Stir-Fried Shrimp and Asparagus With Oyster Sauce

I’m not much of a tech savvy person so I’m still dumbfounded as to what happened with my deleted comments from the other post. After a lot of breathing exercises, I did email WordPress and am still waiting for a reply. I have a feeling that when I went to add the link to Sophia’s giveaway and pressed update, it must have deleted all my comments. If that is the case then it really was my fault and not WordPress’ fault. Like I said, I’m still an amateur at this blogging thing and still learning the ropes. I think everything we do on the computer should have an “undo” button (for computer 101 idiots like me) so that if we accidentally do something we don’t want, we can push that button and well, “undo” it. I’m not mad that people can’t see my comments. I’m just mad that you guys took the time to leave a comment and they all got deleted. Of course Jessie, being the sweetie that she is, went back and actually recommented (is that a word?). Thanks for doing that girl, you rock! Anyways, I’m determined to get to the bottom of this.

I haven’t put up a recipe in a while so this post will include two dishes that we had for dinner. The first one is stir-fried asparagus and shrimp with oyster sauce.

  • 1 bunch of asparagus
  • 10 – 15 medium peeled and deveined shrimp
  • 2 Tbsp cooking oil
  • 5 cloves garlic chopped
  • 2 Tbsp oyster sauce
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 tsp chicken broth powder (or a dash of salt)
  • 1/4 cup white cooking wine

Cut asparagus into one inch lengths. Heat the cooking oil and chopped garlic in a wok or pan on high heat. When the garlic turns golden brown, throw in the asparagus. Stir and toss the asparagus around for about 2 minutes. Add cooking wine. Cover for about 3 minutes.

Add in the shrimp. Stir around until the shrimp start to turn pink/orange.

Add in the rest of the ingredients. Toss and stir until all the shrimp turn pink/orange.

This is the chicken broth powder I like to cheat with use sometimes.

This next dish is a stir-fried salt and pepper shrimp.

  • 15 – 20 medium deveined unpeeled shrimp
  • 2 cloves garlic finely chopped
  • 3 tablespoons cooking oil
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons spice salt

Heat up the cooking oil and chopped garlic in a wok or pan on high heat. When the garlic turns a golden brown, lay the shrimp down in the pan. Cook shrimp until the bottom side turns pink. Sprinkle the top (uncooked) side of the shrimp with one teaspoon sugar and 1 teaspoon spice salt. Flip and repeat on the other side of the shrimp with the rest of the sugar and spice salt.

This is the brand of spice salt that I used.

Once the other side of the shrimp all turn pink, give the shrimp one last toss and stir to mix the ingredients. If you want you can definitely add some red chili and some shallots to this dish at the very end for colour. I didn’t because of my kiddies.

We also pan-fried some trout with garlic and cooking oil.

Three dishes with some white rice and dinner was served.

Kayla seemed to enjoy dinner. But where’s her little brother?

Getting into trouble as usual….sigh.

Hope you enjoy these dishes if you do decide to make them. Before I go, Sophia at Burp and Slurp and Michelle at Lucky Taste Buds are having some giveaways. Have a great Wednesday everyone!

9 Responses to “Stir-Fried Shrimp and Asparagus With Oyster Sauce”


  1. 1 Roti n Rice March 31, 2010 at 8:06 am

    Looks like an awesome meal! Some of my favorites there….

  2. 2 Ameena March 31, 2010 at 8:40 am

    I love shrimp! Thanks for the awesome recipes.

    How cute are your kids? Seriously, love the firehat. And your nice kitchen. 🙂

  3. 3 lisa ng March 31, 2010 at 9:49 am

    How pretty Kayla! yes brother is cutie too, i want to make all these dishes…so perfect with bowl of rice. addind to my list thanks!

  4. 4 Cindy Aguilar March 31, 2010 at 10:25 am

    Your children are soo adorable! The asparagus look soo good! I want to try that salt and pepper shrimp!! That would have been my brother also, playing at dinnertime (at least one of two is sitting)!

  5. 5 Jessie March 31, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    Haha! “Recommented” is a word now 😉 Your dish is making my mouth water, and I just had dinner. I think oyster sauce is an underrated sauce that’s not in enough kitchens, so I’m glad to see it!

    I know I’ve said this before, but your kids make me melt. They are just SO adorable! I’m looking forward to a few of our own in a few years 🙂

  6. 6 Stella March 31, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    Hey LeQuan, dinner at your house always looks so good. You know, I don’t eat a lot meat these days, but, when I do it’s almost always seafood. I’m going to try that easy shrimp saute with asparagus-I’ve been meaning to buy some oyster sauce anyway at the advice of a chef friend. On that note, do your recommend a brand? I bought one at Publix once. It was odd, and I didn’t know if it was supposed to be that way or not???

    • 7 luvtoeat March 31, 2010 at 11:46 pm

      hi Stella! good question. don’t know why i didn’t provide a picture of the bottle of oyster sauce i used. anyways, the brand of oyster sauce i like to use is the Lee Kum Kee premium brand. here’s a picture of what it looks like:

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oyster_sauce

      if i can’t find that brand then i go with the Lee Kum Kee panda brand. i find the premium brand has a stronger oyster taste, which makes sense because i believe the first ingredient listed is oyster. whereas with the panda brand the first ingredient listed was not oysters, i think it was water. oh and i think my parents prefer the premium brand as well. hope that helps!

  7. 8 denise @ quickies on the dinner table March 31, 2010 at 11:36 pm

    Look at all that lovely asparagus-sy GREEN!! Love it and shrimp too – guess you already know 🙂 LeQuan, you really, really should get your kids into showbiz LOL

    Hmm Idiot Undo Button? I say YES!!! We need one, the time has come! Where do I sign? Whom do I talk to about this ?? 😉

  8. 9 Stella April 2, 2010 at 6:28 am

    Thanks LeQuan, I will put the Lee Kum Kee premium on my shopping list!


Leave a Reply

