Farewell My Friends

Don’t worry, I’m not going anywhere, and no, my kiddies didn’t get a new pet, nor did they capture a huge spider. They just discovered what they were going to have for dinner. If you’re wondering, L is saying, “What’s that, Mommy?”

Meet Mr. King Crab from T&T supermarket. We usually buy our king crab from Costco when they have their seafood roadshow, but when my Mom saw that they had fresh ones at T&T, she decided to give it a try. This was part of our farewell dinner for our guests from Vietnam whom I mentioned a couple posts ago. They were here for two months and left Friday.

Before they left, we wanted to treat them to a seafood dinner since the crab and lobster are different here compared to the ones in Vietnam. Our guests requested everything to be steamed so they could taste the true freshness of the seafood. I think it’s because they didn’t want to trouble us. We started with Dungeness Crab. Along side all the seafood, my Mom blanched some Yu Choy and then drizzled them with oyster sauce, stir fried some vermicelli noodles with some homemade XO sauce, and I made tarts filled with crab and pineapple guacamole.

We had two types of dipping sauces: butter, and lemon juice with salt and pepper. When seafood is this fresh, you actually shouldn’t even need any type of sauce. The meat will be sweet enough on it’s own. Tip: If you go to a restaurant and order steamed fish, but they suggest you deep fry it, you know the fish is not very fresh and that they’re trying to cover up something. Pass on getting the fish altogether.

The lobster came next.

Then finally the “king”. Delicious and sweet as fresh seafood should be. As I mentioned before, we usually buy our king crab from Costco. This fresh king crab that we bought from T&T did not taste as salty as the ones from Costco usually do. I should mention that the ones from Costco are frozen. Anyone else buy king crab from Costco? Do you know why their king crab is so salty? Well, I hope our guests enjoyed this meal and their time in Canada as much as I enjoyed their stay. They even got to see snow for the first time in their lives before they left, how exciting for them! I know a lot of you are preparing for a feast of your own this week. So I wish you and your family a very Happy Thanksgiving.

Before I leave, a while back, Alisha (AKA Magic of Spice) from The Ardent Epicure tagged me with some questions. I’d like to take the time to answer those questions right now. I’m not going to tag anyone as I’m (ashamed to say) quite behind on answering these questions, but I will welcome anyone who wants to use these questions on their blog and tag anyone else to feel free and do so. If you haven’t visited Alisha’s blog, please do. You’ll be amazed (as I was) with her gorgeous photos and delicious recipes. Thank you for the tag Alisha.

1) What single thing or entity most inspires your dishes?
Definitely my kiddies. If I come across a recipe or ingredient that I know they’ll enjoy, I will try to make the dish or incorporate that ingredient into a dish.
2) What do you love most about having a blog?
Being able to interact with people all over the world who have a common interest with me and being able to share that common interest while forming friendships.
3) What is you favorite type of music?
Okay, I’m a total sap when it comes to music. I enjoy love songs. There, I said it…don’t judge 😀
4) What would you most like to do with your spare time (if you had any)?
It’s a toss up between blogging and eating; hence the title luvtoeat 😉
5) What are your 2 favorite flavor combinations?
I love coconut flavored dishes, so I’d have to say spicy and coconutty.
6) What is your favored reading material?
In this day and age, I think it’s safe to say blogs count don’t they?
7) Who is your favorite Chef or Cook at this moment?
My Grandma. In my heart, no one can cook like my Grandma did. She cooked authentic Chinese and Teochew dishes.
8) What is your zodiac sign?
Aries.
That’s it for this week. Until next time, friends and family :-D.
32 Responses to “Farewell My Friends”


  1. 1 Leah @ Why Deprive? November 24, 2010 at 11:12 am

    Im an aries too! I think I fit the description perfectly too, its kind of scary!

    Speaking of scary, that king crab is a beast!! I would be too intimitated to cook it. 🙂

  2. 2 Pachecopatty November 24, 2010 at 11:28 am

    Hi Le Quan, that is one scary looking king crab and I would be afraid that it might eat me before I get a chance to eat it,lol!
    The picture with your kids looking down on the giant crab is priceless. I agree with you on steamed fish, lobster, crab etc. definitely the best way to enjoy the pure flavor without anything else to mask it. I love that you picked your grandmother as your favorite chef, that speaks volumes about the heart of your cooking traditions. Have a nice weekend and enjoy that beautiful family of yours;)

  3. 3 Jos November 24, 2010 at 3:56 pm

    Can’t agree more. Fresh seafood taste good without any dipping sauce! 🙂 Lobster and crab look delish!!! Makes me want to have those too as well.. 😀

  4. 4 Stella November 24, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    Hey LeQuan! I got so scared when I saw your title. I was like ‘Oh No! This is not happening!’ So obviously I was glad to see that your title meant farewell to your guests. Phew…
    Oh, and this looks like a serious meal, LeQuanis. I wish I was there. I would even come uninvited (smile). I’d be like that bad neighbor that wouldn’t leave b/c of the food. By the way, I love kind crab. It looks like a big spider, but it is delicious. Plus, Andrew Zimmern told me that spiders are delicious;-)
    By the way, K & L look so tiny and cute in that top photo, and I love the look on K’s face. That’s probably the look I would have too.
    Okay, well, I hope you guys have a super relaxing day tomorrow.
    XO, Stella
    p.s. I’m using a computer that is not mine this week, so I have limited internet access. I will be by as I can though!!

    • 5 lequan November 24, 2010 at 9:23 pm

      Hey Stella,

      Your blog would definitely be one of the blogs I keep visiting if for some reason I do stop blogging. That won’t be for a while yet though 😀

      You and Cauldron Boy are welcome at our house any time, my dear. Seriously, I wished we lived closer to each other.

      Thanks for dropping by even though you’re having computer problems. I really hope you get everything sorted out soon. If we lived closer, I would’ve been at your doorstep already with an extra laptop in hand for you. Partly cause I know the chances of you baking something wonderful during my unexpected visit is pretty high. Teehee. Hope you and your family have a wonderful Thanksgiving, Stella.

  5. 6 Anna Johnston November 24, 2010 at 6:08 pm

    Oh Woweeee Lequan, the seafood looks awesome, I so wish I could zip on over to one of your celebration dinners. Your friends really got to have a treat being part of this meal for sure before they went back to our side of the world where its pretty hot and steamy, so guessing they loved the snow your having.
    I can’t believe how big the King Crab is (either that or you have miniature kids (teeeheee).
    Well, we don’t have a Costco ‘down under’ but as a chef I know buying anything frozen has a tendency to be a bit salty, especially the seafood. If your lucky the reason is the seafood is snap frozen on boats within a short time of it being fished from the sea and they use (naturally) sea water to wash them down, so once its been frozen seawater does tend to leave behind a very salty flavour to it once the water content of the seafood gets reduced through the freezing process. If the seafood is brought into fish vendors on land, they are usually washed with fresh water, dispersing the salt but because you eat the seafood fresh it hasn’t dehydrated as much.
    Hope this helps.
    Happy Thanksgiving 😉

    • 7 lequan November 24, 2010 at 9:28 pm

      Thank you for that explanation Anna! That really helps a lot. It was much more of an answer than I was looking for. You chefs sure know your food. Happy Thanksgiving Anna!

  6. 8 anncoo November 24, 2010 at 7:31 pm

    WOW the crab is real huge and the lobster too! Is the King crab from Alaska? We have it here but is is very expensive. I think the best fresh live seafood is to steam it and I don’t mind to eat the lobster raw like sashimi…hahaa..

    • 9 lequan November 24, 2010 at 9:36 pm

      Good question Ann, I’m not sure, but I am assuming the king crab was from Alaska. I’ll have to ask next time. Lobster sashimi is soooo yummy. If it’s fresh enough, that’s actually my favorite way to eat seafood.

  7. 10 Magic of Spice November 24, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    Oh my, that guy is a monster! What a beautiful feast, I am so sure that your friends must have been delighted. Beautiful meal and they got to see snow for the first time as well 🙂
    LeQuan, your answers were so fun and yes I believe blogs count 🙂
    Have a wonderful day tomorrow!

  8. 11 5 Star Foodie November 24, 2010 at 8:32 pm

    I love that picture with your kids looking at the crab! I was just imagining what 5 Star Foodie Jr. would say about this crab with her funny sense of humor, especially when it comes to food. A terrific seafood feast, the lobsters and the king crab sure look wonderful!

  9. 12 Ameena November 24, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    Holy cow…when I read the title of this post I thought you were leaving your blog! I’m sure you are as sad to say goodbye to your friends, but what a wonderful way to send them off.

    I agree with #2, #4, and #6. I only wish there was a way to read blogs in printed form, so I could give my poor, dry eyes a break. 🙂

  10. 13 denise @ quickies on the dinner table November 25, 2010 at 7:45 am

    I blanched when I saw your title post before I read anything! That’s not very nice LeQuan LOL I honestly got a fright 😀 I’m glad you’re not hanging up your keyboard!

    Absolutely agree – fresh seafood doesn’t need embellishment.

    You’re kids are out of this world adorable and I swear L has the hugest eyes I’ve ever seen on a child 😀 They rival the king crab!

    I love the shot of the lobsters on the table, all in a pretty row and the king crab doing yoga in the steamer ROFL

    It’s a little embarassing to admit, but these days, I too, hardly read anything else but food blogs and cook books *blush* Oh well! Btw – I would never have guessed you were an Aries….

    • 14 lequan November 25, 2010 at 1:42 pm

      Hey Denise,

      Sorry for the scare. I guess the title is pretty misleading. I promise not to do it again. On the other hand, you know even if I stopped writing, I’d still stalk you right? You don’t get off that easily, my friend 😉

      Thanks for the sweet words about my kiddies. Heck, dude has bigger eyes than me…lol.

  11. 15 Peggy November 25, 2010 at 8:21 am

    Wow! I don’t think I’ve ever seen a live King Crab and I would totally be scared of it! Your feast looks amazing and I’m sure your guests were thankful that you thought of them like that!

  12. 16 A Canadian Foodie November 25, 2010 at 9:17 am

    What a beautiful post. I have not responded sooner as I have been swamped with trying to get out my mega post on sushi and getting my house organized. One thing at a time, one day at a time. And, I wanted to take the time to really read and enjoy your bright and warm voice, LeQuan, on this cold wintry day. Your friends are gone. If I was feeling better, and if it wasn’t mom and dad’s 60th, I would have had them for a Canadian dinner. That would have been a shock. I love doing things like that. Should they ever come again, or should you ever get more company… I will watch. Now, two things: did you just do one King Crab for all of you?… I saw how much other food you had. So, did everyone just get one leg? Do you like the Costco saltier version better, or this one… and have you ever tried fish and seafood from Fin’s in Sherwood Park? I believe they have the best in the city… not all the Asian kinds, but they do bring in the king crabs, too.
    Secondly – XOX sauce homemade. Let’s do this together! I have heard everyone raving about how good it is, and I have some of the ingredients already. Also, I wasn’t kidding when I said bring over the kids for a visit and cookie making… they could just play in the playroom, even. I would love to see them and you over this season. I am home now, full time, so please let me know what time works for you.
    This dinner looks absolutely incredible. And very expensive.
    🙂
    Valerie

    • 17 lequan November 25, 2010 at 2:03 pm

      Hey Valerie,

      You’re too kind. I still have to have you over!

      Yup, just one king crab to share. One of those legs have a lot of meat. Everyone was pretty much full by the time we even got to the king crab. I seem to like the Costco ones better. Plus, if you don’t eat the “head” you’re actually paying for something you don’t need to pay for. The Costco ones are just legs. I’ll have to check out Fin’s in Sherwood Park. Thanks for the suggestion.

      I’m going to take you up on the cookie making offer! I’ll bet I’ll learn a lot from you. Be warned though, I wasn’t kidding either when I said I mess up everything I bake 😀 I’ll email!

  13. 18 kjanzen November 25, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    oh my gosh, your kiddies are SO cute! i just caught up on your last post too, and that pic of them holding hands in front of the christmas tree is totally a keeper. made my heart melt just a little bit.
    i’m totally afraid of live seafood, so kudos to you! at first i thought it was a giant spider!!! BUT, what an incredible meal you did! so impressive 🙂

  14. 19 Chef Dennis November 25, 2010 at 6:17 pm

    hi LeQuan

    what a feast you prepared for your guests! I have never seen a live king crab, or whole one cooked for that matter…and what a great type about fried seafood!
    I do try to find time to read other than blogs, but it certainly isn’t easy…but then again I love reading blogs so its ok!

    Thanks for another wonderful post my friend!
    Dennis

  15. 20 Monet November 25, 2010 at 11:40 pm

    You are just too precious. I adore love songs too, and I so enjoyed hearing you talk about your Grandma. I’m sure her food was amazing! This feast looks too good to be true. Ryan and I adore crab and lobster…we treat ourselves to a feast every December for my birthday! I wish I could have joined you for this dinner. It would have been the culinary highlight of my year! Thank you for sharing! I hope you have a lovely weekend!

  16. 21 Blackswan November 25, 2010 at 11:49 pm

    Lequan, I envy u! Look at the feast……. all my fave food!!

    Back from vacation. Soooo tired….. it’s great to see post like this, so heartwarming!

  17. 22 MaryMoh November 26, 2010 at 4:00 am

    Haha…love that first picture…the look on your son’s face! I’m sure he will remember that crab for a long long time! 😀 It’s wonderful that you have guests to stay with you for 2 months and you enjoyed it. LeQuan, you have played an awesome hostess to give them good food and make them feel at home. I’m sure they will always treasure your hospitality. Those lobsters are huge! I don’t think I have seen any bigger ones. Love all the seafood. Wish I was there! 😛

  18. 23 Quay Po Cooks November 26, 2010 at 9:57 am

    Are you are hostess or a Goddess? hehehe Look at the feast you fed your guests! May I come visit you and stay with you for just a week? I love the picture of your two little precious:D

  19. 24 edenseats November 26, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    Hey there!
    I just wanted to thank you from the bottom of my heart for your kind words and wishes about my father. Your children are lucky to have you and I’d love to be a guest at any of your dinners! Thanks again for stopping by my blog and I will be sure to visit yours!

  20. 25 arthur November 27, 2010 at 3:21 am

    Never seen a live crab like that before. Your too brave to let the kids come near it. Truth is I just love to eat them, cooked ant steaming, of course! Thanks for sharing .Love your photos! Cheers!

  21. 26 Faith November 27, 2010 at 8:16 am

    LeQuan, Thank you so much for stopping by my blog and leaving your sweet comment! Any friend of Lazaro’s is a friend of mine. 🙂 Your blog is lovely! Your kiddos are adorable and I also love cooking for and feeding my family (although no kiddos of my own yet 😉 ). I am absolutely craving sweet king crab right now, lol. That’s a great tip about ordering steamed fish at restaurants…I’m going to remember that! 🙂

  22. 27 tigerfish November 27, 2010 at 7:33 pm

    We feasted on steamed Dungeness Crabs on the eve of Thanksgiving this year. So so good! I don’t miss turkey or other Thanksgiving classics at all ;p

  23. 28 Juliana November 29, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    I love fresh crab and lobster…but do not cook them at home…somehow too much messy 🙂 The picture of the kids staring at the big scary crab is SO SO cute!

  24. 29 Tanantha @ I Just Love My Apron November 29, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    Sorry for a late comment LeQuan! Thanksgiving and weekend carried me away 😀 What a feast! I think it’s good that you trained the kiddos to be familiar with live seafood!! haha. Look at those lobsters and crab; my goodness I would invite myself over to your house. I like reading your answer on “tag me in”. Blogging and eating haha that sounds about right.

  25. 30 Biren @ Roti n Rice November 29, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    Glad that you are not calling blogging quits 🙂 It would be a shame and I would miss your cheerful comments.

    That’s quite a feast and the king crab looked ferocious! It must be tasty though. I have not had crabs in a while. They are very tasty but these days I think I prefer them shelled or just eat them at a restaurant.

    Enjoyed reading your answers to the tag questions. I like spicy and coconuty foods too 🙂

  26. 31 Lawyer Loves Lunch November 30, 2010 at 10:22 pm

    What a feast! That crab is huge! I’m so glad to know you buy crab from Costco. I sometimes see it there and wonder if it’s any good. Now I know! 🙂

  27. 32 sophia November 30, 2010 at 11:10 pm

    Reading your blog without knowing you’re chinese (though I would be able to tell immediately), one would think you’re some kind of queen. There is a saying that kind of goes: “The Koreans spend money on building churches and cars. The Chinese spend money on building restaurants and food.” Tee hee. ;-p


Leave a Reply

