Happy Father’s Day (weekend) and a Bacon Wrapped Scallops Recipe

Good morning y’all. Does anyone else have morning hair like this when you wake up?

Don’t worry new readers, she doesn’t always look like that. Since she may be reading this in another 10 years, I better make her look a bit normal or I’ll never hear the end of it.

For those of you unfamiliar with the Vietnamese culture, this is a  traditional Vietnamese dress called an “ao dai“. We’re not Vietnamese but my parents’ friends own a shop in China town that sells these. I thought this was super cute so I wanted to buy one for her. Of course they refused to take my money, so if you ever read this, thank you very much Auntie.

All right, on with business. Ever since I made bacon wrapped scallops to bring to a friend’s and blogged about it, I keep getting asked when I’m going to post the recipe. I wasn’t going to at first because to most of you foodies reading this, this recipe is just pure child’s play. But then I neglected the fact that not everyone reading this is a supercook in the kitchen (definitely me included). So what better timing than to tag this along with my father’s day post. These will go great with the steak, lamb, lobster, or whatever you’re making for Dad. They’re also a definite crowd pleaser at a pot luck. Here’s the recipe guys, now stop nagging me (you know who you are) ;-). On a side note, I like to buy my scallops at Costco. When they have their seafood roadshow I totally stock up.

Bacon Wrapped Scallops (adapted from this recipe)

  • 2 lbs fresh sea scallops (large variety)
  • 1 package lean bacon
  • juice of one and a half fresh lemon
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp garlic powder (I chose this instead of pepper because of my kiddies, but I prefer to use ground pepper)
  • long toothpicks

Rinse scallops in cold water and pat dry with paper towels. This step is very important to get a good browning on the scallops.

Mix olive oil, lemon juice and garlic powder in a small bowl. Pour over scallops and marinade in refrigerator for about an hour. Wrap each scallop with 1 strip of bacon. Keep together with toothpick. (If scallops are smaller, use half a strip of bacon)

Place scallops in a non-stick pan and pan fry (no need to add oil) on high heat for about 7 to 10 minutes on each side or until scallops turn a golden brown colour. 

An optional extra step is to pop the scallops into the oven for another 5 minutes at 400 degrees fahrenheit to get the bacon to become more crispy. Enjoy!

Before I leave I just want to share some pictures with you and wish my hubby a very happy father’s day. You’ve been the best Dad that these two little munchkins could ever have. Thank you for all that you do for us and for bringing home the bacon 😉 so that I can stay home to take care of them rather than sending them off to daycare. Always know you are well-loved hun!!!

Daddy’s little girl:

Daddy’s little boy:

When I grow up I want to be superdad just like my daddy.

Yes, he’s had huge eyes ever since he was born lol.

Only real men wear pink.

Happy Fathers Day!!!

Sorry for the really bad phone pics.

My parents don’t read my blog but I would also like to wish a huge happy father’s day to my Dad anyways and all the other fathers out there. Until next time friends and family. For all the Daddies with little girls, I leave you with this song:

22 Responses to “Happy Father’s Day (weekend) and a Bacon Wrapped Scallops Recipe”


  1. 1 onlyhereforthefood June 18, 2010 at 11:44 pm

    Aw, those are great photos, LeQuan. Hope you have a great weekend too!

  2. 2 Stella June 19, 2010 at 5:58 am

    That top photo is aweseome, LeQuan. She looks all tired and happy at the same time-cute!
    Those scallop photos really make the food look so good too! The light is perfect. Hey, is that your stove? Me want stove like that…it would be my precious (smile).
    I hope you guys have a nice weekend and a relaxing Father’s Day, LeQuan.
    p.s. pink was like totally in last year for men. Remember all the guys wearing light pink button downs with ties to work?-it was all the rage. Plus, L looks so cute in pink!

    • 3 luvtoeat June 19, 2010 at 9:10 am

      You’re always so sweet Stella! I love reading your comments cause you’re so good for me ego too 😉

      Yeah that’s my stove but I’m ashamed to say I don’t use it as much as I should. But I’m trying teehee. I took a very smart person’s advice and used the stove light for the photos.

      Can’t wait to see what you’re brewing up in the kitchen. Oh and I’mma gonna be baking today. Everytime I bake I think of you and how much better it would turn out if I had your magical witchy baking skills. Have a great weekend. Try to be a good witch 😉

  3. 4 sophia June 19, 2010 at 7:19 am

    Awwww!!! Cute photos! I love family pictures like these. And she looks to sweet in that traditional Vietnamese dress!

    And bacon? Wrapped around juicy scallops?! ooh la lah! The house must have smelled HEAVENLY!

    Do your parents not read your blog because they can’t read English, or they don’t know how to use the Internet?

    • 5 luvtoeat June 19, 2010 at 9:19 am

      A little bit of both. I tried teaching my mom to use the Internet once and I think she’s starting to get it. And by get it I mean turn on the computer lol. My dad is a busy body and can’t sit still for 5 minutes. Basically Internet + my parents = long stressful lesson.

  4. 6 aletheiazoe June 19, 2010 at 7:51 am

    Hey LeQUAN!! What a sweet post. How awesome of you to take the time to recognize and appreciate the fathers in our lives–as much as we sometimes complain or poke fun at them, they really are what render the wife’s / mother’s life interesting, aren’t they? Please excuse me if I sound as if I speak as if I have experience, although I don’t… STILL! I HAVE A MOM! And I’m a daughter. That counts, right? 🙂

    OK LOL at your son’s big eyes. It’s hilarious. I didn’t notice how totally LARGE his eyes were until you pointed it out. Every picture thereafter of him and his eyes I started cracking up, especially the ones where it looks like he’s trying to open his eyes even MORE. AHAHAHHA. Love it!

    Thanks for posting the scallop recipe. See I KNEWWWW you made ’em yourself! I wonder if Valerie would attempt this recipe with her sous-vide, seeing as how she and her friends totally scientifically and elaborately tested the machine on scallops galore not too long ago. Ha!

    lots of love and warm wishes for the weekend LeQuan,
    Aletheia ❤

    • 7 luvtoeat June 19, 2010 at 9:27 am

      That totally counts Aletheia! I think everybody needs to know how much they’re loved once in a while. I think we need to have daughter and son days too. They give us as much joy as we give them.

      Valerie’s way too talented for something like this teehee. But that was a pretty cool post eh?

      Hope you have a super great weekend as well. Sending warm hugs and wishes your way too!

  5. 8 Ameena June 19, 2010 at 10:54 am

    I don’t eat bacon but this recipe looks SO good and easy! Very impressive presentation too.

    The tribute to your hubby is very sweet. He looks like such a nice, good dad. I love the pic of your daughter sleeping on him! And her outfit is too cute!!

    Her hair looks much like mine when I wake up. Unfortunately I don’t look as cute as she does though. 🙂

  6. 9 A Canadian Foodie June 19, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    What precious photos… and your mom and dad are cute, too – lovely, actually. I think this is the first good photo – I mean – full faced photo, I have seen of your mom here! I love scallops and bacon, and water chestnuts and bacon, and madjool dates stuffed with sharp cheddar wrapped with bacon. I think there is a theme happening here… everything is better with butter – and bacon… and sweet little kissing cheeks!
    🙂
    Valerie

  7. 10 Devaki June 19, 2010 at 2:22 pm

    Dear LeQuan – Whta a great set of pics…you have a lovely family. God bless! But you already know that 🙂

    THANKS for posting the bacon wrapped scallops. Though these look devilishly easy they have some traps if you aren’t taught to do it right.

    You have done a great job teaching us how to do these perfectly! Thank you! I will be coming back to get this recipe for a potluck coming soon 🙂

    Thanks for sharing these precious pics of you and your family 🙂

    Ciao, Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  8. 11 5 Star Foodie June 19, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    Adorable pictures! And the scallops wrapped in bacon sound perfectly scrumptious!

  9. 12 Lazaro June 19, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    What a lovely family. You should be very proud. The bacon wrapped scallops look fantastic.

    Be Well…

  10. 13 tigerfish June 19, 2010 at 10:59 pm

    Both “hairdos” are lovely! Fit for that occasion! 😀

    I usually buy my scallops from Costco too :)…and may your family have a Happy Father’s Day.

  11. 14 Cindy Aguilar June 20, 2010 at 9:11 am

    Happy Father’s Day to your husband!! I love your daughter’s hair in the morning, that is too cute!! Thank you for the scallop recipe, I have never mad them, but I want to so the pictures= GREAT!! Have a great weekend with your family!!

  12. 15 Jessie June 20, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    Aww, Happy Father’s Day to two of the greatest dads out there! You four make a picture-perfect family, I just want to hug you all. Love seeing the baby pics, too! Love the Superman shirt on baby L – that’s a pretty strong fist, too! 😉

    Your bacon-wrapped scallops are making my mouth water all over the place. Oh boy, I can’t wait to have some of that deliciousness. Thanks for posting the recipe, LeQuan! I’ve never made bacon-wrapped scallops before, and it never would have occurred to me to fry them first (what can I say, I still have a lot to learn about cooking 🙂 ).

    Also, my hair totally looks like that in the morning. She looks so cute in that traditional dress! 🙂

    xoxo Jessie

    • 16 luvtoeat June 20, 2010 at 9:38 pm

      Honestly, they’re really oily pan fried but I wanted that browness and crispness on the top and bottom. Plus I didn’t have time to broil them so I took the quick way out.

      Thanks for always being so sweet with your comments Jessie! I always look forward to reading your comments and posts. Peter is a lucky man to have such a sweet adorable wife. Take good care in China!

      xoxo LeeQs

  13. 17 Tanantha @ I Just Love My Apron June 21, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    Hahaha LeQuan, your kids are so adorable! The girl is so cut in ao=dai outfit. I actually like her spiky hair when she woke up! 🙂

    The boy in a superman and his pose is so cute!!! You have a beautiful family.

    Those scallops are huge and it couldn’t be any better with the bacon wraps! Oh hey, I was born in Thailand but my ethnicity is Vietnamese 🙂

  14. 19 Juliana June 21, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    Oh! The pictures are awesome, I really enjoyed going through them…and the scallops wrapped in bacon sure look yummie!

  15. 20 Leah @ Why Deprive? June 21, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    Love all the pictures!!

    Scallops and bacon are one of my favorite things. One year my Grandma made bacon wrapped water chestnuts for one of the appetizers at our Christmas Eve party. They were AMAZING!

    • 21 luvtoeat June 22, 2010 at 12:27 am

      I never heard of bacon wrapped chestnuts until I came across it searching for my bacon wrapped scallops recipe. I’ll definitely have to try that as I love chestnuts.

  16. 22 denise @ quickies on the dinner table June 22, 2010 at 6:40 am

    OMG ROFLLLLLLLLLL!!! That first pic is just too much. I seriously can’t stop laughing!! heeheeheeee

    Thanks for sharing your scallop recipe – the pics look awesome and my goodness – your cooking range is pretty impressive!!! I want, I want!!!

    Your kids are lucky to have such great parents! Hope the big guy had a great day 🙂

    Thanks for sharing such a sweet song 🙂


Leave a Reply

