While The Kiddies Are Away, Mommy’s At Play

From my last post and all your suggestions, seems like there are a lot of Indian dishes I’ve yet to try. Thank you for opening my eyes. Buddycakes if you’re reading this, we need to do this again soon! 

Last weekend the hubby took our kiddies to Vancouver to visit my in-laws so I had the whole weekend to myself. I stayed back to attend this friend’s stagette. We’ve been friends since high school(at least 15 years). For any new readers, that’s me on the left but this picture is probably about 3 years old. Boy I miss my long hair.

There was a wide spread of food. I can’t show the stagette cake up close for obvious reasons (or many other pictures for that matter) but it’s the blue one in the middle that’s “covered up”. I put that piece of paper on just for this picture. This IS a G-rated blog you know 😉

Check out this gelatin cake, isn’t it beautiful? Yummy too.

Our bride-to-be getting ready to open her big surprise.

Can you guess what was in the box?

Last chance.

Little sister who flew in from Toronto the night before. How sweet was that?

What did you think it was, a stripper? G-rated my friends, G-rated ;-).

I wanted to dognap this little Yorkie….too cute. I so want another dog!

Our next stop was The Red Piano Bistro and Dueling Piano Bar in West Edmonton Mall.

There is a $10 fee just to enter, but think of it as paying for live entertainment. You get to request songs on this piece of paper and they’ll play the songs on two pianos (hence the name Dueling Piano Bar) and sing them live for you. The entertainers were spectacular! Well worth the $10 I’d say.

Two of my friends and I shared these malpeque oysters. I love raw oysters with Tabasco sauce. Are you a fan of oysters, sashimi or cooked? How do you like to top your oysters? 

We also shared the Red Piano Fries which is a mix of yams, yukon gold and sweet potatoes.  Not bad, but I thought they could have been crispier. They were a little bit on the soft side for me. Flavor wise they were good though.

I ordered the roasted Artichoke Stuffed Tomatoes: beefsteak tomatoes rubbed with blackening spice, stuffed with portabello mushrooms, artichoke cream and collared green pesto and served with dirty rice and daily vegetables. It was pretty good and I finished the whole plate. The only complaint I had was the tomatoes were a little bland, but that could just be me though. I’m not much of a tomato fan but wanted to try something different other than ordering the same stuff every time.

One of my friends had the Shrimp Scampi: sautéed prawns in garlic-lemon crème sauce with diced tomatoes, fresh herbs, angel hair pasta and vegetables. She was kind enough to give me a taste. I like my pasta with lots of sauce so as good as this was, there wasn’t enough sauce for me.

Another friend had the Filet Black and White: house cut 8 oz sterling silver beef tenderloin, cajun spiced and finished with alaskan king crab butterand demi glace. I had a taste of this as well and would definitely order it the next time I come here. The beef was cooked to perfection. I’m a medium rare kinda girl, how about you? How do you like your steak done?

Here are the live entertainers. You can see the two pianists sitting facing each other each with a red piano each.

Here’s the bride-to-be trying not to get into trouble with the law 😉

After dinner the ladies voted on going clubbing for old times sake. This two in my mind stands for I’M TOO OLD TO BE CLUBBING!

Well, it was definitely one of those nights where ten ladies with very high heels ended up limping out of the night club and all the way to our cars. I was never a clubber and I never will be, but for you my friend I will miss out on Vancouver and dance the night away if it means I get to spend some quality time with you. Can’t wait till your special day so we can partaye some more!

On Sunday I had a whole day to myself again so I had lunch with a friend at Joey’s Tomato, went shopping, came home and did the laundry, vaccuumed and swiffered the floor, washed the dishes, mowed the lawn and made Greenola created by the awesome and lovely Aletheia.

I love avocados so I had to try this recipe. If you love avocados and haven’t tried this yet, you gotta give it a try. Thanks for this recipe Aletheia!

Well that was a pretty jam packed weekend I’d have to say. I’d add pictures of my Sunday but this is a pretty long post as it is already. Hope you’re all having a lovely week. Until next time friends and family.

30 Responses to “While The Kiddies Are Away, Mommy’s At Play”


  1. 1 serena June 8, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    wow, what a jam packed weekend. I’m glad you had fun w/the girls.

  2. 2 A Canadian Foodie June 9, 2010 at 7:02 am

    Hilarious! Glad to see you are not TWO old TWO partaye! But, obviously no hangover if you did all of that the next day. There were so many items on the table that I have never eaten. I would have loved to have been there tasting away. I saw the green gelatin sweets we saw at the Vietnamese Bakery on the table… and the gelatin cake was novel, too. Yorkies have always had a place in my heart… so cute… and, I am not sure I would have recognized you with long hair – or was it the rose in your mouth? 😉
    What a fun weekend – with the wedding to come. You gals know how to do it up proper!
    🙂
    Valerie

  3. 4 aletheiazoe June 9, 2010 at 7:13 am

    LeQuannnnn! Haha, I love the title of this post. Yes, Mommy was definitely at play — sounds like you had a jam-packed weekend indeed! I also love that we got to see a picture of you with long hair 😀 Stunning!

    Stagette food looks AMAZING! But my favourite part was finding out what was in the box! I’ve always seen those kinds of surprises in cartoons and in movies, but never thought someone would actually carry it out in real life. Amazing. I’m going to have to be the person in the box one day. Maybe when I’m far away from Mom and Dad one day–I’ll surprise them by coming in the form of a large cardboard box. HAHAHA.

    As for abstaining from clubbing…glad to know I’m not the only one! Never was a clubber, never will be. 🙂

    Last but not least, THREE CHEERS FOR GREEEENOLA!!!! CHEER CHEER CHEER!!! YAAAAAYYY. Hope you have an awesome rest of the week — rest up well for the RETURN OF THE KIDDIES!! BWAHAHAHAHAHA.

    XO Aletheia ❤

    • 5 luvtoeat June 10, 2010 at 9:20 am

      Aww, thanks for the compliment about my long hair.

      Omg, I can so see you jumping out of a box and scaring the heck outta your parents. Too funny!

      Go team Greenola go!

      Sent from my iPhone

  4. 6 Stella June 9, 2010 at 7:15 am

    Hey LeQuan, you do look good with the long hair, but you have the right face for short hair too. And I honestly like your short hair-it shows your square jaw (that’s a good kind of jaw to have-smile).
    Oh, and I love that the sister jumped out of that box. That’s so nice. I wonder if your friend knew about it or not before it happened-it’s hard to keep stuff like that a surprise even when it’s supposed to be, you know? Glad you guys all had fun together.
    By the way, I want a dog so bad. Cauldron Boy is allergic, so I have to make due by going to my Mom’s house to see my super smart Claudie Boy. He’s so precious. You would love him-he tries to talk…

    • 7 luvtoeat June 10, 2010 at 9:27 am

      Aww, thank you for your sweet compliments Stella! That means a lot to me.

      No I don’t think she knew about the surprise. We joked about her being disappointed it wasn’t a stripper. Lol.

      That’s too bad that Cauldron boy is allergic. At least you still get to visit Claudie though. I will always be a dog lover, whether I end up getting another one or not.

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. 8 Ameena June 9, 2010 at 7:36 am

    What a fabulous weekend! I love that your blog is G rated so we couldn’t see the cake. Your friend is too cute! I would have loved to have someone jump out of a box for me. Preferably a nice tall guy with a dozen roses.

    I love your hair short but I can so relate to missing my long hair! You look great with long hair too btw!

    Oh, and I feel too old to be clubbing too. 🙂

    • 9 luvtoeat June 10, 2010 at 9:38 am

      Yeah, she’s a fun one. I only use fun cause I don’t want to say crazy in case she reads this….oops ;-). Wejoked that she was disappointed it wasn’t a stripper. Haha.

      Next time Ali is sleeping, put a box over him and from another room yell, “Maya dropped your iPad.” I’m sure he’ll be jumping outta the box even if it was a wooden one 😀 Can’t help you with the roses though, you might have to give those to him afterwards.

      Sent from my iPhone

  6. 10 5 Star Foodie June 9, 2010 at 8:56 am

    What a fun weekend you had! That gelatin cake is gorgeous! And all the food you tried looks great!

  7. 11 makib June 9, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    The blue cake is hilarious. I can only imagine what’s under that cover 🙂 Amazing amount of food!

    Sounds like it was a blast of a weekend.

  8. 12 Tanantha @ I Just Love My Apron June 9, 2010 at 5:26 pm

    Seems like a fun weekend and girls’ night out! I like raw oysters. I just has a dozen myself last night! The Yorkie is so cute! Congrats to your friend 🙂

  9. 13 MaryMoh June 10, 2010 at 12:30 am

    That is so much fun, food and friends!!! Wow…I wish I were there! You always look so sweet and pretty in all your photos 😀

  10. 15 tigerfish June 10, 2010 at 2:25 am

    What a fun girl’s nite out ! And congrats to the bride-to-be.

  11. 16 Jessie June 10, 2010 at 3:11 am

    You’ve really been living it up while Mr. Luvtoeat and Miss and Master are away 😉 I’m so glad you’ve been able to spend so much time with friends! Even if you aren’t a clubber, I think stagette parties are a great way to spend time with friends once in a while (we call then bachelorette parties in the U.S. I definitely remember mine 😉 ). That cake with the artfully arranged piece of paper is TOO FUNNY!! I gasped for air while laughing at that picture!!! “G-rated folks, G-rated” – hahahaha!! Oh, LeQuan 😛

    That’s so sweet that your friend’s sister flew in to be with her sister at the party! Isn’t that the most adorable hug you’ve ever seen? And the food that you ate – oh my. I want to eat dinner with you guys so I can try all your fantastic dishes.

    I’m glad you got to try GREEEEENola! It’s great, isn’t it?? I can’t wait to make it again when I get home!

    xoxo Jessie 🙂

    • 17 luvtoeat June 10, 2010 at 11:31 am

      My blog is G rated but my facebook definitely isn’t. Lol. You can check out all the uncensored versions on there. Plus many other incriminating pics of me…teehee. I actually had to cut something out of some of the surprise box pictures.

      I’d love to see some of those bachelorette pics of Happy (over happy) Jessie 😉

      Greenola rocks!

      Sent from my iPhone

  12. 18 denise @ quickies on the dinner table June 10, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    Hey LeQuan – you look pretty hot with long hair ROFL I don’t believe I just said that!!!!!

    *ahem* Btw – what’s on that pretty blue cake in the middle of the spread of food?? A guy *erecting* a tent???? *ahemmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm*

  13. 20 Leah @ Why Deprive? June 10, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    Looks like fun!! LOVE the cake – even though I couldnt see it all . . . I have a pretty good visual. lol

    I LOVE stuffed tomatoes, but they can be bland. I always make sure whatever Im stuffing them with almost has TOO much flavor, and that way it evens itself out.

    Also, I totally feel like Im too old to go clubbing. I feel like I got all that stuff out of my system when I was 19. But Im also 122 at heart, so . . .

  14. 21 Lazaro June 11, 2010 at 3:59 am

    Another interesting post. The food looks wonderful and those cakes look amazing. Thank you for keeping it G-rated.

    Cheers!

  15. 22 XiaoYen June 11, 2010 at 1:34 pm

    LOL! I thought it was a stripper in that box! Shame on me 🙂 Seems like you guys had a blast. I attended a bachelorette party last year at a transvesdite club. I was a bit uncomfortable because it was men that dressed up like women. They didn’t look like men at all and I was told they all had their sex operation. Anyways…love that gelatin cake, my aunt used to make these fabulous gelatin cakes.

  16. 23 Devaki June 11, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    Dear LeQuan – How great to have a loonnnngg girlie weekend~ And did mommie play!!!

    What fun! I am right there with you re: clubbing. I went to Vegas and at about 1.00am I was ready to go back to the hotel…no clubbing for me. Much rather have cocktails & Tapas till the wee hours 🙂

    Such a wonderful time you had with the girls. I really enjoyed reading your post. Have a great time resting before Daddy and the kids get back!

    Ciao, Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  17. 24 Cindy Aguilar June 11, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    Looks like you had a GREAT time! I love how you censored the cake! I also love how her sister was in a box, how cool is that!! Way cool!! Have a GREAT weekend!!

  18. 25 luckytastebuds June 12, 2010 at 6:03 am

    Good for you for ordering something out of the norm. 🙂 I admit I’m not as adventurous as I’d like to be when I’m eating out, but it’s usually cuz i’d rather pay for something i know for sure i’d love. Look how much fun you had!! I love that your friend popped out of the box. hahah It certainly is the largest box I’ve ever seen!

  19. 26 sophia June 12, 2010 at 10:25 am

    Haha so mommies can have fun, too! Glad you got a day to yourself. And I would LOVE to eat out with you. I’m sick of dining out with unadventurous people who only stick to the things they know and “trust”.

    For steak, medium-rare is the only way to go. I’m pretty snobby about that. And I LOVE raw fish!! OMG! But only if they’re really fresh. And fatty!

    • 27 luvtoeat June 12, 2010 at 3:06 pm

      If I ever visit LA I’m so calling you up! You are my perfect eating buddy. Just keep your hands off my chili oil lol. Jk 😀 Have a great weekend Sophia!

  20. 28 Light Delight with Tou Tou June 13, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    Oh My Gosh! You didn’t change at all for 15 years!!! and somehow I feel you are even prettier now! that’s amazing~~~ how do u do the skin care?!?! you should share with us your beauty secrete!!!


  1. 1 The kiddies Are Back! « luvtoeat Trackback on June 14, 2010 at 12:59 pm

Leave a Reply

