Cake Pops In The Making

 It was another busy weekend for us. Two of my friends and I got together and made some cake pops, we attended a party for my friend’s twins who turned 100 days old (which I’ll most likely blog about in another post), and Sunday was a day of lawn work. Yes, we did lawn work on father’s day..haha. We’re pushing our father’s day celebration till later this week to avoid the crowded restaurants, and since my brother and sister in-law are out of town we wanted to wait till they get back to celebrate with my dad.

So today it’s going to be all about the cake pops. Is this not a cute cake stand and cake scooper?

I hope that’s what it’s called, a cake scooper. It’s not mine, it belongs to my friend Nancy (AKA cake pop girl). Anyways, I’m a novice baker, actually baking scares the bajeevies out of me. So when my friend Anju invited me to make cake pops with her and Nancy, I was a bit quite intimidated. I contemplated it for a while because I didn’t want to slow them down, but then she sent me this link. How could I say no to that?  

Instead of making the superdad cake pops, we decided to make these:

I hope you can tell that the little brown guys are supposed to be…”hoot hoots,” yup, owls.

(You can click on any of the smaller pictures to enlarge them.)

To make the “S” logo and blue superman cake pops we used white candy melts that we tinted red and blue with candy colors – which were oil based colours cause you can’t mix water with these candy melts. The candy melts come in red, yellow, and blue but we didn’t have any so we just improvised and coloured our white candy melts.

We printed the logo onto paper and then placed parchment paper on top and traced the logo. 

 

At this point we ran into a small problem. Notice that you can’t see the logo underneath the parchment paper anymore. That’s because we had to turn over the printed logos sheet and retrace them. We needed to trace the logo backwards so that when we pasted it onto the blue ball, the smooth side would be facing the right way. Great catch Anju! Aside from that small error, everything else went pretty smoothly from then on. Oh wait, actually there’s another small incident which you’ll see later.

 

 

 

 A toothpick was used to fill in any gaps.

This is the back side so we didn’t have to care about making them look nice. 

The logos peeled off really easily.

Next, we had to figure out what shape the owls were supposed to be so Anju made a little template.

Here’s the cake mix we used to make the superman balls (minds outta the gutter people, G-rated remember? ;-))

Then we used chocolate butterschotch chips for the ears and put the sticks on. In the picture above, Anju is actually dipping the sticks into melted chocolate before sticking them into the owl to make sure they won’t fall off.

Next, the blue colour had to be mixed to get ready for the superman cake pops.

Once we got all the sticks in, they were ready to be dipped. Sorry, I forgot to get pictures of the dipping as all three of us were too busy working.

Then we had another mishap and I had to take one for the team.

When Nancy dipped the first superman cake pop into the blue colour mix, it was still a little lumpy. She didn’t want to put it back into the mixture but she didn’t know where to put the cake pop either as it was starting to drip so she said turned to me and said, “LeeQs! Eat this!” Of course without even thinking, I stuck the whole thing in my mouth…..not very smart. (My hubby is shaking his head right about now as he’s reading this.) Good thing the mixture wasn’t scalding hot, but I think I got a blast of sugar through me that will probably be able to last me a week without craving for anything sweet. Shows you how mature I can be :-D.

But I wasn’t done having fun yet. That’s when Potowl was born. He’s a cross between Mr. Potato Head and an owl cake pop, hence the name Potowl :-).

He got made fun of a lot, but I won’t name any Nancy’s ;-). Don’t worry Potowl, you’ll always be my favorite.

The owls were done but we couldn’t bag them yet as they needed to be put into the freezer for a while to allow for drying.

All in all, I think the cake pops turned out pretty well. Thank you Nancy

and  Anju for the invite.

I had a great time ladies, and I hope you both did as well. If you’re into baking, I highly recommend checking out Bakerella’s blog. She has some of the cutest and coolest ideas. If you ever read this Ms. Bakerella, thank you for the inspiration and great ideas. Until next time friends and family.

39 Responses to “Cake Pops In The Making”


  1. 1 denise @ quickies on the dinner table June 22, 2010 at 6:24 am

    Awesome post LeQuan!!

    Great instructions for anyone who wants to give this a try though honestly, I’m already intimidated! 😛

    Before I read the explanation on “Potowl”, I thought that’s what cake pop owls look like after smoking pot ROFL *ahem* Sorry – PG, PG. I’ll behave now *grin*

    I LOVE the Superman cake pops and that cake stand and server/scooper/whatever are to die for!!!!

    Btw – YAAAAAAAAY!!!!! I’m finally first to comment on your blog!! I know, I know….I’m such a kid 😛

    • 2 luvtoeat June 22, 2010 at 11:27 pm

      Lol on your owl smoking pot comment! Yeah, he does look like an owl on drugs or steroids huh? I think I was the one smoking pot to have created something like that…haha.

      No worries Denise, I think there’s a kid in all of us, some more than others (meaning my immaturity ;-)).

  2. 3 A Canadian Foodie June 22, 2010 at 6:32 am

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE baking with friends! It makes everything so much more fun. Your superman cake pops are amazing! YOUR WORK WAS professional! I am truly unduly impressed. Will you do it again on your own? I know the kiddies will be thrilled with mommy and that is what makes memories!
    🙂
    Valerie

  3. 5 Ameena June 22, 2010 at 7:39 am

    These are so professional looking that you could easily sell them at a bakery…I think the idea is just awesome. I wish I had the patience and skills that you and your friends have but unfortunately I don’t seem myself having the ability to make these any time soon. Which is too bad because Maya would LOVE them!

    So kind of you to take one for the team…you are such a dedicated friend. 🙂

  4. 6 thehungryscholar June 22, 2010 at 8:39 am

    Just found your blog and I’m already impressed with your culinary skills! Those look so professional!

  5. 7 Cindy @ This Adventure, Our Life June 22, 2010 at 9:21 am

    I love that you showed us exactly how theses are done!! I always see these and was wondering!! You guys did a great job and your Potowl, that is funny!! I like your superman pops though!!! Very cool!

  6. 8 Stella June 22, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    Hey LeQuan! I love these, but I don’t think I could ever do this-me scared. I’m not good at tedious type stuff, and I see you guys concentrating while doing this like it’s surgery or something (smile). The pops are beautiful though, and I can totally tell that they are owls and superman pops.
    BTW, I’m glad you didn’t burn your mouth and only got sugar blast. I burnt the top of my mouth this week and it still isn’t fully healed three days later (weird). It was bad though, so maybe that’s why!??!
    p.s.
    Hope you guys have a great father’s day celebration later this week…

    • 9 luvtoeat June 22, 2010 at 11:41 pm

      Oh I’m so sorry about you burning your mouth Stella. I really hope you have a quick and painless recovery. I’ve been there done that and I know it’s no fun. Hope you feel better soon.

      I was only concentrating so hard cause I’m such a novice baker 🙂 This could have turned out disastrous but my friends were great in keeping me out of trouble.

  7. 10 makib June 22, 2010 at 1:52 pm

    Awesome looking cake pops! They look just as excellent as Bakeralla’s cakepops. Looks like a lot of work for me but I can see doing it with a group. Lot more fun that way 🙂

  8. 11 Leah @ Why Deprive? June 22, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    Those look SO good!! So much patience involved, I would never be able to do it!!

    A friend of my has that SAME pie server (thats what I call it, I dont think its any more right than “cake scooper”) its the cutest thing! I want one!!

  9. 12 Buddycakes June 22, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    Those cake pops look so good!!!! Very impressed — and laughing over Potowl — he would definately be my favorite too:)

  10. 13 aletheiazoe June 22, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    I WANT TO JUMP UP AND DOWN EVERY TIME I SEE THESE STUPIDLY CUTE LITTLE CAKE POPS.

    COULD THEY SERIOUSLY BE ANY CUTER?!?!?!? SUPERMAN?!?! OWL!??! POT OWL?!?!?!

    AHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHA.

    I also love how you’re wearing a Superman shirt for this special occasion. Classic LeeQs. BAHAHA. And props on taking one for the team, sugar rush and all, because you’re super-heroic. 😉

    I really really want to try making these, but the process still seems really tricky. Fortunately you had an experienced cake-pop-maker to help you out… I don’t know if I could find another such person around these parts. Sigh.

    Well, I guess that’s another thing to put on my Memorable Life Experiences To-Do list 😀

  11. 15 Lazaro June 22, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    That is awesome. Love the superman cake pops. I am a big fan. Great job.

    Be Well

  12. 16 tanantha @ I Just Love My Apron June 23, 2010 at 2:08 am

    LeQuan! first, I love THAT cake scooper!! it reminds me of the sex and the city. Those popcakes are amazing! How long did it take to finish? They seemed to be time-consuming but the finished products are worth it!

    I like the owl style. So cute!

    On another note, I like when my niece looked innocently at a camera too. She’s so precious.

  13. 17 Devaki June 23, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    Dear LeQuan – I kowtow to all u foodie divas!

    I could NEVER make these. You gals have some serious patience and talent! So very impressive and the details you put into the hootin tootin owls was too cute & my sons would’ve loved the superman ones.

    Awesome..I am a wee bit envious. I wish I had friends to cook with 🙂

    Ciao, Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  14. 18 Merry120 June 23, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    Those look awesome! I always love the look of cake pops but I haven’t been brave enough to try to make them. Maybe one day.

  15. 19 tigerfish June 24, 2010 at 2:17 am

    I thought you all were going to make a “shoe” cake!

  16. 20 5 Star Foodie June 24, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    Those are such cool cake pops! Love the owls and the ones with the logo too!

  17. 21 brittany June 24, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    great post!!!!!!!!!! I am new to your blog and love it! I love cake bites yum!! and yours are sooo cute!

  18. 22 serena June 24, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    wow. seriously looks great! You can sell those on the side!
    I’m feeling inspired.

  19. 23 Lawyer Loves Lunch June 25, 2010 at 6:11 am

    SO cool! I love them. I have crazily volunteered to make cake pops for a friend’s son’s birthday and I’m so glad you admitted you’d never made them either and walked me through the decorating. And holy Batman, props to you ladies for making a LOT! 🙂

  20. 24 luckytastebuds June 25, 2010 at 6:59 am

    oh gooosh your pops look so professional please sell some!! I’d totally buy em,especially the superman ones! hehhehe U guys are talented!

  21. 25 Hope July 5, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    question about the owls how did you put the ears on them i know theyre butterscotch chips but how did you attach them and do you dip the pops before or after you put the ears on?

  22. 29 steph July 21, 2010 at 5:42 pm

    I love your cakes ! you have done a great job with decorating! was it hard cutting down the eyes? did you just use a knife ? …I’m thinking they are so small!!

  23. 31 DessertDarling October 20, 2010 at 10:11 am

    Ohmygosh!! LeQuan! It had somehow slipped my mind that you were a blogger too! I had confused you for someone else and I’m so ashamed. Your blog is Amazing and I’m book-marking it Right Now!

    These Cake Pops are INCREDIBLE!!!! I am SO SO SO impressed. I can’t believe you made that many and they all look so professional!
    Humbled all around~

  24. 33 MIchelleP November 15, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    These are the best owl cake pops I’ve seen – I’ve I think I’ve searched the ENTIRE internet for examples! Would you mind telling me what the wings are made with and where said product could be found? Many thanks!

    • 34 lequan November 15, 2010 at 11:08 pm

      Hi Michelle,

      It’s been a while, but I think we just attached M & M chocolates to the owl for the wings. You can find M&M’s almost anywhere they sell candy. Hope that helps.

  25. 35 Kim April 5, 2011 at 7:02 am

    Hey there! I really want to attempt these for my little girls class birthday treats. May I please ask what you used for the feet and beak?? These are so adorable!! Wonderful job!!!

    • 36 LeQuan April 5, 2011 at 8:53 am

      Hi Kim,

      We used mini star decorating candies for the feet and for the beak (if I remember correctly) we cut mini M&M candies in half and stuck them on. Hope that helps and I hope your daughter has a very happy birthday!


  1. 1 Chinese Ten Course Meal « luvtoeat Trackback on June 25, 2010 at 4:46 pm
  2. 2 Oyster Sauce Isn’t Just For Chinese Cooking « luvtoeat Trackback on September 6, 2010 at 2:10 am
  3. 3 New Asian Village « luvtoeat Trackback on November 8, 2010 at 9:41 am

Leave a Reply

