Mothering Before Blogging

Hi friends and family. Been off of blogging for a while (but have still been enjoying reading your blogs) cause my kiddies have been a bit sick and now I think I’m coming down with something.  Always a mother before a blogger right 😉 So this is going to be a really short post.

Last night I dropped off the kiddies with my free babysitters and attended this with the hubby:

He had asked about 3 weeks ahead if I wanted to go with him so despite being sick and hating to cancel on people I still went, now that’s love…haahaa. There wasn’t much to eat there as we expected, just some appetizers. But they did have free alcohol, typical engineer party teehee (no offense to any engineers out there reading). Being the food piggy that I am, I took a piece of everything that didn’t have pork in it. I may be shy at taking pictures when others are in them but when it comes to stuffing my face, ain’t no cold  and shyness gonna hold me back.

It was nice going back to the U of A. Brought back a lot of nice memories of our dating days. After this we picked up the kiddies and headed home. I was pretty full already and wasn’t in much of a mood to go out for dinner (if you’re reading this, sorry babes). I wanted to get home for a nice hot shower and get into my nice comfy bed (sniffle sniffle).

I actually wanted to share the recipe of this dish with you, 

but because I’m feeling a bit under the weather I’m going to have to hold off till my next post. It’s a dish of spinach, tofu, and shrimp stir-fried together. I’m not very creative when it comes to making up names for my dishes but if any of you have a suggestion as to what this could be called for my next post I’m definitely open to all suggestions. Hope all of you are having a better week than I am. Until next time friends and family.

34 Responses to “Mothering Before Blogging”


  1. 1 Cindy Aguilar April 8, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    I really hope you guys feel better!! Your tofu, shrimp and spinch dish looks soo good!! I will try to brainstorm a name…not good at that either!!

  2. 3 luckytastebuds April 8, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    Oh no!! I hope your week improves soon….positive thinking is always helpful!

    THAT is a gorgeous dish! I love that kind of tofu!! It’s so soft and custard-like…the japanese are genius for inventing it!

    Hmmm maybe “Custard tofu shrimp”?? hahah I think i fail.

  3. 5 MaryMoh April 8, 2010 at 3:37 pm

    Oh dear…so sorry to hear your kids are not feeling well and you too. I hope all of you recover very quickly. Love your tofu dish. Looks very delicious….mmmm. Please take care…good rest & good food 😀

  4. 7 Roti n Rice April 8, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    I hope you and your kids feel better soon. It is so hard when mommy is sick. Looking forward to your tofu dish post. Take care 🙂

  5. 9 eatspinlive April 8, 2010 at 6:11 pm

    I am sorry you are feeling under the weather!! I really hope you feel better soon 🙂 Your food looks amazing though!

  6. 11 line that divides us April 8, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    awww…i hope you and the kiddies recover soon, this weather’ll do that to ya. it snowed here today! at first i thought it was rain but on second look realized they were frozon rain haha.

    that last dish looks scrumptious! shrimpfu! hahahha

    all the dishes you’ve blogged about reminds me of my mother’s cooking 😦 nothing beats a mother’s cooking.

    • 12 luvtoeat April 9, 2010 at 12:07 am

      Yeah it’s snowing and really windy here too. That’s Canadian weather for ya. I want my spring back!!!

      Shrimpfu…teehee…that’s so you. I likies 🙂

      Nothing beats a Mother’s anything. Thanks for the well wishes Ms. Line That Divides Us 😉

  7. 13 Sze April 8, 2010 at 11:30 pm

    Are you guys ok? This storm we have tonight is just crazy…I think I’m going to stay in tommorrow to be safe, u too.

    • 14 luvtoeat April 9, 2010 at 12:14 am

      Thanks for the concern Sze, we’re ok. Just a normal cold…no big deal, don’t worry. I’mma supermom remember? 😉 teehee. The kiddies will be taken good care of. Good idea to stay inside tomorrow. If you must go out please drive safely.

  8. 15 Jessie April 9, 2010 at 5:41 am

    Aww, I hope you and the kiddies feel better soon, it’s no fun being under the weather 😦 You ARE supermom, but even supermom’s need rest! Looks like you had some delicious food at the reception – it’s always fun to go back to the school days, isn’t it? I can’t wait to see your recipe for the shrimp dish, but get plenty of rest and feel 100% first!

    • 16 luvtoeat April 9, 2010 at 10:28 pm

      Thanks Jessie 🙂 Funny how when you’re in school you can’t wait to finish, but when you’re working you reminisce about the good ol’ school days.

  9. 17 denise @ quickies on the dinner table April 9, 2010 at 7:24 am

    Hey LeQuan 🙂 Sorry to hear you and your little ones aren’t feeling well. I’ve not been feeling my best either – got a bug from my 16 year old 😦

    I think we moms try to do too much and end up wearing outselves out and becoming easy targets for any bugs hanging around, waiting to pounce. I’m going to step back and squeeze in a little more sleep somehow. Hope you manage to do the same LOL and that you and your cutie pies are bouncing around again real soon.

    I’d love that plate of soft, comforting yumminess right now. I love tofu when I’m under the weather – so easy to eat, and restoring, especially in a soup! Looking forward to your post 🙂

  10. 19 Light Delight with Tou Tou April 9, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    The party food is much better than ours!! obviously engineering department is much more generous in planning a big party 😀
    the dish just reminds me of my Mom’s plate. it’s very “home” flavored!!!
    Hope you feel better over the weekend, coz I really want to replicate this yummy dish!

  11. 21 actorsdiet April 9, 2010 at 8:38 pm

    i love alumni events. i totally regress.

  12. 23 Ameena April 10, 2010 at 10:23 am

    So sorry about the kids not feeling well, isn’t that the worst? I hope you are all better soon!

    But it looks like you had a great alumni event and lots of good desserts. What could be better that a plateful of dessert?

  13. 24 luvtoeat April 10, 2010 at 11:10 pm

    A second plate full of desserts ;-). Teehee. I did have some fruits but forgot to post the picture.

    Thanks for the well wishes Ameena.

  14. 25 sophia April 12, 2010 at 12:35 am

    Let’s call it…surf and tuft. Because surf = the shrimp (seafood) and tuft= plants = soy= vegetarian = that tofu. LOL! Haha!

    You know what? That is ONE tofu I actually LOVE. It’s that eggy, custardy tofu, right? So flavorful, unlike the regular ones.

  15. 27 5 Star Foodie April 12, 2010 at 11:49 am

    That tofu and shrimp stir fry looks great! Hope you all feel better soon!

  16. 29 Stella April 12, 2010 at 7:45 pm

    Hey LeQuan, I hope you and the kids feel better soon. And I want to see that shrimp, spinach and tofu recipe-looks so delicious…

  17. 31 Melissa Cleaver April 12, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear that you and your family are under the weather! Get well soon!

    Just wanted to pop in to let you know that your blog received an award! Humbly accept it here:

    http://www.mommylivingthelifeofriley.com/2010/04/received-award-academy/

    Congratulations!

  18. 33 aletheiazoe April 21, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    “There wasn’t much to eat, as we expected” – WHAT?! YOUR PLATES LOOK DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Although, yes, you’re right – I suppose there aren’t any steaks and rice pilafs flying around … and definitely no real good stir-frys like that spinach-tofu-shrimp smorgasboard that you’ve got going on there. Ha!

    Your cooking makes me homesick. I am going to appreciate my mother so much more when I return back home after finals this week. And it’ll all be because of my Asian blogger friends who make me realize how special it is to have an Asian mother. Gosh, I love my mother. LeQuan you are bringing out the best of sappy-daughter in me. You rule!

    🙂 aletheia

  19. 34 luvtoeat April 22, 2010 at 12:04 am

    Oh girl, those plates were just snacks to me lol. You haven’t seen me eat yet.

    I’m so happy to hear that you’ll be going back home soon. I’m sure your mom has some yummy dishes up her sleeves for you 😛 And ain’t nothing wrong with being a sappy-daughter. I’m trying to soak in the heartmelting feeling I get when my daughter tells me she loves me before she thinks she’s too old to tell me that. Enjoy your trip back home, dear! Moms rock!


Leave a Reply

