Steamed Shrimp With Garlic

Yesterday my Dad brought over barbecued duck from a Chinese supermarket for us to have for dinner. He’s always bringing food over for the kiddies. Well I guess in his books I’m still considered part of the “kiddies” group…teehee. Love how parents/grandparents are so cool like that.

I know it’s so unhealthy but the skin is the best part of a barbecued duck. I remember when I was a kid I used to go for the drumstick but then only eat the skin and give the rest back to my Dad. Having kids of my own definitely brings back memories of my childhood. Now I save the drumstick for someone else:

 For veggies I stir fried two batches of spinach. I hate stir frying my spinach one batch at a time just cause I can’t fit it into my wok so whenever I make spinach I have to take out my mother of all woks. Fits two batches perfectly.

But then after it’s all cooked it seems like such a waste.

I’d like to share one of my hubby’s favorite dishes that I make with you. It’s
steamed shrimp with garlic and so quick and easy to make. Here are the ingredients:

  • 15 – 20 peeled and deveined shrimps
  • 3 cloves garlic finely chopped (about 4 tablespoons)
  • 4 tablespoons cooking oil
  • 1 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 1 pinch of salt to taste
  • 1/2 a teaspoon white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch (optional)
  • 1 dash of white pepper (optional for parents with little ones)

In a bowl mix all the ingredients together (except the shrimp). You can leave out the cornstarch if you want but I like to use it cause it helps the garlic somewhat stick to the shrimp after it’s cooked.

Lay out the shrimp in your steaming dish with the deveined side facing up.

Pour the mixture evenly onto the shrimp and heat on high for about 10 minutes.

Once the shrimp is done there will be juices released into the dish. I like to keep that juice cause all the sweetness of the shrimp is in that juice. If you don’t like it you can always dump that out. To add some colour to your dish you can also chop some green onions and add them as well or some parsley. Sometimes I substitute scallops for the shrimp.

I made also stir fried the rest of the bag of shrimp with some satay oil just to finish off the bag. The barbecue duck was put into the mini oven to reheat. Voila, dinner is served.

While we’re eating dinner we also feed the kiddies while they play. A will sit still for the whole dinner but this little guy won’t.

So it’s only fair to let her join him. We feed them a spoon and once they’ve swallowed they come back for another spoon. I know some parents would disagree with this method but this is what works best for us. Sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do.

B just discovered how to go down the slide the proper way. He used to just slide down feet first on his stomach….teehee.

Well if you do try that dish out I hope you enjoy it. You can definitely use less oil if you want or less garlic. I love garlic so I use as much as I’m able to without overpowering the dish. Hope you’re having a good week!

13 Responses to “Steamed Shrimp With Garlic”


  1. 1 serena March 17, 2010 at 10:42 pm

    wow, that’s a lot of shrimp. i love it! I bet that mixture can work with fish as well. I also put my barbecue duck and roast pork in the oven broil and re-crisp the skin.

  2. 2 Lele March 18, 2010 at 12:14 am

    That looks like the delicious food I ate in Taiwan! I’m still trying to recreate it… in Virginia… it’s not going that well 😦 So I am stoked to have your recipe!

  3. 3 sophia March 18, 2010 at 5:02 am

    Ah-ha! That is the exact kind of food I wanted to let my cousin try, except she scrunched up her snobby nose and it smelled too “chinese.” lol.
    I love the skin of BBQ duck, too! We all need fat anyway so might as well get it where it’s tasty!

  4. 4 mai March 18, 2010 at 6:33 am

    this got me really hungry.. nice blog you have here..

  5. 5 Alissa March 18, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    That looks AMAZING! Yum!

  6. 6 light delight with Tou Tou March 19, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    Awesome combo- I love BBQ duck, and I LOVE skin too!!! it’s always a fight between my Dad and I for the duck skin 🙂
    See kid’s happy face !!! she’s sooo adorable 😀

  7. 7 Cindy Aguilar March 20, 2010 at 3:42 am

    I love making spinach and I too always feel “cheated” it starts out full and shrinks way too fast!! My Dad still considers me on the kid list also 🙂

  8. 8 denise @ quickies on the dinner table March 20, 2010 at 6:52 am

    Garlic and shrimp -YUM! Have to try your recipe, cos I know it will taste delicious.

    I know what you mean about feeding kids LOL I started out on the journey of parenthood with all these ideals that I got from parenting books but my boys are now 16, 12 and 10 and I can tell you, all the things those books (which earned their authors and publishers a tidy bundle I’m sure!) said don’t always work 😀 Sometimes you just gotta go with the flow!

  9. 9 Ameena March 20, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    Your kids are just adorable!

    I love shrimp and am always looking for healthy ways to cook it. Thanks for the great idea. I have never steamed fish before but it looks like something even a pathetic cook like me could handle!

  10. 10 Stella March 20, 2010 at 10:52 pm

    Hey Lequan, that shrimp looks so nice. I never thought to steam shrimp-something to try soon…
    Oh, and that little girl in the picture looks just like a mini you.

  11. 11 Jessie March 21, 2010 at 3:04 am

    Haha, I love the picture of Lex coming down the slide – he’s such a cutie!

    My husband would be jealous of your mother of all woks 🙂 I actually love barbecued duck, especially the skin (grew up eating plenty of it). I drag my husband to a huge Asian market that’s not all that close and get their crispy barbecued duck. Mmm 🙂

    Have a nice weekend!

  12. 12 Elle (Bromography) March 21, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    I have to agree that the duck skin is the best part! Your shrimp looks delicious. I will have to give the recipe a try.

  13. 13 Kristen @ Change of Pace March 21, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    Shrimp dishes are one of my favorite summertime foods! I’ll have to save this one to try on my husband!

    You know sometimes I feel like it’s all I can do is chase my kiddo around and shove a spoon in her mouth. All she wants to do is be on the go. She definitely does NOT have time to sit in a chair and eat! I know exactly how you feel and if it works for you then everyone else shouldn’t worry about it 🙂


Leave a Reply

