A Packed Weekend

Hi everyone! Hope you all had a lovely weekend. It’s been a while since I had a chance to meet up with my girlfriends and chat. So as busy as I was, I managed to fit in some time this weekend. When you’re a mom, time becomes one of the most cherished elements in your life and OCD becomes your best friend.

We started out the day having dim sum with an aunt who was visiting from Hong Kong. Then we went to WEM and I did some shopping for a birthday gift (at least that’s what I told the hubby…teehee) while hubby took the kiddies to Galaxyland. After that, he took the kids for a couple of hours while I met up with some of my girlfriends at Joey Tomatoes.

Most of us had dinner plans afterwards so we decided to order all the desserts (so proud of my girls) and some chicken wings (again, PROUD). All three desserts came out at the same time – BOOYAH! Usually someone orders a salad, but not today, ain’t no salad touching this table. My girls are growing up so fast, it was a very proud moment for me…teehee.

We ordered a lava cake,

an apple pie,

a banana cake,

and some salt & pepper wings with Tobasco sauce on the side.

Since being a mom, I’ve always ordered my wings this way because 1. ) you can adjust the “heat” level, 2.) they’re more crispy and my kids like their wings crispy, and 3.) your hands don’t get all dirty and red.

We only chatted for about an hour, but we all know that when girls chat, there’s no room for breathing ;-). Good times, good times. Can’t wait till our next get together ladies.

Thank you to the waitress who was able to work my camera and take a proper picture.

After girlfriends time, it was family time again. Gary picked me up and we decided to try out a new ramen place called Nomiya. (click on the link for the address)

I wasn’t expecting it to be full, but it was jam-packed. We got there at six o-clock and there was already a half an hour wait for a table of four. I wanted to leave, but K insisted we stay, so stay it was. The place was quite small. This was the best shot I could get of the restaurant (sorry).

I ordered the vegetarian ramen which came with corn, enoki and shiitake mushrooms, bamboo, broccoli, and spinach (although I just realized as I’m typing this that I didn’t get any spinach in mine…hmmm?).  I’d give this dish a 4 out of 10. The soup wasn’t anything special, the ingredients looked pretty, but like the soup, was just blah. Size wise though it was a pretty big bowl. For $8.95 it wasn’t too bad, but I don’t think I would order this dish again. If you want something more on the bland side for the kids, then I’d suggest this, otherwise get something else.

Gary ordered the Spicy Miso (what I wanted to get in the first place but didn’t want to double order). It included sliced pieces of pork (good thing I didn’t order it), bamboo, bean sprouts, and kamaboko. I had a sip of the soup. It was quite tasty (much better than mine) and slightly spicy, not spicy enough for me though. Hubby gave this a 7 out of 10. He seemed to enjoy it and said he would order it again. This was $10 a bowl.

I shared my ramen with the kiddies and we also ordered a Paradise roll (mango, cucumber, shrimp, imitation crab stick, sweet mayo dressing, and deep fried). Yup, this place also serves sushi. It was the mango that caught my attention.

At $10.95, I found the portion a bit small, but I really enjoyed this dish. The sweetness of the mango blended well with the saltiness of the crab and shrimp, but also complimented the sweet mayo dressing very well. I loved the crunch and texture that the deep-frying added to this. If I didn’t already just share 3 desserts, I probably would’ve ordered another one of these. K enjoyed this very much as well. I almost didn’t want to share with her (teehee), hence the contemplation of a second order. I know, mother of the year :-D.

All in all we had a pretty good experience at this restaurant. Other than my vegetarian ramen being rather disappointing, everything else held up. The service was extremely attentive. For such a small restaurant, they had about 3 or 4 servers running around. As soon as we were seated, everything ran pretty smoothly. I’d love to come back and try some of the other items on their menu. I’m not sure if they take reservations, but I would suggest you call to try to make one if you’re going to visit, or go really early. Like I said before, we got there at 6 and there was already a half an hour wait for a table.

That’s it for this week dear readers, it’s always a pleasure to have you dropping by and visiting. Until next time, friends and family :-D.

54 Responses to “A Packed Weekend”


  1. 1 burpexcuzme March 21, 2011 at 1:11 am

    LEQUAN!!! I love that pic of you!!! You are gorrrrgeous!!!! I’m dying for your eyebrows.

    Haha, vegetarian ramen…that’s an oxymoron. Ain’t ramen supposed to be a rich porky broth? I’m glad you enjoyed the rest of the dishes though.

    The wings look yummy too. I never knew you could get tabasco sauce on the side like that. They usually serve it straight up in a bottle for me!

    • 2 LeQuan March 24, 2011 at 12:06 am

      Thank you, Sophia, you’re sweet! Hmm…I never even thought about that with the ramen thing.
      They only serve you a bottle b/c they know you’ll need the whole bottle Miss. Spice Queen 😉

  2. 3 Blackswan March 21, 2011 at 1:27 am

    Totally agree with you, Lequan. Gals outings are always so fun, so much to catch up with especially after you’re married. You’ve got a great shot there 🙂

    My dessert pick: Lava cake! I love molten choc cake especially when the warm choc oozes out. Yum-yum!

    Sorry you didn’t enjoy your ramen. I’m having ramen for dinner later. We’re going to Ajisen, a popular chain in S’pore. Kinda monthly family affair. Hahaha!

    • 4 LeQuan March 24, 2011 at 12:11 am

      Thanks Shirley. Lava cake is sooo yummy. Over the top comfort food right there.

      Hope you had a great time at Ajisen. I’ve only recently heard about this chain. I must visit it when I’m in Vancouver, I know they have one there.

  3. 5 Stella March 21, 2011 at 7:01 am

    Hey LeQuanis, ooh, you got your eyebrows done (smile:-) I need to get mine done too, but I never take time or money out for myself lately (cheap witch). Maybe I should. I possibly have a unibrow right now *teehee*.
    Glad to see you were able to go out and have some time to yourself and friends, LeQuanis. I always wonder about my friends with kids in reference to just being able to do something they want to do. That doesn’t seem to happen very often. I always think that loss of freedom/time must be one of the most frustrating things about having small children. Good thing that they get big and will soon want nothing to do with you during puberty (smile but seriously). Don’t worry though. They come back to you again when they are comfortable with their adult selves…
    Oh, and wonderful restaurant review of the new Asian tapas bar. I’ve never seen that concept before-ever really. Good to see that it’s so busy already…!
    I hope you have a relaxing week, LeQuanis.
    XXOO

    • 6 LeQuan March 24, 2011 at 12:16 am

      Hello dear witch,

      I didn’t get my eyebrows done, I just do them myself. I’m too cheap to spend that kind of money. All my money usually goes towards food. Teehee. And I’m sure you don’t have a unibrow, silly witch. Kids really change your life, but definitely for the better. I don’t go out as much as I used to, but that’s okay because I’ve got lots of time to do that when my kids are older :-D. Hope your week went by fast and stress-free, Stella :-).

  4. 7 Pachecopatty March 21, 2011 at 9:32 am

    Hi LeQuan, why do restaurants serve bland, dull veggie dishes, is it really that difficult to prepare flavorful well prepared veggies? You are so cute with your friends and your menu is total comfort food between girlfriends, it must have been a fun get together, I’m glad you’re part of such a nice group.
    I will never worry about you not knowing how to enjoy yourself.
    We ate some good dinners at home this weekend and did not go into a restaurant for dinner, might have been washed away with all the rain we had over the weekend. Your photos all came out great, keep me away from that fried sushi roll, I could eat that whole thing by myself;-)

    • 8 LeQuan March 24, 2011 at 12:31 am

      Yeah, some restaurants really give vegetarian food a bad rep. If they would’ve simply added miso to the soup, it would’ve tasted much different (and by different I mean better).
      Thanks for the compliment, Patty.
      These days I’ve been enjoying eating at home more than eating out. Hope you guys had a nice quiet relaxing dinner in.

  5. 9 Ameena March 21, 2011 at 10:00 am

    I second what Sophia said…that is a gorgeous picture of you and your eyebrows are perfect! I am totally envious as mine are a total mess, even the day after I come back from having them threaded.

    Lava cake…is there anything better? I love the idea of just ordering desserts! So smart.

    The sushi roll looks amazing, as does the soup! Sorry it wasn’t too flavorful but I bet that my naive palate would love it. 🙂

    • 10 LeQuan March 24, 2011 at 12:20 am

      You’re always so sweet, Ameena! I’ve seen many many beautiful pictures of you my dear. Not one have I noticed anything wrong with your eyebrows. You’re as photogenic as they get.

      Definitely ordering that lava cake again! You call it smart, I call it “just pigging out” 😛

  6. 11 Brooke March 21, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    Nomiya must have amazing word of mouth – it was packed when I went too!

  7. 13 5 Star Foodie March 21, 2011 at 12:57 pm

    I like how you ordered the desserts, and the wings only on the side 🙂 The mango sushi sounds like a good one to try!

  8. 15 Leah @ Why Deprive? March 21, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    I love the dessert/chicken wings combo. That sounds pretty perfect if you ask me. 🙂

    So disappointing about the ramen – it looks so pretty, and sounds delicious, thats always such a let down.

  9. 17 Light Delight with Tou Tou March 21, 2011 at 1:37 pm

    That’s a very productive weekend!!! in terms of enjoying food!!! Love that apple cake presentation, and spicy miso soup! 🙂 You should take more time for yourself lequan!

  10. 19 Anna Johnston March 21, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    What a beautiful picture of you & your girlfriends LeQuan 🙂 I can just imagine you all getting together & laughing & talking at top speed too 🙂 Its a universal girl thing isn’t it – if there’s 4 girls there, then there’s at least 2 conversations going on that your part of the whole time 🙂 🙂
    You really did have a fun time out this week huh, I love the sound of the paradise roll, pity there wasn’t quite enough 🙂
    Have a great week LeQuan, fingers crossed you and your girlfriends manage to catch up regularly from now on….. being a Mom must be awesome but seriously girl… we cannot live without our girlfriends either huh 🙂

    • 20 LeQuan March 24, 2011 at 12:33 am

      Thank you, Anna! That’s too funny because there were 2 conversations going on at some points throughout. Then we’d switch chatting partners. Haha. Us girls know each other too well. I’ll be back for that paradise roll so no worries there 😉 Girlfriends like these are a must! Gives hubby a break from me talking his ears off too 😀

  11. 21 Stevie March 21, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    This sounds like a fun-filled, exciting and draining day–in other words, the best.

    I love it that you had dessert before dinner. I used to love to do that as a child! I’d eat this thing called an old-fashioned poundcake sundae. It was homemade vanilla poundcake, buttered then pan dried, topped with a large scoop of vanilla ice cream, got fudge, whipped cream, dried nuts and a cherry. Excellent! Though I was never that hungry for dinner after.

    I find that often restaurants make flavorless veggie dishes, which is super sad. What are they trying to prove? Vegetables aren’t dull, why make them that way? It really irritates me.

    • 22 LeQuan March 24, 2011 at 12:43 am

      Yuppers, definitely a packed and draining, but fun day.

      Ooh, that poundcake sundae sounds delicious. I don’t think I’d be hungry for dinner after either.

      I agree, some restaurants really need to kick up their vegetarian dishes.

  12. 23 Jessie March 21, 2011 at 6:54 pm

    How hot are you in that pic with your gorgeous girlfriends??? You are rocking that pink top – luv it! 😀 Even though I’m almost an RD, I love the idea of just going out with your girlfriends and just attacking those desserts (especially that chocolate lava cake – mmm, baby!). My friends and I used to do that with ice cream sundaes. Hot fudge, mmmmmmm … glad you got some time with your friends!

    Too bad about the ramen! It’s such a bummer when a dish is not worth its price, especially if you’re trying a new place. Glad you liked the Paradise roll, though! I GUESS if you HAVE to share with K … I mean, if it were me, I might “hide” the roll somewhere so that I could enjoy it all … not that you heard it from me … 😉

    Enjoy your week, dear LeeQola!!!!!

    • 24 LeQuan March 24, 2011 at 12:51 am

      Wow, did hot Jessie just call me hot? How good are YOU for my ego? Thank you sweetie, you’re always too kind. Yummy! Bring on those hot fudge sundaes!

      I know right? Where in the mothering manual did it say I have to share with my kids? Yet everyone assumes I’m going to share. Haha. Gotcha, “hide” the roll. Or was it hide and roll? Whatever, just hide – got it ;-). Thanks for the advice.

      Hope you had a wonderful vacation with Peter, my dear.

  13. 25 Magic of Spice March 21, 2011 at 8:20 pm

    So glad you got your girl time in…and dessert, nice! You all look fantastic and like you are having so much fun 🙂
    The family dinner outing sounds pretty decent overall…veggie dishes are often a disappointment.
    Great photos 🙂

  14. 27 denise @ bread expectations March 22, 2011 at 5:30 am

    Wow!! Look at all the hot chicas in a row!! LOL

    I have to agree with Jessie – you really do rock that pretty pink top (LOVE the colour and especially love it on you) and boy could I use a sundae right now. I’ve been on a 3 week diet of mostly steamed, baked or simmered tofu, veg, beans and whole grain foods with gallons of green tea drowning everything. I feel pretty good physically, and my skin is actually starting to glow, but my foodie soul is not very happy, let me tell you 😦

    So, you know looking at your trio of desserts and that bowl of spicy ramen is making me lightheaded right now!

    Glad you had a great time with your GFs (so true about no room for breathing LOL) but I am sorry to read that your veggie ramen was just “blah”. Restaurants don’t seem to take much trouble with vegetarian meals, which is a shame as it only serves to further discredit vegetarian food, which can be so delicious if done well.

    It really was nice of Gary to watch the kiddies so you could do a little shopping and spend quality time with the girls 🙂

    • 28 LeQuan March 24, 2011 at 1:17 am

      Oh Denise, you’re always such a hoot. Love having you visit. Thank you for your sweet compliment. Pink is one of my favorite colours to wear.

      Dear, you don’t need to diet. I’ve seen pictures of you and the word diet would never come to mind.

      So true about restaurants not taking much time with vegetarian meals. If anything, I think they should be given more time.

      Yes, Gary’s a pretty good Dad like that. Great, after he reads this, he’s going to be gloating and I’ll never hear the end of this. I always give credit where credit is due though.

      • 29 denise @ bread expectations March 25, 2011 at 4:25 am

        ROFL

        LeQuan, I feel like sending you a picture of my midriff muffin top and my big bootylicious a** right now 😀

        Those pictures (bless your sweet soul) were taken almost a year ago and my author potrait is almost two and a half years old *yikes* You know it had to happen some time. But thank you for the lovely words. I will yet get back in shape and hubby promised to take me out boogie-ing in my skinny jeans when I do 😉

      • 30 LeQuan March 25, 2011 at 10:48 am

        Lmao Denise! You are always such a hoot! I’m sure your bootylicious arse will look sexier than mine on it’s best skinny jeans day any day. We don’t even know what skinny jeans are around here anymore. It’s all elastic eating pants these days ;-). I’m sure I’ll hear about your boogie-ing night real soon. Right? I hope so. You know where to write me :-). Have a great weekend, sweetie!

  15. 31 Maki March 22, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    Wings and dessert. I say AWESOME. The apple pie looks particularly delish.

    All the plates at Nomiya look fantastic too.

  16. 33 Quay Po Cooks March 22, 2011 at 8:56 pm

    LeQuan, Pretty ladies in a row! You gals must have great fun! Gals gathering is Chicken Soup for the Soul! There is not one gals’ gathering that I did not enjoy myself. I usually like to invite my girlfriends to my home for dinner because we a rowdy lot. We talk and laugh so loud that no matter where we go, we managed to bring their roofs down. My Quaylo said he pity the owners of the restaurants we go to for our gatherings hahaha.. When we have to gatherings at home and he is in town, I asked him to put on his ear plucks. A family outing is another of my favorite. Going out to dinner with family a good break from cooking at home and we also get to learn some new dishes and expose to some new tastes. This Restaurant where you gals were serves yummy desserts. I salivate while typing this. Looks like the Jap Restaurant is good over-all except the ramen but I think it is worth the price for extremely good service. It is always nice to see that you enjoying yourself be it with your girlfriends or your family. XOXO!

    • 34 LeQuan March 24, 2011 at 1:16 am

      Thank you, Veronica! Love that, “girls gathering is chicken soup for the soul”.

      Lol. You and Quay Lo are too funny. Sometimes I think men should come with their own ear plugs, like how they think we should have mute buttons. Teehee.

      Yeah, this restaurant had pretty good desserts. It’s a great place for dinner or just quick chatting sessions. Hope you’re having a great week so far, Veronica. I just replied back to your email a couple hours ago. Always great chatting with you.

  17. 35 Jos March 23, 2011 at 10:54 am

    Speaking of which, I haven’t had all girls get together with my friends for a while..it’s surely fun to just hang out with girls (leave hubbies or bf at home haha).

    I LOVE ramen so much..and you look so pretty in that pic! 😀

    • 36 LeQuan March 24, 2011 at 1:25 am

      I think it’s time to call up your girls. Hubbies and boyfriends usually don’t want to tag along anyways.

      Ramen is one of my favorite comfort foods on a chilly winter’s day. Thanks Jos!

  18. 37 Devaki @ weavethousandflavors March 23, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    Dear Le Quan – You do know you are stunning right!!!! What a pic 🙂 you managed to eclipse all that yummy food…lol…. I love that you had a nice girls weekend and for all the yummy dessrts, i wish I could pluck those chuck wings right off the screen….

    The ramen looks wicked good too 🙂

    chow! Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  19. 39 pigpigscorner March 23, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    OMG that deep fried sushi looks so good!

  20. 41 A Canadian Foodie March 23, 2011 at 7:00 pm

    I have even been too busy to read, let alone blog – and finally, I get to your lovely weekend! What fun! Lots of eating on your day out – LOVE IT!
    K wanted to wait 1/2 hour? You can’t beat that! Good for her. You and your girlfriends are stunningly gorgeous. You could knock down an entire room entering it. Be careful where you wield that group power! (Yummy mommy comes to mind)
    It has been far too long since I have heard about a day or evening out with you and your friends, so good for you!
    I need to get cooking. Glad you are coming Sunday so that we can get some bread making goin’ on.
    🙂
    XOXO
    Valerie
    My kitchen has been doing nothing for far too long!

    • 42 LeQuan March 24, 2011 at 12:02 am

      I don’t think K knew how long she actually had to wait, she just wanted to wait b/c she knew there would be food (that’s my girl :-D). You and everybody else are making me blush, you’re all too sweet.

      CANNOT WAIT till Sunday! So excited! Haven’t seen you for a while now. Hope Eat Alberta is going well for you!

      XOXO (right back at cha!) LeeQs

  21. 43 Lawyer Loves Lunch March 24, 2011 at 11:59 am

    LeQ, you look lovely and so well rested! I have a hard time believing you have kids 🙂 I’m also really glad you made some time for a girls night out. I haven’t done that for some time and am feeling the need for one (with wings!) 🙂

  22. 45 tigerfish March 24, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    It was almost like a meal starting with desserts and ending with spicy and savory wings! Or maybe desserts first, then ramen? ;p

  23. 47 MaryMoh March 25, 2011 at 1:56 am

    I’m crawling back into the blogosphere, LeQuan! Maybe you need to pull me with a cable….haha. I better get back before I lost complete momentum. Miss your blog. Wow…lots have happened since my last visit. Looks like you had a fun day. I need that…no cooking for the day. It always nice to spend time with our girlfriends. It keep us young 😀 All of you look so sweet and pretty!

    So sorry to hear that the vegetarian ramen didn’t turn out that well. I hate it when restaurants don’t serve good food. I heard that if you eat in the evening, soups are more diluted, cos the chefs keep adding water and seasoning only. Horrible huh. But the sushi looks very good. First time I heard of deep fried sushi.

    • 48 LeQuan March 25, 2011 at 10:29 am

      No worries Mary. We bloggers have lives behind our blogging that must take precedence. It’s good that you’ve got your priorities straight and not falling into what I call the “blogging abyss”.

      Definitely need girlfriend time! Too much kiddie time can drive a mother insane. Stalking your bloggie and recipes is my therapy (besides girlfriend time). Haha.

      Eeew…diluted soup? I can totally see that though. Better try for earlier next time. Thanks for that tip. Hope you’ve gotten some much needed rest, dear.

  24. 49 Biren @ Roti n Rice March 25, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    Sounds like you had a good time with your girlfriends. It is so hard these days to find the time but I guess we have to MAKE the time. Way to go on the desserts! I would skip the main courses too if I wanted desserts. That way I won’t feel so guilty.

    • 50 LeQuan March 25, 2011 at 2:54 pm

      T’was a good time indeed, Biren. Definitely have to MAKE time these days. Weekends are super busy for me as I have a third child to take care of. Teehee.

  25. 51 Cooking Gallery March 25, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    You seemed to have a wonderful and fun meet up with your friends! And what a great array of foods, I am especially drooling over the sushi and ramen, yum…!

  26. 53 Sharon April 7, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    Trust you to put up photos of dessert first! Lol. Joey Tomatoes sounds like a fun place to eat. Boy did this little foodie have her way with food that weekend! Where do you put it all! Lol. Honestly, seriously, what’s the secret?

    I’m just the same, I don’t like to double order. Especially when trying a new place because I want to try as MUCH of the food as possible. And yes, that means having to pinch a spoonful or two from another person’s bowl. He’s used to it now lol.

    And like I said before, love that pink top with the black lace underneath! Totally suits you well 😀

    • 54 LeQuan April 7, 2011 at 10:17 pm

      Hahaha! I lol-ed at your first line. You’re really getting to know me well, aren’t you? The secret is to wear really baggy Superman shirts. 1.) Men usually don’t gawk at girls in baggy Superman shirts, and 2.) Even if they do gawk, all the attention is on the shield (right where the chest is haha) and away from the butt and thighs and stomach :-D. Hope hubby is not reading this. Lol.

      Pinch? There ain’t no pinching going on here. It’s more like, “are you going to finish that?”, and the answer is usually, “umm…I just started”. Lol. But you pinch away, pinching is a good start, eases them in slowly for the “no matter what you order, I’m stealing half so don’t try to order something I don’t like” :-D.

      Aww thanks, dear! Yup, and like I said before, suits me in hiding all my un-sexy. Teehee.


Leave a Reply

