Chinese Ten Course Meal

Hello again everyone! Thank you for all your kind words on the cake pops, you’re all too sweet. As I mentioned in my last post, we attended my friend’s 100 day celebration for her twins at Mirama Restaurant. If you’ve never been to a Chinese wedding before, you’ll see something very similar (food wise) in this post. On the center of the table we had some hard boiled red eggs and ginger. To read more about the symbolism of the red eggs you can click here.

I should also mention that the lucky couple had a boy and a girl. So for thank you gifts to their guests they gave out these chocolate bars. On the back of the chocolate bars, instead of the nutritional information/ingredients they had the names, date of birth, time of birth, weight, and length of both babies. I thought that was super cute and creative. Two thumbs up on that one my friend. No picture due to privacy reasons of course.

I’m sorry guys, the savages at my table got to this dish before I could get a picture of it (I was away talking to someone). This is the cold cuts dish. It usually has pickled veggies, jellyfish, surf clams, and an assortment of cold cuts. This dish is usually my least favorite as I’m not a huge meat fan.

Next came the “bird’s nest”. On the outside is a layer of fried shredded potatoes shaped in the shape of a bird’s nest. The waitress broke it apart before I could get a good picture. Inside the nest were squid, shrimp, scallops, snow peas, celery, and carrots.

This one is my favorite. CRAB CLAWS!!! Ground shrimp made into a ball wrapped around a crab claw and deep fried. We usually eat this with red vinegar.

Shark fin soup.

Add about a teaspoon of this and a teaspoon of red vinegar into your soup and it’ll take away the fishy taste. I learned the Hennessy trick from my Dad. Our host and hostess were kind enough to supply us with quite the alcohol that night.

Next came the lobster with cream sauce that my Dad made for us on mother’s day.

Abalone with mushrooms on top of bok choy.

Steamed fish with ginger, cilantro, and soy sauce.

Crispy chicken with shrimp chips. I used to love those shrimp chips as a kid.

Mingled with the co-owner of Mirama while waiting for the other dishes to be served. This girl is one of the friendliest, most hilarious, happiest girl I’ve ever met. She always has a huge smile on her face and is making jokes left and right. If she looks familiar, it’s probably cause you’ve seen her at Garden Bakery as well, which her and her husband also owns.

When the fried rice comes, you know dinner is almost over.

Yi Mein, generally referred to as longevity noodles.

Always ending the dinner with a bowl of dessert. The most common one is this red bean dessert. I’m not a huge fan of this dessert as I find it way too sweet.

The happy couple Sandy and Tat with their daughter Taelyn and son Skylar. Thank you for the great party, delicious food, and generous booze guys…teehee. I’m sorry this post is a little late but you know how busy the life of a mother with two kiddies can get. You two are so blessed because they are truly two of the most beautiful twins I’ve ever met. I wish you and your new family many, many happy years to come. Congrats hot momma!

That’s all for today guys. Hope you have a great weekend! I leave you with these two questions: Have you had a Chinese ten course meal before? Do you have a favorite Chinese dish? Until next time friends and family :-D.

24 Responses to “Chinese Ten Course Meal”


  1. 1 serena June 25, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    you know me, my favorite would be anything shrimp πŸ™‚ or sugar snap pea w/seafood. I think Peking Duck w/the bun, scallion and hoisin sauce is another favorite of mine.

  2. 3 Ameena June 25, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    My sister’s husband is Chinese so the only Chinese banquet I’ve attended was their wedding reception. There was SO MUCH FOOD! Honestly I didn’t eat a lot of it because it was really different from the PF Chang’s stuff that I knew (forgive me but I didn’t know 15 years ago that that wasn’t really Chinese food!) and loved.

    I love love love steamed dumplings, especially the shrimp and veggie ones. I haven’t had them in a while and probably won’t unless someone comes up with a gluten-free version. Which seems rather unlikely!!

    Have a great weekend!

    • 4 luvtoeat June 27, 2010 at 10:56 am

      Mmm…veggie and shrimp steamed dumplings are one of my faves too. Sometimes I just eat it w/o the skin as some places make it way too thick, which I hate.

  3. 5 sophia June 25, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    OMg. Chinese banquets are the BESt. I’ve been to a wedding a year ago, where they served an 8-course meal, but the food wasn’t as great as yours! Oh sharks fin soup!!! I miss it SO much! It’s almost a taboo here because sharks are endangered. 😦

  4. 6 A Canadian Foodie June 26, 2010 at 8:09 am

    Hi,Lequan!
    I have been to a similar meal… Chinese New Year… with a few different items, but had no idea what many of them were, and no one was explaining as they were too busy talking and laughing. That drove me nuts, so this was a great review for me. I don’t get many invitations to this kind of event, but ALWAYS go when I do as it is such good food, and always a warm and happy environment. It has been a long time.!
    Was this adults only? Your dad’s lobster looked so much better than this one… but, that is what homemade is all about!!!
    And, I still want to try albalone!
    πŸ™‚
    XOXO Valerie

  5. 8 thehungryscholar June 26, 2010 at 8:19 am

    I still haven’t gone past the three course meal. This looks fantastic. What a fun night!

  6. 9 aletheiazoe June 26, 2010 at 9:15 am

    LEQUAN!!

    I have to admit that I actually really like one of the cold cuts from the meat dish — it’s the faded grey one that looks like it’s been processed from cow guts and then pulsed with dust. πŸ˜€

    <33333 CRAB CLAWS TOO!!! πŸ˜€ But they're only good when crispy and fresh off the frying pan…YUM. I like the chocolate bar idea too, and have decided that if I ever get twins I'm totally stealing that innovative idea. πŸ˜€ I guess it would be too creepy to do it just for one baby. People might think I'm obsessed with turning my only baby into a chocolate bar…

    Surprise, surprise, I haven't actually been to a 10-courser before! I've been to a 4-courser, which, of course, is nothing special, and it wasn't even Asian, so there were so hard-core dishes either! I'm sure one of these days I'll be invited to one though, and I'll relish in the complete gastronomic duty bestowed upon me to chomp my face off.

    πŸ˜€ Enjoy the rest of your weekend!!!

    xo aletheia

    • 10 luvtoeat June 27, 2010 at 11:09 am

      You make that cold cut sound so appetizing. Lol.

      I’ve seen some of the dishes they have in the TO Chinese restaurants and they are beautiful. Do go to one of these events if you get a chance, you won’t be disappointed. Even if you have to tag along with your parents to a wedding, do it. Lol. I totally would just for the food πŸ˜›

  7. 11 Lazaro June 26, 2010 at 10:31 am

    LeQuan,

    Fantastic ten course meal. Wonderful food photos. I’ll take some Hennesey for sure!

    Cheers!

  8. 12 Leah @ Why Deprive? June 26, 2010 at 5:39 pm

    I love the chocolate bar idea. That is so cute!!

    I went to a Chinese wedding a couple years ago and had the ten course meal. It was quite similar to that one, and I’m still impressed with myself for trying everything. I’m not adventurous that way usually. The only thing I couldn’t do was the shark fin soup and that was more because of the texture than anything else.

  9. 13 Devaki June 26, 2010 at 10:48 pm

    Dear LeQuan – You’re killing me with this banquet! I LOVE a chinese banquet. As you can imagine all those years in Singapore so I love everything.

    The crispy chicken and the lobster is my fave. Also, shark fin soup..however I have had to give this up because my 8 year old is an advocate of wildlife and I don’t want to hurt him πŸ™‚

    The red bean dessert…oh how I miss! Why are we not in the same city? 😦

    Ciao, Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

    • 14 luvtoeat June 27, 2010 at 11:15 am

      That is so sweet of your 8 year old and even sweeter that you gave up shark fin soup so that you wouldn’t hurt him! I’m not looking forward to the day when I have to give up a certain food for my kiddies. Haha. Motherhood has definitely changed some of the way I see things.

  10. 15 Stella June 27, 2010 at 5:51 am

    Feast! And babies! Ooh, I know I’m a witch, but don’t think I mean anything by grouping those two words together (smile). Nope, I have a strict ‘no children or babies policy’ when it comes to my cauldron…
    Everything looks so delicious, LeQuan. I love the idea of that bird’s nest dish along with the fried shrimp wrapped around a crab claw. I actually think I’ve had those before, and I love them. I always felt like that didn’t taste like crab though. Now I know it isn’t! Ooh, and I like the photo of you pouring the Hennessy on your soup-I can never get live shots like that.
    By the way, I always feel desperate when I see people’s new baby photos. I’m 32 now and don’t have any children, so I’m feeling kind of antsy. That couple is so lucky though. The babies are beautiful, and I’m all for having two at once. Especially at my age (smile)!!!

    • 16 luvtoeat June 27, 2010 at 11:24 am

      Omg! Lol at the comment about feast and babies! I know you’re too kind of a witch to even think about that Stella.

      The whole baby thing, I always thought it will happen when it happens. I believe it is partly a fate thing also. No need to put pressure on yourself. I know you’ll be a great mom Stella. I’m jealous for my kids of all the wonderful goodies you’ll be making for yours.

  11. 17 Cindy June 27, 2010 at 5:59 am

    Sadly, I have not had a Chinese 10 Course meal. I have a VERY weak spot for dumplings…any kind of dumplings. I will actually work for dumplings, but I would have been all over that steamed fish! The Thai restaurants are the only place I can get a whole fish here in South Florida. I think adding Cognac to any soup is a good idea!

  12. 18 Tanantha @ I Just Love My Apron June 27, 2010 at 6:24 pm

    I have I have LeQuan! They were so good. I also liked the variety of the 10 course meal. I like too many to pick one πŸ™‚

    That’such a cute label of the chocolate! I know when I have kids I would want a boy and a girl, and if decided to have more, then it can be any gender! All the food makes me hungry!

  13. 19 tigerfish June 27, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    Quite a traditional Chinese course dinner. The first dish (cold platter) is usually a platter with fried spring rolls, prawn salad, jellyfish salad, etc when prepared in Asia and I really miss those. And the “bird nest” is usually fried yam/taro “ring or basket” to hold the vegetables. I never tried potato “basket” before.

    Congrats to the couple on their beautiful twins πŸ˜€

  14. 20 Juliana June 28, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    Oh! I love the traditional Chinese meal…so many variety…abundance…a real feast. By the way, congratulations to the couple πŸ™‚

  15. 21 denise @ quickies on the dinner table June 28, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    You’re making my tummy rumble almost violently!

    I love a well thought out Chinese Wedding banquet and I’m so greedy, it’s hard to pick favourites. I know what I DON”t like and that would be the fried rice and the dessert which is usually rather dissapointing. One time though the dessert was Chinese toffee apples and that was quite yummy – and the only time I was ever served toffee apples at a Chinese dinner, so it sticks in my mind!

    I think my faves would be steamed fish in soy sauce, with ginger shreds and cilantro, stir fried spinach and squid and prawn stuffed Chinese crullers with mayonnaise.

    Oh my! I need to get something to eat now LOL

    • 22 luvtoeat June 29, 2010 at 9:15 pm

      I’m not a fan of Chinese fried rice unless it’s all seafood. Yeah, I’m a fried rice snob like that. Haha. Nor do I like Chinese dessert either. I’ve never had Chinese toffee apples…interesting.

  16. 23 denise @ quickies on the dinner table June 28, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    PS – I also think your dad’s lobster dish looked way, way better than this one!

  17. 24 Cindy @ This Adventure, Our Life June 29, 2010 at 11:10 pm

    I have not had a ten course dinner before, I guess I am missing out :)! Wow is all I have to say! Those chocolate bars were soo cute! I do not think I have tried any of the food shown, except maybe the fried rice. My favorite Chinese dish would be the noodle dishes or anything with vegetables! I have not really had authentic chinese food… well one time…they served the head of the duck and luckily covered it with a cup at this dinner party we went to…I do not remember what I tried there though!


Leave a Reply

