I’m Here to Learn

Hope everyone had a great weekend! It’s been a while since my last post, but things have been a bit hectic here with K starting school. We’ve also got some guests over from Vietnam staying here for almost two months, so you may see less posting from me. 

Anyways, most of you have already heard of Project Food Blog by Foodbuzz. If you haven’t, just click on the link. I just want to take some time and tell you why I didn’t enter and also talk a bit about why I blog. As much as I would love to win that $10 000 and a special feature on Foodbuzz.com for one year, I just don’t have the time and commitment to go through all those challenges with two young kids. The challenges do sound super fun though. Another big reason is because blogging is just a hobby for me, and I know there are many, many other bloggers out there who deserve the win much more than I do. By the way, congratulations to all those who made it to the next round!

Now I want to talk about something only a blogger can/will understand:

Like I said, blogging is just a hobby for me. It’s a huge way for me to help relieve stress, whether I’m reading blogs or writing a post. Before I even started my own blog, I would lurk around blogs. Yup, I was a lurker. I would just read blogs and would be a bit afraid to comment. Then after my first comment, I felt more comfortable commenting so I would comment more frequently. Then I started having fun commenting and I thought, why not start my own blog? That’s when I got sucked into “the abyss”, and I’ll explain why I called it the abyss.

I started my blog to help me document my own recipes and recipes that I learned from my Mom and others. I also thought it would be a great idea if this could be a visual journal of fun events and memories that Gary and I shared with the kids. Then there came a time when I got obsessed with getting comments. If you’re a blogger, it’s most likely you’ve gone down this road before, jumping around from blog to blog commenting and hoping to get a comment in return.  It was probably four months into blogging that I finally realized that this was interfering with too much of the time that I had to spend with my kids. That was when I finally snapped out of it. I no longer stay on the computer for hours and hours blogging. I no longer feel like I HAVE TO get a post up by a certain time frame. I don’t feel like this is a job. I only comment on blogs which I WANT to comment on, rather than commenting just to get a comment in return. And the biggest thing that set me free from “the abyss”, was that I am no longer obsessed with how many comments I get and who commented and who didn’t. Once I realized all of that, blogging became fun again. I hope any blogger who has been sucked into “the abyss” will be able to find their way out. Only then, will blogging become fun again. I know this may sound kind of funny and ridiculous, but in all seriousness, blogging should be fun, not a weight on your shoulders.

Another big reason why I food blog is because I’m curious about different kinds of foods, and I luvtoeat! But how can I eat if I don’t even know what that certain food is? So I also food blog to learn. When Aletheia at La Fille Naturelle tweeted about the cactus pear, it perked my curiosity. I had never heard of it before and was very intrigued. So I googled it to see what it looked like and I went on a mission to find it. I found some at Costco. At first from afar I thought they were potatoes. Then I realized they were cactus pears and got super excited the way a foodie gets super excited when they find a new food. I know all you foodies know exactly what I’m talking about.

The inside of this fruit is beautiful, my camera doesn’t do it justice. It smelled really pleasant, kind of like a watermelon. The taste was what blew me away though. Sweet like a cross between and watermelon and a strawberry, but not overly sweet. It did have many, many hard annoying seeds though. I loved the taste, but hated the seeds. 

I wasn’t sure how to eat this so I just winged it and ate the seeds cause that was the part that tasted the best. Then I decided I had to google that too (don’t ask me why I didn’t do that at first). I found this video:

The guy in this video actually threw away the seeds! So I tried watching other videos and it seemed most people just peel the skin off and eat the meat and seeds that’s immediately under the skin. So I was left confused. Do you just eat the meat? Do you just eat the seeds? Do you eat both the meat and the seeds? If anyone out there knows, I’d love to hear.

Another thing that perked my interest were these:

I read about these on Lynn’s blog over at The Actor’s Diet. I’m crazy over coconut juice straight from a coconut so I really wanted to try these. I found the mango flavor and passion fruit flavor at Planet Organic, but wasn’t able to find plain coconut water. That’s the one I really wanted to try. They were really refreshing, but like I said, I really wanted plain COCONUT water. I had a sip of each and let my kids have the rest. I really liked them both, but my kids liked them more. So what do you do as a Mom right?

Speaking of my kids, here’s something else I’m here to learn:

Baking! With K in playschool now, she brings 2 healthy snacks with her every time she goes (only 3 days a week). So I thought it’d be in my best interest that I learned to bake healthy snacks for her. Like I’ve said before, baking is not my forte, but for my daughter, I’m willing to learn. This was a delicious banana bread recipe I got from Ameena at Fancy That …Fancy This.

Only problem was, I left the bread in for too long and burned the top. Sorry Ameena, I’ll keep a closer eye on it next time, but it WAS delicious. Thank you for your recipe!

Here’s another recipe I tried: Honey Spice Fig Cookies

This lovely recipe is from Monet at anecdotes and apple cores. After reading her touching post, it inspired me to bake these “cookies” for K as an afterschool treat. I put quotation marks around “cookies” because you can tell that mine were obviously not cookies. I got greedy and made bigger balls (minds outta the gutter please :-)) than the recipe called for and I paid the price. Instead they turned into buns…lol. So I call these bun-ckies…teehee. It was a really scrumptious recipe, just poorly executed. Sorry Monet, I promise to make “COOKIES” next time. Thank you for your lovely recipe, now I can bring my daughter an afterschool treat.

Here’s another dish from another wonderful blogger I tried long ago, but forgot to post it till now, Laksa! If you like coconutty flavored curry soups, this is your dish. I put in fish tofu, mussels, salmon, okra, bean sprouts, and water spinach. It was divine!

I got this idea from Mary at Keep Learning Keep Smiling (love that blog name!). Thank you Mary for always sharing your lovely recipes. And thank you to all these sweet bloggers whom I’ve mentioned in this post. If you haven’t visited their blogs, please do. They really are sweet sweet ladies. Last but not least, thank you to all you bloggers out there for teaching me something everyday. I really enjoy blogging and learning from each and every one of you everytime I visit your blogs. I may not always comment (most of the time I do cause I like to talk a lot…haahaa), but I truly always do appreciate what you have to share and teach me in your posts. Cheers to blogging everyone!

So there you have it, why I didn’t enter the foodbuzz challenge, why I blog, and how I got out of “the abyss”. I’m glad to have found the light at the end of the tunnel and am able to enjoy blogging again. Have you ever been caught in “the abyss”? How did you get yourself out to enjoy blogging again? That’s it for this week. I hope everyone had a great weekend and will enjoy a wonderful week. Until next time, friends and family :-D. Don’t get sucked into the abyss 😉

46 Responses to “I’m Here to Learn”


  1. 1 The Hungry Hubby September 27, 2010 at 10:05 am

    I am happy that you are learning and trying out recipes, more treats!! Yes, I realized that you were in too deep with the commenting and blogging, tried to tell you, but you were too involved to see or listen…but it’s all good now…

  2. 2 kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com September 27, 2010 at 12:46 pm

    I didnt make it to the second round on PFB! they say “we HIGHLY recommend that you post during the voting times that u have a post up and link to the site where people can vote” well i didnt do that.. and because of it, i didnt get enough votes to make them think that im ‘well liked or popular’ enough with the viewers to become the next star. not that i wanted to anyways, and i did it more for the fun of it.. except i feel like its a little biased and geared towards the high traffic bloggers. im not sure if u agree or not, but it feels like sometimes blogging can be taken too seriously, and almost feel counter productive (at times) .. i love reading and commenting on blogs that are real, without an objective other than creativity and showing the world a piece of their lives, or at least their lives by how they view it ❤

    btw YOUR FIG COOKIES ARE SOOOO CUTE!!! the color is radiantly pretty ❤ ❤

    • 3 luvtoeat September 27, 2010 at 9:20 pm

      Sorry to hear that you didn’t make it through to the next round Kelsey 😦 It’s sad that sometimes popularity can get you further than “heart” isn’t it. You know what though, I’d rather get one honest and real comment than 100 “popular” comments. Chin up my friend, cause I’ve read some of your comments and you definitely have some real and honest readers. Be proud of your blog cause it really is a fun and creative, not to mention YUMMY one. Why do you think I love stalking it every time you have a post up? 😉

  3. 4 Light Delight With Tou Tou September 27, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    I totally understand !! same here, blogging is for fun, but I am just way to busy to make it as my ‘business’….plus, I am a bit lazy in taking pictures of all the food I eat…So I am on an off a lot:-P I definitely see that you enjoyed cooking , and I feel the blog is like a fun thing to do in terms of collecting recipes and healthy ideas of cooking.

    I love Laksa! I had it three years ago while I was in Singapore, and missing it so much! thanks for posting it again!

  4. 5 Ameena September 27, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    I know where you are coming from LeQuan! I was spending so much time posting and not really focusing on Maya or work – things that are so much more important. I’ve had to cut back on my posts, my comments, and the # of blogs I read too. I was sad to do it but until I can make money from my blog I can’t really justify spending so much time on it!

    You are still a fabulous commenter though, I must say. You always take the time to say something useful and pertinent, and I love that about you.

    The banana bread looks great – not well done at all! And the Laksa looks amazing. I’m here to learn too – thanks for all the great links and ideas!

    • 6 luvtoeat September 27, 2010 at 9:27 pm

      Thank you Ameena! You don’t know how great your comment just made me feel! I always love visiting your blog, and it’s always super easy leaving nice comments for you.

  5. 7 Tanantha @ I Just Love My Apron September 27, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    I was in the abyss mode and felt it was a lot of work. I am in the same path that I will do what I want to do. i have my fav blogs I would read regularly and enjoy going through new blogs for new recipes and inspiration. I comment when I want to but I discipline myself to post 2 times a week and think it’s not too much for me to do so. It gives space and time out to people but doesn’t disappear from memory. I started my blog to document my recipes and culinary journey, and also be good at something that I will enjoy in a long run. Great post LeQuanis (hehe). You did a great job on those treats especially the spice fig cookies! I have a coconut water at home as I was curious what it was. I didn’t like it much. Have a great day LeQuan!

  6. 8 Monet September 27, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    Thank you for the sweet mention! Your bun-cakes look pretty, I must say! And I loved hearing about all the reasons that you blog. I understand not having the time to do PFB, but please know that I would have supported you all the way…you do great things here, and I’m so happy that I found your beautiful blog. Thank you so much for sharing with me. I hope you have a beautiful Monday!

    • 9 luvtoeat September 27, 2010 at 9:34 pm

      Thank you for your kind words Monet! I’m glad you liked the “buns”. I was actually nervous about post the picture cause yours looked SO much better, but I really wanted to thank you for sharing your sweet post with me and your delicious recipe. It really was an inspiring post!

  7. 10 Pachecopatty September 27, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    Hi LeQuan,
    I remember the first time I visited your blog, not that long ago, I felt like I was at a party and that your blog was the most ‘social’ blog I had ever visited. This space has a quality to it that really can’t be defined and your blog is now one of my favorites. I would have voted for you in the PFB but I completely understand why you didn’t want to invest time away from your family. I agree with you on the blog being a hobby and if it’s fun and enjoyable keep going with it but if it becomes a chore than clean out cupboards instead;) Best wishes, Patty

  8. 11 Jessie September 27, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    Hey LeeeeeeeQs! Wonderful words on the abyss that is blogging, at times! I went through that phase back last spring for a while (I think every blogger does), and I think it took preparing for and actually going to China to shake me out of it and realize that blogging isn’t my JOB, it’s a hobby that became more fun once I stopped treating it like a job. Since then, I only read the blogs I love *ahem* ;), and I post when I have the inspiration! Life is way to important to let MORE computer stuff get in the way. And I know K and L love spending more time with Mommy!! 😀

    Your whole post is a wonderful tribute to some great bloggers! I thought Monet’s cookies were mouth-watering (“bun-ckies” hehehe, you crack me up!), and of course, I love everything Ameena makes 😉 I think your versions look delicious, and that’s what matters! (And I’m sure K only cares if they taste good, anyway :P)

    I’m glad you’ve found the joy in blogging again! Good luck with your guests (for the next two months!!).

    Lots of luv, Jessie 🙂

  9. 12 Magic of Spice September 27, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    This is such a great post…and I can understand your reasons for not having the time to dedicate to PFB. But I am so happy that you continue to blog. Blogging is so great, but it certainly does take up a lot of ones time. I work six days a week so I always feel behind…Have a great week 🙂

  10. 13 Magic of Spice September 27, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    P.S. Sorry…Great line up of bloggers here, and love your recreations 🙂

  11. 14 buddycakes September 27, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    Leeqs — really nice post — fyi: you can get plain coconut water at indian grocery stores on 34th:)

    • 15 luvtoeat September 27, 2010 at 9:55 pm

      Aaack! Thanks for the notice! I’ll definitely check it out. And thank you for de-lurking ;-). Hope you’re feeling much better, dear! Did you ever get my bday message on your phone? Stop blocking me lol, jk.

  12. 16 Anna Johnston September 27, 2010 at 9:38 pm

    Hey LeQuan, what an awesome post, it came right from the heart I can tell and everything you’ve said really came from experience. I love that your ‘here to learn’ – I started my blog out of frustration because I hated the way so many chefs were managing to get through their training & didn’t have the necessary skills to call themselves a Chef.., so I thought…, I’m going to write about all the fabulous things about being in the hospitality industry… and before I knew it I was hooked and I’ve met so many incredible people from all around the world, but the best thing is I’ve met amazing cooks & food lovers like yourself who cook because they love to and experiment because they have a natural drive to learn. You guys have restored my faith & allowed me to take time to put together the training blogs for chefs in a much better way.., it would never have happened without the foodies around the world who visit my blog…, so I feel I should thank you 🙂
    (boy, that was a bit long winded wasn’t it…, I can prattle on huh)

  13. 17 denise @ quickies on the dinner table September 28, 2010 at 1:10 am

    Hi LeQuan 🙂

    Can I have some coffee please? 😉

    I’ve been scrolling through some of the earlier comments and I do agree that your blog has a special feel to it – sorta like a clubhouse or something. I did tell you once that I love coming here and reading your posts and when I see no new posts after a while, I honestly miss reading you!

    I think practically every blogger falls into the abyss at one point in their blogging journey. I sure did but the demands of motherhood and spousehood (LOL) forced me out of it. Besides, I told myself I make no money from it and why should my family be deprived of my attention because of it? The thing is when the comments start rolling in after weeks and even months of no response, it can be intoxicating and very, very seductive – it’s so easy to get sucked in.

    I think you have to step back and ask yourself where you really see yourself going and ending up at, with something that is so inordinately demanding of your time, with potentially very little returns except for personal fulfilment.

    I no longer stick to a rigid posting schedule and just do it when inspiration strikes which makes it more relaxing and enjoyable. I don’t think of making money from it as that is an impractical expectation. I do it because I love the process of creating something I think is beautiful and sharing it with my friends and readers. My boys thankfully like being in the kitchen and are budding foodies so it will also serve as a record and hopefully a legacy for them – unless the internet blows up, collapses or eats itself ROFL

    So I perfectly understand why you are not in PFB and I feel the same – enough is enough!

    I love your recreations of all these recipes, especially the figgy bunkies LOL They really do look very pretty and when it comes to coconut water, make mine au naturel please!

    Sorry this post got longer than I intended – I should have saved it as my post for next week on my blog ROFL 😛 So glad to see another refreshing, honest post from my favourite kitchen Canuck 🙂

    • 18 luvtoeat September 28, 2010 at 11:53 pm

      Coffee has been poured, and you know you’re always welcome to stay as long as you like here Denise. Although, I don’t think you need to run away from your boys as much as I do. I really love that you’re getting your boys in the kitchen and teaching them how to be well rounded gentlemen. Your daughter in-law will thank you for this later ;-). In the mean time, THANK YOU for missing my bloggie. That means a lot to me Denise. You’re always such a sweetheart :-D.

  14. 19 MaryMoh September 28, 2010 at 1:19 am

    What a lovely post, LeQuan! Enjoyed reading through your blogging journey knowing all the wonderful food that you have learned along the way. That’s very inspirational. Thanks very much for mentioning my blog. I’m really glad that you have found a good balance between family life and blogging 😀 I know, blogging can be very addictive. I have to keep reminding myself that I have to enjoy it and not be stressed out by it. Like you I have learned a lot from other bloggers, not only about food but about many things in life. It always warms my heart when I read of parents spending good quality time with their kids. LeQuan, you and your hubby are amazing parents! Keep Learning Keep Cooking Keep Smiling…for your family and Health! 😀

  15. 20 tigerfish September 28, 2010 at 2:46 am

    It is your blog, so I guess you should feel comfortable about what you want to do with it. I did not enter for the PFB challenge too as I want the freedom to be posting at my own pace. I feel stressed esp. if I am scheduled to post something.

    I enjoy reading your blog as it is a diversity of sharing real stories, experiences and unpretentious cooking.

    Oh, you should try the ONE plain coconut water. In fact, that is the only “flavor” I have tried before and I like it. It is particularly a refreshing drink during hot summer days.

  16. 21 5 Star Foodie September 28, 2010 at 7:49 am

    You are so right – it is very very important to keep blogging fun! Those cactus pears look very cool! And you’ve made so many great recipes!

  17. 22 Nancy September 28, 2010 at 9:28 am

    I love coconut water! I don’t think ONE makes plain coconut water anymore (according to a Planet Organic employee), that’s the brand we usually like but haven’t been able to find the plain ones anymore. The plain ones are way better than the flavoured ones for sure! My next favorite is VitaCoco coconut water (not the flavour one) also found at Planet Organic but if they are out of that, Zico brand isn’t bad.

    That laksa looks good, invite me over next time! LOL Your baking is awesome! Let me know if you need any healthy baking ideas, I have a few pretty easy ones! 🙂

  18. 23 Krista September 28, 2010 at 9:34 am

    Blogging definitely de-stresses me too. 🙂 When I’m exhausted and overwhelmed with work, it’s so lovely to escape for a bit and create something beautiful. Good luck!!!

  19. 24 Stella September 28, 2010 at 11:47 am

    I don’t want to get sucked into the Abyss (smile)! I think everyone gets obsessive about something when it comes to blogging, LeQuanis. For me, it’s my photos and my darn camera that won’t take a photo of any light colored object without making it overexposed. See!? I’m getting sucked in just thinking about it. I’m like a dragon with steam coming out of my nostrils right now!
    That’s sweet of you to admit your little ‘thing’ you had about comments. And it’s true that we all get stuff like that in some form or another when it comes to our own blogs. I’m trying to do what you wrote about here and learn from others while sharing-that’s what it is ‘supposed’ to be about in my humble opinion-me thinks…
    Oh, and I think I had prickly pear fruit at the Farmer’s Market in Atlanta one time. I don’t remember it well though. I’ve heard it is so good for blood sugar in terms of lowering it. Ooh, and that laksa looks killer, LeQuanis. I want that for lunch right now!
    p.s. I’m not doing the F.B. challenge either due to schedule stuff. I just can’t;)

  20. 25 Leah @ Why Deprive? September 28, 2010 at 10:46 pm

    I LOVE that you tried cactus pears!! I keep seeing them at the grocery store but I’ve been too afraid to try them! Now I’m excited. 🙂

    I try not to get too obsessed with blogging. I love it though, and I really have no real responsibilities, so if I spend hours online its ok. 🙂

  21. 26 Seglare September 29, 2010 at 7:37 am

    I just found your blog through a comment you made on Stella’s blog (about dates and cold fingers ;)). I’m very, very new to blogging myself, so I love reading different viewpoints and learning from the more experienced bloggers. This was a great, honest post. 🙂

    I just wanted to say that I love the little I have read of your blog so far, and look forward to reading more. Oh, and the cactus pear looks really interesting – I’ve seen it in the stores a few times, but never dared to try it yet!

  22. 27 A Canadian Foodie September 29, 2010 at 9:19 am

    What an honor for your readers to see how significantly they have influenced your life. I love the look of those fig cookies, too. ANd, I can so relate to everything you have said. Look at me! I am absolutely here to learn. I die the apple pressing after reading about it on Kevin’s site… and the fat rendering after eating his confit pork belly, so I could make the same. I am consistently pushed by what I read. At my phase of life, and age – I find I am also trying to share my knowledge… why did I say that – what does age have to do with it? Look at what I have learned from you!!! But, for my daughters, I am still trying to get the family favourite recipes posted, and then, trying to get the traditional prairie farm foods I grew up on posted for heritage reasons. But, the learning is what this is all about. Thus the mega posts I HAVE to stop writing. I need to figure that out. They are so important for me as trails from my past, but too intense or complex or boring for some of my readers. Then again, this blogging is such a labour of love as it takes hours a day to keep up – not just the writing, but the reading and responding. Sometimes I get frustrated as I don’t get enough cooking time in.
    Loved this reflection.
    🙂
    Valerie

  23. 28 Lazaro September 29, 2010 at 9:53 am

    LeQuan,

    What an amazing post. I am smiling from ear to ear reading it. I have only been blogging since March 10 and quickly figured out the “commenting game”. Forget it. I left that way back a long time ago. I’ve realized that bloggers are like the tide, they come and they go. I have always been wary of internet “friends”, this medium is so impersonal, unless like you, actually have met some of these people. Sometimes these blogger “friends” show up and act like your best long lost pal, them poof there are gone! Like magic…

    The blog to me is about the food. I love to post, talk, eat, breathe, food. I only comment on the blogs I like. There is no way in hell that I am going to spend hours on the computer trying to generate return comments…no way. Could not care a fart in the wind, if people comment on LC. It’s there…either you are moved to comment or not. Life goes on. I’ve always said that I would rather have 10 solid comments from people I respect, than 200 superficial comments. I just left foodbuzz, cause I think the site sucks. Will I lose exposure, surely! Luckily I do not care.

    Thanks for inspiring me to share so much in a comment.

    Thanks for your support on the blog. It is always appreciated.

    Be well

  24. 29 gwen September 29, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    It’s funny how you come across things like this just when you are thinking about them yourself. I started my blog for the sole purpose of making a recipe book for my 4 children and myself cataloging our favorite healthy recipes. I’ve only been doing it for a few months but recently started feeling stressed and even guilty about the time spent on “other stuff” associated w this blogging thing.
    Thanks for posting this ( i read about it on Lazaro’s blog) and good luck!
    P.S. So fun you came across prickly pears! They are abundant here in Phoenix, literally everywhere! We pick them down the street from our house and make prickly pear margaritas! Yum!

  25. 30 Chef Dennis September 29, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    your not the only one who got sucked into the abyss…..I just keep doing the doggy paddle trying to get to the top…lol….I am so glad you did start blogging, I love reading your blog, and I have enjoyed learning more about you! Keep posting those great recipes and stories!
    I do understand what you are saying too, Lazaro had some great points in his blog, but even though I hate some of the games, and grow weary, I think of all I have gained…the friends I have made all over the world….not the ones that come and go, but the ones who stick with me, even when I’m too busy at school to always comment back….these are relationships that make me smile, that make bad days better when I hear from them….we all love food, and thats why were here..

    now I’m with gwen lets do some prickly pear margaritas!

  26. 31 anncoo September 30, 2010 at 9:22 am

    Lequan, Lovely post that I really enjoyed reading 🙂
    I’ve never seen cactus pear before, so pretty ! Love that fig cookies too looks so yummy.

  27. 32 Biren @ Roti n Rice September 30, 2010 at 9:40 am

    I think almost everyone in the blogging world finds themselves in the abyss at some point. Glad to hear that you have found a balance between blogging and family life. I am also not in PFB as I don’t want to deal with the pressure. Besides, there are lots more out there that are more deserving.

    I have not seen a cactus pear and now I am curious. I have seen soemthing like it that is yellow in color. I wonder if they are related. BTW, I think those fig cookies look very cute 🙂

  28. 33 Faith October 1, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    LeQuan, thank you so much for the sweet comment you left on my blog! Your blog is really beautiful and I love blogging for many of the same reasons as you…mainly I love to learn. 🙂 Your cookie buns are really gorgeous!

  29. 34 Doreen October 1, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    Hi LeQuan, I enjoyed reading your post too (every post, in fact!)!

    Where do you find laksa paste in Edmonton? I have been looking all over!

    Thanks.

    • 35 luvtoeat October 1, 2010 at 2:16 pm

      Hi Doreen,

      Thank you for reading! I found my Laksa paste at Lucky 97 Supermarket in Chinatown. Most of the Asian markets should have them. You can also find them at T&T supermarket as well. They have one in West Edmonton Mall and one in the north side, but I forget the exact address for that one. Hope that helps.

      • 36 Doreen October 12, 2010 at 5:26 am

        Hi again, which aisle? Would it be by the shrimp paste? Or curry, maybe? I looked up and down t&t but could not find!

        Thanks

        PS I lived your post on prawn dissecting. Reminded me of watching mw grandpa working with seafood when I was little!

      • 37 luvtoeat October 12, 2010 at 6:39 pm

        Hi Doreen,

        It should be in the same aisle as the curry paste. They come in packets. If you click on the Keep Learning Keep Smiling link in this post, you’ll see what the packet looks like. Good luck 😀

  30. 38 sophia October 4, 2010 at 1:28 am

    I really liked this post, Lequan. I can so tell that you enjoy blogging when you do blog, because your posts are always so excited and enthusiastic. It’s no wonder any reader get happy and buzzed when they read your blog, too. Plus, your comments always ROCK. It’s not the generic “yummy in my tummy” kind, but I can really tell that you actually READ the post, and it’s so wonderfully personal and friendly and heartening to read. You ALWAYS have something interesting to say, and I really, truly appreciate you for that.

    by the way, I tried cactus pear too! Not sure I like it too much…the seeds are annoying.

    • 39 luvtoeat October 5, 2010 at 12:27 am

      Thank you thank you thank you Sophia! I really appreciate everything you just said in this comment. I comment not to get comments in return and I think you know that. So when I do comment, I actually have something to say, but also cause I talk a lot haha. Ok maybe I am an extrovert :-D.

      I’m really glad you know that I read your whole post. Really, it means a lot to me that you’ve said that. Your posts are long, but I truly enjoy reading every word cause DAMN, girl you can write! Keep up the great blogging!

    • 40 luvtoeat October 5, 2010 at 12:29 am

      PS Loved the flavor of cactus pears, but HATED the seeds. If only they were seedless.

  31. 41 Brittany October 4, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    LUV LUV LUV LUV YOUR BLOGGING!!!! ; ) i use it too as a stress tool! it truly helps and reading everyone elses….ahhhhh makes me feel normal!
    YOU have the best food ideas and LUV reading your post : ) try not to get TOO BUSY and come visit!

    HAPPY MONDAY!

  32. 42 bruleeblog October 4, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    Prickly pears that I got from Costco had really hard seeds… but ones I’ve bought at Superstore were more like pomegranate seeds and edible. Not quite sure why!

    That laksa looks FANTASTIC. 😀

  33. 43 A Canadian Foodie October 7, 2010 at 9:11 am

    So, I am back because three people that I followed so far were inspired by this post to either comment about it, or write about it in theirs. I am sure you have seen them all… and look at what you have done. Succeeded in getting 41 – and now 42 comments without even trying to – and they are rich and vibrant and engaged comments. What we would all like. I have so rarely had 42 comments… and it is true, I do not write for meaningless ones… but I see how many people read and how long they spend, and would like to have engaging discussions like this with every post – but hey – what can you say about a cookie recipe. Nothing like this!
    XO
    Valerie

  34. 44 denise @ quickies on the dinner table October 7, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    Hi Lequan

    Just wanted to say “Hi” and hope you’re doing OK 🙂 Thanks for checking out my guest post at Biren’s and for your always lovely and inspiring comments!

    Take care and give your sweet munchkins a hug for me 😀

    denise

  35. 45 Jos November 2, 2010 at 12:24 pm

    Hi there,

    I found your blog thru Lynn’s The Actor’s Diet. I’ve been in on and off blogging abyss. In some ways I do prefer one or two meaningful comments instead of a bunch of comments but no depth into it. But on the other hand, it’s kinda hard to keep me blogging if I don’t see anyone comments on it. Anyway, maybe my blog is not as cheerful or inspirational as a lot out there.


  1. 1 My Blog Is Talking To Me Trackback on September 29, 2010 at 7:50 pm

Leave a Reply

