Figgin’ Delicious! Plus Some Celebrations

I dedicate this post to you Ms. Lynn Chen. Okay, just half of the post, as the other half is all about me, me, me. You already know I’m shameless so whatever. Feel free to stop reading after the figs (if you’re even reading).

I never paid much attention to figs until I read this post of Lynn’s from The Actor’s Diet. “Favorite fruit in the world”? I started wondering how much I really was missing. And so began mission fig. After getting an email from Valerie that she had seen figs at Superstore, I was out the door within half an hour. An hour later, mission accomplished. Thank you Valerie!

Of course I couldn’t eat one before cutting it open first to see what it looked like inside. Aww, how cute, it even made a little heart shape.

Look how beautiful! My camera doesn’t do this fruit justice. True beauty DOES come from within :-).

And then my creative juices started flowing.

I hope you can tell what this is cause this is as creative as it gets for me.

I’d have to say, that was kind of fun. Who knew figs could be so much fun. Hmm…go fig-ure ;-).

Let’s hope my efforts didn’t go in vain.

To anyone with young children, that my friend, is how you get your 3 year old daughter to enjoy eating her fruits and vegetables. Gosh, us moms have to be so creative sometimes.

Well, at least she had most of it.

And Mom enjoyed her snack too (6 to be exact) :-P. Those figs were figgin’ delicious! Sorry, I had to say that again. Thank you Lynn, for bringing the fig to my attention. They’re definitely up there along with persimmons and durian. Some of you may beg to differ with the last fruit but I still love them…teehee.

Speaking of fruits, Mary from Keep Learning Keep Smiling has a great fruit post up. If you love fruits like me, you definitely have to check out her post. She even talks about durian! Ok, I better shut-up before I set some of you running in the other direction. Now onto other matters totally unrelated to figs.

These days my math only goes as far as how many diapers have I changed today, how many spoonfuls of food did my children eat during dinner time, and how much is that broken__________ going to cost me now? It’s been a while since my math teaching days, so if I can still calculate correctly, Gary and I have been together for 14 years. We’ve only been married for 5 years but dated for 9 years before that. And if you want to count the years which he stalked me before we dated, that would be 5, for a total of 19 years which we’ve known each other. Okay, now my brain is officially fried.

We went from two crazy, dating lovebirds: 

who luvtoeat 😉

to husband and wife. (non-pro pics)

Sorry, those pictures were pictures of pictures. Back then I was too cheap to get a photographer who would put our pictures onto a cd for us. Lesson well learned; don’t cheap out on wedding pictures. I’ll remember that for next time ;-). Haha, just kidding hun. Funny, no? So now most of you are probably thinking, “But LeQuan, they have scanners now.” And to that I respond with, “But everybody, I’m technology challenged remember?” Yes, sigh…what will you all do with me? I’m sure that’s what goes through the hubby’s mind everyday :-D. Anyways, where was I? Ah, yes……

Even being fur-Mommy and Daddy of this cutie. RIP baby, you will always be in our hearts.

To proud parents of these two beautiful children.

L is thinking, “Who? Us?”

Today marks the day of our 5th year of marriage.  Happy anniversary babe! Now get dressed and take me out for a nice dinner cause you know how I luvtoeat ;-)…teehee. Actually we’re off to a wedding. Remember this friend?

She’s getting married today. CONGRATULATIONS my dear friend! You deserve all the happiness in the world. I luv ya girl! AND, today is also my Dad’s birthday. So much to celebrate on this day. Have a wonderful weekend everyone! Untill next time friends and family :-D. Do you have a favorite fruit that you love?

34 Responses to “Figgin’ Delicious! Plus Some Celebrations”


  1. 1 MaryMoh July 10, 2010 at 1:08 am

    WOW…what a beautiful, refreshing and romantic post, LeQuan! 😀 I just enjoyed reading it. Your husband sure went through a long chase…haha. You look so pretty in your wedding photo and still are 😀 Happy Anniversary to you & your hubby…such true love and warmth…and adorable kids. You are very blessed to have a wonderful family! Happy Wedding to your friend & Happy Birthday to your Dad. Wow…wow…wow…that’s such a wonderful lot of celebrations in a day!!! You are going to eat one week’s food in a day…LOL. I should be there to help you out 😛 Thanks very much for the mention of my post. Hope you have a most fantastic time today and share more with us. Have fun. Mary

  2. 2 aletheiazoe July 10, 2010 at 7:42 am

    OK I’m SOR-EE but I think I deserve an accolade for loving figs just as much–if not more–than Miz Lynn Chen.

    Proof: http://lafillenaturelle.wordpress.com/2010/04/11/girl-on-a-black-mission-finding-the-figs/

    Srrrrssly. Did you read my eloquent description of the fig?

    I love your fig-plate. It’s so cute…just like your kiddie! 🙂
    ahahahahaha AHAHAHAHA I love the expression on L’s face. BWAHAHAHAHA.

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY, HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOUR DAD, AND CONGRATULATIONS TO YOUR SOON-TO-BE-MARRIED FRIEND!!! WOWEEEE!!! You really do have lots to celebrate–and that’s always a good thing. 🙂 As usual, I’ll be expecting you to let us all know how the luvin’ to eat part goes 😛

    My favorite fruit is hands down THE FIG. Then the persimmon, then the pears (I alternate between d’anjou, bosc, and bartlett).

    xo Aletheia

    • 3 luvtoeat July 11, 2010 at 9:41 pm

      Holy girl! You DO have a LOVE for figs! If I had read that post earlier, I totally would have dedicated this to the both of you. Dang! You were always my avocado/Greenola girl, but now I’m starting to have second thoughts. I should do a post on the durian; only problem is, I don’t think I’d be able to describe it as beautifully as you did with the fig. And I’m afraid I might start losing readers. Lol, jk. I know my readers and commenters rock!

  3. 5 homecookedem July 10, 2010 at 8:10 am

    Happy Anniversary!! 🙂

    I love figs. Have you heard of the candy company Figamajigs? They have all kinds of chocolate covered fig candy… so yummy!! 🙂 http://figamajigs.com/

    • 6 luvtoeat July 11, 2010 at 9:53 pm

      Hey Em!

      I’ve never heard of this company before. As the little hermit that I am, I’ve just discovered the awesomeness that is a fig. Teehee. Thank you for sharing that link. That’s quite an interesting company. Those bit-sized fig candy are quite intriguing. Yummers 😛

  4. 7 A Canadian Foodie July 10, 2010 at 8:38 am

    First part – hilarious! Love the creativity…. now you will have to get into some fig recipes… they are great wrapped in prosciutto and grilled…. etc.
    Second half – CONGRATULATIONS! And GORGEOUS wedding photos! Now you will have friends to celebrate your anniversary with !!!
    XO

  5. 8 Stella July 10, 2010 at 9:28 am

    Hey LeQuan, you are so beautiful in your wedding photos (and always). I can see why Gary stalked you. I’m sure he just couldn’t help himself (smile)…
    Ooh, and you know there are fig trees in my Mom’s neighborhood in Atlanta. The land she lives on used to be a farm in the 1800’s, so it’s clean (pre-pesticide era) never used for anything but that and then houses. The figs are nothing like what you get at the store. Inside, it’s like nature’s caramel when they are ripe. I wish you could taste one. If you like store bought, you would freak at the taste of one of these in July! Ooh, I need to go to Atlanta….
    Have fun at the wedding,
    Stella

    • 9 luvtoeat July 11, 2010 at 10:00 pm

      Hey Stella! Thank you for your kind words and for always being such a sweet witch.

      Oh I wish I could taste one too, oh how I wish! Tres jealous! I think you need to drop by on your broom so you can whisk me off to Atlanta with you. Road…no wait, sky trip with a witch. Like I said, oh how I wish! Hope you and Cauldron boy had a super weekend 😀

  6. 10 Ameena July 10, 2010 at 10:41 am

    Happy Anniversary LeQuan! I can’t believe how beautiful you look in your wedding photos…just stunning. And the pics don’t look non-professional to me at all!

    I am amazed you’ve known your husband for so long. He is totally cute and I can tell how much you guys are crazy about each other from your photos.

    My favorite fruit…I am more of a veggie person but if I had to pick a fruit I’d say grapes. So easy to eat and portable. Love them!

  7. 11 actorsdiet July 10, 2010 at 10:54 am

    happy anniversary! much more exciting than my “figaversary!”

  8. 13 Buddycakes July 10, 2010 at 11:12 am

    Happy Anniversary to you both!!!!!!!!!!

  9. 15 Jessie July 11, 2010 at 5:31 am

    Happy anniversary!! You and Gary are so sweet! And how gorgeous are you in those wedding pictures? Hubba hubba! 😉 That’s so funny that Gary stalked you for years before you started dating – he must have been smitten from the beginning! You two have created a wonderful life together, not to mention two of the most adorable kiddies I’ve ever seen 🙂 Happy Birthday to your Dad, and congrats to your friend!

    On the figgy front, nice job getting K to eat her veggies. I’m tempted to try that with my husband to see if he’d bite (more veggies, that is 🙂 ). I expect to see some more figgy dishes coming up – although they really are best eaten plain. Ok, more figs, period!

    Have a lovely day, Leeqs!

    • 16 luvtoeat July 11, 2010 at 10:20 pm

      Jessie, you’re always soo sweet! Thank you for your compliments and the celebration wishes.

      The carrot/fig butterfly didn’t work with my hubby, I tried. Teehee. Maybe if we can somehow get the veggies to look like a steak, our hubbies might bite ;-). Prob no fig recipes for me. I always like my fruits straight up and natural. Hope you had a great weekend, dear.

  10. 17 Roti n Rice July 11, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    Very creative with the figs 🙂

    Happy anniversary to you and Gary! You looked lovely in those wedding pictures. Thanks for sharing them. Also a Happy BD to your dad and congrats to your friend.

  11. 18 Cindy @ This Adventure, Our Life July 11, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    Happy Anniversary to you guys!!! Hope you enjoy the wedding and maybe even a dinner out (but then again you guys are always having feasts!!). We are celebrating 5 years also this year!!

  12. 19 sophia July 11, 2010 at 4:22 pm

    Figs are my favorite fruit too! One of them, anyway! It’s hard to find a good one, though. Sometimes they just kind of suck. But when you find a good one, they are the most seductive fruit ever!

    And Happy Anniversary, my dear! You are so gorgeous!

  13. 20 The Hungry Hubby July 11, 2010 at 5:27 pm

    Aww, hun, thank you for being such a sweet, loving wife. Thank you for the two precious children, the blessings of my life. Thank you for being so supportive in my ventures. Thank you for having the patience to bear with me, on a regular basis. I know what a pain in the **** I can be. I love you.

    You have made my stalking efforts SO worth it. bwahaha 😉

  14. 22 thehungryscholar July 11, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    Ahhh…the hubby posted. Sweet overload, I love it!

    You two make such an adorable and caring couple!

  15. 23 tigerfish July 12, 2010 at 9:31 am

    I enjoy figs. The Chinese use dried figs in their Chinese soups and I never knew how the fresh ones look like till recently.

  16. 24 Leah @ Why Deprive? July 12, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    Ive never tried figs!! I totally need to.

    I love the wedding pictures. You looked amazing, and I LOVE your dress!

  17. 25 Devaki @ weavethousandflavors July 12, 2010 at 1:42 pm

    Dear Le Quan – What a lovely post! Gary would be a fool not to chase you and what a prize he got! Gorgeous then and gorgeous now Le Quan and no amount of fuzzy in the pics will every take that away from you.

    Happy Anniversary!

    Catch my bear hugs 🙂
    Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  18. 26 Tanantha @ I Just Love My Apron July 12, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    Now you really love figs, LeQuan!? hehe
    L’s face on that pic is so funny and cute. Sorry about your dog LeQuan..I know how you feel! Great pics of your pro and non-pro of the luvtoeat team 🙂

  19. 27 brittany July 12, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    Ah love how its cut into heart (made me smile!!!) how cute! Us moms do have to be creative lol. Your photos are wonderful(what a cute pic of you and your hubby lol i love when i get mine to pose silly lol) Happy Anniversary!

  20. 28 Juliana July 12, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    Happy anniversary…love the post and the pictures…very very cute 🙂

  21. 29 denise @ quickies on the dinner table July 13, 2010 at 5:13 am

    Wow LeQuan!! So many happy things to celebrate! Happy belated Anniversary to you and the G-man 😉 Happy Belated Birthday to your dad, happy belated congratulations to your dear friend!!

    You make a BEAUTIFUL bride! And, uh, I’ve never tried a fresh fig before 😛 There goes my foodie street cred LOL

    If I had to pick just one favourite fruit, it would have to be the chiku or sapodilla plum. It’s not the prettiest of fruit – looks like a muddy skinned kiwi but the flavour is like brown sugar and maple syrup combined, and it’s so juicy! Mmmmmmmmmmm…….

  22. 30 Lazaro July 13, 2010 at 8:38 pm

    Lequan,

    Lovely post. Congrats on your anniversary! Wonderful photos all around.

  23. 31 Stella July 14, 2010 at 1:34 pm

    Hey, I was just just dropping in to see what you’re up to…I will be back!

  24. 32 Light Delight with Tou Tou July 14, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    Is that the trick for kids???? that’s is such a cute plate!

    Thanks for sharing your wedding photos – you look so pretty. What a happy family you have 🙂

  25. 33 anncoo July 15, 2010 at 8:59 am

    Hello Lequan,

    Sorry that I’m late to congratulate you on your anniversary. Those pictures are lovely and your kids look cute too!

  26. 34 Increase Nitric Oxide July 22, 2010 at 2:29 am

    What is it about reading through points through someone else’s eyes that gives a person such a great point of view? I am very thankful for the blog and just how it has altered the web into a enormous collection of shared ideas. I ended up on here after a little bit of work related research on Bing and somehow stumbled on your weblog. Glad that I hung around and I’ll be sure to add your details to my bookmarks so i can come back in the future. Thanks again!


Leave a Reply

