Good Times

Hi everyone, I hope you all had a wonderful weekend and are enjoying your summer.  Hubby and I took advantage of the gorgeous summer weather and took the kids out to the legislature this weekend. If you’re not from Edmonton and you ever visit, I highly recommend visiting the legislature.

This place is beautiful year round. In the summer they have gorgeous trees and flowers which attract a lot of wedding couples. We had some of our wedding pictures taken here as well. It’s also a great place for a picnic, and they have three areas where you can wade in.

In the winter time the fields are blanketed with snow and the trees are gorgeously lit with many different colours of Christmas lights. But this weekend the weather was far from that.

So we decided to drop by and soak up some rays. But there was no chance that my kiddies were going to leave peacefully without getting in on the water action.

Parent tip: Always carry an extra change of clothes in the trunk for accidents or unplanned events like this.

In they went, and even though K was wearing a dress, I wasn’t too worried about either of them getting their clothes all wet.

I was more worried about being pulled apart.

K seriously stood there for at least half an hour watering that stone…SIGH! I guess that’s her own special little way of beating the heat, go figure.

You know what else is great for beating the heat? Mochi ice cream!

I love these things! I found them at T & T Supermarket.

This one was taro flavored, hence the purple colour. When we visited Hong Kong three years ago, I would walk down to the 7-Eleven everyday and get a pack of these. I like that they’re not super sweet like most ice cream can be, and I like the sticky rice wrap on the outside. Anyone else like these?

I’m not sure if you can read that but I thought I’d take a picture of it for my more health cautious readers.

I’d also like to share a quick and easy recipe with you since I haven’t done so in a while. Here is my Oven Roasted Eggplant with Fish Sauce. This can be eaten as an appetizer or along side some rice.

Ingredients:

  • 3 long purple eggplants
  • 3 to 6 stalks green onions (chopped)
  • 2 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • fish sauce

Instructions:

In a pan, heat up 2 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil. Throw in chopped green onions and saute until onions soften. Pour oil and green onions in bowl and set aside for later.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees fahrenheit. Cut off both ends of the eggplants. Place eggplants in the oven and cook for about 30 – 45 minutes, or until the skin of the eggplants start to wrinkle and brown. If you like eggplant skin you can leave it on (like in the first plate shown above) or peel it off.

Cut the eggplant into bitesize pieces and plate. Pour green onions and extra virgin olive oil on top. To finish the dish, pour some fish sauce over the eggplant. You can use as little or as much fish sauce as you’d like.

Note: This is not fish sauce straight from the bottle. This is fish sauce that has been mixed with other ingredients and most often used for rice vermicelli bowls. My fish sauce recipe can be found here.

I’d also like to share somethings else with you before I leave. The other day while visiting my parents, my Dad dug up an old collection of trading cards that he had in his basement which belonged to me when I was a child. Can you tell I’m a child of the 80’s?

The one I was most excited about was the stack on the bottom right. That’s right, the King of Pop, Mr. Michael Jackson. The first thing that came to my mind was, “Hmmm….I wonder how much these are worth now?” Haha. Hey, can you blame me? Then I wondered if I really could sell away Michael Jackson. Then I thought, oh how I wished my cabbage patch kids trading cards were in here too, along with all my childhood toys. Then I remembered how I idolized Debbie Gibson. Okay, you can stop laughing now. Anyways, good times, good times. Are you a child of the 80’s? What did you love from the 80’s? I would love to hear all your answers. Also, don’t forget to enter the giveaway. That’s all I have for you this week. Until next time friends and family :-D.

29 Responses to “Good Times”


  1. 1 Lazaro July 26, 2010 at 9:25 am

    LeQuan,

    Love the oven roasted eggplant with fish sauce. Great recipe and photos. Looks like a fun day in the sun with the family.

  2. 2 anncoo July 26, 2010 at 9:42 am

    The roasted eggplant looks so simple and delicious. Love those pictures ;D

  3. 3 Ameena July 26, 2010 at 10:16 am

    Whenever there is a fountain, lake, river, ocean, or any other body of water, Maya flocks to it! And since it keeps her entertained for hours on end I don’t care if she gets soaking wet. The legislature looks beautiful!

    I am a child of the 80’s! MacGyver, A-Team, Wham, REO Speedwagon…I could go on for hours. Remember Garbage Pail Kids? I used to collect those cards too.

    I really love eggplant so thanks for the fabulous recipe!

    • 4 luvtoeat July 26, 2010 at 1:21 pm

      Ah MacGyver, the stud who could get out of everything with almost nothing. And aaack! Wake Me Up Before You Go Go is still one of my favorite songs! I think a part of me is still stuck in the 80’s. Lol. Good ol’ carefree, childless times!

  4. 5 serena July 26, 2010 at 10:29 am

    more than the original price in the 80’s i believe. $3-8 if you’re lucky. MJ post, hotpot, i was even at the pool w/the little ones too. another coincidence? we’ll see if it happens again next post 🙂

  5. 6 Tanantha @ I Just Love My Apron July 26, 2010 at 11:31 am

    Seemed like the parents and the kids had fun! haha. It was nice to soak in a cold water on a hot sunny day! And Oh LeQuan, mochi ice cream are my favorite. I’ve not tried taro flavor, tho. I’m sure I will like it because I like taro milk tea.

    I just thought about making eggplant dish the other day as I saw from the Japanese magazine. Hey, to answer your question about mathca tea. You will like it if you like green tea! It’s similar but matcha has a stronger and deeper taste. Matcha is actually categorized on green tea family. You should be able to find it at an Asian grocery store, tea store, or Japanese grocery store. Good luck with it LeQuan!

  6. 8 Juliana July 26, 2010 at 11:56 am

    Oh! Yummie, everything looks so delicious, and I love the mochi ice cream, specially the taro ones 🙂

  7. 10 MaryMoh July 26, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    That’s such a fun family outing. I’m sure your kids had lots of fun. I wish we have such nice weather here. Oh, I really love the mochi ice cream. Never heard of. I must try to make. Looks so delicious….mmmmm. Let me count….ahem…I can eat 6 pieces 😀

  8. 11 tigerfish July 26, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    I usually steam my eggplant, then toss with sesame oil and some grated ginger. Hmmm….will try your version next time. But I don’t have fish sauce, maybe I will use some soy sauce.

  9. 12 Stella July 26, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    Hey LeQuan! Okay, what did I love from the 80’s. Well, I definitely liked Debbie Gibson-what 80’s girl child didn’t? Oh, and Whitney Houston made my ‘love’ list. I’m embarrassed to say it now, but it’s true (smile). I also loved and still do love Michael Jackson-he is the only true talent from the 80’s probably. Ooh, but all the guys from Ghost Busters were awesome comedians. I guess there was a lot of talent actually, so I take the aforementioned back. It’s just so easy to get stuck on Micheal!
    Hey, your eggplant looks awesome. I’ve been trying to cook eggplant a lot lately, since it’s in season here. So I’m going to save this recipe to my files-looks like it has a perfect texture. That’s important for eggplant.
    p.s. That wading pool is so awesome! We don’t have any government areas like that here. I mean, we have dog parks and such, but nothing that cool…

  10. 13 Leah @ Why Deprive? July 26, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    Oh the 80s! Slap bracelets are always the first thing that come to mind. I loved those things!

  11. 14 Roti n Rice July 27, 2010 at 10:03 am

    Looks like you all had a fun day in the sun. I remember those days when the boys were little and wanted to get into everything 🙂

    That eggplant dish looks good. Never tried it with fish sauce but I can imagine it must taste good, especially with some soy sauce.

  12. 15 homecookedem July 27, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    That mochi ice cream looks so coooooool!! I’ve never seen anything like it! I bet it’s awesome!!

    I was an ’83 baby! 🙂

  13. 16 XiaoYen July 27, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    The weather looks gorgeous up there! I wish we had beautiful summer weather in San Francisco 😦 We have clouds and fog with temperature in the 50’s and 60’s. So no shorts, bathing suits, or flip flops here!

  14. 17 denise @ quickies on the dinner table July 28, 2010 at 2:26 am

    Hey LeQuan 🙂

    Loving the eggplant dish – I do something similar where I steam or blanch the eggplant before dousing it with fish sauce, fried garlic, scallions and chillies.

    Oh boy, the eighties!! My list of biggies – big hair, hats, Doc Marten shoes, Brit music, MJ, Harrison Ford, Howard Deutch and John Hughes movies (between them they practically covered the entire 80s Brat Pack). Best and worst decade ever ROFL

    K is a very focused little girl – all that stone watering will take her places someday 😉

  15. 18 kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com July 28, 2010 at 7:59 am

    1989.. so just made it as an 80’s child. woot!

    wish i was there splashing around in the fountain. never too old for that!! ❤

    xo

  16. 19 Tanantha @ I Just Love My Apron July 28, 2010 at 3:17 pm

    Hey LeQuan, just wanted to let you know that the recipe originally was for bo lalof (not sure about the spelling) but it’s easier to find basil. It’s s good substitute. And, yes I know what you’re talking about. Vietnamese wrap is da best!! hehe

  17. 20 Devaki @ weavethousandflavors July 28, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    What a lovely little day trip LeeQ and I LOVE the eggplant. Will use this one for sure. I love the way you have the green onions with it which is bound to be super delicous.

    Oh and your fish sauce recipe – I’m coming back for that one.

    Yummy eats 🙂

    Ciao, Devaki @ weavethousadflavors

    PS – the kids are looking blissful….

  18. 21 Aletheia July 28, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    FROZEN TARO MOCHI TREATS !~!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    OMGOMGOMGOMOMGOGMOGMOGMGOMGOMGOGMOGMOGMOGMOGMOGMGOMGOGMG.

    *SHRIEKS IN HYSTERIA*

    Oh, excuse me. I must have momentarily been teleported back to my Asian childhood days. Where those things could have been consumed for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and everything in between. <3333

    Hey, looks like you and the fam had fun at the legislature!! That's so funny that you folks can actually take a dip outside the governmental building! Dahaha. I don't know. I actually find that funny. It's almost a juxtaposition ! Can you just imagine? In my mind I see (possibly old), reserved, government people dressed up in suits, looking out their window only to see…half naked men and women, and their children. The whole idea just strikes me as very amusing. 🙂 Gotta love Edmonton. Ha. Ha.

    As for your eggplant dish, I found it timely because one of my favourite bloggers EVAR (http://thefirstkitchen.com) just posted on baba ghanoush. And talked about the eggplant. And how baba ghanoush is probably the only way she'd eat the thing or go gaga over it. And if I were anything but Asian, I'd have agreed–but alas, what I told Natalie was that I (fortunately) grew up in an Asian household where Mom always made eggplant stir fry with oyster sauce (much like your dish up there), and have thus been convinced otherwise about the purple veg. And that, my friend, is why being Asian rules. Ha!

    xoxo Aletheia

    • 22 luvtoeat July 29, 2010 at 12:53 pm

      LMAO Aletheia! I never thought of it that way. Thanks for pointing that out. Haha. Next time I’m there wading, I’ll remember to check the windows to see if there really are any government people dressed up in suits spying on us. Lol. Oh you crack me up girl. Thanks for making my Thursday! Hope you have a great one as well!

      Huge bear hug!

      LeeQs

  19. 23 Patty Price July 28, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    I’ve never tried mochi ice cream, looks and sounds interesting! Your eggplant dish looks just perfect, I could make a meal out of that plate and be very happy! Congratulations on your guest post with Lazaro, your shrimp looked very delicious as well!

  20. 24 sophia July 28, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    Ahem. Don’t EVERYBODY love mochi ice-cream? I LOOOOVE it the most, esp the green tea flavor! I’m so Asian sometimes, hee hee.

  21. 25 thehungryscholar July 28, 2010 at 8:43 pm

    I love the 80s and specifically the TV show “I love the 80s.”

    I watch a lot of the crappy movies from the time. Like The Thorn Birds and Flowers in the Attic.

  22. 26 Autumn @ Good Eats Girl July 29, 2010 at 6:53 am

    Looks like you guys had a great time! I totally agree about the extra outfits! Your eggplant dish looks amazing!

  23. 27 Light Delight with Tou Tou July 29, 2010 at 8:06 am

    I have never heard about the legislature, yet this kind of building is all time favorite in my photo album! if I got a chance, I will definitely visit it 🙂 The kids are sooo cute in the pink dress:-P

    I LOVE mochi ice cream! and taro flavor – best choice!

  24. 28 Jenn @ Chinese Baba July 29, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    Hi Lequan,
    nice to meet another fellow Canadian! Great pics of Edmonton (haven’t been since I was 10). I love how everyone’s enjoying the water. If you ever go to Los Angeles, you should head to Mikawaya for their ice cream mochi. DIVINE!
    And I was a child of the 80s but the band I love LOVED was Crowded House making me an outcast… I did not pine for NKOTB or Debbie Gibson or Tiffany. I did enjoy Duran Duran and Rick Astley :p lol…
    btw, your eggplant looks lovely. I am a fan 🙂

  25. 29 A Canadian Foodie August 7, 2010 at 3:57 am

    What a beautiful and fun day! I used to do these kinds of things, exactly, when my kids were the age of your kids. We also went to the Oliver Park wadding pool – until it got too dirty. I almost dies when I saw the violette ice cream with the violette photo and was so excited that you found violette ice cream in Edmonton – then so so so disappointed to find that it was taro flavoured. Hilarious!
    The rice on the outside does not sound appealing to me… but, they look fantastic. Family days out create such powerful memories. Beautiful post.]
    XO


Leave a Reply

