2011 at 11:10 pm

    Looks like you had fun and had an awesome mentor too! I’m the same … I so rather cook than bake. Baking and I just don’t jive.

    I cannot help admiring her kitchen, It looks beautiful, one day I hope to have a kitchen as fancy as that!

    • 30 LeQuan April 6, 2011 at 12:33 am

      Hey girlie!

      We should try baking together. It’d be disastrous, but fun. Lol. Valerie is an awesome mentor. Yeah, that is my dream kitchen! Absolutely gorgeous. We will one day, dear. Never stop reaching for your dreams :-D.

  16. 31 sophia April 6, 2011 at 12:22 am

    I knew you never were too much into baking like cooking…so I was surprised to see that load of bread!! haha, but I really wish I could join you guys!! I bake a loaf of bread almost every day.

  17. 33 Light Delight with Tou Tou April 6, 2011 at 7:30 am

    OMG!!! I wish I have a friend like Valerie !(beautiful name :-)) Look at how many bread you made, and each one is difference…I am so jealous! you know I am not at baking bread too, constantly get discouraged…even if I got a bread machine, I am not confident to leave my ‘comfort zone’, which is a plain sandwich bread. Should be more adventures like you are, Lequan!

    • 34 LeQuan April 6, 2011 at 11:15 pm

      Oh, I’m not very adventurous at all when it comes to baking. I really need to be pushed, but thank you. My kind of baking is more like, put a frozen pizza in the oven. Haha.

  18. 35 sonia April 6, 2011 at 9:11 am

    lOVELY and simply sensational kinds of home made bread with so much precision. Hats off to you dear for being the kitchen king…. !

  19. 37 Biren @ Roti n Rice April 6, 2011 at 10:23 am

    Wow…that’s a lot of bread! Good thing they stay fresh frozen until needed. All your hand formed loaves look gorgeous and I would like to get one of those spiral bowls. 🙂

  20. 39 Min {Honest Vanilla} April 6, 2011 at 8:35 pm

    Oh my goodness! That’s truly alot alot of bread! A lot! All in 6 hours, that must a new record 😛 I love bread but too intimidated to make my own. Please do share one of the easier recipes 🙂

    • 40 LeQuan April 6, 2011 at 11:21 pm

      Honestly, all the recipes were quite easy. Or at least Valerie made it seem really easy. She’s a fantastic teacher/mentor! I will definitely share some recipes once kiddies allow me the time.

  21. 41 denise @ bread expectations April 7, 2011 at 7:48 am

    Wow!!! LeQuan!!! You had a very productive breadmaking day! I don’t think I have ever turned out so many loaves in a single day :O Honestly, you, your mum and Valerie deserve a standing ovation!

    I especially love your fougasse and pain d’epi – they are gorgeous!! I really envy the fact that you and Valerie are close by enough to enjoy all these wonderful baking and cooking sessions together. And thanks for the link to the apple pie on Val’s site. I’ve bookmarked it because if there’s one thing I can’t do, it’s a really good, old fashioned, double crust apple pie *shhhhhhhh*

    Can’t really say which bread is my favourite – but flaxseed bread is definitely one and I once had this olive oil flavoured flatbread studded with black olives and crusted with big flakes of yummy salt. I still can’t get it out of my mind…

    • 42 LeQuan April 7, 2011 at 10:08 pm

      Productive is right! I’m STILL trying to finish my share of all that yumminess. Good thing I like soups and stews.

      Ooh, another bread name I learned – Fougasse. Must be that leaf-like one. I love living so close to Valerie. It’s always a blast getting together with her! I’ll bet your apple pies would be out of this world, Denise.

      Yes, I remember you saying that was your favorite bread before. And that olive oil flatbread you’re talking about, I think Valerie taught me that too. I really must try it some day.

  22. 45 Anju April 7, 2011 at 2:25 pm

    Look at all this bread! *drool* I want to learn how to make bread this summer. You can give me pointers! 🙂

    • 46 LeQuan April 7, 2011 at 10:10 pm

      Yeah, let’s arrange a bread baking day. No guarantees they’re going to turn out as beautiful as these though. Or even if they’ll turn out :-D.

  23. 47 Sharon April 7, 2011 at 3:16 pm

    OMG. Look at all that bread!! I can’t believe you all made so much! The whole house must’ve smelled SO amazing after all that bread baking. Best smell in the world! I thought the spiral bowl bread was so smart – to make circles on the bread like that, looks so cool. I don’t think I’ve ever had sourdough so I wouldn’t know whether I like it or not. And those cinnamon buns – hand some over haha. Homemade apple pie sounds delicious! The yam soup looks really interesting, I’ve never seen soup with little white balls of cream in it like that.

    I still can’t get over the pile of bread that you baked lol. It’s such a LOT of bread! 😀 haha. How on earth are you gonna get through it all lol. Actually…that was a bit of a stupid question haha.

    • 48 LeQuan April 7, 2011 at 10:13 pm

      The house smelled marvelous! I love the smell of baking, too bad I suck. Haha. Yeah, I was so amazed when she dumped the bread out of that spiral bowl. I’m easily amused :-D. I don’t think you’d like sourdough. And the cinnamon buns were the first to go, sorry. That’s ok, we can make our own and not share with anybody. Teehee. The soup was really good, as was the pie.

      We did this 2 weeks ago and I’m STILL trying to finish my share of the bread. Lol. Why do you think I kept making your butternut squash soup? Well, other than the fact that it’s delicious. I’m going to try your mom’s butternut squash and carrot soup next time. My dear, never such a thing as a stupid question here ;-).

  24. 49 Magic of Spice April 7, 2011 at 10:19 pm

    I love sourdough and that bread looks so wonderful…I love the pic of you all together, what a team 🙂 You guys really went to town here, and Valarie’s soup looks fantastic 🙂
    And although I am doing two posts at a time, I did not think there was anything in the last to be offended by.
    Hope you are having a great week and have a wonderful weekend 🙂

    • 50 LeQuan April 7, 2011 at 10:29 pm

      Yup, we sure did go to town. I don’t think I’ve ever baked so much in all my life. Hope you are having a great week and will have a wonderful weekend as well, Alisha.

  25. 51 Lawyer Loves Lunch April 8, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    What a stunning display of bread! I have definitely not mastered yeast and so it makes me sad you ladies don’t live closer. Otherwise, I’d definitely invite myself over so I could learn too. In the meantime, I’ll just live vicariously through your pictures 🙂

  26. 53 Monet April 9, 2011 at 10:15 pm

    I love whole wheat bread…but all the loaves you prepared made me drool. I love you and Valerie, and I so wish I could have joined you ladies. SO much fun! Thank you so much for sharing your words and creativity with me tonight. During good times and bad, your blog always offers me a dose of joy. I hope you have a blessed and happy Sunday, my friend. Hugs from Austin!

    • 54 LeQuan April 9, 2011 at 11:48 pm

      Aww…Monet, with everything you’re going through right now, I’m so glad I could send some joy your way. Please continue to stay strong. Cry when you need to, but don’t forget to laugh and smile as well. Really wish you could have joined us also. Sending big hugs and blessings your way.

  27. 55 Jessie April 10, 2011 at 9:10 am

    Wah! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard of you and Valerie getting together and making wonderous food and wanted to badly to be there! When I saw your post about heading over to Valerie’s I was so JEALOUS! hehe 🙂 Two of my favorite bloggers in one kitchen! If we could just get Denise in there I think I would be in heaven 😉

    You made some wonderful loaves, LeeQs! I had to laugh at your comment about the footstool, haha! No shame in needing a few more inches, I say 😉 I’m so glad your mom got to go, too! That picture of the three of you is definitely a keeper. Love Valerie’s teacup and pillow, and those cinnamon buns had me drooling like a crazy woman. I love sourdough, and I can only imagine that your loaf was deliciously sour and crusty. One day, I’ll get up there for a bread making party! Seriously, one of the best things about blogging is meeting wonderful bloggers like you, LeeQs 🙂 Much love from CT!

    • 56 LeQuan April 10, 2011 at 11:46 pm

      Jessie!

      Hahaha! I love how you said “wah” like the Chinese say it. Made me laugh :-D. Definitely a perfect baking day heightened to new levels if you and Denise were able to join us.

      Those cinnamon buns were GOOD! I need to try making more. The day we meet will definitely be a party on it’s own ;-). Love meeting amazing, sincere bloggers like you! Lotsa luv from Edm!

  28. 57 Devaki @ weavethousandflavors April 10, 2011 at 10:10 am

    Dear LeQuan – Isn’t this the most wonderful thing about blogging??? It is WONDERFUL to see this special friendship that has evolved between Val and you. Isn’t she just precious and did you notice that her pillow have the same swirl as the bread!…lol….

    You guy are having so much fun with Val and your mom here and what a bounty of amazing breads you have here. You all are such pros!!!

    I especially LOVE LOVE LOVE that pain d’epi which really does look like a stalk of wheat;-) so GORGEOUS !!!

    chow! DEVAKI @ weavethousandflavors

    • 58 LeQuan April 10, 2011 at 11:50 pm

      This is exactly what I love about blogging, meeting new friends and creating beautiful friendships like this. I never noticed that about the pillow and spiral bowl. Haha! Good catch, Devaki.

  29. 59 Miri Leigh April 10, 2011 at 10:46 am

    Those cinnamon buns are mouth-watering! Thanks for posting!

  30. 61 Cooking Gallery April 10, 2011 at 2:35 pm

    Wow, so much bread and all look gorgeous and freaking delicious!! I wish I could bake as good as Valerie, I am not a baker either, I am more a cook!

  31. 63 Stevie April 10, 2011 at 4:22 pm

    Wow LeQuan! Incredible. My mouth is watering. I adore bread. That’s something that I want to spend more time on once our kitchen is back in shape.

    I know what you mean about sourdough. It is not a one-size-fits-all bread, is it? San Francisco claims sourdough as its urban bread but I much prefer “sweet” French or Italian or even kalamata olive bread.

    The loaf that you like looks like what they call “epi bread” here. Acme, a local bread mini-chain makes a wonderful version. I’m totally inspired and want to learn myself.

    What is that bread that sort of looked like a leaf shape with moth-bites taken out? That appeared very exciting to me, too.

    The cinnamon rolls looked super yummy, too!

    It sounds like an excellent day making bread with friends and family.

    • 64 LeQuan April 10, 2011 at 11:52 pm

      Hi Stevie. Thank you for letting me know the name of that bread. I really appreciate it. Thanks to another bloggie friend, I learned that the leaf-like bread you’re asking about is called a Fougasse. It was actually really easy to make. I’m hoping to post up the recipe some time as well.

      Cooking with friends always brings big smiles to my face.

  32. 65 MaryMoh April 11, 2011 at 9:27 am

    Wow…LeQuan, you are very very lucky to have Valerie to teach you how to make bread. You are an excellent student. I wonder whether I have that sort of patience to last through so long. I bet I will end up using some as play dough….haha. I can’t believe how many different types of bread the 3 of you made!!! That’s simply amazing!! But if I ever make so many types, it would be madness….haha. I have to eat a super patience pill first 😀 Lovely picture of the 3 of you!

    • 66 LeQuan April 11, 2011 at 8:59 pm

      Yes, I feel EXTREMELY lucky to have such a pro and sweet person teach me. Excellent student? Let’s see if you still say that after my first lesson with you. Teehee. You crack me up Mary, play doh? Hahaha! I can see it from “somebody” else, but you? Hmm…maybe I’m not stalking you enough to really get to know you 😛

  33. 67 Kath (My Funny Little Life) May 1, 2011 at 6:31 am

    Oh my goodness, your creations look amazing! 😀 I’ve never been a good baker, and since I eat gluten-free and carb-reduced now, it’s even more tricky. The best thing I ever made was an apple strudel in the form of a snake, with little raisin eyes and a piece of apple cut as a tongue. I’m still thinking about how to start baking again, and it’s a matter of time, I have to admit, but who knows if I won’t discover my love of it after all some day? 🙂


Leave a Reply

