The Lobsters are Coming, The Lobsters are Coming!

 Hello everyone! Thank you for the warm Mother’s Day wishes! I really appreciate you taking the time to drop by and wishing me a happy Mother’s day 😀 I know some of you were not able to spend Mother’s day with your moms because you live so far away but always remember, no matter the distance, a mother always keeps her children close to her in her heart. 

If you haven’t guessed already, on the menu for Mom’s day was LOBSTER! I am a huge seafood fan. Put seafood in front of me and I turn into Homer Simpson at the sight of a donut. There’s no holding me back.

T&T Chinese Supermarket was having a sale on large lobsters (3 lbs and up) at $7.99 per pound. So of course I had to get in on the action. I loaded the kiddies into the SUV along with Grandpa (who else did you think was going to pay for the lobsters? teeheehee) and off we went. We were feeding 8 people so we got 4 large lobsters. My Dad wanted to get 6 but I don’t know why I stopped him, guess I was having a crazy moment 😉

Those of you who have been to a Chinese wedding where they serve that 10 course meal will be familiar with this dish. I’d like to say I made this kick-ass lobster with cream sauce on top of noodles dish but I didn’t so I must give all the credit to Daddio. 

Let’s just get to the recipe shall we? Be warned, this is so high in fat but so irresistible, definitely worth it but an “occasional treat” type of dish. Remember, we made 4 large lobsters with the ingredients in the picture below so I will give you the recipe according to 2 regular sized lobsters.

ingredients:

  • 1 bag of noodles (any brand you prefer)
  • 2 onions chopped
  • 1 green pepper cut into pieces
  • 10 cloves garlic chopped
  • 2 can evaporated milk
  • 1/2 cup 2% milk
  • butter (up to you how much you want, let’s just say we used A LOT)
  • 4 tbs cooking oil
  • 1 tbs cornstarch
  • 1 tbs vegetable broth powder
  • 1/4 cup water

Yeah, look at all that butter. Dad accidentally bought the fat-free evaporated milk too so I had to run out to buy 3 more cans of regular evaporated milk. Tastes much better to me. Sometimes we like to cook outside with this so it doesn’t smoke up the house.

Oh and if you ever buy lobster from T&T they will actually chop it up for you if you ask them to. Saves a lot of time. Now onto the cooking steps.

Deep fry the noodles or boil them in water (depending on what kind of noodles you buy),  move to a plate and set aside for later use.

Deep fry the lobster until the shell has turned red. Set aside for later use. This step helps to hold the meat together during stir-frying.

In a bowl mix 1 tablespoon cornstarch and 1 tablespoon vegetable broth powder with 1/4 cups water. Stir and set aside for later use

In a wok heat up 4 tablespoons cooking oil on high heat. When oil is smoking hot add garlic, onions and green pepper. Cook until the onions have softened. 

Add the lobster and butter to the wok. Toss the lobster around until all the butter has melted.

Turn the heat down to medium and add 2 cans evaporated milk, 1/4 cup 2% milk and the cornstarch and water mixture. Toss everything around until the cream fully coats all the  pieces of lobster. Pour on top of the plate of noodles set aside earlier. It may seem like there’s a lot of cream sauce but don’t worry, the noodles will soak all that up.

There you have it, lobster and cream sauce on top of noodles just like the restaurant makes it. I’d have to say this is probably much creamier than the restaurant version but we only have this about once a year so that’s ok.

All 4 lobsters were enough to feed 8 people and we still had some leftovers. Mom didn’t want to be in the pictures cause she said her hair was a mess…sigh. No matter what you look like we still love you and your cooking, but this one’s for you Mom. Hope you had a very happy Mother’s day!

Do you have a favorite dish or food that is an “occasional treat”?

Before I leave Denise @ Quickies on the Dinner Table and Lazaro @ Lazaro Cooks are teaming up to host a cooking challenge for a chance to win Denise’s wonderful cookbook Quickies: Morning, Noon and Night (minds outta the gutter peeps). If you’re interested please click here.  Don’t forget to check out my Giveaways! page every so often. That’s it for today, until next time friends and family. Hope you’re all having a wonderful week so far :-D.

38 Responses to “The Lobsters are Coming, The Lobsters are Coming!”


  1. 1 amandasunshine May 12, 2010 at 1:25 am

    thank you so much for the Mother’s Day wishes – you are a doll! i haven’t been on my blog in a couple of days – piper and i have been sicky 😦
    i am sooo jealous of all the lobster, you lucky duck! i can only imagine how incredible that was! it looks like you had a fabulous day and i’m so happy for you…
    …but then again, how could you NOT have a fabulous day with those darling faces smiling up at you?! such blessings!

  2. 2 A Canadian Foodie May 12, 2010 at 6:33 am

    I hardly know what to say! That photograph with your dad and the monster wok says it all. That is a beautiful photo. Enlarge it – really. It is gorgeous. These were the biggest lobsters I had ever seen – thanks for the sales tip. I fed mine to my parents, too! Didn’t know TNT would chop them for you… alive? Just asking! 🙂
    I love reading your posts! I learn so much, The outdoor wok set up it a beauty. That must be some powerful heat. I have never seen such a beautiful meal for Mother’s Day! The PERFECT meal. And, I agree, lobster has to have butter… and you had leftovers. MMMMMMMmmmmmmmmm! That is amazing. But, it is a great big dish. Your children are so incredibly fortunate to be close to your parents and to have your family cook these celebratory meals together. You are building some very big, and significant memories. And traditions! Next year, lobster again!
    XO
    Valerie

    • 3 luvtoeat May 12, 2010 at 11:55 pm

      Yup yup, they will chop up the lobsters for you live. Love that cause I hate killing things with my own hands. As you can tell I definitely take advantage of living in the same city as my parents. I make sure the kiddies see them at least once a week. And when I’m there it means I don’t have to cook, which is a huge bonus when you have 2 little ones.

  3. 4 aletheiazoe May 12, 2010 at 8:50 am

    Whoaaa… what happened to the leeks??! They totally disappeared beneath the sauce!

    Your kids look totally OK with lobsters crawling on your kitchen floor – HA! I also love the shot of your outside-cookware setup – it’s got snow in the background! DAHAHAHA.

    (Don’t worry, the weather sucks here too.)

    😀 aletheia

  4. 6 Can You Stay for Dinner May 12, 2010 at 9:20 am

    Unbelievably delicious feast! I would absolutely adore that meal- butter and all its glory. There are some meals that you just don’t even pay attention to the nutrition of. I think really decadent desserts are that way for me. I just delight inthem and move on. No need to worry about the calories, the fat, etc because I just enjoy them so dang much.
    Your kids look so precious in that pic with the lobsters too!!

  5. 7 Lindsay May 12, 2010 at 9:53 am

    I’m so jealous of the awesomeness being sent through these photos!!!! Such cute kiddos!

  6. 8 Cindy Aguilar May 12, 2010 at 11:13 am

    WOW! I love lobster and this looks fabulous!! I love the photo of your children with the lobsters!! 🙂 Have a great Wednesday!

  7. 9 Lazaro May 12, 2010 at 11:14 am

    What an awesome post. Glad you had an amazing Mother’s Day. Your lobster dish looks fantastic. So full of flavor.

    Thank you for mentioning our cooking challenge. I appreciate it.

    Cheers!

  8. 10 Roti n Rice May 12, 2010 at 11:43 am

    Wow…that looks amazing! Now you are making me crave lobsters.

  9. 11 Stella May 12, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    Hey LeQuan, this lobster looks so good! And every time you guys eat with your parents, I want to be there. The food looks so enticing, especially when you guys start with all that seafood-my weakness too.
    By the way, I can’t get lobster here. In fact, I don’t know if I’ve ever seen any lobster at all in the markets. Unless you count those over-sized crayfish that were caught near the nuclear power plant (smile but seriously)…

  10. 12 Ameena May 12, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    I haven’t had lobster in so long! I do remember my sister’s Chinese wedding banquet (she married a Chinese guy) and the lobster there was pretty amazing. Yours definitely looks even better though. And how cool that you can just cook outside?

    I have to say Le Quan that while Lynn Chen rocks, you rock too! Your comments are so sweet and genuine and you make me feel like a million bucks every time you leave one. You have no idea how much they make my day.

    Thank you for being such a sweet, kind person. You make the world a better place.

    PS – That picture of your kids and the lobsters is just crying out for a picture frame. Too cute.

  11. 14 Stella May 12, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    Hey Mamita, No! I’m jealous. I want to go to your parent’s house and eat deliciousness while getting salon treatments (smile).
    I’m making Lequan’s yummy yum for the third time tonight by the way! yes…

    • 15 luvtoeat May 13, 2010 at 12:11 am

      I love it Stella! Thank you so much for your kind words. And I am so honored that you made my dish and posted it on your blog! So glad that you liked it. I’m all giggles inside 😀

  12. 16 whydeprive May 12, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    I am proud to say that Ive been to a Chinese wedding, and tried EVERY course they served. That was a stretch for me since Im not a seafood fan. I even ate jellyfish. Very proud of myself.
    The lobster however, I quite liked.
    I cant get over how big that lobster dish is though!

    OH – and I love the snow in your yard! 🙂

    • 17 luvtoeat May 13, 2010 at 12:15 am

      Hey good for you for trying all those dishes! I hated jelly fish until I was preggos with Kayla. She made me crave it and now I actually like it. But Chinese food certainly has some pretty wierd dishes that I have to think twice before even considering trying.

  13. 18 Jessie May 12, 2010 at 6:44 pm

    Wow, if they serve those creamy lobsters at a Chinese wedding, I want to go to one of those!! I think it’s good that Daddio made the sauce because Mommio deserves some pampering! I love how you cooked outside, too – although, is that snow I see on the ground?? I remember it snowed there recently, but I can’t believe you still have snow!!

    Can I come over to your house for dinner, LeQuan? Seriously, every one of your posts has me drooling on my keyboard. That picture of your little ones with the lobsters is too cute for words – and how adorable is Lex in his cape??

    BTW, I totally giggled like a little girl at your post title 😉

    • 19 luvtoeat May 13, 2010 at 12:21 am

      Yuppers, that’s snow you see. But to be fair, most of the snow around the city had already melted. It’s just that that part of my Parents’ back yard doesn’t get much sun.

      Jessie, you’re more than welcome to join us for dinner any day! I’d be thrilled to have your whole family over. Like I said, it’s really too bad we live so far away. Such a bummer.

  14. 20 tigerfish May 13, 2010 at 2:15 am

    Gosh, the lobsters look huge! Lobster noodles – yum yum!

  15. 21 MaryMoh May 13, 2010 at 3:55 am

    Wow….huge lobsters!!! I think I think my dada to be here too to help me if I buy them 😀 That looks really delicious. I love your mobile stove. I have to look out for that. I have one in my back yard it’s not mobile. Right now it’s still too cold to cook outside…abt 3 degrees Celsius…and windy…..brrrr

    • 22 luvtoeat May 13, 2010 at 2:36 pm

      3 degrees celcius? ick! i hope the weather gets much better for you soon! i’m sure one of your wonderful spicy dishes will keep you warm though 😉

  16. 23 eatspinlive May 13, 2010 at 7:41 am

    I love this post! Your kids look so happy looking at the lobsters 🙂 And the dish looks and sounds amazing! I have never tried lobster before, but I definitely love seafood so I will have to try it soon!

  17. 24 denise @ quickies on the dinner table May 13, 2010 at 8:30 am

    *BIG FAT GASP* OH-MY-GOD!!! Jealous does not describe how I feel right now! I’d trade one of my kidneys for a taste of that 😛 It looks out of this world LeQuan!! And I’m jealous of your mum too! Hubby never cooks for me *harrumph* I’m going to make him read this post!!! Hope you and your mum had a fabulous Mother’s Day 🙂

    Btw – thanks so much for the challenge mention. You are the best LeQuan!

    • 25 luvtoeat May 13, 2010 at 3:45 pm

      no need for the thanks Denise. since i’m not talented and creative enough to enter a dish for your challenge, the least i could do was mention it right?

      oh and LOL about making your hubby read this. but to be fair, we do only make this like once a year.

  18. 26 eatmovelove May 13, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    Y’know…I’ve never had lobster…:0 – I know, and I’m from the east coast haha. I do LOVE seafood though…but something about those claws turned me off…could be because my Dad used to chase me around the house with the claws as a child…;)

    Thank you SO much for that amazing comment you left me about blogging…wow, it really means so much. I feel like I waste my time doing it…I should be studying to do my job better (the job that I hate and am finishing tommorow…but still have to get the same type of job in order to survive), or that I should be writing a book if that’s what I say I want , or going out …I don’t know anymore. All I know is that I’m sitting down now with pizza and some Survivor 😉

  19. 27 sophia May 14, 2010 at 3:13 am

    OMG!!! What a FEAST!
    I don’t actually really like lobsters so much…but my bro sure does! He has expensive tastes!

  20. 28 rosebelle May 14, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    Those lobsters are sooo BIG! My goodness. I don’t believe our Chinatown stores have any this big. Your dish looks yummy!

  21. 29 xiaoyen May 14, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    I wish I can do my stir-frys outside in my backyard. It’s sooo much better then to steam up the house inside. I love all the foods you displayed. Must of been a wonderful feast for you and your family.

  22. 30 Cindy Aguilar May 15, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    I left you an award 🙂 at my place today

  23. 31 Devaki May 16, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    Dear LeQuan – PWEEZE PWEEZE PWEEZE can you invite me over the next time you fix these????

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE lobster and for that pic with your dad stir frying them in the wok, I will eat it with all its 75000 calories and remain a fatty for the rest of my life!!!!

    Fantastic. I need to go now and wipe the drool off the keayboard and perhaps order a new one 🙂

    Hugs, Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  24. 33 Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce May 16, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    omg the lobsters are bigger than the kids! haha

  25. 34 bruleeblog May 17, 2010 at 11:26 am

    I love how you used fat free Carnation but added extra butter. lol

    Looks delicious!

  26. 35 theemptynutjar May 20, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    u know…i dont think i have ever even tried lobster!

  27. 36 actorsdiet May 23, 2010 at 8:13 pm

    i haven’t had lobster in forever!

  28. 37 Jill July 20, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    I don’t remember the last time (only time?) I had lobster, but it was good! That dish looks delicious and your kids are adorable with those lobsters on the floor like that hehe! 🙂


  1. 1 Chinese Ten Course Meal « luvtoeat Trackback on June 25, 2010 at 4:47 pm

Leave a Reply

