Wrap Wraps

Wow, there goes my plan of blogging 3 to 4 times a week. Guess it totally got thrown out the window. That happens a lot when you have kids 😦 So before I start I would like to show you this cute soup mug that I bought at Superstore. It was in their 50% off pile of Valentine’s stuff. Also came with a sweet little stuffed puppy. I figured I’d keep the soup mug and my daughter could have the puppy. Two gifts in one for only $3.99. I thought it was a sweet deal.

 Anyways, just wanted to share this neat and easy dinner with you. I like to call it wrap wraps. It’s basically Vietnamese style fajita. Just like hot pot, the ingredients are all raw and set out on the table but instead of using a pot to cook  our meats we use a skillet. The veggies are left raw to be wrapped and they include:

  • romaine lettuce
  • bean sprouts
  • cucumbers
  • mint leaves
  • chives

The only thing that’s already been cooked is the vermicelli noodles. One bag will usually feed about 3 to 4 people. For meats I like to use slices of lean beef and peeled and deveined whole tiger shrimp. You can easily substitute those with chicken or fish. Keep in mind that if you use fish, make sure you get a type of fish that isn’t too flakey such as halibut or cod so that it doesn’t break apart too much when you flip the fish on the skillet. Here’s the table all set up for “wrap wraps”.

So here’s what you want to do. Set the electric skillet to 375 degrees farenheit and add a small block of butter to it. There should be
just enough butter to thinly cover the surface of the skillet once melted. Add in the beef slices and shrimp to cook. Make sure you flip them once each side has been cooked. While your beef and shrimp are cooking you can start setting up your wrap.

Have a large bowl of hot (hot to the touch) water ready (just like the one you see beside the big bowl of vermicelli noodles in the picture above) to soak the rice paper in. It only needs to be soaked in the hot water for about 5 to 10 seconds. Then lay the rice paper on your plate. Now start adding lettuce, and then vermicelli on top of the lettuce. Here’s what the beef and shrimp should look like before you place it in your wrap.

Place the beef and shrimp on top of the vermicelli.

Next add in the mint, bean sprouts, cucumber, and chives.

Here’s some good advice: try to set all your fillings at the edge of the rice paper rather than right in the middle. This allows you more
room to wrap which allows you to wrap the roll tighter. Also if you noticed, I like to place my lettuce right at the bottom (and
sometimes one right on top of everything) so that if the rice paper breaks while wrapping you at least still have the lettuce there
encasing everything 😉

So to wrap, you want to make one complete roll pushing the fillings in tightly just as you would if you were to wrap sushi.

Next fold both ends up.

Then continue rolling your wrap to the end of the rice paper and voilà… you’ve got wrap wrap.

There’s also a sauce that you can dip your wrap in to add more flavour. I like to use fish sauce that I’ve mixed myself (bowl on the right above). Here’s the brand that I use in my mix:

There are many versions of fish sauce but here’s mine:

  • 125 ml water
  • 5 Tbsp fish sauce
  • 2 Tbsp freshly squeezed lime juice
  • 2 Tbsp white vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp white sugar
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 2 red chili peppers

Combine fish sauce, vinegar, water and sugar. Cook over medium heat while stirring until it comes to a boil or until all the sugar has been dissolved. Allow to cool. Stir in the garlic, chili and lime juice. This recipe serves one so if you want more you can always double or quadruple the amount of ingredients. My husband likes to use a plum and hoisin sauce mix. If you would like that recipe feel free to email me. The good thing about this dinner is if you have leftovers you can dump everything into a bowl and make a vermicelli bowl instead of having wraps.

So there it is….wrap wraps. Hope you’ll try this at home cause it’s super easy and fun to eat as well. So there’s my 2nd post and it’s only taken me two weeks…lol. I’m excited for my next post. Here’s a hint of what’s to come:

That all depends on when my kiddies give me the time to try out this dream machine and blog about it. We’ll see if it’s really that great. Hope to see you real soon 😉

3 Responses to “Wrap Wraps”


  1. 1 Ameena February 22, 2010 at 3:43 am

    Kids definitely get in the way of everything, don’t they??

    Love the Vietnamese wraps. They look delicious and healthy!

  2. 2 Light Delight with Tou Tou February 23, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    I love spring roll!! but every time I try to make it , I break the wrap ~ 😛 , and…I don’t have the hot pot to grill the shrimps!! (haha just kidding :-D)


  1. 1 Good Times « luvtoeat Trackback on July 26, 2010 at 9:04 am

Leave a Reply

