Padmanadi Vegetarian Restaurant and Hello Kitty Cake Pops

Thank you so much for all the kind comments on my last post. You guys are all so sweet! Today I’d like to share my experience at this vegetarian restaurant with you called Padmanadi. You can view the menu and find out more about this family owned restaurant by clicking the link.

It’s not a very big restaurant but with all the tables full at 6:30 already there was still ample space for the waiters/waitresses to maneuver their way swiftly around each table. I like that it’s well-lit too. I’m not a big fan of dim restaurants.

For our first dish we ordered the Roti Canal (Crispy Pancake) – grilled Indonesian bread served with curry sauce.

This was like Chinese onion cake, minus the oil and onions. It was grilled to perfection as it came out still smoking hot with the perfect crispness. I thought the curry sauce was a bomb though. No, not “the bomb”, a bomb. I didn’t even know it was curry sauce until I looked at the menu again. It was a bit on the sweet side for me, not enough curry flavor, and too runny.

Next came our soup. Veggie Sharkfin with Corn in Soup.

This was a disappointment for me. It was basically canned cream corn with an egg added and some noodles to imitate the sharkfin. If you’ve had sharkfin before you’ll know I’m talking about those clear translucent noodles.

Next we wanted to order their Veggie Curry Chicken with Potatoes but they didn’t have that so they substituted with this dish. I don’t know the exact name of it on the menu but it was another curry chicken dish.

This curry was much better than the one that came with the crispy pancake. It was thicker, spicier, and actually had great curry taste. Now if only they would’ve done that with the other curry sauce. The mock chicken meat almost tasted like real chicken. It even looked like real chicken.

Next was the PADMANADI Mushroom Deluxe – six different kinds of mushrooms with vegetables.

When this dish came out it immediately caught my attention with it’s presentation. I’m happy to say it tasted as good as it looked. Kayla and I both love mushrooms and loved this dish.

Moving on, we had Stuffed Tofu – deep fried tofu stuffed with veggie ham served with oyster mushroom sauce.

Sorry, I forgot to take a picture of the inside for you. I’m such a bad food blogger. Two thumbs up for me on this dish. You’d think the deep fried tofu would be oily, but that was not the case at all. It had perfectly crispy skin, not chewy like those ones you have at dim sum, while the inside was soft and smooth like tofu should be. The sauce added great flavor to the dish as well.

Our last dish of the night was their Celery Eggplant with Black Bean Sauce.

I’m not a huge fan of celery so I was very pleased to see that there were none in this dish, not big chunks of it at least. For the most part it was all big chunks of eggplants (which I love). I’m assuming those little green flakes were the celery? The black bean sauce was delicious but a bit on the oily side.

We were too full to order dessert. All in all, I would give this restaurant an 8 out of 10. The service wasn’t great but it wasn’t lacking either. We didn’t need to wait too long for our table. Most of our dishes were delicious and came out steaming hot (I hate it when my food is just warm). Once the first dish came out, the rest followed at a good pace. The atmosphere was light and welcoming with pictures of guests posted on most of the walls making everyone feel welcomed. So where did it lose points? Well each dish was about $10 but I found the dishes to be rather small in size compared to dishes you order at a regular Chinese restaurant. Part of the reason why we didn’t order dessert was because they didn’t have a dessert menu. The waiter had to describe each dessert to us. So for those reasons they didn’t score a perfect 10 in my books. With that said, I would still go back.

Do you like vegetarian food? Could you live without meat?

Address
10626-97st Edmonton, Alberta
phone: (780) 428 – 8899

Hours
Tues-Sun: 4pm – 10pm
Closed Mondays

Before I leave I’d like to share this picture with you. I found this while looking for all the pictures above. What was I doing? Trying to make sure I was included in the action. It gets lonely at the back of an eight seater mini van. This was in Vancouver while visiting my in-laws.

Also, some of you foodies were asking about the Hello Kitty cake pops I talked about in my previous post so I tried to get my friend to do a guest post on here but she said she couldn’t take credit as she got the recipe off a blog. Here’s the link if you guys are interested.

http://www.bakerella.com/here-kitty-kitty/

Well that’s it for now. Hope you all have a wonderful long weekend! Until next time friends and family :-D.

27 Responses to “Padmanadi Vegetarian Restaurant and Hello Kitty Cake Pops”


  1. 1 Jessie May 21, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    Haha! You are too funny popping your head up in the back of the van!! Hahaha! And Lex is like, “No, I’m not impressed”. Hehehe 🙂

    ANYway 🙂 I’m glad the food got better as the meal progressed because I can tell you weren’t too impressed with what you got in the beginning! Those crispy pancakes look right up my alley – I love the ones with onions, but those are always dripping in grease. Peter has made them before and boy, do they require a LOT of oil!! I’m glad the second curry was better than that dip, at least.

    Now, that celery eggplant with black bean … I suppose if it didn’t TASTE like celery it would be ok … the picture looks promising! 😉 It’s good that the restaurant is a keeper – maybe it will be better the next time you go!

    Take care, dear LeQuan! xoxo

  2. 2 xiaoyen May 21, 2010 at 4:45 pm

    I find imitation meat to be too rubbery so I never order those whenever I eat at vegetarian restaurants. The curry dish looks really good. I always order one curry dish.

  3. 3 whydeprive May 21, 2010 at 5:26 pm

    I could totally live without meat, I eat VERY little as it is. What I couldnt live without is cheese!! 🙂 Cheese and I are in love. I guess its a good thing Im having an affair on the side with running eh? Otherwise the cheese thing could become an issue!!

  4. 5 aletheiazoe May 21, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    Oh man, Chinese onion cake is DA BOMB!! The ingredients are really simple: flour, oil, green onions, salt. More oil. 😀 My mom makes it all the time, but it definitely requires a bit of grease!

    I could probably live without meat for a very very long time. But during this time, I would probably lose control and one day just rip into some fresh fish. Man oh man — I really love fish.

    I love all of the dishes you showed, but particularly the tofu and the eggplant. I could taste the tofu from the way you described it (I’m a very sensual reader, what can I say) and the eggplant–well, I LOOOOOOVE eggplant. NOM NOM NOM. You’re right though — the dish you got served looks a bit on the oily side indeed! It’s funny how the celery got reduced to bits of green. I don’t even think that’s celery. Maybe they just lied to you and it’s just an eggplant dish. Ha!

    ALSO — I checked out the Hello Kitty lollipops recipe! I was so excited to make it..and then I realized how difficult it is, even if the site does say that it’s easy! 😦 Maybe I’m just lollipop challenged. Grrrrr.

    In any case, since you’re a Canuck, you’ll understand when I say HAPPY LONG WEEKEND!!!!!!! YAY!!!!!!!!

    • 6 luvtoeat May 22, 2010 at 6:15 pm

      You and I need to get together for a feast my friend since we have such similar likes in food.

      Hey if you can create Greenola, you can make cake pops. Don’t short change yourself. By the way I got my ingredients to make Greenola. Just gotta wait till the avocado ripens 😛

      Dudette! I’m an Oilers! Lol. Always an Oilers fan, always will be. I stay very true to the things and people I like 😉 HAPPY LONG WEEKEND to you as well my fellow Canadian!

  5. 7 tigerfish May 22, 2010 at 1:29 am

    So it is not just in the US, they give so little gravy for roti canai too in the Canada. In Asia, they give so much gravy and that is best!

  6. 8 denise @ quickies on the dinner table May 22, 2010 at 1:42 am

    Oh LeQuan! No wonder you didn’t like the curry for the roti canai (that’s how it’s spelt here) It looks so wrong! It should be darker, with more body and spice! You were definitely shortchanged on that curry! The rotis look really good though 🙂 Glad the rest of the meal went better!

    Thanks for the bakerella link! Now I’m too intimidated to even take a look LOL

    I could easily live without eating meat – especially now that I know what atrocious lives most livestock live today, before they end up as our food 😦 Anyway, I’ve always been crazier about veg and carbs , though I have to admit I would miss bacon and rib eye steak 😉

    • 9 luvtoeat May 22, 2010 at 6:19 pm

      I love veggie dishes much more than meat dishes too but I also have to admit, I don’t think I could live without an occasional steak or burger. I thought about going vegetarian once but I knew I wouldn’t be able to do it for long so gave up on that thought.

  7. 10 A Canadian Foodie May 22, 2010 at 4:26 am

    Where is the restaurant here? I will have to look it up. Everything looks really good. Maybe the celery was describing the kind of eggplant? I did look that p – and it doesn’t appear to be the case, but I have found in many different Asian restaurants that the translations in English are not always what we think. Did you ask? Just a thought.
    I am looking forward to our lunch and tour of Chinatown with you next Saturday! I hope it is sunny!
    XO
    Valerie

    • 11 luvtoeat May 22, 2010 at 6:23 pm

      We didn’t bother asking about the celery. I was actually happy there were none as I’m not a big fan of celery anyways. This restaurant is in Chinatown. I’ll show you next weekend. Can’t wait to finally meet you in person Valerie.

  8. 12 A Canadian Foodie May 22, 2010 at 4:41 am

    The kitty pops are so cute and SOOOO easy to make – did you see that the post you referred us to with the recipe has 363 comments??????? Somebody should pay that girl something! Anyone that get’s 363 comments for creating an idea like this has an audience and should publish her work and get some real moula. I have never seen a post with 353 comments. Now that is blog maintenance. I would never have time to cook!
    🙂
    Valerie

    • 13 luvtoeat May 22, 2010 at 6:26 pm

      Yeah I actually left her a comment to say thank you for the post and to let her know I linked her site on my post just to be polite and etiquette I guess. But yeah, WOW! I totally agree with you.

  9. 14 Stella May 22, 2010 at 6:16 am

    Hey LeQuan, that’s too bad about the roti canai. It is such an awesome dish when done properly. Plus, vegetarian places are usually spice experts, since they don’t have all the fat and meat to make things flavorful. Weird. Glad everything else was better…

    Oh and thanks for the link to those pops. I was curious about them. They look hard to make, which kind of scares me (I can bake like there’s no tomorrow but decorating is a whole other story). I’m going to look at them in a minute…

    Hey, is it just me, or does Lex look a lot like grandpa? I think Lex looks like Gary too, but I guess that would make sense if that’s Gary’s Daddy…(smile).

    • 15 luvtoeat May 22, 2010 at 6:30 pm

      If anyone can make these cake pops it’d be you and Valerie. You gals both have amazing baking skills. There’s so much I need to learn from the both of you.

  10. 16 Tanantha @ I Just Love My Apron May 22, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    All the food looks so good!!!
    The curry looks like one of the Thai curry dishes and the imitation chicken looks so real. My favorite dish from your post is the fried tofu one. It just makes me hungry as looking at it. I love tofu!

  11. 17 Devaki May 22, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    Dear Lequan – I love roti canai 🙂 This post reminds me of my days in Singapore when I used to go to Buddhist vegetarian hawker stall and eat dinner. I miss the wonderful refreshing flavors.

    Could I become vegetarian for life? Nope 🙂 There are too many exciting cuisines to cook from and life is too short for one little cook like me 🙂

    You had a wonderful feast. Nothing of the likes in my hometown.

    Ciao, Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

    PS – So cute – you peeking from the back seat. Your baby is lovely!

  12. 18 sophia May 23, 2010 at 5:19 am

    I don’t like meat all that much, so I wouldn’t DIE if I couldn’t eat meat…but I would certainly be VERY cranky that I can’t eat hotdogs or even dumplings and wantons!

  13. 19 Ameena May 23, 2010 at 8:53 am

    I saw the Roti Canal in Malaysia and Singapore and desperately wanted to try it but I do believe it is 99% gluten. 🙂

    I love vegetarian restaurants…I don’t eat meat and I hardly eat fish anymore either. I just feel so much better when I eat veggies I guess so I am always on the lookout for new veggie places to go. Indian veggie is my favorite. Now I just need to find a decent Indian restaurant outside of India and London!

    Have a great Sunday!

    • 20 luvtoeat May 23, 2010 at 11:43 am

      I would love to try Indian vegetarian food! When we go to an Indian restaurant I always stick to the chicken or anything w/o meat in it. All the sauces are so delicious but I’m really picky with my meats. I gotta find a veg Indian restaurant by me now.

  14. 21 Velva May 23, 2010 at 7:01 pm

    Awesome! Thanks for sharing this restaraunt with your readers.

  15. 22 eatspinlive May 23, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    I loved this post! And an onion cake sounds delicious 🙂 I hope you are enjoying the weekend!

  16. 23 Cindy Aguilar May 24, 2010 at 10:32 am

    The roti canal looks great!! Also the mushroom dish 🙂 You make me hungry, LOL!

  17. 24 Light Delight with Tou Tou May 24, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    This is tooooo vegetarian…hahahaha but it kinda remind me of the Chinese way of eggplant , very enticing!The Chicken curry looks really good, at first I thought it was bamboo:-D
    you just remind me of a vegetarian restaurant in shanghai, they name all dishes in “meat” but those are all made of tofu. M’mmmm so good!

  18. 25 Roti n Rice May 25, 2010 at 9:19 am

    Roti canai is good but the curry has to be good too. Glad the second curry was better. Thanks for the link on the cake pops. It’s really interesting but beyond my scope. I am too impatient.

  19. 26 5 Star Foodie May 25, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    Great meal! I like the kitty cake pops! We eat vegetarian quite often but do still need meat at least a few times a week.

  20. 27 MaryMoh May 27, 2010 at 4:13 am

    What a beautiful vegetarian meal….so many lovely dishes. The roti canai make me drool…really miss that. I like it with dhal curry and a hot glass of teh tarik…mmmm. Now I miss home 😦 …. all because of you…haha Loe that last photo…..you are so funny 😀


Leave a Reply

