Just Take The Time

Sometimes life gets so hectic that we forget to slow down and really enjoy it with the ones we love or even just take the time to tell them how much they mean to us. So with that said I’d like to take the opportunity now to thank my knight in shining armor, my prince charming, my rock, my hubby. And no dear, I’m not having an affair with 4 different people, you are all of the aforementioned to me and so much more.

Just before Christmas I somehow threw out my back playing floor hockey. Well to make a long story short, I haven’t been able to exercise or lift anything at all (not even my own son). I tried acupuncture but that didn’t help much so now I’m giving physiotherapy a try. This has been going on for at least 2 months and my husband Gary has been super supportive. He has been helping out with chores around the house that have been too heavy for me to do, he showers the kids at night, he plays with them after he gets home from work so I have some time to myself (these days it’s to blog…teehee), and the first thing he does when he walks through the door after work is give his children hugs and kisses. In the last post I mentioned chores that I do around the house but forgot to give credit to the hubby for helping me out. I don’t want him to feel that his help is going unnoticed. So let the record show that yes hun, I truly do appreciate all that you do for the kids and I. You are a wonderful Dad and husband and thank you for all your efforts! If there’s someone in your life whom you feel you may have neglected lately cause life got a little hectic then just take the time to say those 3 magical words, or if it’s a friend, “how are you doing?” also goes a long ways. The most important thing is to remember to take the time.

Alright now let’s talk about something both Gary and I can definitely agree on….FOOD! Last night we went over to my parents’ house for dinner. My mom made a spicy Vietnamese beef noodle soup called “bun bo hue”. It’s basically a deviation of the famous beef noodle soup called “pho” but it’s extra spicy. Here are all the toppings you can put into the dish (starting on the bottom left working clockwise):

1st plate: cilantro, onions, green onions, lime, red chili peppers

2nd plate: beef brisket, deep fried ground pork meat called “cha”

3rd plate: shredded red and regular cabbage

4th plate: bean sprout, shredded chinese veggie called “ong choy”, shredded banana flowers

5th plate: mint and in the jar we have shrimp paste

plates not shown: pork leg, slices of rare lean beef, vermicelli noodles

Sorry for the blurry picture but I just wanted to show you all that yummy spiciness in the soup. You can see that the soup is basically red in colour from all the spice and chile. In the words of Emeril Lagasse, BAM!

Here’s my bowl. I added all the veggies but for meat I only put in slices of lean beef. I’m really picky when it comes to my meats and all the other meat we had for this dish kinda grossed me out so I chose to leave them out.

My Dad’s bowl with everything put in! That chunk you see on the bottom of the picture in his bowl is the pork leg. See what I mean by grossed out? Plus I’m not a huge pork fan.

Gary’s bowl with everything put in it as well. Pork leg, beef brisket, ground up deep fried pork meat, slices of lean beef, and all the veggies. That’s just way too much meat for me.

And there you have it, “bun bo hue”. Next time you’re out at a Vietnamese restaurant maybe you can give this soup bowl a try. Only order it if you’re a meat eater and love spicy soup. Otherwise I would recommend just sticking to pho. Hope you have a great rest of the week! Ta ta.

9 Responses to “Just Take The Time”


  1. 1 Kara Lacroix March 4, 2010 at 4:34 am

    Yum! I love this spicy soup…why does yours look better than mine? Keep the recipes coming! Loving this blog.

  2. 3 Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce March 4, 2010 at 5:31 am

    aw, gary sounds like a sweetheart! you guys have such a solid marriage. i really hope your back feels better soon, that sounds miserable! i KNEW you were vietnamese by your name when you emailed me 😉

  3. 5 Stella March 4, 2010 at 10:34 pm

    Oh Oh, is that Vietnamese Pho? Wish I was dining with you and that little cutie. Seriously, this looks so good. I’m coming down with something and could really use a broth soup right now. Maybe I’ll make my fiance make it.

  4. 7 sophia March 5, 2010 at 5:34 am

    Aw, what a sweet post to your husband…does he read your blog? He sounds like an amazing husband, and you are so blessed to have each other!
    That noodle soup looks GREAT! It must really clear the sinuses!

  5. 9 Light Delight with Tou Tou March 5, 2010 at 11:41 pm

    perfect bowl of noooooodles – I am kinda addicted these days, it has been so old recently!


Leave a Reply

