I’m Melting

Yipee! It’s my birthday today! Happy happy joy joy! I’m so glad my birthday falls on a Saturday this year because that means I get to spend my whole day with the hubby and kiddies πŸ˜€ Plus, my in-laws are coming into town to celebrate with me too. How cool are they?! The hubby and I knew we wouldn’t be alone this weekend so we decided to celebrate last weekend. Have any of you ever heard of The Melting Pot? This is Edmonton’s newest fondue restaurant. It may be old news to those of you in the States but this restaurant just opened about a month ago here so we decided to give it a try. Apparently we’re also the first and only city in Canada (so far) that this American franchise has opened in.

Gary and I decided to order the Big Night Out. This was a set four course meal which included a Feng Shui cheese fondue, lettuce wraps, an entrΓ©e big enough for two people to share, and a chocolate fondue. If you’re interested in the menu and prices click on this link and then menu.

Our first course was called the Feng Shui Cheese Fondue. The ingredients of the fondue included white wine, mirin, sake, Gruyere cheese, horseradish, and chive Havarti. Along side the fondue the server also brought us some Granny Smith apples, carrots, celery, cauliflower, and bread to dip. The Granny Smith apples were my favorite as the acidity helped to mellow out the rice wine. Everything you see in the picture below was to share between the two of us.

rseradish and chive Havarti.

Our second course was the lettuce wraps. This included cucumber, carrots, bean sprouts, mint, and honey roasted almonds served with a mandarin orange-ginger dressing and a garlic wine seasoning. I really enjoyed this dish because it helped lighten the strong alcohol taste still left over from the cheese fondue. The almonds were a perfect ingredient as they added the perfect crunch to these wraps. I tried one wrap plain (without the dressing or garlic wine seasoning), one wrap with just the mandarin orange-ginger dressing, and one wrap with both the dressing and seasoning. I enjoyed the wrap with both the dressing and seasoning the most. Each person got their own plate like this:

Our entrΓ©e came out with this little contraption. Guess it was just to keep the broth from spilling.

For the entrΓ©e you get to choose one of four cooking styles. We chose the Coq au Vin which included herbs, mushrooms, garlic, spices and burgundy wine.

And we went with the Lobster Indulgence for the third course. This dish was to be shared between the two of us. It included two lobster tails, citrus-infused pork tenderloin, Ahi tuna, garlic chili chicken breast, kiwi lime shrimp, vegetable dumplings, potatoes, cauliflower, mushrooms, and broccoli.

It also came with an array of dipping sauces. Sorry, I can’t remember any of the names.

The plate that they bring you is perfect for this entrΓ©e.

I was a little disappointed with this entrΓ©e as it’s supposed to be the main dish but I found that the food was a bit bland. The lobster was the biggest disappointment due to the lack of succulent seafood taste. I could have steamed a lobster at home and gotten better taste out of it. I don’t think I could choose a favorite out of this dish as everything tasted just blah to me.

Finally, what I’ve been waiting for all night….DESSERT! We went with the Yin Yang chocolate fondue. Half dark chocolate and half white chocolate. I’m a huge fan of white chocolate. I swear I could have just eaten that plain by the spoonfuls. MMM..MMM GOOD!

This dessert came with (from bottom going clockwise) some pineapples, cheesecake, pound cake (on both sides of the cheesecake), bananas, strawberries and coated marshmallows (middle). This was way more than enough dessert for the two of us.

The marshmallows were my least favorite as they were too sweet, and I’ve got quite a sweet tooth. I’d have to say I liked the bananas the most. Oh and because I love white chocolate, we tried to keep the chocolates from mixing so I found that the strawberries with the dark chocolate were the perfect match.

So all in all Gary and I both enjoyed the experience, but for the price (our bill came to about $150) we agreed that this would be a “special occasion” type restaurant for us. The service was great, and with all the different dishes and sauces, the waiters/waitresses definitely have their work cut out for them. Also I should add that it took us about three hours to finish our meal, and we had reservations too. The time flew by fairly quickly though. So if you’re planning to try out this restaurant, allow yourself at least 2 and a half hours to spare. The only big complaint I had was that the restaurant was a bit too dark for my liking. I hate dark restaurants. Other than that, it was a great experience. The Melting Pot is located at:

#117 2920 Calgary Trail NW
Edmonton, AB T6J 2G8
780-465-4DIP (4347)
Fax: 780-669-3753

If you missed my last post and you want a great “food read’, be sure to check out this spectacular post written by Valerie @ A Canadian Foodie. Best blog post I’ve read so far. If you’re here looking for your blogger award that I notified you about then click here. And don’t forget to check in on my giveaways page every now and then. Well I’m off to enjoy the rest of my weekend with my family and some friends visiting from Vietnam. Hope you all have a wonderful weekend. Until next time friends and family.

42 Responses to “I’m Melting”


  1. 1 Cindy Aguilar April 17, 2010 at 10:42 am

    Okay, I love the Melting Pot and now, I want to go!! ahhhh…Happy Happy BIRTHDAY!! Hope you have a great day with your family!

  2. 3 Light Delight with Tou Tou April 17, 2010 at 11:42 am

    Oh Whoa!!!! Happy Birthday!!!! that was really a great celeration πŸ˜€ you are so luck to have such a wonderful family and spetaculous birthday day!!! I have never heard about the melting pot even I am in U.S but i would definitely give it a try when i finds out where they are! the yin yang dessert is hilarious !!!

  3. 5 line that divides us April 17, 2010 at 11:47 am

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY SWEET MAMA! great job on snagging the blogger award, and in such little time too!!! *raise the roof*! hahha…’hey shawty…its your birthday’!

    btw…i’m sooooo making your shrimpfu tomorrow, i’ll let you know how it turns out.

  4. 6 line that divides us April 17, 2010 at 11:50 am

    also…gary’s such a sweetie!…all that scrumptious deliciousness is making me hungry.

  5. 8 Ameena April 17, 2010 at 2:05 pm

    Happy Birthday from Tokyo!! I had no idea you are 33 because you look SO young. Melting Pot looks delicious, I have never been there but we have one in LA somewhere. I will need to check it out when I get back!

    And thank you for the award, so nice of you!

    Hope you have the best birthday ever!!

  6. 10 onlyhereforthefood April 17, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    Happy birthday! That dessert fondue is even better than a cake, I would say.

  7. 12 eatspinlive April 17, 2010 at 11:06 pm

    Happy Birthday!!! All of your food looks amazing as usual!! I really wish there was a fondue restaurant in my town! It looks so AMAZING and like so much fun πŸ™‚ And I havent been able to blog these past two days…but I read that you chose me for one of your blogger awards! That meant so much to me and I really appreciate it so much! Thank you so very much and I hope you are enjoying your weekend!

  8. 14 BlessedHi5Ive April 18, 2010 at 1:59 am

    Happy Birthday LeQuan! You and my daughter and I share the birthday month. Your celebration looks really good. The Melting Pot in San Jose Calif has been around a little while and their fondue is better than the one I had in Switzerland. It was really yummy but I found out I could not eat that much cheese.

  9. 16 Can You Stay for Dinner April 18, 2010 at 8:33 am

    Oh Happy Belated Birthday!!!!! I’m so glad you had a wonderful night out at the Melting Pot! Everything looked positively delicious, I just love the idea of the restaurant, but for some reason have never gone. I guess I thought that maybe it wouldn’t be that filling?? Probably wrong though. My favorite part of your meal has to be dessert. I loved the yin yang with the separation of chocolates. I would love to try the cheesecake dipped in white chocolate! Yum!

    I hope you enjoy the time with your family and friends! You deserve the happiest, most special birthday around!

    • 17 luvtoeat April 18, 2010 at 11:04 pm

      Thank you for the birthday wish. I don’t think I would have been full if I had just ordered the entree. But because we had dippers, salad, entree and dessert, plus drinks I was pretty stuffed at the end. The entree itself definitely would not have filled me up.

  10. 18 theprocessofhealing April 18, 2010 at 9:00 am

    I’ve always wondered about the Melting Pot but have never been because of the price. I’d go for just the dessert though!

  11. 20 Lazaro April 18, 2010 at 10:01 am

    Saw your profile on another page. Glad I read your informative and well-written blog. Look forward to following you here. Cheers! Happy belated B-day!

  12. 22 A Canadian Foodie April 18, 2010 at 3:58 pm

    LOOK AT ME – I’m 33! I remember that year well. It bothered me a great deal to turn 33. I am not sure why. Only 40 bothered me more. But, it was a very good year, and now I know what a gift 33 is. Young. Strong. Healthy. Capable. Happy Birthday! Great treat… the sauces interest me. I read Sharon’s post about this place, too. Vanja is not so adventurous. He is a good sport, though – but, I do try not to abuse that. This would be a girl friend dinner out. I will have to initiate that.
    Also, thank you for he shout out regarding my post and my writing. I truly appreciate it and want you to know it means a lot to me.
    Happy Happy!
    πŸ™‚
    Valerie

    • 23 luvtoeat April 18, 2010 at 11:13 pm

      Thank you for the birthday wish Valerie:-) I’ve learned to be happy at any age. After all, I’m blessed with such great friends and family. What more could a girl ask for?

  13. 24 Jessie April 18, 2010 at 7:10 pm

    AHHHHHHH! I can’t believe I missed you birthday! HAPPY (belated) BIRTHDAY! It looks like you had a great one – I can’t think of a better way to celebrate a birthday that with delicious food πŸ™‚ Weekend birthdays are perfect for this.

    There’s a hotpot restaurant in this state – I think it might actually be the same one you went to. If it is, I want to go! (Special treat, of course πŸ™‚ ) I agree that I could probably gobble that gorgeous chocolate fondue by the spoonful! I’m so glad you had a good time πŸ™‚

    • 25 luvtoeat April 18, 2010 at 9:26 pm

      Lol. No worries about missing my bday, dear. I always say, better late than never πŸ˜‰ I’m just happy I’ve found such nice bloggie friends like you in the blog world πŸ˜€ Thank you for the birthday wish!

      The Melting Pot is a franchise in the States so if it’s not the same name then it’s probably a different restaurant.

      There is no part of the body that when broken, hurts as badly as the heart. (anonymous)

      Sent from my iPhone

  14. 26 sophia April 18, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    Oh wow, I’ve always wanted to visit this place…but I heard that it’s pricey!!

    Dang, I don’t remember if I managed to wish you a happy birthday…but Happy Birthday once again! You’re not oldER…you’re just wiser!

  15. 28 denise @ quickies on the dinner table April 18, 2010 at 10:34 pm

    Hi LeQuan, sorry I wasn’t able to check out your post sooner – been so busy! Happy Birthday Sweetie πŸ™‚ Hope it was a fantastic day for you and so sorry again I’m late 😦

    Thanks again for the lovely award last week and please come by my blog when you have a minute. I have something for you – you’re not obliged to accept but please do take a look πŸ™‚

    denise

    • 29 luvtoeat April 19, 2010 at 10:54 am

      No worries Denise. I know what a busy Woman you are. I’m just so glad you take the time to drop by and read my blog every now and then. Thank you so much for the birthday wish and the award!

  16. 31 MaryMoh April 19, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    Happy Birthday, LeQuan! I’m sure you had an awesome birthday..can tell from your blog. You have so much good food. I wish I was there!!

  17. 33 whydeprive April 19, 2010 at 3:58 pm

    AH! I missed your birthday. I hope it was great! That meal looks fabulous. I’ll have to remember to go there if Im ever in Edmonton!

    Happy Belated Birthday! πŸ™‚

  18. 35 actorsdiet April 19, 2010 at 7:00 pm

    happy bday! and thanks for the award too πŸ™‚

  19. 37 Simply Life April 21, 2010 at 6:34 am

    I love the Melting Pot…and I love lettuce wraps! Looks great!

  20. 38 Roti n Rice April 21, 2010 at 8:27 am

    Happy Belated Birthday LeQuan! Don’t know why I missed this post. Looks like you had a wonderful birthday. You’ve read my mind…I made lettuce wraps and was thinking of doing a cheese fondue which I have not done in ages πŸ™‚

  21. 40 Serena April 21, 2010 at 10:38 am

    Wow, looks amazing, especially the YinYang chocolate fondue. It did seem like a lot of work judging by the array of dipping sauces πŸ™‚


  1. 1 Spreading the Love « luvtoeat Trackback on April 20, 2010 at 7:20 am

Leave a Reply

