Abalone with Dried Scallops and Mushrooms atop Snow Pea Tendrils

Hello again all! Hope everyone is doing well. I know, I know, this isn’t abalone. I promise, that will come very shortly right after I poof up my chest, strut proud, and show off my weekend’s baking skills. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not trying to brag. If you know me outside of the blogosphere, or if you’ve been following this blog, you’ll know I SUCK at baking. So whenever I attempt to bake something and it does turn out right, I need to soak up all the glory. This a wonderful, simple (cause I only do simple when it comes to baking) vegan recipe that I got from Stella’s blog @ The Witchy Kitchen. I present to you Vegan Peanut Butter and Chocolate Chip Tart.

As usual, her picture looks 20 times better, but this was heaven in my mouth, I kid you not! I had two pieces (couldn’t stop at just one), K and L both shared a big piece, and the hubby had two bites. Now that’s actually saying a lot cause he’s not a sweets kind of person. He’ll either not have any at all or just have one bite, but two bites, that’s when I strut proud ;-). Oh, I almost forgot to mention that I used almond butter instead of peanut butter as I’m allergic. Now some of you may be wondering, if you suck at baking then why do you still do it? All for this adorable face here. I may suck at baking but I don’t want to deprive my children of the fun in baking, so I try, I try VERY hard :-D.

One of my friends actually said to me, “It’s ok LeeQs, where you suck at baking, you make up for it in your cooking.” Hmmm….I’ll take that as a compliment? Anyways, let’s not concentrate too much on how much I SUCK at baking and let me steer you towards my brighter side shall we? This dish is my all time favorite dish to make and eat, more the latter though ;-).

Abalone with Dried Scallops and Mushrooms atop Snow Pea Tendrils.

Ingredients:

  • 5-10 dried scallops 
  • 10 abalone (about 2 per person)
  • 12 dried mushrooms
  • 7 cups of water (divided into 3, 2, and 2 cups)

Sauce ingredients:

  • 3 Tbsp oyster sauce
  • 1 Tbsp chicken broth powder
  • 1 Tbsp sugar
  • 3 tsp cornstarch
  • 3/4 cups water

 Place dreied scallops, abalone, and mushrooms in three separate bowls.

Add 2 cups of water into the bowl with the scallops and soak overnight.

They will look like this once finished soaking. Do not discard the water!

Add 2 cups of water into the abalone bowl and soak overnight.

They will look like this once finished soaking. Do not discard the water!

Add 3 cups of water into the bowl with the mushrooms. Place them stems down and soak overnight.

They will look like this once finished soaking. Do not discard the water!

Even after soaking overnight, a small part of the bottom of the mushroom stems will still be hard. Take a pair of scissors and cut off that tough part of the stem. I also like to separate the whole stem from the mushroom as I don’t like eating the stem. I keep the stems for the hubby. I know, I’m wierd. I also like to flip the mushrooms over and soak for another half an hour to make sure the whole mushroom is completely soaked. There will be black residue in the bottom of the bowl. When pouring the water from the mushroom into your pot, try not to pour any of that residue in.

Dump all of the abalone, abalone water, mushrooms, mushroom water, and scallop water into a pot to boil. Turn heat to high untill water starts to boil, then bring heat back down to medium just keeping the water at a simmer.

While that’s simmering, shred the scallops.

Dump the scallops into the pot. Turn heat back up to high. Once water starts to boil, bring heat back down to medium always keeping the water just at a  simmer.

Now add all the sauce ingredients into a bowl and mix until a smooth consistency has been achieved.

Pour the sauce into the pot. Turn the heat back up to high while stirring constantly. Once the sauce starts to boil and thicken, bring the heat back down between medium and medium-low. Cover the lid and allow the sauce to just simmer for at least 2 hours while checking on the sauce and stirring it every half an hour to make sure it is not sticking to the bottom of the pot. The abalone needs at least two hours to cook, soften, and release it’s flavors into the sauce. This dish takes a lot of time to cook but I assure you, it is all worth the wait.

Just 15 minutes before the sauce is done, stir fry or boil your vegetables and plate.

The finished sauce.

Pour the sauce over the vegetables and enjoy!

I leave you with that today. Any of you as incompetent in baking as me? What are your reasons for learning to bake? I hope you all have a fabulous week! Until next time friends and family.

30 Responses to “Abalone with Dried Scallops and Mushrooms atop Snow Pea Tendrils”


  1. 1 Lawyer Loves Lunch June 29, 2010 at 11:00 am

    I have never seen or eaten dried scallops but I’m definitely intrigued! This dish looks great! Oh, and anyone who wears a fabulous pink hat while cooking wins automatic cool points 🙂

  2. 2 Devaki June 29, 2010 at 11:57 am

    Dear Le Quan – This is absolutely my kind of dish. Will let you know as soon as I may it. Currently am dealing with over stuffed freezer and must remedy that first.

    I love that you are teaching me how to cook with dried scallops. I love eating it but have zero experience cooking with it and snow pea leaf is my all time fave veggie.

    BTW, I don’t think you suck at baking – any one who can spend all day baking those little pop things (with the owl and superman ones)is an ace talent in my book!

    Hugs, Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  3. 4 Ameena June 29, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    I am totally ignorant so I had no idea that abalone is something people regularly eat! Forgive me. I assume it tastes kind of like clams?

    I am a much better baker than cook…and Maya and I love to spend time making a mess in the kitchen. Or she makes a mess and I stand next to her with the kitchen sponge and a bottle of Method.

    Anyway, your tart looks amazing! I had no idea you are allergic to peanuts. I am not allergic but I am intolerant of all nuts so I avoid them. I miss them though and your delicious tart isn’t helping me miss them less! 🙂

    • 5 luvtoeat June 29, 2010 at 2:02 pm

      Oh no Ameena, you’re not ignorant at all my friend. Abalone definitely isn’t something we would eat on a regular basis. It can be quite costly. We just had these sitting in my pantry for a while cause I’ve been too cheap to cook them haha so I thought I’d use them since I had some extra time on hand. Yes they do taste like clams, except chewier and more flavorful. They are quite the delicacy in Chinese culture.

  4. 6 XiaoYen June 29, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    Wonderful recipe but as you mentioned in your comment reply, eating abalone is expensive. The fresh ones over here are about $20 per pound. The canned ones are $75 depending on quality. We reserve eating abalone whether soup or braised for special occasions.

  5. 7 Tanantha @ I Just Love My Apron June 29, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    Okay LeQuan, I have abalone before but dried scallops!? huh? so what I had at a Chinese restaurant are dried scallops!? hahaha good to know.

    You did a great job LeQuan. It looks so good. I’m sure Stella will be so proud of you! Love to see your kid was happily helping you. She’s so adorable. You should change her hat to be a chef hat hehe

    I didn’t know you were a dog lover! Bella brings a joy to my life and family. We love her so much! 🙂

    • 8 luvtoeat June 29, 2010 at 9:31 pm

      Hey Tanantha,

      I’m not exactly sure what you had at the restaurant. It could have been dried scallops or it could have been abalone.

      She was only wearing a hat cause we were going to go out as soon as I popped the thing in the oven. But yeah, I should totally get her a chef’s hat. Haha.

      I used to have a little miniature pinscher but he passed away a couple years ago. He was like my little baby. I couldn’t go through the pain of owning another dog again 😦

  6. 9 Stella June 29, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    K looks so cute in that photo, LeQuan. It’s almost as good as the one when she’s just woke up and her hair has static in it. That static hair/early morning photo is still my favorite though.
    Hey, I didn’t know you were going to post the pie. I’m glad you liked it enough to post it though. Thanks LeQuan! I think it’s a good, basic chocolate chip pie recipe. Sometimes it’s even better the next day too…
    By the way, I don’t know if I’ve ever told you this, but I originally loved your blog b/c your food is the kind of food I like to eat when I do eat meat. You know, seafood with lots of veg and mushroom, etc. So if this is your favorite, I’m going to try to make it! Cauldron Boy is resistant to new foods sometimes, but he’s going to eat it (smile).
    Have a good night, LeQuan.
    p.s. Your cookie looks great. I think you just think your’e not good at baking. Maybe…?

    • 10 luvtoeat June 29, 2010 at 10:07 pm

      Hey Stella,

      I don’t eat a lot of meat but you’re right, I do eat a lot of seafood and veggies. That’s funny that you mentioned seafood and mushrooms cause when I made this dish I also made a shrimp and 2 kinds of mushrooms stir fry. Haha, you know me so well. Have a great night my witchy friend.

  7. 11 aletheiazoe June 29, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    OK this post made me so hungry that instead of leaving you an incredibly insightful comment right now I am going to precipitate into the kitchen, make myself some WARM asian stir-fry, and come back here and respond properly.

    ILOVEYOUSTILL.

    XO ALETHEIA

  8. 12 Lazaro June 29, 2010 at 7:40 pm

    LeQuan,

    Love what you did with Stella’s dish. Maybe you are better at baking that you think. My guess is that you will be getting better and better the more you are inspired to bake. I am not a dessert person, but I force myself to learn.

    Great abalone dish as well. I am still intrigued by the dried scallops. I am yet to try those.

    Cheers

  9. 13 aletheiazoe June 29, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    I’MMMMMMMMMMM BACK!!!!

    Firstly, SO PROUD OF YOU FOR MAKING THAT BAKED GOODIE!!!! 🙂 How incredibly rewarding it must have been for YOU and for your cute little wee one!! 🙂 Like you, I also went through my whole I SUCK AT BAKING AND WILL FOREVER MORE SUCK AT BAKING UNTIL THE DAY I DON’T SUCK AT BAKING WHICH WILL BE NEVER! phase. Then one day I made this ONE good loaf of zucchini bread, and the rest, as they say, was history. Elated, I practiced the SAME loaf 10 times until I could memorize the ingredients list and could even get a “feel” for times when I subconsciously felt I added too much flour, too little baking powder, etc.

    So I suggest trying out a baking recipe that you really, really like–and then MASTERING it. Mastering one thing gives you a feel for mastering other things. If that makes sense.

    Soon you’ll be able to be like me and throw recipes out the window and invent your own bread. BWHAHHAHAA. Just kidding. Don’t do that. It doesn’t actually always work out for me. 😛

    Secondly (yes, I’m only at “Secondly”…), as an Asian, this is almost embarrassing to admit, but–I’ve never actually had abalone!! Seriously! My mom never bought it… I didn’t even know what it was until I read your post! Well, actually, I’ve seen it in sashimi form, but that’s about it! And it doesn’t look anything like what you have up there in pictoors… :S

    Thirdly…I’m out of steam! Let it be known that I love your stir-fries. They remind me of home — minus the abalone. 😛

    xo Aletheia

    • 14 luvtoeat June 29, 2010 at 10:21 pm

      Omg you are comedy girl!

      Gotcha, master making lots and lots of chocolate baked goods. That totally makes sense 😉 great advice Aletheia!

      Nothing shameful about not knowing what abalone is. I think its also one of those foods that’s an acquired taste. And I’ve yet to try kale! Have a great night girl! HUGS!

  10. 15 bruleeblog June 29, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    That dish looks fantastic – just like how what you would get in restaurants! I am very impressed.

  11. 16 Cindy @ This Adventure, Our Life June 29, 2010 at 11:13 pm

    Your daughter is ADORABLE! My reason for baking is purely cause I love desserts!! I would take that is a compliment…your cooking looks great and real!!

  12. 17 serena June 30, 2010 at 2:05 am

    seriously, your dishes looks like they should be served in restaurants, eaten by paying patrons

  13. 19 tigerfish June 30, 2010 at 4:04 am

    Tell me about baking! I suck big time!

    Your abalone dish is better than those from Chinese restaurant! I can’t have enough of that :p

  14. 20 thehungryscholar June 30, 2010 at 8:41 am

    I am learning to bake/cook to save money. I was going out to eat too much!

    that tart looks so good!

  15. 21 A Canadian Foodie June 30, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    That looks just like Witchys!… I thought”haven’t I just seen this – but in a different shape a couple of days ago?” great job… and the other dish…. I have no – zero – no – naughtta – frame of reference for any of these flavours. It must be strong as the three main ingredients are dried. Do you get the abalone at the same place we got the scallops. What is that flavour. I am fearful of trying this as I wouldn’t have any idea whether I got it right or wrong… as I don’t know how it is supposed to taste. I guess “good” would be an acceptable outcome! It looks gorgeous! Is it a Vietnamese recipe?
    🙂
    Valerie

    • 22 luvtoeat June 30, 2010 at 11:09 pm

      Hey Valerie!

      Great party tonight! I usually ask my in-laws to get abalone and scallops for me from HK as it is cheaper there. Abalone (to me) tastes like clams except stronger and chewier. This is a Chinese recipe. As like most of my other recipes, I learned this from my Mom. Hope that helps 🙂

  16. 23 Autumn @ Good Eats Girl June 30, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    I have never heard of scallops being dried!! This dish looks absolutely amazing!

    I’m not a great baker either…BUT I’m trying very hard! My goal this summer is to bake something once a week and challenge myself a bit! We’ll see how it turns out!!

  17. 24 Leah July 1, 2010 at 11:28 am

    I used to be a total baker. I would spend my days off in the kitchen making cakes, muffins, cookies, all of it. But I had minimal talent for cooking. Now I’d rather cook than bake because its less time consuming, and I’m lazy like that.

  18. 25 Light Delight with Tou Tou July 1, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    Hi Lequan! I am back!!! Miss your home cooking and kids’ cute faces:-)
    this is really a flavorful packed dish! I wish I have a big family to give me the reason to splurge on all these great ingredients! Shiitake mushroom and scallop, how can that go wrong?!

  19. 26 Roti n Rice July 1, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    I have not had abalone in a while. They are not only expensive but pretty rare these days. That dish sounds amazing with all the goodies in it.

  20. 27 denise @ quickies on the dinner table July 6, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    Hi LeQuan!

    I know I’ve been scarce but I really have been up to my ears lately. It’s always nice to come here though and read about what you’ve been up to – I actually feel like I’ve walked into a friend’s cosy kitchen. Yes, I’d LOVE some coffee, thank you and excuse me while I close the door and block out the madness and chaos for a few minutes, while we chat 😉

    I haven’t seen much of your baking skills but that cake pop episode is enough to cement my belief that you definitely do not such at baking. Case closed.

    You actually cook like a Chinese restaurant chef – seriously! Love the step by step pictorial and the finished dish, just brimming with fishy and veggie goodness. We would definitely not have issues, eating together!

    Personally, I prefer to eat ROFL but seriously, my heart is with baking – my first love, as I actually starting baking long before I so much as cooked a pot of rice. Ok, off to see what else I’ve missed here!

    • 28 luvtoeat July 6, 2010 at 11:06 pm

      Denise! No worries my friend; I totally understand how busy the life of a mother can get. My door is always open for you. I hope things will settle down soon. And don’t feel that you have to comment on every post. Seriously, I UNDERSTAND MOTHERHOOD 😀

      Wow, baking before cooking rice? You amaze me girl. Take care, and don’t forget to make time for yourself.

  21. 29 MaryMoh July 9, 2010 at 5:38 am

    Looks very delicious….both the cake and the abalone dish. You are good in baking, LeQuan! That cake makes me drool 😛 I can’t get abalone and dried scallops here…so sad….so I’ll just feast with my eyes. Your daughter is so pretty and adorable. She’s going to cook very well like her mommy 😀


  1. 1 Are You feeling Crabby? – CSN Stores Giveaway « luvtoeat Trackback on July 19, 2010 at 1:05 pm

Leave a Reply

