Oyster Sauce Isn’t Just For Chinese Cooking

What is shrimp Mommy?

Shrimp is “ha” (Cantonese) honey.

What is “ha” Mommy?

“Ha” is shrimp honey.

What is shrimp and “ha” Mommy?

Aaaaah!

So to avoid those kinds of questions all day long, hubby and I usually take the kiddies to West Edmonton Mall almost every weekend. It’s a kid’s paradise.

They have train rides and balloon rides for the kiddies.

Merry-go-rounds.

Dollar rides. (I’m too cheap to put money in most of the time, haha.)

Roller coasters for the bigger kids.

A big swing, and so much more that I didn’t get a picture of.

Are you a rides person? Not me, I’m a little chicken when it comes to rides.

This is more my kind of ride 😀

If you have more time you can even visit the world water park.

With lots of water slides.

If you don’t feel like swimming, you can enjoy some icy fun.

They also have mini golf and submarine rides too, which I didn’t have time to get a picture of either. Not to mention, SHOPPING GALORE!. This mall is a MUST visit if you’re ever in Edmonton.

Speaking of shopping, can someone answer this question for me: Victoria, what’s her secret?

Yup, this was the line up for the grand opening of Victoria’s Secret in West Edmonton Mall about a month ago.

A month later, I finally got in to see what the commotion was all about. Not much different than the Victoria’s Secret stores in the United States (I don’t think). Sorry for the lingerie picture boys (or not? :-D).

We don’t dare have guests over until we’ve drained out the kids for the day. Our friend Nancy and her hubby Frankie were brave enough to come over and join us, and then I suddenly realized I never shared my steak marinade with you. I know it’s a bit late now with summer almost over, but before I forget again, here it is:

(Marinades 4 to 6 pieces of steaks)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup oyster sauce
  • 1 Tbsp honey
  • 1 Tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp chicken broth powder
  • 2 Tbsp chopped garlic
  • 1/8 cup melted butter

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl.

I used 4 pieces (1kg) of tenderloin grilling steaks and 3 pieces (1.5 kg) of boneless rib grilling steaks. Hubby enjoys the rib grilling steak, while I enjoy my tenderloin, so that’s the reason why we used different cuts of meat.

Before marinating, poke holes on both sides of each piece of steak with a fork.

Spread marinade on both sides. Allow to marinade overnight in the fridge. I like to use an ice cream pail rather than ziplock bags to contain the steaks.

We were so busy entertaining that I forgot to take pictures of our dinner (such a bad food blogger), but here’s a picture of another steak dinner we had using the same marinade.

I don’t eat meat a whole lot, but when I do, it’s gotta be medium rare. Nancy brought over some Boston Cream Whoopie Pie that she made. It’s not her recipe, but she was kind enough to share the link to the recipe with me. I really enjoyed these as they weren’t overly sweet like a Boston cream donut, yet sweet and creamy enough to keep you coming back for more. The dark chocolate helped to balance out the sweetness, and the “pie” itself was deliciously soft and moist. Well done, my friend.

They also brought over this Dr. Loosen Riesling. We didn’t have it that night, but the next day my kiddies were driving me insane, so this bottle came to the rescue. I absolutely loved it, as I’m a big fan of Rieslings. If you like sweet wines, you’ll like this one.

And there’s the shy girl.

Some of you may remember her from the time we made cakepops together with our other friend Anju.

Haha…no point hiding behind your hand when I have MANY MANY incriminating pictures of you. Just be glad I used this one 😀

As we were eating, a rather interesting question came up; so I thought I’d include you all in the discussion since this IS a food blog afterall. If you were having good friends over for dinner, would you think it’d be okay to wear your PJ’s? Don’t worry, that question didn’t come up cause I served them in my sexy Superman PJs (yes, I have Superman PJs and am damn proud of them :-D). It was a question Nancy had asked.

As soon as I get home, I’m out of my street clothes and straight into PJ’s. My point of view on that question would be, I think it’d be okay to wear “comfortable” clothing, like a pair of sweats and a t-shirt, but not full-blown matching top and bottom flannel cow PJs. What are your thoughts?

On another note, my baby girl is starting playschool next week (sniff sniff) and I know I’ve got some Mommies and Daddies out there who read this blog. I’d really appreciate any advice or input you’d like to share on the first day of playschool, or playschool in general. Or even past stories you’d like to share. I welcome all comments about kiddies/school/lunches whatever you want to share. With school starting, I’m probably not going to have as much time to blog as well, so just a heads up on that. I bid you goodbye for now from the Momoirs of a Food Enthusiast. I hope you’re all having a great long weekend! Until next time friends and family :-D.

49 Responses to “Oyster Sauce Isn’t Just For Chinese Cooking”


  1. 1 The Hungry Hubby September 6, 2010 at 12:22 am

    First thing, you have tampered with my beef before my grilling? Secondly, I think we both would agree that my “PJ’s” is not fit for company gatherings…

  2. 2 Jessie September 6, 2010 at 3:37 am

    I can understand how conversations like that can make you feel like you’re going in circles – and not on a merry-go-round! Speaking of rides, you have a roller coaster in your mall?? That is the coolest thing ever! I know you like the “gentler” rides, but I’m all about loop-de-loops and 3G force 😉 I would be on that roller coaster every week! I can’t believe that line out the door at VS. Victoria’s secret? Mostly naked women. For some reason, this appeals to men. And women. Yes, very odd.

    I love your use of oyster sauce in the marinade! I’m 100% with you on the medium rare beef – I almost never eat beef, but when I do, I like it tender. My dad used to cook beef to briquettes when we were little, which is probably why I hated beef for a long, long time. Those Boston cream whoopie pies look sooooo good. Mmm, chocolate. I can’t believe I’m hungry for chocolate at 5:30 am, but they look delicious!

    Also, lol @ “Hungry Hubby” 😛 Have a lovely day, LeeQs!

    • 3 luvtoeat September 6, 2010 at 11:41 am

      You would love West Edmonton Mall then Jessie! They actually have 2 roller coasters, a big one and a smaller one, and many other “heart attack” rides 😀

      Wow! You wake up at 5:30? Oh boy :-O

      Oh, and don’t encourage the hungry hubby. Lol. So embarrassed.

      Have a great day Wiener!

  3. 4 anncoo September 6, 2010 at 6:54 am

    Hi LeQuan, Thank you for your lovely words in my post today. I am so happy that you’re one of my best blogger friends too.
    I love medium rare beef and I also like to marinade the beef or pork chop with oyster sauce. Never tried that whoppie pies before look good and I already bookmarked the recipe 🙂
    Have a nice day!

  4. 5 homecookedem September 6, 2010 at 7:52 am

    Part of the fun for me in having dinner with friends (even close friends) is putting on nice clothes. I don’t think I’d be comfortable in my PJ’s around others. Especially since my PJ’s are usually a white tank top and short shorts, haha! 😉 Not lingerie, but not exactly appropriate either! 🙂

    I’m the same way about meat, don’t eat it very often, but I like it medium rare too. That marinade sounds awesome!! And those whoppie pies look deeeeelish!!

  5. 6 Ameena September 6, 2010 at 9:15 am

    First of all, that mall is the most amazing things I have ever seen. I love that Canadian malls are like little villages, I guess it’s due to the snow? Maya would certainly be entertained there forever!

    Victoria’s Secret is that she uses shabby quality fabrics to sell overpriced lingerie. Her staff is usually rather unhelpful and often unfriendly. I steer clear.

    As far as school goes just know that the first week or two are going to be a difficult transition, for both you and your little one. Knowing that right off will help you feel better. When Maya first started school I would explain that I would be back later, always emphasizing the time (after nap, snack, etc.) so she knew when to expect me. That made her feel safer I think. I’d also read her a story as a segway into departure time so that it wasn’t abrupt. Hope that helps.

    Good luck LeQuan!! Keep us updated!

  6. 8 actorsdiet September 6, 2010 at 9:50 am

    yes to the roller coaster, water park, and pj’s!

  7. 9 Monet September 6, 2010 at 9:56 am

    So I just loved seeing pictures of you and your sweet family! So much fun and so many good memories. And I loved the steak marinade…I’m sure it did wonders to the meat. And as for the PJ’s…I might…but only if we were having a movie night with pizza!

  8. 10 Lazaro September 6, 2010 at 11:08 am

    What a great place. It has something for everyone. Love that steak dish. Perfectly cooked and great flavors. Two thumbs up!

  9. 11 A Canadian Foodie September 6, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    Great fun read! I am sure many will be screaming when they see you poke holes in tenderloin before grilling it. A tough cut, maybe – but, isn’t that a little like cutting glass with a diamond just because you can? I think you will find that the tenderloin will absorb the flavour (especially with soy, etc, in it) without piercing holes in it. 🙂 That will actually release flavour from the meat when cooking, me thinks. Better ask the experts. I just know that you want a sear on a grilled piece of beef with no holes in it.:) (But, LeQuan, if it tastes good – you just do it…!)The sauce sounds wonderful!
    And PJ’s? I have A TON of friends, and some really good ones for over 40 years. If I was energetic enough to have them for dinner, I would be able to pull on some clothes. If it’s just you and a girlfriend, and maybe even your kids – and you are lolling and playing all day and you decide to get into your pj’s to make some dinner, that would be OK. Rare. Under exceptional, and close friend – lazy – day circumstances. But, just don’t invite anyone over if you can’t demonstrated enough value in the relationship (my definition of respect: a demonstration of value) to get dressed. I would be hurt. Would you be hurt if a good friend showed up in their pj’s? It’s not all that different. But, the question made me laugh. You must be feeling mighty tired these days!!!
    I can’t even wear Pj’s when I have my parents over… for Christmas morning breakfast!
    🙂
    Valerie

    • 12 luvtoeat September 6, 2010 at 3:15 pm

      I always love your comments Valerie, always so true and honest. I never thought of it like that, releasing flavor from the meat. My Dad always likes his meat poked and he sometimes even stuffs garlic in there. Thank you for your honest advice. I’mma try it without cutting the glass next time and see if I like it any better 😀

      What?! You don’t want to see my sexy flannel cow PJ’s? 😉

  10. 13 A Canadian Foodie September 6, 2010 at 2:37 pm

    OH, yes – and the little one to school. What an astonishing right of passage. It is sooooo exciting. Ameena said it all. I am trilled for both of you. She must be SOSOSOSO excited and she will have so much to tell you and show you each day. Make sure you make the time to listen. Kids know when things aren’t right, too – and they will tell you in their own way. I remember my daughter came home one day and told me she had to “take a piss.” I just about had a heart attack. She knew it was a new word and definitely was testing it out on me. She was three.The play school helper spoke like that, I came to learn. Not for long, I will add. 🙂 But, unlike you, I was a single parent and had to put mine some place for one and a half years. Mom retired and took them until they were both in school after that. The first place was phenomenal… a play school and day home. So happy and loving and small and professional. The second place was more businesslike and did not have the ethical standards I did. Thank goodness for my mom.
    You will LOVE going there to help on your day. Such fun!
    🙂
    Valerie

    • 14 luvtoeat September 6, 2010 at 3:24 pm

      Take the time to listen, got it! Even when I don’t listen, my little one already knows to turn my face in his direction…sigh. I think it’ll be hard to ignore my two 😉 And aren’t grandparents wonderful?Thank you for your helpful comments! I’ve learned, and continue to learn so much from blogging. Hope you and Vanja are having a wonderful long weekend! Hugs!

  11. 15 deana@lostpastremembered September 6, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    great idea for a marinade… I love the combination…thanks for stopping by my blog..I look forward to visiting yours often!

  12. 16 Light Delight with Tou Tou September 6, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    I can’t believe u have a roller coaster in door !!!hahaha,my favorite! That is a really gigantic mall the kids can have great fun 😉
    and…..I can imaging how parents life looks like when school starts:-P I’m sure you are a great mom!

  13. 17 tigerfish September 6, 2010 at 5:18 pm

    You are funny! No matching PJs for me too…I am for t-shirts and shorts/pants(esp during winter) at home and to be frank, street clothes is also easy for me 🙂

  14. 18 Anna Johnston September 6, 2010 at 7:02 pm

    Wow! I’ve not been to Canada yet, so seeing your Mall was an awesome experience, I guess it’s like Ameena says, because of the now right? A friend of mine spent a few years in Canada & talks about all the ways they managed to overcome cabin-fever (caging an Ozzie isn’t a great idea)!
    I’m all for comfy clothing & even though I’m a die-hard cloths & shoe nut, I’m all about being comfy, I do exactly the same, as soon as I get home I throw on comfs but I’m inspired by your Superman PJ’s. Go You 🙂

    • 19 luvtoeat September 7, 2010 at 12:30 am

      Hey Anna,

      Oh, not all malls over here are like this. This one is actually quite special as it used to hold the title of the largest mall in the world. That title has recently been taken over by another mall now, but I don’t recall where. Most of our malls are just mainly shopping.

  15. 20 Stella September 6, 2010 at 8:08 pm

    Ooh, I love ‘ha’, LeQuanis! Besides loving ‘ha’ though, I used to love steak. Though I don’t like to admit that;-) I’m going to send this marinade to my parents. They eat vegetarian mostly. However, when they cheat, they eat steak. My Dad loves it, and I think they would love this marinade. My Mom’s always looking for ways to make her food better, b/c, well, she’s not the best cook…
    Oh, and, you know, the only reason I wouldn’t wear my pajamas while cooking for friends is b/c I wouldn’t want them to feel like I was really ready for bed soon. You know, like they needed to eat and get on out the door! It probably also depends on the personality of the friends at hand…
    p.s. Tell K that I hope her play school is so fun (smile)!

  16. 21 denise @ quickies on the dinner table September 6, 2010 at 11:00 pm

    That is some kinda shopping mall huh??! We don’t have pools, water slides, ice rinks and coaster rides in our malls and we’re supposed to be a shopper’s paradise!!

    I don’t know Victoria’s secret, sorry 😉 but I am pretty sure you don’t need to apologise to the men in the audience for that lingerie shot LOL

    I love your steak marinade and reading that bit of your post made me think how barbaric we must seem over here, eating all manner of things all year round, according to our whims, like heavy meat stews in the height of summer or tall icy drinks smack in the middle of the merciless monsoons ROFL I almost wince just a little when I read about grilled steaks in summer or lamb casseroles in winter etc. We are completely unthinking about such things as it’s broiling hot all year and wet for the last 2 months of the year. So, if we waited for appropriate weather to eat something, we would be eating pretty much the same kind of things all year round. Does that seem weird to you? Hmmm, it would be nice I think, to enjoy seasonal eating like you do over there. We have most foods available all year round too – the up or down side of importing everything we eat… *sigh*

    I think PJs in the company of good friends, in your own home is fine as long as they’re not tatty or too coordinated LOL

    It will be hard when your girl starts school – I think the best thing you can do is brace yourself and hope for the best. The only thing I would say is make sure whoever is picking her up after school is there, waiting for her, before the doors open. It was traumatising for my boy when I was not where he expected me to be standing, waiting for him, one day. I learnt quickly and never repeated it again!

    • 22 luvtoeat September 7, 2010 at 12:49 am

      Hey Denise,

      I’m so used to having the four seasons here that for a while I forgot that other places don’t have winter/snow. I don’t know if that’s a bad or good thing, but I do know that us humans are never satisfied, always wanting what we don’t have or what others have. I don’t think it’s barbaric at all, but what you’re used to. Like us, as soon as the snow hits, you rarely see anyone out barbecuing (other than my poor hubby cause his wife is too lazy to cook that day). Thanks for the reminder that not everyone is going through the weather changes like us in Canada.

      That is excellent advice Denise! I will surely try to be there for my daughter before the doors open or make sure whoever is picking her up isn’t late. Thank you for bringing that to my attention. I have so much to learn from other Moms.

  17. 23 MaryMoh September 7, 2010 at 3:26 am

    What lovely fun family time with the kids! Wonder how many times you have to go on the ride with them. I remember my hubby and I had to go many times. They were just persistent with their ‘I want more…I want more…again..again! Eventually you just gave in…haha. Well, we enjoyed playing a lot of the games too, if we can get in..haha. When they got bigger, bumper car was our best. I took my eldest while my hubby took my youngest and we had a big fight in the bumper car ring. My kids would squeal at the top of their voice in delight.Really fun times. Great that your girl is going to school. For me it’s mixed feeling. I was glad to have some space for myself at last but then I miss her at home, even though only 2 hrs for a start. LeQuan, just enjoy whatever time you have with them and have fun yourself when they are in school. Thanks for sharing the lovely marinade. I have kept my barbie….too cold for anymore BBQ outside. Take care and have a lovely day.

    • 24 luvtoeat September 7, 2010 at 3:58 pm

      Thank God my kids aren’t too bad when it comes to rides, will only ask to go on the same one twice. I can’t wait till I can do bumper cars with them! Sometimes being a parent is like being a kid again isn’t it?

      Thank you for your advice on school. I’ll definitely try to take advantage of my me time when she’s at school!

  18. 25 Biren @ Roti n Rice September 7, 2010 at 8:09 am

    I remember doing the rides thing with my boys when they were little. Enjoy it as they do grow up fast. My youngest is now in high school!

    I am with you on PJ’s. I like to be comfortable but I can’t wear PJs when I have company 🙂 That marinade sounds very tasty.

  19. 26 eatspinlive September 7, 2010 at 10:43 am

    The conversation at the begining of your post really made me smile 🙂 And it looks like you had a wonderful time with your family! I cannot believe how many things are all inside of one mall! It must have been amazing to see! I hope you have a good week!

  20. 27 bRITTANY September 7, 2010 at 10:51 am

    WOW!!! i WANT THAT MALL HERE!!! : ) Looks like you guys had a blast………WOW still in shock how great that place is!
    YUMMMMM that dinner LOOKS great!! top of the hat to you lady!

    happy tuesday!

  21. 28 kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com September 7, 2010 at 11:28 am

    I WAS IN THAT WAVE POOL!!!!! haha.
    i wanted to go to the theme park too but we only had time for one section of the mall so we chose the water park. i wish i went down that steep monster of a waterslide tho.. but i was 10.. so i guess it makes sense why i didnt.

    XOXO

    • 29 luvtoeat September 7, 2010 at 1:14 pm

      That monster waterslide still freaks the heck outta me till this day. Haha. The only one I’m brave enough to go on is the blue bullet, along with all the other 10 year olds. Lol. Hope you enjoy your last week off, Kelsey!

  22. 30 Juliana September 7, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    Wow, great pictures…so much fun! And the steaks look awesome…cannot resist any yummie steak!

  23. 31 5 Star Foodie September 7, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    The park looks like so much fun! The marinade with the oyster sauce sounds excellent!

  24. 32 blessedHi5ive September 7, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    Thanks for the beef recipe – I will try that for the next family gathering. Also Thanks for your comment in my blog. It was one of the hardest thing I had to deal with and let go. But your post about the W.Edmonton Mall definitely cheered me up. I think WEM is awesome and I would definitely go there with my kid. As for starting school, the first day is hard for Mommies and kids but not too bad. Usually the teacher would find for your child another kid in the class to play with or some activities to distract the kid. Mom or Dad will need to do a quick hug and say goodbye and leave. My daughter cried so much when she first started preschool that I could not leave right away, and the teacher told me later that a few minutes after I left she stopped crying and started playing with other kids. I think it’s harder for parents to let go.

  25. 34 Leah @ Why Deprive? September 7, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    Haha I wouldn’t wear my PJ’s (at least not at first) but I’m all for the sweats. The way I figure it, you can wear yoga pants anywhere, especially when they’re black. It makes them fancy! 🙂

    I LOVE west edmonton mall. Its pretty much the best place ever.

  26. 35 Tanantha @ I Just Love My Apron September 7, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    That looked so fun LeQuan! The kids and “big kids” were having a great time there! I love water park and roller coasters! Oh that lingerie shot-you don’t have to apologize because they wanted to see more haha. The steak marinade sounds great! Oyster sauce can be used in so many ways. I always have it on hand. Now, I can use for my steak!

    I don’t mind wearing PJ’s when good friends come over. That’s how good friends are right? no image to be presented; only real you and the comfy environment!

  27. 37 Chef Dennis September 7, 2010 at 6:14 pm

    now that is one incredible mall!! I guess you could really spend all day there without any problem at all!! Thats a great marinade you made for the steak, I bet it does add a lot of flavor!

    I don’t think pajamas to entertain is necessarily a good idea, comfortable clothes are find, but no pajamas…

  28. 38 Patty Price September 8, 2010 at 12:05 am

    Looks like the whole family is having fun together which is a wonderful thing to do when you’re children are young and still want to hang out with you! I want a nice grilled steak for dinner while I’m wearing my PJ bottoms, ahhh- complete relaxation in the evening:) The Dinner menu looks good and your children are adorable, what could be better? take care, Patty

  29. 39 Elizabeth September 8, 2010 at 7:22 pm

    Hey!

    Ni Hao Ma? (How are you in Cantonese). I just found your blog and I enjoy reading about your food/recipes and family.

    I’m a first-generation Chinese, born and raised in NYC and boy, you make me homesick for Chinatown’s restaurants (esp Beef Chow Fun).

    I love oyster sauce- it is SO versatile, isn’t it? Love the rich, deep flavor of it…

    Anyway, just wanted to say hi and tell you that you have a beautiful family- love the *what is Ha?…* lol- TOO cute!!

    • 40 lequan@luvtoeat September 9, 2010 at 3:04 am

      Hey Elizabeth!

      Wo hen hao, xie xie! Ni hao ma? I actually don’t speak much Mandarin, more Cantonese.

      I’ve never been to NYC and would love to go as soon as my kiddies are older. I’ve heard so many great things about it. Thank you for dropping by my blog and for the kind words, I really appreciate it!

  30. 41 Lawyer Loves Lunch September 9, 2010 at 7:55 am

    You win automatic cool points with me for owning (and WEARING) Superman pjs at dinner. I always wear pjs at home but I don’t know if I’d ever wear them in front of friends. Also, that marinade looks delicious! I may try it on some grilled shrimp tonight! Woohoo, dinner plan made! 🙂

  31. 42 Tina September 10, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    I love rides!!! I can’t wait until my daughter gets old enough to take her to theme parks. 😀

    That’s really odd about the VS. I wonder if they had some sort of special deal or something?

    The food all looks delicious. And the wine. I miss wine (I’m pregnant right now).

  32. 43 Tanantha @ I Just Love My Apron September 10, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    LeQuan! I don’t mind at all. You can comment any where you like 😀
    It’s too bad Canada which is so close to Seattle applied to international rate otherwise I would ship it for you. That’s great that you replace some items to organic for the kids. I can’t go entirely go organic either. It’s too pricey. I selected some items that make sense and reasonable to me. Anyway, have a wonderful weekend!

  33. 44 Brian @ A Thought For Food September 10, 2010 at 11:55 pm

    I have to admit, i’ve never cooked with oyster sauce, but I do love the flavor of it. One of the many joys of being a food blogger is learning about various types of cuisines from others!

    Thanks for the comment on Chef Dennis’ site. Glad you enjoyed the recipes. Feel free to head on over to my blog for other recipes: http://www.athoughtforfood.net.

    Best,
    Brian

  34. 45 Stella September 12, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    Hey LeQuan, thanks for your sweet comment. I know you must be frazzled tonight with K about to start her first day of school.
    I’m just here to tell K that I hope her day goes wonderfully tomorrow. I don’t know if she’s the nervous kid or the one that can’t wait to make new friends. Either way, tell her this witch is wishing her lovely things…
    I’m actually feeling so tired right now. It just hit me (smile).
    Good Night, LeQuanis. Stella

    • 46 luvtoeat September 13, 2010 at 7:07 am

      STELLA!!!!!! You are one sweet witch!!!!!! Thank you so much for your well wishes! I’ll definitely let K know you wish her a wonderful first day. Hope you got some good rest!

  35. 47 weight loss calculator September 14, 2010 at 10:06 am

    trying to follow you on twitter but cant find your name

  36. 48 CourtJ November 22, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    I laughed reading that you turned to the wine after a day when the kids were tough. I have actually started to think of an evening glass of wine as my liquid sanity/patience. Hopefully that doesn’t become a problem for me as the kid count goes up 😉


  1. 1 List Of Disease Trackback on September 8, 2010 at 2:35 pm

Leave a Reply

