Two Canadian Foodies?

 Hi everyone! Just wanted to let you know that if you’ve been receiving older posts on your google reader it’s most likely because I went back on all of my posts and took out the names of my kids for privacy reasons. I know every protective mother will understand. For now they’re just going to be called A and B. I know, not very creative. I was going to name them Lois and Clark but that’s a bit extreme even for a superman freak like me haha. But if anyone has any suggestions I’d love to hear them 😀 Anyways, on with business.

I had the great pleasure of finally meeting Valerie from A Canadian Foodie this weekend. I first noticed her on the comment section of another blog so I decided to stalk check out her blog. Turns out we had quite a bit in common. We both live in Edmonton, blog about food, are moms, she’s a teacher at the junior high I went to, and I’m a former teacher. With that much in common I had to email her. We communicated through email a couple of times, followed each other’s blogs and one day she asked me to show her around China town. Being a former educator,of course I said yes. Nothing gives a teacher more pleasure than to be able pass on your knowledge and educate others. Although I don’t think I was much help cause a lot of the questions she asked me about the food products I couldn’t answer.

Our first stop was Pagolac restaurant. I’ve blogged about this restaurant before in another post. This is a Vietnamese/Chinese restaurant that I go to almost every weekend with the kiddies and hubby so I wanted to take Valerie here to experience some Vietnamese food. We ordered some Vietnamese coffee. Valerie had a hot one and I had an iced one. That’s Beavie. If you’re familiar with Valerie’s blog you’ll know who he is. Beavie goes everywhere with Valerie on her foodie adventures. He was very well behaved on this one 😉 (I stole the following two pictures from Valerie.)

Valerie ordered the Beef Satay Noodle soup which comes with a side of bean sprouts, mint, and chili peppers.

And I ordered the Pagolac Vermicelli Combination 5A which comes with a bowl of fish sauce. (This is an older picture from a previous post.)

Our second stop was Lucky 97 Chinese Supermarket. Is this not the happiest face that you’ve seen of someone looking at dishes? Gosh I love her bright beautiful smile. This girl was like a kid in a candy store. Her love for learning about different cultures and their food is so inspiring. There was a perk of interest in everything she saw but unfortunately I wasn’t of much help to her as I could not answer a lot of her questions 😦 

We went through each and every isle of the store. Sometimes I would explain to her what I used a specific item for and sometimes she would tell me what she used the item for. At one point as Valerie was explaining to me how she makes salad rolls, an Asian woman overheard her and came up to ask her how she used a specific ingredient. That was a proud moment for me…lol. Here’s Valerie at work:

About 2 hours and a big dent in Valeries wallet later, we moved on to a Chinese medicine/herbal store and then onto Garden Bakery to get some baked goods. Garden Bakery is my favorite bakery in China town. They really do have beautiful, delicious baked goods. And check out these cute wedding cake dolls. 

Our last stop of the day was for some bubble tea. Valerie had never had bubble tea before so I took her for her first bubble tea. She ordered the classic bubble tea and I ordered a durian flavored bubble milk tea. I wasn’t impressed with mine as it was just very sweet with no hint of durian flavor at all. And Valerie was such a sweetie she paid for my bubble tea as well. Thank you Valerie!  

Bubble tea virgin no more my friend! Woot Woot! What different writing styles we have huh Valerie? Lol. Oh and the poor girl had to bend down to my level while taking this picture cause I’m really short (5 ft) and she’s about 5 feet 10 I think.

What a great meet up this was. There never was a dull moment in our conversation, and if I remember correctly we met up at 11:30 am for lunch and finally called it a day at about 4:00. The time seemed to fly by so fast. This is definitely one of the perks of blogging, being able to meet great people like Valerie. Thank you for a wonderful day, despite the rainy weather Valerie! Your smile truly helped brighten my rainy day.

You can read a much, much better and way more detailed post of our China town adventure over at Valerie’s blog here. Please hop on over and say hi if you haven’t already done so. She has some amazing posts such as this one here. It’s definitely a favorite of mine. Until next time friends and family :-D.

23 Responses to “Two Canadian Foodies?”


  1. 1 A Canadian Foodie June 2, 2010 at 4:04 pm

    You are selling yourself short! You taught me a TON! And the readers are now helping out. Have you seen some of the information coming in over at my site – and I just posted this am. That is what I love about this hobby. The learning is immediate and purposeful and significant and so helpful and important… Thanks for the number of your lunch. I forgot to ask you that. It is blank in my post about you and I have to fill it in. There was another blank that I was going to ask you about before I published it… no one has mentioned it – but I will find it, and ask you and then add it in.
    Yes, this is new, I also forgot to link you to the Q and A Sharon did about you, and I am going to do that, too. Glad you mentioned the teaching connection – and the school connection. Hate the picture of me taking the photo. But, it is how it is.
    You will be hearing from me soon when I go to make the scallop recipe. And remember – it is not mint, but Thai Basil! 🙂
    … oh, and 5′ 8″, but that probably felt like 6 feet to you.:)
    BIG SQUEEZE
    XO
    Valerie

    • 2 luvtoeat June 2, 2010 at 7:57 pm

      Thai basil, gotcha…teehee. And the beef with the wrapped leaf was called beef lalop shishkabob and I’m pretty sure the leaf is lalop leaf. I’ll have to ask my mom if she knows where to get it and the recipe. Like I said, I’m not much help. More of an eater than a cook. Lol.

  2. 3 A Canadian Foodie June 2, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    You did not do a Q and A – silly me… anyway – it was the name of the wonderful leaf in your dish. I know I asked you a hundred times, but what is it?
    And where can I find it and where is a recipe to make that wrap?
    XOXOXO

  3. 5 Ameena June 2, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    What a great meet up! Isn’t it so nice to make new friends through your blog? I feel like I connect so well with people all over the country, sometimes better than I do my friends here, but we won’t tell them that!

    I am a bubble tea virgin as well so I am going to have to fly up to Edmonton one of these days so I can have my very first one with you!

    Just to warn you, I am 5’8″ so I’ll probably have to sit down for our picture.

    Have a great night!!

    • 6 luvtoeat June 2, 2010 at 9:57 pm

      Love making friends on here! There are some really sincere people in the blogosphere, you being one of them. If it weren’t for my kiddies, I’d be on a plane to LA with bubble tea in hand just to meet you my friend. But honestly, I think bubble tea is a bit overrated.

      Hope you have a great night as well!

  4. 7 aletheiazoe June 2, 2010 at 10:22 pm

    LEQUAN!!!! It seems awesome that just a few days after I decided to check out Valerie’s blog, you guys meet up! It fills me with so much vicarious love and joy. It’s kind of funny that the Asian woman was asking Val about salad rolls. Funny and oh so awesome!

    Haha, you’re right too — bubble tea IS overrated! But only Asians would say that. Cause we’re hardcore like that! 😉

    So when I come to Edmonton…you’re going to show me around too right? With Val of course. I don’t have a beaver, but I have a pig…and Superman glasses…… 🙂

    xo aletheia

    • 8 luvtoeat June 3, 2010 at 12:23 am

      Aletheia! Definitely give me a shout if you ever do decide to visit Edmonton. I’ll take you around for sure buddycakes 😀 And if I visit TO I want to go Asian junk food shopping with you 😛

  5. 9 tigerfish June 2, 2010 at 11:12 pm

    She is indeed all smiles looking at the dishware. 😀 ….I will be too.

  6. 10 5 Star Foodie June 3, 2010 at 10:23 am

    What a fun meetup with Valerie! Looks like you guys had a great time!

  7. 11 Stella June 3, 2010 at 11:32 am

    Hey LeQuan, I’m so glad that you and Valerie had fun. I wish I was there-three’s company you know! That store with all of the dishes looked awesome too. I bet they have good prices…
    Oh, and you’ve reminded me that I need to go and visit our Asian sector. I want to look at the dish ware! Yes…
    Hope your’e doing well LeQuan. Oh, and I think it’s really good that you’ve removed the kid’s names. There are so many weirdos on the web that this is probably a wise move for sure…
    Stella

  8. 12 Tanantha @ I Just Love My Apron June 3, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    LeQuan, what a great meet-up! I liked that you crossed out “stalk” to “check out” her blog haha. China Town is great and fulls with lots of good food. Love the bubble tea!!

    Oh, I just noticed your picture with durian in both hands. I love fresh durian. Its taste is a killer!

  9. 13 sophia June 3, 2010 at 6:56 pm

    I’ve loving Valerie and her willingness to try Asian cuisine! Her choice of Beef Satay Noodle soup?! Genius. That’s exactly what I would have chosen, too!

  10. 14 denise @ quickies on the dinner table June 3, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    Sounds like you both had fun – I’m so glad 🙂 And you’re right, Valerie has a megawatt smile; you really feel like smiling right back, even at her picture!!! LOL

    I love bubble tea, but definitely won’t choose durian 😉 I’m partial to green tea with those big chewy pearls YUM!

    The Beef Satay Noodle Soup looks really good – and yes it IS lunch time here 😀

    • 15 luvtoeat June 4, 2010 at 7:18 am

      Durian is definitely one of those you either really hate or really love kind of foods. Haha. I think I’m in the minority, but that’s ok, I always root for the underdog anyways. Lol. Have a great weekend Denise 😀

  11. 16 Can You Stay for Dinner June 4, 2010 at 10:17 am

    Lovely lovely meet up! Valerie sounds like a delight, so glad you had a great time! I love the looks of that big Chinese market! So many amazing finds! And dinner, delicious!

    I want to do a blogger meet up- they always sound like a blast.

  12. 17 Roti n Rice June 4, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    Looks like you girls had fun! Probably also lots to share and talk about, food being such a wide and interesting topic.

    Durian bubble tea? People are really getting creative. I must say you are pretty adventurous there.

  13. 18 Lazaro June 4, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    LeQuan,

    Very cool post. I look forward to meeting some of my fodie friends. Hopefully. Thank you for sharing.

    Cheers!

  14. 19 MaryMoh June 10, 2010 at 12:41 am

    What an awesome meet-up! I’, looking forward to meeting one some day. I have been trying hard persuading my friends to start blogging but they give me all sorts of excuses 😦 Just how much they miss out. I can see both of you had an awesome time. Oh….I miss the pearl tea! There’s none here. I think I have to make myself!

    • 20 luvtoeat June 10, 2010 at 10:14 am

      Mary, thank you so much for catching up on my bloggie! You’re so sweet! Anyone who doesn’t blog is really missing out on this wonderful experience. Don’t know why I didn’t start sooner. I’m so glad to have met such nice, friendly people like you on here 😀

      Sent from my iPhone

  15. 21 uconn2010 June 10, 2010 at 2:29 am

    Yay! I’m so glad you got to meet Valerie because she seems so darn cool! And how cool is Beavie?? 😉 Double yay for blogger meetups! 🙂 Just being able to meet someone you’ve only known virtually thus far is fantastic. You two seem like you have a lot in common! I giggled at the big dent in Valerie’s wallet – I can never seem to leave an Asian grocery without putting a huge dent in my wallet as well. And bakeries are the best!!

    Hehe, “bubble tea virgin” 😛 That’s too bad about the durian flavored one – maybe they forgot the durian, and it will be better next time? Anyway, I’m glad you two had a blast! 😀

    (Also, I think it’s smart to take your kids’ names out of the posts – that must have taken a lot of work! Miss LTE (luvtoeat) and Master LTE? I actually really like the names Lois and Clark!)

  16. 22 Jessie June 10, 2010 at 2:44 am

    Whoops! Sorry LeeQs, I accidently posted under the name for my University’s website. It’s also wordpress so it keeps me logged into that by default. If someone posts under “uconn2010” again, that’s me 😛


  1. 1 Only Here for the Food » Blog Archive » Food Notes for June 7, 2010 Trackback on June 8, 2010 at 12:37 am

Leave a Reply

