Aberdeen Shopping Centre

 Hi everyone! In my last post I mentioned that we’d be visiting Vancouver for the Thanksgiving long weekend, so my next few posts will be posts of things from Vancouver. Now this post may seem long but it really isn’t. It’s mostly full of pictures (that only a true foodie can appreciate) of some neat stuff I found in Aberdeen Centre in Richmond BC. This is definitely the place if you’re looking for some Asian shopping. Enjoy :-D.

It has a marketplace where you’ll be able to find many Asian veggies and barbecue meats such as char siu.

There are a few Chinese herbal medicine stores which you’ll be able to find dried scallops and abalone for my abalone with dried scallops and mushrooms atop snow pea tendrils recipe.

Don’t be fooled, this is not an herbal medicine store, but more of a snack store.

You’ll be able to find dried fruits, squid, beef jerky, and even……

……can you tell what the orange package in the middle is? Not spiders or scorpions, dried baby crabs! I didn’t buy them this time, but I have tried them before. You basically eat them whole, like popcorn. They’re quite crunchy with a slight spicy sweetness to them from the sauce they’re covered in.

Check out the size of that huge teapot. For comparison purposes, I included those rice bowls in the picture.

This was a cute bowl of noodles. The noodles and the chopsticks moved up and down. I know, I’m easily amused.

Games anyone?

Well, boardgames.

I wanted this cute miniature Mahjong (also known as MJ) set. Any of you play? I used to play Hong Kong and Taiwanese style, but I like the Taiwanese style much more. This game can get very addicting, so watch out ;-).

Thought this Chinese Chess set was super cute too. Hubby and I used to play this all the time. Gosh, kids sure do change your life, but for the better of course :-D.

Any Hello Kitty fans out there?

Ok, I thought this was so cool. Don’t know why I didn’t buy a plate or two for my kiddies. Any parents out there trying to get their kids to eat their fruits and veggies? I think this would be the perfect solution. Actually, come to think of it, this does encourage kids to play with their food. So should’ve bought two ;-). 

Kiddie training chopsticks. Sometimes I think I still need a pair of these. I still hold my chopsticks the wrong way (blush).

Cute salt and pepper shakers and grinders.

A wine puzzle. I think you have to solve the puzzle before you can get to your wine. This one would drive me nuts! Gary, don’t you be getting this for me for Christmas lol.

Cute jars with a little person hanging from the lids.

Look at these miniature sushi pieces. Aren’t they cute?

Yes, even fake food gets me excited.

They also have lots of Chinese and Taiwanese restaurants in this centre. I think I saw more Taiwanese restaurants though.

How can I not get a shot of Candyland?

So if you’re looking for some Asian shopping, Aberdeen Centre in Richmond BC is your place. By the way, I don’t work for Aberdeen and never got paid for any of this. Just wanted to share some cool finds with you. Yup, my vacations all center around food :-P. Now you know what I like to look at when I’m on vacation. What do you like to look at and shop for when you’re on vacation? What do your vacations center around?

That’s it for now, friends and family. Hope you enjoyed reading this post as much as I enjoyed posting it. I promise, there’ll be real food in my next post. Until next time :-D.

PS

Doreen, if you’re reading this, this next picture is for you. Doreen had asked me where she would be able to find Laksa paste in Edmonton. I was at the T&T in West Edmonton Mall and found some Laksa paste there. To answer your second question, Doreen, T&T supermaket West Edmonton Mall aisle 8c. Hope that helps :-D.

29 Responses to “Aberdeen Shopping Centre”


  1. 1 MaryMoh October 18, 2010 at 2:16 am

    Oh, LeQuan, when I saw the title, I thought you are in Aberdeen, Scotland, the place where I am. I would run to meet you if you are here 😀 Richmond is also a town name in London. Can be confusing huh. I remember recently I wanted to go to Windsor Castle…searched on internet for the location but ended up at a pub with the same name!!! Anyway, thanks very much for sharing your shopping trip…all the interesting stuff. I always end up in book shops or kitchen ware shops on my vacations. We can go shopping together 😀

  2. 2 denise @ quickies on the dinner table October 18, 2010 at 3:21 am

    Wow lequan! I would love to go shopping with you – you seem to gravitate to where all the cool stuff is LOL

    I like the wine puzzle, and the jars with the little guys hanging inside, and the GIANT teapot, and the food face plates, and the baby crabs (had those before) and the kiddy trainer chopsticks (seen those too!)Oh, and I’d probably be standing in front of the window staring at the moving noodles too ROFL

    I tend to like beach/island holidays, though I can’t swim *shrug* and when I shop on holidays, it’s usually kitchenware and food items I can’t get at home – I am so the tourist trying to smuggle out/in a whole wheel of smelly cheese that I can’t get in Singapore :DDDDD

  3. 3 A Canadian Foodie October 18, 2010 at 8:30 am

    You must have been in Asian Shopping Heaven. I would have been lost – but in awe… as I was in San Fran China town last summer. That is apparently the larges one outside of China. It was INCREDIBLE. I probably told you already I spent an entire day there alone while Vanja and Lauren when to a sports game. I learned so much when I found someone to answer my questions. everyone was so busy – but so friendly and informative. But, no picture! no picture!
    Love the photos and the fun. I should not be surprised to see a market like this in Vancouver, as the culture there has changed significantly over the past 30 years. Weren’t your friends craving a little Canadian (multicultural) market somewhere? Did they have access to most of this at home, or was it new to them, too?
    🙂
    Valerie

    • 4 lequan October 18, 2010 at 10:20 pm

      I’d hate to say this, but the Asian shopping in Asian places and the Asian shopping here is much different (at least that’s what I think). I think there are “cooler” things in HK, Vietnam, and China, as compared to Canada. Plus, it’s so much cheaper there. I thought our guests would enjoy seeing and comparing the differences in Asian shops here vs where they live. Plus, they tend to gravitate towards the Asian shops more. Which is understandable, but why would you come to Canada to eat beef noodle soup “pho”? Go figure. Lol. I’ll just let my sister in-law deal with them since she knows her family best :-).

  4. 5 anncoo October 18, 2010 at 9:20 am

    Hey Lequan, I also thought you’re in Aberdeen UK! ;DD
    I think this is the largest centre I ever seen. I love the market place I can keep walking and looking at every piece of thing in the market. When I was in China I liked to visit the wet markets and of course enjoyed eating lol!

  5. 6 Ameena October 18, 2010 at 11:14 am

    Maya would have been in heaven in that Hello Kitty store!! It is her favorite thing. And I really want to buy her training chopsticks but for some reason I can’t find them around here. Too bad I can’t fly up to Vancouver. Oh how I love Vancouver!! It’s been way too long.

    Our vacations usually center around food. I am not a huge shopper but I do enjoy looking at non-chain stores when we go to different places. Mostly I just like walking around with no real destination in mind. Obviously, that drives Ali nuts, so I love it even more!

  6. 7 Leah @ Why Deprive? October 18, 2010 at 11:28 am

    Its really strange seeing a place on your blog that I’ve actually BEEN! lol

  7. 8 Juliana October 18, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    Lequan, Vancouver for Thanksgiving…sounds exciting! The pictures that you posted are awesome…specially the Taiwanese dry food…it brings me so many memories…yummie!

  8. 9 tigerfish October 18, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    Hey, looks like a lot of good finds in this shopping centre 🙂

  9. 10 Magic of Spice October 18, 2010 at 3:52 pm

    Wow, what a plaza…shopping in hyper-drive 🙂 I love that chess set…so cute.

  10. 11 Patty Price October 18, 2010 at 6:34 pm

    Hey Lequan, Nothing like a little retail therapy while on vacation:)
    I love all those kinds of goodies sometimes I walk Chinatown in San Francisco- have to admit I’m partial to the jewelry and, of course, food. I hope I make it to China some day but in the mean time I can look at all the pictures of interesting things and think about travel and adventure, thanks for sharing and have a great week:)

  11. 12 Anna Johnston October 18, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    Hey Lequan, how much is it for this Aussie gal to go shopping with you at Aberdeen. Your malls & shopping centres are huge by our standards.
    Not sure about the little dried crabs though – does the crab flavour come through at all? I love wandering around Chinatowns no matter where I am, so I know I’d have loved this shop-a-thon.

    • 13 lequan October 18, 2010 at 10:27 pm

      Hi Anna,

      To be honest, I don’t think you get much crab taste in those baby crab snacks. The sauce on it tends to overpower any crab taste. So all you really get is crunchy sweetness and the fact of knowing that you’re eating a baby crab. Haha. At least that’s what I think. I’ve had much better Asian snacks. This probably wouldn’t even make my top 10 list. Just something cool to try, that’s all.

  12. 14 Lazaro October 18, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    I think most of my time would be spent in the Taiwan Dried Food store. Those dried baby crabs look intriguing. I’d love to give those a go. Especially if they are like popcorn right?!

    My Lawyer would absolutely go nuts at that Hello Kitty store. She is a huge fan. Oh, would she do some serious damamge there.

    Awesome photo tour.

  13. 15 Monet October 18, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    What an amazing time. I have never visited Vancouver before, but I’ve only heard (and seen) good things. After such a rough weekend with little Ryan, it was refreshing to see all of these fun items. I loved Hello Kitty growing up, so that picture made me smile even more. Thank you so much for all your kind words on my blog. Your thoughts always mean so much to me. THank you for sharing with us.

  14. 16 actorsdiet October 18, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    um, that place is awesome.

  15. 17 Doreen October 19, 2010 at 9:41 am

    THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!

    Aisle 8C…got it (now I don’t have to drag my screaming toddler up and down the aisles).

    Thank you!

  16. 18 Stella October 19, 2010 at 11:14 am

    Wow LeQuanis! This place looks awesome. I wish it were near me. I still need to figure out where the closest Asian market or preferably mall is in my new hollow:) I bet there isn’t one. This is kind of a predominantly Cuban and Haitian area, but maybe there is one somewhere. I’ll find out…
    Hey, I’m glad you guys had a good time. I would totally knosh on those crunchy crabs with you guys if I were there (smile)!

  17. 19 Stella October 19, 2010 at 11:20 am

    p.s. you’re too sweet about my tofu obsession, LeQuan. I am obsessed it with it, you know?! I eat straight off the block with soy sauce;-)
    Okay, well, I hope you guys have a relaxing day. I’m about to watch something funny to ease my nerves. My Cauldron Boy didn’t do so well today in Court (he’s a lawyer with a new job). I’m on edge and worried about him…!

  18. 20 Devaki @ weavethousandflavors October 19, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    Hi LE QUAN – I have missed visitng you and am so glad to be back! First of all the prawns on the previous post are killer – that pork belly looked to die for. I would love to come over for dinner at your place just once in my life!…lol…

    Vancouver! How lovely and I would love going grocery shopping with you. I’d learn a lot for one and what amazing goodies we’d come home with. I love your travel posts – I am glad you take me places I’ve yet to visit.

    So happy you’re having a great vacation 🙂

    Ciao, Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  19. 21 Biren @ Roti n Rice October 20, 2010 at 8:34 am

    Sounds like a fun place to shop. I have been to Vancouver but not to this shopping place. I like those cute salt & pepper shakers and cute jars with little people hanging from it 🙂

    Enjoy the rest of your stay in BC.

  20. 22 Blackswan October 21, 2010 at 12:32 am

    Hello Lequan, I’m dropping by from Lazaro’s blog.

    Did I hear someone calling for Hello Kitty fans?? Me, me, I’m her fanatic fan! Thks for showing me first part of Vancouver. Tho’ I’ve travelled the world, VC is one of the few places I haven’t been to.

    Great mtg u & your lovely blog! Looking fwd to sharing & see u @ http://luxuryhaven.blogspot.com!

  21. 23 Sophia Lee October 21, 2010 at 1:35 am

    OMG! LOVE LOVE LOVE!! And ARGGHHHHHHH!!!! They have LAKSA paste too!! How freaking awesome is that?!! I’m really not a big Hello Kitty fan, but the Asian in me just can’t help squealing when I see it!

  22. 24 Brittany October 21, 2010 at 9:34 am

    I love taking my kids to sushi those chopsticks….I AM SO GETTING!!!! thanks to the great picture I can see who makes them lol and order online ; )

    LUCKY that market place is AMAZING!!!!!! and of course ….YUMMMMM on your great eats!

    have fun!
    Happy Thursday!

  23. 25 Light Delight with Tou Tou October 21, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    Ohhhh my goodness, Lequan, you live in the foodie’s heaven!!!!!!!!! I am soooo jealous!! I dreamed of a Asian grocery place like that! especially that place sells cute dinnerware, I will probably visit it every week if I live there!

    Happy Canada Thanks giving!!! enjoy the trip !!

  24. 26 Jessie October 22, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    Awesome! As we don’t have such a great shopping complex near us, I’ll just have to live vicariously through you! I need to get me to a Chinese herbal shop to get some of those long awaited ingredients! Dried abalone AND dried mini crabs? LeeQs, not only do I want to eat dinner with you, I want to go shopping with you! You pick out all the best stuff. Was that bowl of noodles with the chopsticks that go up and down for sale? I totally want that for a table decoration 😀 The plates with the face on them are pretty clever – just give kids some cut up fruit and veggies and have them decorate to their heart’s content. Also: NINTENDO!

    I’m glad you had a good time at the shopping center! How did your friends like the experience?

    • 27 lequan October 22, 2010 at 11:11 pm

      Um…can you move closer to me so we can hang out more? Seriously, someone needs to invent some kind of blogger meeting machine. Haha.

      My friends really liked the dried foods shops. I don’t blame them, those are like Asian candy shops :-P. They bought so many bags of beef jerky, I was a bit surprised.

      Have a fab weekend Jessie! Hope you have lotsa fun in the school on your next rotation! Can’t wait to read your posts.

    • 28 lequan October 23, 2010 at 9:58 am

      Hey Jessie,

      Sorry, I just realized I forgot to answer your noodles question. No, that bowl of noodles with the chopsticks that go up and down was for display only in front of a Taiwanese noodle restaurant. I wanted it too…teehee. Hope you and Peter have a great weekend. I’m off to start mine with my 3 monkeys 😉


  1. 1 Diy Funny Life Trackback on October 19, 2010 at 11:18 pm

Leave a Reply

