I Don’t Want to be Two-Faced…

…therefore I’m shooting myself in the foot with this post rather than opening up a luvtoeat Facebook page.

Yup, Facebook, that’s what’s been on my mind lately and that’s what I’d like to talk about today. I’ve never mentioned Facebook on my blog or posts due to the reason that I never really added blogging friends, not up until recently. I take Facebooking very seriously. If you’re on my Facebook, you’ll know I’m on there a lot, and I mean A LOT. Recently though, I’ve been adding bloggie friends, but (here’s where I pull the trigger) I need to come clean and tell you that I have privatized many pictures and my friends list on there. I’m not doing this to disrespect any of you, but more as a respect towards my friends and family who are in those pictures. I’ve tagged them and so their real names show up. It’s only fair for me to respect their privacy and privatize those pictures and friends list. Until blogging, all the friends I had on my Facebook I have actually met in person. So adding bloggie friends from all over the world is very new to me. I don’t want to open a luvtoeat Facebook page either as blogging already takes up so much of my time. Until my friends and family come to the same understanding as me that bloggers can become real life friends too, I will respect their privacy and keep my photos and friends list privatized. Only a blogger will understand the life of another blogger and how much blogging really affects your everyday life. I hope you all understand and don’t take this personally. I believe in total honesty, and if we’re going to be friends, I want to start out on the right foot. To those of you who want to delete me from your Facebook, I totally understand and will not take it offensively. To those of you who want to keep me on your friends list, I look forward to building a long and lasting friendship with you and I thank you for your friendship and for finding me on Facebook.

Now speaking of friends and blogging, my lovely friend Veronica from Quay Po Cooks had a giveaway on her blog some time back. The giveaway was for some hand-made earrings and bracelets. I was fortunate enough to have the opportunity to enter her giveaway and win. I’d like to share some photos with you of the earrings she sent. She made two pairs, one for me and one also for my daughter. How sweet is she right? Here are K’s earrings in the front.

Such pretty colours and fun design. I would definitely wear those myself after finding a matching outfit. K loved both pairs and asked if she could even have mine. Immediately my mind turned to —> bribing incentive. I know, mother of the year right here.

I haven’t pierce her ears yet. I wanted to wait for her to be old enough to make the decision herself. Here’s a picture of my bribing incentive also.

Aren’t they cute and beautiful at the same time? No wonder K wants both pairs, can you blame her? Veronica, thank you so so much for these beautiful gifts and your lovely friendship. You really have a talent here, my friend. Your kindness and generosity shines through your blog all the time, and this is no exception. Hopefully I will be able to thank you in person some day. If you haven’t visited Veronica’s blog yet, I urge you to do so, you won’t regret it. Besides making beautiful jewelry, she’s also one heck of a cook and one of the sweetest people you’ll ever meet.

That’s it for this week. Thank you for all your sweet sweet comments on my last post. Hope you all had a great weekend. I promise there will be food on my next post. Until next time, friends and family. What are your thoughts about Facebook and blogging?

29 Responses to “I Don’t Want to be Two-Faced…”


  1. 1 thecompletecookbook March 28, 2011 at 1:24 am

    I am sure everybody will be respectful and understand your decisions
    🙂 Mandy

  2. 2 MaryMoh March 28, 2011 at 2:20 am

    Awww…don’t feel bad, LeQuan. But I do respect you for your honesty and frankness. If anyone takes this as an offence, I would feel so sorry for him/her. It’s more for respect of others like you say and not of selfishness. You are doing the right thing. Thanks very much for your friendship, even if it’s without the Facebook 😀 I just can’t wait to meet you one day and your lovely family. I can already imagine us talking non-stop…haha. And eating non-stop, too. Yes, prawns!!! Congrats for the lovely ear-rings by Quay Po. Yes, she is a lovely blogger. Oh no, don’t get K’s ears pierced now. I can’t bear to see her cry. By the way, she is a real photostat of you 😀

  3. 3 sophia March 28, 2011 at 2:32 am

    I understand!! Even though I don’t have a family…so I have more freedom than you do. I don’t know if I would be as open as I am if I had a family to protect though.

    But hey, having a Facebook page doesn’t take any effort at all…bc it’s just not like blogging at all! Well, depends on what you do with it…I opened a Facebook page because I was curious about it as someone interested in the social media field, especially as a journalist. I hardly do anything with it, except to share interesting foodie links. 🙂

  4. 4 anncoo March 28, 2011 at 2:57 am

    LeQuan,

    I totally agreed with you and respect your frankness. Is so nice to know thru blogging and we have the same interest that is food…hahaa.. just don’t worry about anything :))

  5. 5 Quay Po Cooks March 28, 2011 at 3:12 am

    LeQuan, I love the photo of your little angel. She is such a cutie. Tell her when she decided to have her ears pierced, Quaypo Aunty will make more earrings for her. As regards to protecting our friends privacy on facebook, However the onus is not on you but on your friend to set up their own level of privacy. LeQuan, you are a very sincere person so you can NEVER be two-faced. Sorry you are not qualified. LOL!

  6. 6 Blackswan March 28, 2011 at 6:14 am

    Lequan, I completely understand your predicament as I too, create different lists for people of different backgrounds. It’s just a way to protect ourselves.

    I’m glad I’ve met a group of really nice & sincere bloggers like yourself, but you’ll never know what’s lurking out there. LOL! Certainly don’t want any Tom, Dick & Harry to invade into my privacy.

    Coincidentally, I’ve also some accessories in the process of making. My adorable 81 yr-old mum has already made 5 sets for me to be out in my next giveaway. Do watch out for the space 🙂 Till then…..

  7. 7 5 Star Foodie March 28, 2011 at 6:20 am

    I’ve been slow to warm up to Facebook but i’m a lot more active on it now and even posting some pictures, though I certainly need to sort through all the facebook “friends” because there have been recently some requests from random people that I don’t even know either in real life or through blogging. Agree with you on the ear piercing – I will also let my daughter make this decision for herself.

  8. 8 Anna Johnston March 28, 2011 at 6:53 am

    Great food for thought LeQuan. I’ve been on FaceBook for so long that I only ever share photos of friends & family with their permission. I’m pretty open about photos of me – to a point, but I totally get that others don’t like to have photos on the internet & respect that for sure. I’m pretty strict about not accepting random friendship requests because for me, its not about numbers – its about friends.
    I watched a little segment on TV recently about how much of our personal history is now on the internet, the good & the bad of it. I’m a huge fan of the internet, it allows me to meet wonderful new friends like you & keep in touch on a daily basis with friends & family who live all over the world but its really important to understand & respect all the privacy issues for sure.
    Nice earings too LeQuan 🙂
    Have an awesome week my friend 🙂

  9. 9 Pachecopatty March 28, 2011 at 8:36 am

    Good morning LeQuan, I smile when I see you have a new post and especially on the topic of Facebooking/ adding blogging friends/people we don’t know. First off adding a Facebook page just for sharing blog links is for everybody who wants to receive your posts in their Facebook feed which is great, I think because you don’t want people you don’t know on your personal Facebook. There really isn’t much to do with it, just share the link and make a few comments or answer questions but not too much of that. I’m pretty loose about adding friends I’ve never met with blogs on my personal Facebook, feeling the more the merrier. My husband and children all have their own Facebook pages with all their pictures so it’s not really an issue to share photos. Although I did share more photos of vacations etc. in the past, not so much now. The foodie Facebook connection keeps growing and it can feel like it takes over my feed but I love food and my foodie peeps so it’s not a bad thing;-) Also, cute earrings from Veronica and sweet photos;-)

  10. 10 Leah @ Why Deprive? March 28, 2011 at 9:34 am

    I dont have a blog facebook page either, but I have added some blog friends. Only a few though because I worry about privacy too.
    Not of other people, but because I have an uncommon last name, I want to make sure I dont let it all out there ya know?

  11. 11 Ameena March 28, 2011 at 10:18 am

    Facebook is so tricky! I didn’t want to get on it…I really tried my hardest not to! But then I finally succombed after Ali hounded me to death about it. I totally get what you are saying LeQuan! No offense taken. I think it’s great that you value your friends’ privacy so much.

    Veronica is so talented! I am all thumbs when it comes to beads and jewelry and anything that requires me to use my hands actually, except for making Excel spreadsheets. 🙂

  12. 12 Jos March 28, 2011 at 12:53 pm

    LeQuan, I understand completely with privacy and stuff..Actually to be honest I’m a little skeptical of putting on my own pictures on my blog, let alone putting my real life friends and family’s pictures. Nothing wrong with you want to make your friends’ and family’s pictures to be private.

    Also blogging does TAKE A LOT of time and only another bloggers would understand that part…that’s also another reason I don’t really tell people that I know in person (except hubby) about my blog. Part of it maybe because I don’t want them to judge me differently..

    Anyway, pretty earrings you got! I love dangling earrings, but unfortunately I can only wear gold 😦

    Have a great week!

  13. 13 Stevie March 28, 2011 at 1:01 pm

    LeQuan

    I think that you make perfect sense: keep some clear distinctions between your personal life and your online life; and wait for your daughter to be old enough to decide herself about ear piercing.

    I know what you mean about the compulsive, almost addictive nature of blogging. Sometimes even when I’m not feeling it I find that I’m surfing the blogs that I enjoy or pulling together stories. It is weird how it has become such a large portion of my life that I cannot even imagine not having it.

  14. 14 A Canadian Foodie March 28, 2011 at 6:01 pm

    That is why I have a facebook page for my site. Some like to get their notifications of new posts through facebook, and this gives them that option. I don’t use facebook THAT much, but it is definitely for my private friends, or for my “cyber friends” that have clearly demonstrated a more personal connection. If you didn’t protect your family and friends, I would tell you to. In this age and time, you have to be cautious.
    XO
    Valerie

  15. 15 Autumn @ Good Eats Girl March 29, 2011 at 6:07 am

    I don’t have a facebook page for my blog either. I’m very careful about who sees what on facebook also! I think that your honesty to your readers is great and protecting family and friends is extremely important!

  16. 16 tigerfish March 29, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    Well, I am sometimes puzzled by friends who have more than 200+friends in their FB’s friend-list. I mean, are they really friends or what? For me, it is just a means of keeping in touch (and hear updates of) with friends, ex-classmates, ex-co-workers, and bloggie friends.

  17. 17 Light Delight with Tou Tou March 29, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    I agree…facebook is involving so much privacy issues , you won’t want to get trouble in that 🙂 But you may sign up a different account just for your blogging friends!
    Beautiful earrings!!! too bad I can’t wear them !

  18. 18 Stella March 29, 2011 at 5:43 pm

    Hey LeQuanis, *hee hee*, K is so cute. I would totally use those earrings as a bribe too.
    You know, I don’t even use Facebook at all, LeQuan. Everyone thinks I’m a weird witch for not having an account for my blog or myself, but I don’t want one. I can imagine though that it might be weird for your friends to be exposed to unknown people via your account. Hence I understand, Mamita (smile)! You’re just being polite…
    Hey, by the way, where’s the food (smile again)?! Ooh, wait. I should probably be asking myself that question;-)
    XOXO,
    Stella

  19. 19 pigpigscorner March 30, 2011 at 9:50 am

    I agree! I actually have 2 facebook accounts =P

  20. 20 Jackie (Phamfatale.com) March 30, 2011 at 12:01 pm

    Your little girl is so precious. Piercing her earring is a big step but I think the mommy is going to be more in pain than your daughter. 😉

  21. 21 Tanantha @ I Just Love My Apron March 30, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    I know what you mean LeQuan. I won’t feel offended either if you’d like unfriend me haha. Guess what I found out, you can unfriend your Facebook friend w/o them knowing it! I selected my friends on Facebook. If I don’t know them or don’t have a “conversation” with them I won’t accept the add or add them. It’s my right to do so and I don’t care what they’re going to think. I have a few that added me and sent me msg to accept them but I ignored it. I have my blog facebook because I don’t want to spam my friends with my food links and makes my personal page looks like a food page. I have a personal life I want to share; not just food 😀

    Anyway, do whatever you feel comfortable. It’s your free of right. K will look so cute with those earrings!

  22. 22 Biren @ Roti n Rice March 31, 2011 at 7:19 am

    Facebook is popular but it can be tricky. You are right to be cautious. On a personal level I do not use it that much as I am unsure as to how secure is my privacy and those of friends and family. On the blogging level, I do get requests from people that I have never even “met” on the blog. Good thing most are foodies.

    Aww…those earrings are cute! I am sure you will find a pretty outfit to wear them with.

  23. 23 Devaki @ weavethousandflavors April 2, 2011 at 7:40 pm

    Dear Le Quan – I get it – I think we all understand and you being the thoughtful and kind person that you are would want to do the right thing. i too don’t friend people I don’t know and the few bloggers that I have, I am comfortable with 🙂

    You are too good to be so honest and upfront! 🙂

    chow! Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  24. 24 Monet April 2, 2011 at 10:12 pm

    Hi sweet woman…I completely understand. It is so important to find a healthy balance of privacy when you blog. You are so thoughtful and kind…I’m sure all of your blogging friends understand. And of course, the earrings and your girl are just adorable. Thank you for sharing with me tonight. After such a difficult week, it has been so refreshing to return to the blogs (and bloggers) that I love. I hope you have a blessed Sunday, sweet girl!

  25. 25 denise @ bread expectations April 3, 2011 at 3:37 am

    Hey LeQuan – sorry I’m late to the party 😛 But if you want my late two cents worth, I think what you are doing is fine and I cannot see that any reasonable person would find anything to object about. I have a personal facebook page and one for my blog but to be frank I hardly go on either anymore because of time constraints. In fact I bet there are people who probably think me rude because I do take a while to respond to friend requests and such, though it really is just because I’m struggling with time management.

    You are right to be concerned about privacy – you never know who’s out there or what their motives are!

    I love both pairs of earrings but it’s pretty clear which pair K favours LOL

  26. 26 Jessie April 3, 2011 at 7:55 am

    Ha, you’re not going to get rid of me THAT easily! 😉 I completely understand that you want to privatize your FB account and keep family and friends names and such secret – I’m all for that! I think people tend to be a bit too free with their information online and it can come bite them in the butt later on. I do worry about being too free with personal information myself. For example, I never overtly say my last name on my blog, but it’s not hard to find if you’re looking. At the same time, I’d like to keep an online presence because I may incorporate what I do now into a future career – and it’s hard to keep your identity secret if you have a website that says firstnamelastname.com. It’s a funny age we live in, right? Anyway, the point to all the rambling is, you go, girl! Do what you want to do! 😀 Besides, I know you stalk anyway 😉

    Those earrings are gorgeous! I would have squealed if I had received them in the mail (and my ears aren’t even pierced!). K’s earrings are too cute. I think it’s a great idea to wait until she decides whether or not she wants her ears pierced. Asking her while she’s holding a pair of adorable earrings probably isn’t the best time 😉

    Stalk ya later, LeeQola!!!!

  27. 27 Juliana April 4, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    LeQuan, I just started to get familiar with Facebook and I keep it separate from my bloggers friends…just because the interests are different…you lucky girl, the earrings are very cute…and the picture of your daughter is adorable 🙂

  28. 28 Sharon April 7, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    People shouldn’t be offended by that at all. Such a fine line between blogging and facebook sometimes. And good on you for being so straight up honest! I’m just the same as you anyway so totally know where you’re coming from. You can’t be too careful on the Internet these days. Facebook or not, I’m still glad for your friendship and having gotten to know you!

    Those earrings are gorgeous! And totally suits K :). Too funny about them being bribing incentives haha. I got mine pierced when I was about 16 I think. Most nerve-wrecking thing EVER. My friends kept saying they use a staple gun to pierce your ears and it terrified me coz I thought it would go BANG. But it didn’t actually hurt so it was ok haha. Little kids don’t really need to wear earrings do they? Best to wait till they’re older and want to wear them before going through such “pain” lol.

  29. 29 Magic of Spice April 7, 2011 at 10:09 pm

    Congratulations on your winning treats, yes they are pretty 🙂
    As for facbook, I completely understand. Even though we have a page there are foodie friends as friends that I have, but many that I actually interact with same as a friend that lives far away, we keep up that way 🙂


Leave a Reply

