Good Lessons to Learn

So last time we had wraps we had a lot of leftovers. I hate wasting food so to finish every last bite I made a lunch and dinner out of them. For lunch I used the bean sprouts, lettuce, cucumber, mint, beef, shrimp, and vermicelli to make a vermicelli bowl for the hubby and kiddies. Here’s what my bowl looked like. I also poured in some of that fish sauce that I mixed.

Even after that lunch we still had a lot of leftovers so I stir-fried some bean sprouts, chives, garlic, and beef together. I also added some white wine and soy sauce.

Still had some leftover chives so I dumped the rest of those in with some chopped garlic and pan-fried them. Two tablespoons of this abalone sauce were added as well.

Then I whisked 6 large eggs together and poured the eggs in with the chives. Kind of like a chive omelette but meant to be eaten with rice rather than by itself.

The last two dishes were eaten as sides with rice. Three simple dishes made all with leftovers. They may not have been extravagant dishes but at least nothing was wasted. One important thing I want to make sure I teach my kids is never to waste food because there are so many people out there who don’t have enough to eat. Luv it when no food is gone to waste.

Now some preparation for tonight’s dinner. So in my last post I said I wanted to try my new Bullet Express. I didn’t have much time to try it last night but I was so eager so I just made a citrus sauce to prep for my citrus grilled chicken breasts. I got to try out the juicer: (please excuse my sexy flannel cow pj’s haha)

And the meal mixer:

In the fridge it went overnight to soak in the flavors. For obvious copyright reasons I’m not even going to chance posting the recipe. I’m still an amateur at this so I’ll have to look into that matter.

So far I’m not too impressed with this machine yet but I’ll definitely reevaluate my opinions after I’ve tried making more stuff with it. I plan to make a breakfast, salad, another dinner, and a cheese cake first before I give it my full evaluation. I have high expectations for the Bullet Express because I loved my Magic Bullet so much. We’ll have to see if I love this machine as much. I’ll definitely have a more thorough review on the Bullet Express when I get a chance. One thing I’ve learned with having kids is never to plan anything. That drives the OCD in me crazy haha. Hope you’re having a great start to your week.

11 Responses to “Good Lessons to Learn”


  1. 1 serena February 24, 2010 at 6:24 pm

    ah, yes, the Bullet Express. Please do more with it.(dessert?) How is the noise factor compared to the Magic Bullet?

    • 2 luvtoeat February 24, 2010 at 9:08 pm

      if you find the magic bullet noisy, you’ll find this machine noisy as well. the juicer is quieter but the meal mixer/chopper can be quite noisy. i definitely wouldn’t run this machine while my kids are napping.

  2. 3 line that divides us February 25, 2010 at 5:05 am

    if you hadn’t mention you had on pjs i woulda guessed apron. I first was introduced to the abalone sauce by my mom. I’ve used it in my stir fries and it really does add extra flavor.

    i’m a big fan of not letting things go to waste. hahha you know what i’m best at?! I love making congee out of leftovers. Just a few days ago roy brough home fried rice (he was over at a friend’s place and they ordered a bit too much chinese food). So we had it for breakfast and i had it for dinner, so the next morning i figure i’ll switch it up and combine the chicken/veg stir fry with the fried rice.

    haven’t had hot pot yet…but one of these sundays when roy’s off, it’ll blow his socks of!

  3. 5 Ameena February 25, 2010 at 3:28 pm

    I hate wasting food too so I love leftovers! You certainly know how to do some amazing stuff with them. 🙂

    Maya’s favorite books are the Fancy Nancy series and Pinkalicious and Purplicious.

    Thanks so much for your nice comments as always!

  4. 7 sophia February 26, 2010 at 5:05 am

    Gosh, I love your little noodle leftover bowl! It’s like this Vietnamese rice-noodle bowl that I’ve had before…I just can’t remember that name!

    • 8 luvtoeat February 26, 2010 at 3:51 pm

      I think its called “bun cha gio” or “bun (whatever you decide to put in)”. I was too lazy to add the deep fried spring rolls…teehee. Thanks for stopping by and commenting 🙂

  5. 9 whydeprive February 26, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    I always try and use up leftovers too. I spend so much money on food, and I refuse to throw away money.

    I’m super excited to read more about the Bullet Express. I saw an infomercial for it last weekend and had to talk myself out of picking up the phone.

    • 10 luvtoeat February 26, 2010 at 3:57 pm

      I’m a huge sucker for infomercial products, especially the kitchen ones. Not to tempt you any more but Costco is selling it for $109. That’s where I got mine. Think I saw it at bed bath and beyond as well.

  6. 11 Cajun Chef Ryan February 26, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    We have a Magic Bullet that my dear wife gave me, and we rarely seem to use it anymore. Most blenders make a loud noise though. But I mostly use my Emeril’s blender now.


Leave a Reply

