New Asian Village

Thank you all sooo much for all your sweet comments on my last post!

The last time I ate at this restaurant, it had not been renovated yet. I actually didn’t know it had been renovated until I stepped foot through the doors.

My oh my what a surprise I got.

The entrance was beautiful and very inviting. It made me feel like I was entering a castle.

As you can see, the decorations are stunning. My camera doesn’t do justice for the beautiful art and decorations. Time for a new camera, Gary? Hint hint, nudge nudge…keekeeekee.

The bar and buffet station.

I should mention that we had the lunch buffet at $12.99 per person (or $15.99 sorry, I don’t remember). I wanted to try the buffet cause I’m not familiar with East Indian food so I thought this would be the best way to try a lot of different dishes without constantly bothering the waiter.

Lots of desserts and fruits .

The salad bar.

With many choices of chutney and sauces. I didn’t try the mint chutney as I’ve had that before, but I did enjoy the mango and tamarind chutney.

This one was very new to me. I usually enjoy pickled stuff, but this was a bit too strong for my liking. Kind of curious what dish one would pair this with. If anyone out there is familiar with this item, I’d love to know how you eat it.

I’ll try to talk less now and let the pictures do the talking for a bit. Again, sorry about the blurry pictures.

Tandoori Chicken: Tender skewer roasted chicken marinated in herbs, spices and yogurt tandoori glaze.

Butter Chicken: Char broiled chicken marinated in herbs, spices, and cooked in a rich butter sauce.

Baigun Masala: Traditional dish of Punjab made with eggplant, chopped onion and tomato with aromatic herbs.

Aloo-Gobhi: Long cut potatoes and cauliflower mixed onions and herbs on low flame.

Vegetable Korma: Rainbow vegetables and homemade cheese cooked in a thick creamy sauce and topped with homemade yogurt. This is my favorite dish so far of all the East Indian dishes I’ve ever tried.

Goat Rogan Josh: A spicy thin curry cooked with cracked whole spices and goat. I stuck to all the meatless dishes so I didn’t try this, but Gary liked it.

Chilly Chicken: Chicken and seasoned vegetables sautéed in a spicy Indo-Chinese style sauce.

Turnip Masala: Long cut turnip cooked with creamy curry, herbs, and spices.

Chana Masala: Chickpeas cooked with creamy curry, herbs, and spices.

Oh my gosh, such a horrible blurry picture. I tried to take pictures as quickly as possible so people wouldn’t get impatient with me. Guess I paid the price. Here are some more shots of the restaurant before we move onto dessert.

They have many pieces of beautiful art like this on many of their walls.

A picture of the huge welcoming entrance from inside the restaurant.

A section of the restaurant that obviously wasn’t being used.

Jalebi: White flour and sugar combination deep fried and dipped in sugar water.

These tasted nothing like what I had expected. I thought they would be extra crispy and crunchy, like a deep fried pretzel dipped in candied glaze. Instead, they had a somewhat soft and sweet while melting in your mouth type of texture. I wasn’t a big fan. Still glad I tried them for the experience though.

Mango Pudding:

This was my favorite dessert. It was smooth, creamy, and had great mango flavor. I was expecting this to be really sweet, but it wasn’t too sweet at all.

Kheer: An Indian style of rice pudding with some aromatic spices.

I wanted to try this, but was already too full. Next time for sure though. The rest of the dessert consisted of watermelon, cantaloupe, grapes, and I think honey dew. I really enjoyed munching on this guy:

They also had naan and rice that I didn’t take a picture of. I think you all know what those look like. All in all, I really enjoyed the whole experience. The food was delicious, service was friendly and very attentive, and the restaurant was renovated beautifully. The only problem I had was that a lot of the dishes were too spicy for my kiddies. If you have young children, I wouldn’t recommend this restaurant, but if you like great tasting spicy Indian food, I’d highly recommend this place. There are four New Asian Village locations in Edmonton. We went to the West side location.

I forgot to share this cake pop picture with you on my last post so I’d like to share it with you now before I leave. My friend Anju made these for my kiddies for Halloween. Thank you Anju, you’re such a sweetie! Isn’t Frankenstein cute?

I hope everyone had a great weekend. Until next time, friends and family :-D.

34 Responses to “New Asian Village”


  1. 1 Leah @ Why Deprive? November 8, 2010 at 10:10 am

    I may have started drooling when I saw the butter chicken!! Everything looks SO good, Im thinking I need indian food like, now!

  2. 2 Lazaro November 8, 2010 at 11:23 am

    LeQuan,

    Without a doubt the heat factor is an important factor in deciding where to take people to eat. I’ve made that mistake before.

    I thought you were a bit harsh with your judgment of the photo quality, I found it to be quite nice. With that said, best of luck in your quest to get a new camera.

    The food looks fantastic. I’ll have some aloo-gobhi and turnip masala to go please!

    Wonderful job with your review.

    Be well

  3. 3 Juliana November 8, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    LeQuan, what a lovely place to have Indian food…and I am with you in regards to the mango pudding…absolutely irresistable, yummie!

  4. 4 Jos November 8, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    Gosh the last time I went to an Indian restaurant was ages ago. All I remembered the naan bread was super good and when you ate it with curry, just can’t stop 😀
    Is that mango pudding that’s also known as lassi?

  5. 6 foodies at home November 8, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    What a great looking space! I bet it would be a fun place for a large group of people!!

  6. 7 tigerfish November 8, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    The buffet looks very extensive with all the dishes being offered. Though I enjoy vegetables (obvious from my blog and posts), I would still shoot for the goat dish since every time I dine at a Indian restaurant – goat curry is something I enjoy. Moreover, it is a dish I would never cook at home. So it gives me more reasons to eat the dish…lol.

  7. 8 Biren @ Roti n Rice November 8, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    All the food pictures are making me very hungry as it is close to dinner time. The vegetable korma and tandoori chicken looks really good. Acar is normally an accompaniment and can be eaten with roti or rice (hmmm…doesn’t that sound familiar?) Perhaps a little raita (cucumber yogurt salad) will soften the blow a little. I can understand that these dishes will be hard for your little ones. Even my teenage boys will have to drink lots and lots of water to get it in. I love spicy food but unfortunately did not train them well in this area 😦

  8. 9 denise @ quickies on the dinner table November 8, 2010 at 6:50 pm

    Hey LeQuan 🙂

    Your pictures are fine – it’s the light in most restaurants that makes it so challenging, even for the best cameras 😛

    Your post is making me drool big time 😀 I miss Indian food and would be all over the flat breads, turnip masala and aloo gobi. Maybe the eggplant dish too! Goat meat is pretty tasty and less pungent then mutton, so I probably would pile that on my plate too….

    I find Indian pickles generally too pungent and stay away from them. Indian desserts too, I find generally too creamy and sweet though I might take a stab at the jalebi – I’ve had other Asian desserts that were similar and quite enjoyed them though I think the jalebi you had might have been oversoaked with syrup, therefore, not so pleasant!

    Thanks for sharing your experience with us – your reviews are always balanced and so honest!

  9. 10 Pachecopatty November 8, 2010 at 7:11 pm

    Hi LeQuan, I just wanted to say quickly WOW to all this food and I wish I lived close to one of these places!!!! I have to put dinner on the table but it’s going to seem a bit boring compared to all the lovely spiciness of the dishes in your photographs, which look great and very appetizing to me:)

  10. 11 Ameena November 8, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    I have never seen such a pretty Indian restaurant before…not even in India! I love the elephant chafing dishes. They are just so unique and gorgeous.

    Indian desserts are far too sweet for me as well, hence why I never eat them. It’s really no wonder that so many Indian people suffer from diabetes, right? My dad included!

    Everything looks fabulous! And I am right up there with you needing a new camera. As you already know. 🙂

  11. 12 Monet November 8, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    So those little pops are about the cutest things I’ve seen all day! Can I have one please!
    Everything that you sampled looked oh-so-good. I just had a friend over last night and we perused a wonderful Indian cookbook. I enjoy the cuisine, but I haven’t made much at home. I’m hoping to change that soon!
    It sounds like the buffet was a great choice! You were able to sample so many different types of food…and for a fairly reasonable price! Thank you for sharing…and thank you for your kind words on my blog. Your comments are some of the dearest to my heart. I so appreciate that you take the time out of your busy day to read my writing. Hugs from Austin!

  12. 13 Blackswan November 9, 2010 at 12:17 am

    Lequan, I’m not an Indian food fan at all to be honest. It’s too strong for me. But I love Indian fashion. LOL!

    Nevertheless, thks for bringing me around the restaurant & introducing the food. I like those lollipops tho’. They’re real cute!

  13. 14 5 Star Foodie November 9, 2010 at 7:07 am

    The decor in this place looks very neat! Sounds like there are some great specialties to try, I especially would love to try the goat rogan josh since rogan josh is an all-time favorite but I’ve only had lamb with it, would be nice to try the goat one sometimes!

  14. 15 Anna Johnston November 9, 2010 at 8:24 am

    I adore East Indian food & I love restaurants that go all out with their decor, it makes so much difference when you eat in a place that someone has lovingly put together for your dining experience….. and the food huh…, not even sure which one I’d choose. Maybe I’d go for the Goat Rogan Josh (coz I’ve never had it before).

  15. 16 Lawyer Loves Lunch November 9, 2010 at 12:41 pm

    Those cake pops are adorable! I remember my one (and only) experience with ’em and I can only shake my head when I see ones that are so much better 🙂

    PS: Agreed! Indian desserts are way too sweet but the nice thing is, you can eat a smaller portion 🙂

  16. 17 Kelsey November 9, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    i have to say, not only is the food very aromatic and the flavors beautifully appetizing- the names of the sauces and dishes are awesome too! ive always loved trying to pronounce them at restaurants ❤

    the Frankenstein and the little vampire pop are the CUTEST!! ❤

  17. 18 Devaki @ weavethousandflavors November 9, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    Oh my…what fun Le Quan …look at the spread at the Indian restaurant buffet. I am glad you liked many of the dishes.I can’t remember the last time I went to one like this…it’s the curse of wanting to fix everything homemade 🙂

    Ciao, Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  18. 19 Cindy November 9, 2010 at 6:42 pm

    I’m so overdue for Indian Food!! I love Goat in curry sauce!! I didn’t see my favorite…malai kofta. Love it all and the spicier the better. I’m not a big fan of the Indian desserts and would rather get my carb calories with extra naan.

  19. 20 sophia November 10, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    GUESS WHAT!! I just had Indian this afternoon!!! I had the best naan ever, and the spiciest palak paneer…which is saying a lot considering that nothing is ever very spicy too me!

    Oh, and those lollipops…the cutest thing ever!! hee hee hee.

  20. 21 Stella November 11, 2010 at 9:35 am

    Hey LeQuanis, it’s been so long since I’ve eaten at a nice Indian buffet. I used to love eating Indian or Pakistani food in a buffet situation for the exact reason you mentioned-getting to try all of the food. That being said, it’s hard to find an authentic buffet of any kind, but it sounds like you may have found one;-) Nice! Oh, and I’ve never seen turnip masala. That sounds so good to me right now. I haven’t eaten lunch though, so everything looks awesome. I’m admittedly no kind of critic at the moment (smile)…
    By the way, I used to eat so horribly in college and for a couple of years after school too. The sad thing was that I thought I ate very healthful, so my intestinal distress was quite mysterious to me. I fixed it though:)
    p.s. I bet the kids were so cute while they were trying to eat that spicy food. I can just see them wincing in adorable panic…!

  21. 22 Stella November 11, 2010 at 10:06 am

    Oh, and I have one other ‘p.s.’, so…
    p.s. have I ever told you you’re the best of the best? Hmm, I probably have. My Mind is more like a 62 year old than a 32 year old;) I hope you guys have a great weekend too, LeQuan.
    XO, Stella

  22. 23 Tanantha @ I Just Love My Apron November 11, 2010 at 1:01 pm

    WOW, what a place. I’ve been to quite a few Indian restaurants but nothing like this place. There’re so many food! Look at the decoration and containers they use! I bet after you got out, you smelled like spices! 🙂

  23. 24 Jessie November 12, 2010 at 9:45 am

    HEY GARY (AKA HUNGRY HUBBY) I THINK LEEQS WANTS A NEW CAMERA HINT HINT JUST SAYIN’

    Goodness, LeQuan, what a beautiful restaurant with tasty looking food! I really DO think your pictures do the food justice – and I also really love Indian food, so I’m drooling all over the place 😉 I definitely think the buffet was the way to go. I tend to try the buffet at Indian restaurants especially because otherwise you can only try 2-3 dishes and there are so many wonderful Indian dishes! Peter and I just went to an Indian restaurant a couple of days ago and we tried the chili chicken you have in your post (and foolishly ordered it to be “medium” when I know I should have gone for “mild”!). It was burn-your-mouth tasty! Were K and L with you? Did they try anything? What was your favorite dish?? If I could go back for seconds, I think I would go for that chana masala, mmm. Also, I love the elephants holding up the dishes of fruits and such!

    Your friend Anju makes the cutest cake pops – she should start her own business! The Frankenstein IS cute, but I have to say I’m quite taken by the adorable Draculas. Who knew pointy teeth were so cute?? 😀

    Have a great weekend, LeeQs!!!!!!!!!!!

    • 25 lequan November 14, 2010 at 12:19 am

      LOL Jessie! You’re too cute!

      Yup yup, K and L were with us. I basically tried a spoon of almost everything I thought they might enjoy to make sure it wasn’t spicy, but sadly almost everything except the desserts (and naan) were too spicy for them. I mean, just foolish on my part to take them to that type of restaurant when I know a lot of Indian dishes are spicy. My favorite dish was the vegetable korma. I like creamy dishes. Hope you’re having a great weekend, Jessie!

  24. 26 kjanzen November 12, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    Wow – this is awesome. I would have never thought of trying this place if not for your post. I have GOT to try that chili chicken – looks sooooooo delicious! Don’t apologize for what you thought were blurry pics – I am just happy you TOOK some! I am always too camera shy to shoot in public locations so I’m glad there are people like you who do it for me!!!

  25. 27 Chef Dennis November 12, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    hi Lequan

    what an incredible restaurant!! Your pictures are beautiful, everything looks so tasty and the restaurant pics are amazing…I wish we had someplace like that around here, I would definitely go!
    thanks for sharing your wonderful experience with us!
    Dennis

  26. 28 Magic of Spice November 12, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    Anju’s pops are adorable…
    The restaurant really looks wonderful and festive…And I think your photos are wonderful and give me a great idea of what is
    delights I could experience if I were to dine there 🙂
    But I wish for you a new camera to give you a fun new tool 🙂

  27. 29 Quay Po Cooks November 13, 2010 at 5:03 am

    Hi Lequan,
    Looks like you had a feast! I am fortunate because there are so many Indian restaurant in my neighborhood. We just discovered a vegetarian Indian Restaurant just 5 mins drive from my home. Me and Mum go there at least three times a week for tea. Everything we tried so far is absolutely delicious!

  28. 30 A Canadian Foodie November 13, 2010 at 6:02 pm

    Who took you and what do you like. LeQuan? Really like? I only like the homemade Indian food. I really cannot find any restaurant that serves Indian food I like. It is too oily, or too spicy, or too something… but find that my friends make beautifully well balanced really lovely nutritious home food that I adore.
    🙂
    Valerie
    (I teach in the dense Punjabi neighbourhood, so my students and colleagues teach me, too!)

    • 31 lequan November 14, 2010 at 12:13 am

      Valerie,

      I kbew this restaurant had a buffet so i wanted to give it a try. The vegetable korma was my favorite dish. I really enjoy creamy saucy dishes, and since I don’t eat much meat, I really liked that it was vegetarian. Although I do enjoy the sit down and order type dishes better though.

  29. 32 Peggy November 14, 2010 at 8:00 pm

    I love Indian food and this sounds like my kind of place! Love the variety and the beauty of the buffet!

  30. 33 Reese Darragh April 10, 2011 at 7:04 pm

    Hi, I just stumbled upon your blog from someone else’s. I love your blog. It is definitely interesting.

    I love India’s Indian food. When I was growing up in Malaysia, they were cheap and abundant. Moving to the States has definitely see a hike in price of those tasty naan, tosai and pappadums.

    Just to answer your question, we eat achar together with the rice and curry. Sort of like how Chinese will eat stir fried vegetables with rice and meat.

    Will be following your blog more often.

    • 34 LeQuan April 11, 2011 at 12:14 am

      Hi Reese, thanks for dropping by. I’ve never been to India or Malaysia, but would love to someday. Also thank you for answering my question about the achar. Hopping over to your blog right now.


Leave a Reply

