Super Easy Sesame Chicken

Thank you for the warm comments left on my last post everyone. You all are too sweet. I hope you had a great holiday and happy new year. We just got back from visiting my in-laws in Vancouver. While we were there, Edmonton had a bad snow storm. This is what we came back to: (sorry for the bad iPhone pics)

Hubby and I took turns “digging” cause it was way too much for one person to handle. Plus, someone had to keep and eye on the holy terrors ;-).

A couple of hours later the driveway was finally cleared. Time to invest in a snow blower? Haha. Still proud to be Canadian though. Good thing is, at least the kiddies had fun with the snow. Now onto the title of this post.

I’d like to share this simple sesame chicken recipe with you that I promised from the dinner we had with Valerie and Vanja.

Serves 4 to 6 people.

Ingredients:

  • 1 packet Shanghai Bok Choy
  • 1 whole chicken
  • 2 cloves garlic (minced)
  • 3 to 5 Tbsp sesame oil
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • a pinch of pepper
  • a pinch of MSG (optional, my mom uses it, I prefer not to)
  • sesame seeds
  • 1 tsp cornstarch
  • 1 tsp chicken bouillon
  • 1/2 bowl water

Instructions:

Fill a pot big enough to hold your chicken with water to about 3/4 full. When water boils, put in your chicken and boil it for about half an hour to 45 minutes (depending on the size of your chicken) or until chicken is fully cooked. Once the chicken is cooked, take it out and allow to rest for about 10 minutes.

While chicken is cooling and resting, put your Shanghai Bok Choy into the chicken broth to cook. If you like your veggies crispy, boil for about 3 to 5 minutes. If you like your veggies soft, boil for about 10 minutes. Drain the veggies and leave to cool. While the veggies are cooling chop up the chicken.

In a big bowl (big enough to fit all the chicken pieces) mix together the sesame oil, salt, pepper, and MSG. Put all the chicken pieces in with the sesame mixture and give it a couple tosses. Make sure to coat all the chicken pieces.

To plate, in a medium bowl (just big enough to fit all the pieces of chicken) line the edge of the bowl with pieces of Shanghai Bok Choy as shown in the picture below.

Once done, line the bowl with pieces of chicken breast all around, then finish with the rest of the chicken meat filling up the middle. Turn the bowl upside down onto a plate. Cut the bunches of Shanghai Bok Choy in half and place them around the edge of the plate surrounding the chicken. It should look something like the picture below.

To finish the dish, in a bowl mix together chicken bouillon, cornstarch, and water. Stir until everything dissolves. Heat one tsp oil in a sauce pan. When oil is hot, add garlic. As soon as the garlic starts to brown, pour in the chicken bouillon mixture and stir. When mixture thickens, pour it over the plated chicken.

You can also grind more pepper onto the chicken at this point if you wish. Sprinkle some sesame seed onto your chicken (we left it out cause we forgot) and enjoy. We ate this with rice, but it would also go well with noodles.

That’s it for this week. Wherever you are, I hope you’re not snowed in like were were. Until next time, friends and family :-D.

50 Responses to “Super Easy Sesame Chicken”


  1. 1 MaryMoh January 12, 2011 at 2:56 am

    Oh wow…I love this…both the taste of the chicken and also the presentation. I know my children would like this. The chicken must be very tender and juicy cooked this way.

    And my gosh…that’s a lot of snow!! When I was away back in malaysia it snowed real bad here, too. My hubby called to tell me it was 18 inches! I was sure glad I escaped the freezing blizzards. But looks like more is coming. I think we need to buy a mini snow truck…haha

  2. 2 anncoo January 12, 2011 at 8:39 am

    Lequan, Thanks for sharing this super easy chicken dish. Very presentable on CNY day. I would like to try this for sure 🙂

    That’s a lot of snow! Wish I am there to help you…hahaa…because I never seen such snow before ;D

  3. 3 Cindy @ This Adventure, Our Life January 12, 2011 at 9:11 am

    That is a lot of snow and your chicken looks wonderful!! Thank you for sharing!

  4. 4 Jos January 12, 2011 at 9:29 am

    That’s a lot of snow to clean up!!! Ok now I shouldn’t complain being cold here…I’m sure it’s waaaay freezing at your place. Your sesame chicken looks delish! One question, do you have to use that free range chicken (in Chinese literally means “dirt chicken?” LOL) 黃羽土雞?

  5. 6 Faith January 12, 2011 at 9:42 am

    Love the snowy pics! Even though snow can be an inconvenience (ugh, driving and shoveling!), I still love it (it’s so pretty! Plus there’s skiing…and snowmen, lol!). Now onto this delicious chicken! Sesame chicken is one of my favorites and your recipe looks incredibly tasty. I love the presentation with the bok choy too!

  6. 7 Jessie January 12, 2011 at 10:13 am

    Oh my gosh, I can’t believe how much snow you have, LeeQs! I mean, I saw how much Valerie had in her latest post, but there’s nothing like seeing shoveling through knee-high snow to make you appreciate a snow-removal service. I cant believe you live in Canada and you don’t have a snowblower! We’re getting pummeled with snow in the Northeast US right now, but I doubt we’ll get as much as you. I’m contemplating shoveling out the back deck … but, instead, I’m reading your blog, lol 😛

    I love the look of your sesame chicken – what a beautiful presentation! How did you come up with the bowl trick? Who knew chicken and bok choy could be so beautiful 🙂

    Hope you are all staying warm and happy!
    xoxo Jessie 😀

    • 8 lequan January 12, 2011 at 12:58 pm

      Hey Jessie,

      Speaking of snow removal service, as I was finishing up my driveway, a snow removal truck came by and asked if I wanted the little street part in front of my house cleared for TWENTY bucks! HA! That’s just crazy. You know what else is crazy? The OCD in me actually enjoys shoveling. Teehee.

      The bowl trick was my Mom’s idea. I thought it was pretty cool too. I told her that she’s been holding out on me. Haha.

  7. 9 Lazaro January 12, 2011 at 10:27 am

    Wonderful chicken dish. Love the flavor profile and beautifully presented.

  8. 10 Leah @ Why Deprive? January 12, 2011 at 10:44 am

    That chicken looks so good! I love how pretty it looks too. 🙂

    I can not believe you guys got so much snow. We got a pretty good dumping last night, but its still probably half of that. Crazy!

  9. 11 Ameena January 12, 2011 at 10:51 am

    I love the snow but I don’t think I’d be very good at shoveling it. Especially in the cold weather – I realize that sounds stupid. But it’s true!

    I love the way you used a bowl to get the bok choy just perfect. The presentation of this dish is spot on! If I ate chicken I’d definitely give this one a try but I am one of those dreaded vegetarians…Ali won’t let me hear the end of it!

    Stay warm LeQuan!!

  10. 12 Sharon January 12, 2011 at 12:54 pm

    OH WOW! Check out all that snow!! I can’t imagine how difficult it is having to shovel through knee-high snow. A snow blower would be a much more fun way to clear the driveway.

    The chicken sounds so delicious! I love sesame oil. I’d put LOADS of it. And I love how it’s ‘Super Easy’ ;). Plus it’s gorgeously presented. I would’ve never thought of that. This is making me very hungry and I’d totally try this sometime.

    Hope you had a good time away! Keep warm and cosy!

  11. 13 Juliana January 12, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    Wow, look the amount of snow….this sure reminds me why I live in Southern California 🙂 The chicken dish looks so pretty with the veggies…must taste very yummie!

  12. 14 Stella January 12, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    Oh LeQuan, this is awesome! It sounds so delicious. I would totally break my diet to eat some of this with you guys. For sure. Oh, and nice job on the photos showing how one makes the plate within the bowl. I always feel like I should take instructional photos like that on some of my more complicated or tricky post topics, but I’m too lazy *smile*.
    By the way, that crazy storm even hit Atlanta, GA-my Mom lives there and nobody can go to work. I hope it lets up for everyone soon. I would imagine that it causes for a bit of cabin fever:)
    XOXO

    • 15 Stella January 12, 2011 at 4:42 pm

      Hey, I’m back! Thanks for your sweet comment, LeQuan. And I came back to tell you that my Mom always tells me to ignore it like it’s just no big deal that she makes Cauldron Boy feel bad on a regular basis for choosing to be with me. I do try to ignore her/her effect, but you’re right. It’s very hard to ignore her attitude towards me or how she just seems to call and ruin Cauldon Boy’s day. I notice that she seems to do it on purpose to and in reference to things that she’s unhappy about in reference to herself. She almost seems to take out her misery on her children. Anyway, it’s hard, so thanks for your sweet comment. I don’t usually complain about life on my blog, but I figure it’s okay to do every once in a while…I hope (smile).
      Okay, well, I hope you guys have a warm night’s sleep!
      Stella

  13. 16 denise @ quickies on the dinnertable January 12, 2011 at 9:36 pm

    Wow!!! Your snow pics actually left me bug eyed LeQuan!!! That must feel so c-c-c-c-c-c COLDDD!

    I LOVE eating chicken this way – though I don’t often prepare it at home cos, well, I’m a lazy girl and I don’t want to fiddle with the cooked chicken *blush* Which is why I always order something like this in a Chinese restaurant. I think I want this for dinner though – so fresh and welcoming after all that Christmassy food! Maybe I’ll devise a lazy way to make this 😉

    Thanks for sharing the recipe!

    P/s – hope you’ll click on my link so you can see what I’ve been up to 😀

  14. 17 Anna Johnston January 12, 2011 at 10:38 pm

    Lequan, OMG… all that beautiful white stuff, as pretty as it looks, it must have been pretty daunting to come home to, knowing you guys would be in for some serious snow shovelling. What a workout huh.
    Your chicken dish is really unique, I’ve not seen a presentation like this but how easy peazy is it huh & seriously, there’s nothing like sesame chicken.

  15. 18 Biren @ Roti n Rice January 13, 2011 at 6:50 am

    Wow…that was some snow storm. Your driveway looks a lot like mine with snow piled up high, almost 4.5 to 5 feet high now. No where to shovel the snow to 😦

    I love your presentation of the sesame chicken. I have not eaten this for a while as the boys and hubby prefer roast chicken. I should make a small portion for myself.

  16. 19 5 Star Foodie January 13, 2011 at 7:43 am

    That’s a lot of snow for sure! Your sesame chicken sounds excellent and I love your presentation with the Bok Choy!

  17. 20 Devaki @ weavethousandflavors January 13, 2011 at 2:40 pm

    Dear Le Quan – This has my name ALL over it. I will be making this VERY soon and will keep you posted. You have just made me a very happy girl 🙂

    Thank You!

    chow! Devaki@weavethousandflavors

  18. 21 tigerfish January 13, 2011 at 2:45 pm

    It seems easy to make this sesame chicken! Love it! And thanks for sharing that “secret” to make that beautiful bowl-ful of chicken 😉

  19. 22 Patty Price January 13, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    Thanks for sharing a slice of freezing life in Canada with us! I like the presentation on the sesame chicken dish, it is beautiful with the bok choy, one of my personal favorites. Stay dry and warm this week:)

  20. 23 anhsfoodblog January 13, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    I love this dish since I’m a big fan of all the ingredients listed here! 🙂

  21. 24 Uncle Lee January 13, 2011 at 9:44 pm

    Hi Lequan, love the pics. Can see you have a Black belt in cooking.
    That dish looks simply delicious!
    Have fun, keep warm, and keep a song in your heart.
    Best regards, Lee.

  22. 25 sophia January 13, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    Ah…That’s way more snow than I can ever endure!!! I’ve been in snowstorms before, of course, and after the novelty wears off, they just get so tiresome.
    I hope you stay warm though! 🙂

  23. 26 Monet January 13, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    Were you two exhausted after all that shoveling? I know I certainly would have been! My dad loves to shovel snow, so we were spoiled when we lived in Colorado…he never asked us to get outside and clear off our driveway. Now I live in Austin, so hopefully we won’t have to worry about that much snow (I’m keeping my fingers crossed!) This sesame chicken looks so delicious. I love how you arranged the bok choy in this dish. So beautiful! Thank you for sharing your recipe and thoughts with me tonight. I hope you have a great weekend. I’m so glad Friday is almost here!

  24. 28 DessertDarling January 13, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    That is a LOT of snow!!! My Gawd! It was sunny and 80 degrees in LA!
    Beautiful presentation with the chicken dish 🙂

  25. 29 A Canadian Foodie January 14, 2011 at 9:28 am

    You should have asked me for my photos! I have the photos of the chicken coming out of the pot, etc…
    First, all of LeQuan’s readers: her children are ANGELS. Holy terrors is hilarious if you have ever met them. They are the quietest, most lovely angelic creatures known to man.
    Second: this dish is truly EASY-PEASY and absolutely delicious. It is the texture and flavour of the chicken that sings in this dish as it is poached very slowly. Her mom brought the whole chicken to a boil, then turned it off and left the chicken poach in the hot water for 2 hours.I think LeQuan is just providing “safer” instructions. (Are you?) But, the chicken WAS completely cooked, so incredibly special in texture through this process. Yes, it did fall off the bone, but in a different way. It still had substance and a tooth to it, but it was so tender at the same time. And the simple dressing was delectable.
    Of course, her mom got full props for the presentation. We were all watching her put it together and wondering what she was doing, then VOILA! It turned upside down and became a masterpiece. I was tickled pink and especially that this was a dish familiar to her mom and special to her mom, but one she had never made for her family before.
    This is a keeper. A gorgeous recipe. The entire meal was incredible and this was a favourite dish of mine.
    Thank you LeQuan and family!!!
    Big hugs!
    Valerie

    • 30 lequan January 14, 2011 at 2:44 pm

      Thank you for your always sweet and sincere comments Valerie. I always love hearing from you. I gave the simple, quick version to this recipe. But if you’ve the time, poaching does make the chicken so much better. I’m all about quick meals these days 😉

    • 31 Sharon January 17, 2011 at 11:03 am

      I didn’t know it was your mom who did the presentation, she’s a star! And it’s funny how it was special to her but never made it for the family before. Good thing she did though! It’s a great recipe!

  26. 32 Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel January 14, 2011 at 1:22 pm

    can i give you some type of award for finding the most clever way to incorporate bok choy into chicken, or any meal for the matter. it reminds me of a jelly fish, so cute!! and i love chicken and bok choy to begin with..and sesame seasoning is so YUMMY!

    wow thats so much snow btw! definitely quite the strenuous task and effort required to dig oneself out of that! the height of the snow banks looks crazy high in that picture!!

  27. 33 Magic of Spice January 14, 2011 at 4:20 pm

    Oh my goodness look at all of that snow…good points and bad I guess. No snow here but I can see it on the mountains and hear they is plenty up there 😉
    What a beautiful was to present this dish, amazing! I have come back to take a third look even…really fantastic LeQuan 🙂

  28. 34 Tanantha @ I Just Love My Apron January 14, 2011 at 4:33 pm

    Holy molly! That’s a lot of snow!
    I love snow but not sure with that much of snow.
    Thanks for the recipe LeQuan! It’s really simple as you said. I;m gong to impress my guests with this beautiful chicken dish for the next party. We’re having Asian theme! I might have to cut out MSG, tho. This reminds me of my mom. She added a little msg on pretty much everything haha.

    Have a great warm weekend!

    • 35 lequan January 14, 2011 at 6:10 pm

      I think adding MSG is such an Asian thing. My Grandma did it, my Mom does it once in a while, and my Dad likes to use it. So I’ve cut it out of all the dishes I make to prove that dishes can still taste great without MSG.

      If you do make this dish, I hope you and your friends will enjoy it. It really is super easy. I highly recommend using free range chicken though if you can get it. Hope you have a great weekend.

  29. 36 Blackswan January 14, 2011 at 11:29 pm

    Super recipe from a super mom! Nice presentation. I’ll be leaving out the MSG too as it reminds me of my mom-in-law who puts MSG in every single dish.

    I recalled once when she was at my place & tried to cook something. She was looking high & low for MSG but was shocked when I told her I don’t have any. She was practically stuck w/o that 🙂

  30. 37 Quay Po Cooks January 15, 2011 at 9:08 am

    lequan,
    I don’t think I will ever see so much snow. Looks like it is difficult task to have to shovel them away. This chicken recipe is timely for Chinese New Year. I am sure it will be a winner. My mum uses a pinch of MSG in her cooking too but that was before I met my Quaylo. He just cant take anything with MSG. It will trigger his cluster headache so now we stay away from it. Have a nice weekend and give your little precious’ a hug for me and tell them that is from a yellow skin Quaypo aunty that lives far away in Malaysia.

  31. 38 Katherine: Unemployed January 16, 2011 at 6:05 pm

    this looks absolutely gourmet! thanks for sharing!

  32. 39 Autumn @ Good Eats Girl January 17, 2011 at 7:53 pm

    That dish looks absolutely amazing! And that’s a whole lot of snow!!

  33. 40 Joyti January 18, 2011 at 10:35 pm

    Oooo, doesn’t that snow look terrible? Its piled so high!
    But on the other hand, its a great reason to break out those comfort dishes, and that lovely heap of sesame chicken certainly looks like a delicious and comforting meal.

  34. 41 Brittany January 20, 2011 at 10:50 am

    OMG!!!! That is a LOT of SNOW!!!!!!! AHHHH I dont know how you do it lol! ANyway That chicken looks great!
    I am glad to be blogging again and getting your yummy eats!

    CHEERS!
    Happy NEW YEAR and HAPPY THURSDAY!

  35. 42 Stella January 26, 2011 at 2:28 pm

    Hey! Where is you?! Are you taking a little break too? Okay, well, I just came by to see what you’re up to lately. I’ll be back, my LeQuanis…!

  36. 43 Lawyer Loves Lunch January 27, 2011 at 8:49 am

    Holy! That is a lot of snow! I’m so glad you guys were away for the worst of it but I bet that wasn’t fun to come home to. At least you have delicious food for comfort 🙂

  37. 44 Light Delight with Tou Tou January 27, 2011 at 7:04 pm

    Hey Lequan, Hope you are doing great 🙂
    It looks like heavy snow in Edmonton too….Stay warm and eat comfort food! I love sesame chicken- isn’t that a staple for Chinese New year 😉

  38. 45 Victor @ Random Cuisine February 2, 2011 at 10:26 am

    That’s an unusual presentation. Looks delicious and comforting.

  39. 46 Reese Darragh April 12, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    Le Quan,

    Trying this recipe for tonight’s supper. It looks extremely easy and super delicious. Can’t wait to cook now!

    Reese

  40. 50 Reese Darragh April 12, 2011 at 9:11 pm

    It is just like you have said, super easy and delicious. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe.


Leave a comment




Foodbuzz
Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other subscribers