The Hokey Pocky Avocado Banana Coconut Mingle

Hi everyone! Hope you’re all having a wonderful week! Denise at Quickies on the Dinner Table and Lazaro at Lazaro Cooks! are having another Quickies: Morning, Noon and Night Cooking Challenge. The challenge is to create a cocktail, alcoholic or non-alcoholic. The prize is Denise’s spectacular cookbook.

With two young kiddies, I decided to go the non-alcoholic route so that they could enjoy the treat as well. I present to you: The Hokey Pocky Avocado Banana Coconut Mingle.

As a kid, I loved avocados, and still do. My Dad used to make these  unforgettable avocado shakes for me. He blended avocado, condensed milk and milk for a simple treat. For this Quickies Challenge, I’m taking that shake to a new level. Be warned, this is not a “watch your waistline” kind of drink.

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole avocado
  • 1/2 a banana
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 1 Tbs condensed milk
  • 1 Tbs honey
  • 2 cups homo milk (I used homo cause that’s what my son is drinking right now.)
  • a sprinkle of coconut flakes
  • 2 Pocky sticks

Put everything in a blender and blend until all ingredients are mixed to a smooth consistency. Sprinkle coconut flakes on top, add the Pocky sticks and enjoy.

What’s up with the Pocky sticks you ask? As a child, I also loved these Pocky treats. My kids were enjoying some as I was making this shake. When I was done, I realised I needed some colour contrast to better the presentation so I thought, why not add something that they love, to a drink that I loved as a child? The strawberry flavored Pocky sticks went really well with the avocado, banana and coconut flavors.

“What we’re looking for is a delicious sounding and sexy cocktail – either with a sexy name, sexy or cheeky background story, or a sexy looking presentation, or best of all, ALL THREE!!! The entry which best exemplifies sex appeal, in a glass, wins!” (These are Denise’s words exactly.)

So let me try to convince you why I think this drink is sexy:

Sexy = naughty (bear with me). “Coconut” bikinis/bras are sexy aren’t they? Avocados are aphrodisiacs aren’t they (naughty)? And you know what naughty images most people get when they think of bananas. So I think my drink qualifies as sexy. If not, then E for effort? G-rated blog remember?

What were some of your favorite childhood treats?  Hope you all have a wonderful weekend! Until next time, friends and family :-D.

47 Responses to “The Hokey Pocky Avocado Banana Coconut Mingle”


  1. 1 denise @ quickies on the dinner table September 17, 2010 at 12:20 am

    Oh Yum!!! LeQuan it’s been AGES since I had an avocado shake. I make mine with coconut ice cream and palm sugar. Oh my!!! Talk about a diet buster 😛

    This looks ADORABLE!! The coconut flakes are the perfect finishing touch. Strawberry pocky is my favourite – always had a box after school right up to what I think you would call high school *blush* Oreos (double stuff of course) were/are another favourite!

    I’m sold on the sexy part – it’s crystal clear……. make that TOO clear ROFL

    Thank you so much for your participation in and support of our little challenge 🙂

    P/s – I hope the kiddies enjoyed their cocktail hour *tee hee*

  2. 3 serena September 17, 2010 at 1:15 am

    true that, that avocado smoothies are not a waist line watching drink. I would mix my avocado drink w/either a splash of coffee, some chocolate sauce, or a banana. You can’t go wrong with any combo. I also blended avo, banana and strawberry together before, a fruit mixture creating a dark brown drink that didn’t look appetizing at all, but it tasted interestingly good.

    Back in the days, I remember consuming packets and packets of haw flakes. I wonder if they still exist 🙂

  3. 5 Stella September 17, 2010 at 7:08 am

    Hey LeQuanis, I love avocado shakes too! I’ve never seen one with a banana in it-that makes ‘tropical sense’ though!?! And I always make mine with coconut milk, so I know your concoction is sound (smile)! Ooh, and I think it’s kind of waist line friendly. I mean, the body can handle this kind of stuff much more easily than brownies and such. Plus, it’s packed with nutrients. This is delicious health food for sure…Yeah! I’d opt for it if I was having a sweet tooth, but I see your point-no doubt.
    p.s. and totally sexy too;) Who needs rum when natural aphrodisiacs and naughty bananas are around?

  4. 6 5 Star Foodie September 17, 2010 at 7:37 am

    Very yummy! I love the combination of avocado and banana!

  5. 7 Monet September 17, 2010 at 9:14 am

    I keep on hearing WONDERFUL things about avocado shakes…but this has been the first one that I’ve actually wanted to make. I can only imagine how great this tastes with the banana and coconut milk. Pour me a tall glass please! Thank you for sharing with us…always great stuff!

  6. 8 makib September 17, 2010 at 10:34 am

    You know what, I’m behind the times because I just discovered what Pocky was a couple of months ago. I know, I have children… how did I not know about them!

  7. 9 Ameena September 17, 2010 at 11:17 am

    I love that you made a non-alcoholic drink since I don’t drink either…this looks delicious! Who knew you could drink an avocado?

    My favorite childhood treat was pound cake…my mom would bake it from scratch and then make jam and we’d slather it on and go crazy eating the whole thing! Second to that was a King Sized Snickers, which I ate every single day for lunch during my high school years.

    Oh how I miss my old metabolism!

    Have a great weekend LeQuan!

  8. 10 kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com September 17, 2010 at 11:26 am

    in high school me and my friends were ADDICTED to these! strawberry and chocolate ones were amazing..we’d always get a box of each and mix them up. such a clever idea to put them in a drink!!

    xoxo

  9. 11 Brittany September 17, 2010 at 11:33 am

    hahahahaha that is too funny at the bottom lol!!! I LOVE Pocky treats!!!!! my kiddos do too! THat drink looks refreshing! I dont think i have ever blended an avacodo….besides for a dip…I shall write this one down!

  10. 12 Leah @ Why Deprive? September 17, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    Ive NEVER used avocado in a shake before. I always intend to when I buy avocado, but then I eat it instead. 🙂

  11. 13 Lawyer Loves Lunch September 17, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    I like that you let everyone know this was not a diet drink. But then again, do you want your fun cocktail drinks to be diet friendly? I certainly don’t. I want them to be decadent and delicious and this totally fits the bill. I hope you win 🙂

  12. 14 Krista September 17, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    Just love the name of your drink!! 🙂 It’s so playful and sounds delicious. 🙂 Thank you so much for your kind comment on my post at Lazaro’s blog yesterday. I really appreciate it. 🙂

  13. 15 Devaki @ weavethousandflavors September 17, 2010 at 4:10 pm

    Dear Le Quan – LOL … you naughty mommy you! 🙂 The drinks are fabulous – delish with the coconut and condensed milk and avocado. Sure to be a hit with both the X-rated and G rated audiences!! 🙂

    Ciao, Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  14. 16 Lisa September 17, 2010 at 6:29 pm

    I love Pocky sticks too! It is a great idea to use them to decorate the shake. With the piece of banana and coconut flakes, your glass looks so fancy and pretty!

  15. 17 Anna Johnston September 17, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    LeQuan, I had so much fun giggling my way through your naughty mocktail post. I definatly think you should win, I mean how sexy is this drink afterall…., its got it all girlfriend…. & it could easily double up with both entries if you threw in a splash of vodka huh. delicious.

  16. 18 MaryMoh September 18, 2010 at 3:26 am

    Oooh….lovely drink. love avocado drink. My mother-in-law introduced me to it when she made a glass for me….avocado condensed milk. I fell in love at first sip! I think my deep love for condensed milk is the key 😛 Just the other day I had coffee avocado drink…..delicious!! You can try that. Just blend avocado, condensed milk and half a cup of coffee. Take care and have a lovely day.

  17. 20 Chef Dennis September 18, 2010 at 5:35 am

    great job with this wonderful drink! It does sound delicious!!
    I love coconut milk, the avocado sounds like a nice touch too….I haven’t seen pocky sticks in a while, thanks for stirring the memory!

  18. 21 Jessie September 18, 2010 at 5:37 am

    AH HAHAHAHA!! Oh man, LeeQs, you just made me spit my yogurt all over my keyboard! I LOVE your last paragraph about why your drink is sexy … “G-rated blog, remember?” Hee hee! Bananas, heeeee! (Yes, I’m totally mature 😉 )

    ANYway, I think your drink is super creative! The perfect creamy treat with the best name EVER! (The Hokey Pocky Mingle is something I’m going to need to work into my everyday conversation.) I love that you put Pocky into the drink – oh Pocky, with your delicious crispiness and smooth dipped part! Did you know what Pocky makes a chocolate one dipped in coconut? My aunt bought it for me in Hong Kong and I still have some left. I went to the Asian grocery around here looking for Pocky and all they had was chocolate and strawberry – still good, but man, I miss the crazy flavors I had in China.

    Where was I? … Oh yeah! Your drink is awesome! Will you make that for me sometime? 😛 This won’t replace your bruised heart, I hope!

    Have a great weekend! xo

    • 22 luvtoeat September 18, 2010 at 10:12 am

      Hey Jessie!

      Glad I could make you laugh, but not glad that you spit out your yogurt :-0.

      I’ve never seen the chocolate coconut Pockys – how cool!!! Yeah, the Asian places definitely have a lot more cooler treats in their grocery stores. I used to love the pizza flavored Pocky, ever try?

      Thank you for your always sweet words and compliments Jessie! I’ll definitely make that drink for you anytime. Bruised Heart will always remain my fave alcoholic drink ;-). Have a wonderful weekend Weiner 😀

  19. 23 tigerfish September 18, 2010 at 10:49 am

    I do eat pocky when I was younger. Like the name hokey pocky for the “cocktail” 🙂

  20. 24 Patty Price September 18, 2010 at 4:33 pm

    I am going to have to try an avocado shake because I love avocados. I am intrigued by the pocky sticks, will have to look for them:) I’m sure your children loved your wonderful drink invention, with ingredients like these it just has to be sexy, lol:)

  21. 25 aletheiazoe September 18, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    Oh LeQuan. 🙂 I’m de-lurking to comment on your blog because I just read your tweet about CACTUS PEARS!!!!!!!!! 😀

    As you know, I think your hocky pocky drink is incredible because I pretty much think that anything with avocado is incredible. Hehehe.

    I also LOVED pocky as a child. I liked the savory ones (salad, tomato) just as much as the sweet ones! Then they started to get all fancy with “Men’s” Pocky and then I took offense because there was no “Women’s” Pocky and subsequently stopped eating it due to sexism. Just kidding. 😛

    My favourite childhood snack was Pocky, hawthorn flakes, and those Asian rice cracker things that look like guitar bodies. Do you know what I’m talking about? Huh huh huh? Yes, you do: http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_e1C4oHC3XRw/SOQv5JnwOgI/AAAAAAAAIms/5dfXw64gEn0/s400/Picture+012.jpg

    Good luck with the contest!

    xo ALETHEIA

    • 26 luvtoeat September 18, 2010 at 7:42 pm

      ALETHEIA!!!!!! I love that you “de-lurked to comment! Lol, you’re comedy girl!

      They had men’s pocky?! Wth? OMG, cactus pear was sooo good! Thanks for the recommendation girl!!! I ate it totally wrong though. Lol. I freaking ate the seeds too and then spit them out. Lmao! Then I googled how to eat a cactus pear and watched a video. You know how stupid I felt. 1. I shoulda googled it before eating. 2. I totally ate it wrong. And 3. I totally shoulda asked you hahaha. That’s ok, I’m one that can laugh at myself 😀

      Thanks for lurking and de-lurking! Stalk ya on twitter!

    • 27 luvtoeat September 18, 2010 at 7:47 pm

      PS

      And I totally knew what those Asian rice guitar body crackers were! Lol! I still love those too!

  22. 28 lynn @ the actors diet September 18, 2010 at 7:05 pm

    pocky, haw flakes, almond roca are candies we always had in my home b/c my mom only went to asian food marts. as a kid, i just wanted kit kats and reeses pieces but now i crave those asian grocery store goodies.

  23. 29 sophia September 18, 2010 at 7:58 pm

    You WACKY girl, you! Oh gosh, I love you. That is one crazy concoction, esp with the strawberry Pocky sticks. I LOVE pocky. But not sure about the avocado…hee hee.

  24. 30 Magic of Spice-Alisha September 18, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    Great entry…sounds delicious, and I agree on sexy 🙂

  25. 31 A Canadian Foodie September 19, 2010 at 10:51 am

    One of my students made an avocado shake with milk when it was a personal sharing foods class and it was terrific. That was luscious enough… coconut milk and condensed milk would take this to an whole other level. That, I can barely imagine… but, I can imagine that it would be DROP DEAD delicious. ANd, the name is a real winner, too! GREAT creative work in the mommy kitchen, LeQuan!
    YUM!!!
    Valerie
    I was thinking of entering my “Kiss Me Like You Mean It” Martini… but, I just never get around to entering contest by the due dates.
    🙂
    Valerie

  26. 32 Lazaro September 20, 2010 at 10:13 am

    LeQuan,

    2 thumbs up! What a perfect entry into our contest. Thanks for being so supportive.

    Have a great week!

  27. 33 Juliana September 20, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    What a yummie drink…love the idea of avocado and condensed milk…and in regards to the sticks…I sometimes get it from the local Asian store 🙂

  28. 34 Tanantha @ I Just Love My Apron September 21, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    Oh no! I’ve been missing this since last Thursday? SOrry LeQuan. I’m a bad friend! I LOVE Pocky!! That’s my fav childhood treat and still is but the flavor has changed to dark chocolate (for men). I know, I’m glad they’re open for non-alcoholic drinks! This is such a sweet treat and full of good memory. I’m also glad that you decided to partake this challenge! The flavor sounds wonderful!

    Denise’s statement made me laugh so hard. I had the same feeling as yours. That’s why I said on my post that I hope this is sexy enough haha. Best of luck to you LeQuanis! Oh hey, before I forget, my friends and I are going to Vancouver BC this weekend! I know you’re not in Vancity but I feel I will be a little closer to where you are 😀

    • 35 luvtoeat September 21, 2010 at 7:51 pm

      Hahaha! I love that you picked up on the LeQuanis, Tanantha. Stella told me that her Cauldron Boy calls me that, so I’ve been signing in to her site with that name ever since. Looks like I have a blog nickname now :-D.

      We’ll be in Vancouver during the Thanksgiving long weekend. It’s too bad we’ll miss each other. Hope you have lots of fun! It’s a great eating city isn’t it? Have a good evening, my friend :-D.

  29. 36 blessedHi5ive September 22, 2010 at 10:20 am

    The title is very creative and so is your concoction! That’s a winner. Your kids are so lucky that you make these yummy nutritious treats for them. A lot of Pho noodles restaurants here have avocado shake and I am afraid to order it because of the calories. I get the 3 bean drink occasionally. You mentioned Thanksgiving and I was like – is it already? Then I remember you are in Canada. Happy Autumn Festival!

  30. 38 Tina September 22, 2010 at 11:45 am

    That looks so rich, creamy, and delicious!

  31. 39 Megan September 22, 2010 at 2:40 pm

    Absolutely LOVE your drink and it’s name!I need to try Pocky sticks. I have never had them!

  32. 40 Biren @ Roti n Rice September 23, 2010 at 10:21 am

    I love the name of your drink and to me it is sexy 😉 I used to love those pocky sticks as a kid and I still enjoy them. When my boys were littler, I occasionally buy some for them so that I can have some myself.

    All the best with the challenge!

  33. 41 Light Delight with Tou Tou September 25, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    Whoa Whoa Whoa! I CAN NOT believe you are making this fancy drink at home! that is beautiful and I can even smell all of nice flavors from the banana and coconut!!!

  34. 42 Cooking Gallery September 26, 2010 at 2:27 am

    This sounds fun:)! I’ve never tried making cocktails myself at home…!

  35. 43 Stella September 26, 2010 at 7:22 am

    My LeQuanis! Ugh, I just woke up (smile). ‘Coffee not yet activating brain’-I just said that out loud in robot voice;)
    Hey, I never get the flu shot for the same reason you and Gary described. If I get it, it’s guaranteed I will be so sick for 3-14 days. I’d rather just get sick once every 3-5 years or so…
    Plus, since I’ve been eating mostly organic and high veg/high fiber in place of high meat/fats, I don’t get sick as often as I did in my teens and twenties. I would bet with your high veg/bean/seafood diet that you guys don’t get sick as often as the general population either. Maybe…
    Anyway, Tanantha is too cute. She’s a sharp one. I’ve noticed this on a couple of occasions (smile but seriously). Oh, and I want you to know that when I see your comments it always makes my day, LeQuan. They are too nice-no pressure though! You can leave a short, mean comment whenever you like. I’m a witch, and I can take that kind of thing;)

    • 44 luvtoeat September 27, 2010 at 9:09 pm

      Hahaha! Your comments always make me laugh out loud! I never really took care of my body until I had kids. I know, that sounds really bad huh? My kids made me realize that in order to take better care of them, I need to take better care of myself first.

      I could never be mean to you. Short and sweet, sure, but how could I ever be mean to such a sweet witch? Sometimes I will leave long comments cause I have a lot to say and am just glad someone will listen (wink). Sometimes if I don’t have much to say (which you see is very rare haha) I will actually leave a short comment. Just really depends on the post. And believe it or not, there are actually blogs that I do lurk on (shhh…smile). Hope you’re having a wonderful start to your week sweet witch!

  36. 45 Peggy September 26, 2010 at 10:49 am

    This shake sounds absolutely fantastic! Never would have thought to use avocados in a sweet treat like this! Great post!

  37. 46 weight September 28, 2010 at 2:04 am

    yeah my dad will like this

  38. 47 Teresa March 4, 2011 at 12:44 am

    Pei pa koa is pretty decent cough medicine (from herbal as I remembered), great non alcoholic medicine, some western cough medicine are more effective, but this is non drowsy.

    You can access info online @
    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nin_Jiom_Pei_Pa_Koa
    ninjiom.50webs.com


Leave a Reply

