A Most Memorable Scotland Trip

Hi everyone! How are you all doing? Hope you’re enjoying your summer (or winter, depending on whichever part of the world you’re in). So the last time I left you, I told you I was taking a mini vacation. I got back a while ago but have been experiencing troubles with my internet so wasn’t able to blog. The problem just got fixed yesterday so now I can fully enjoy visiting your blogs again….yippee!

I was off in Scotland visiting and meeting two dear friends whom also happen to be bloggers. If you haven’t already visited their blogs, then please let me introduce you to the lovely Mary of Keep Learning Keep Smiling and her lovely daughter Sharon of Fun and Life. Mary is as friendly and sincere in real life as she is on her blog. If you’ve visited her blog before, you’ll also know what an amazing cook she is. If you haven’t visited her blog then please do drop by and say hi, you won’t be disappointed. Just look at some of the delicious dishes she made for me while I was there.

Seafood Risotto

Recipe found here.

Paris Brest Puff Ring

Recipe found here.

Delicious noodles!

Beef Dumpling in Turkey Soup

I love all kinds of soup and this was one of the best dumpling soups I’ve had. I’ll definitely be trying this delicious and healthy recipe.

Aside from making me all sorts of delicious dishes, Mary and Sharon were wonderful tour guides; taking me to the many beautiful places that Scotland has to offer so that I could get some lovely shots on my camera. Of course I’m not going to share them all here or we might be here all day, so these are some of my favorite shots. By the way, the first photo was taken by Sharon. Girl sure knows how to use a camera properly (unlike me…haha)!

Dunnottar Castle

Shot taken from inside Dunnottar Castle

See my very slanted horizon? LOL! To my defense though, I WAS half way leaning out of the castle to get this shot. Plus, the world is round isn’t it? Teehee.

The Scottish Thistle - the national emblem of Scotland

These were actually smaller in real life than I thought they’d be.

The streets of Edinburgh

Love their buildings!

The Palace of Holyroodhouse

This is the official residence in Scotland of Her Majesty The Queen. Unfortunately we weren’t permitted to take photos inside. It was way too quiet in there for me. Drove me a bit crazy. Once outside, I had to release some of that energy…see?

So then they took me to a beach to try to calm me down. Haha. (It didn’t work. ;)) I’m just kidding. We went to the beach on my last day there.

Aberdeen Beach

Stonehaven

We also visited Stonehaven. I was told that “it’s a place where you go and see lots of stones”. Lol.

Stonehaven

I’d have to agree though.

The Glenfiddich Distillery

My trip also involved going to the Glenfiddich Distillery where I got to taste their 12, 15, and 18 year old whiskey. WOOT! :P

Inside the Glenfiddich Distillery

I’d have to say, the best part of my trip was getting to know Mary and Sharon better. Honestly, I would’ve been perfectly happy sitting at home eating and just chatting up a storm with them. We definitely shared many many laughs together. May (from Mary’s ladies lunch group) if you’re reading this, you have GOT TO play Taboo with Mary – HILARIOUS I tell ya! I also got to play some badminton with Mary, and boy oh boy can this woman own the badminton court. Trust me, you sure don’t want to be playing against her. As tough as she is on the court though, she’s as sweet as can be and a total joy to be with off the court.

The apple definitely doesn’t fall far from the tree because Sharon is also an absolute joy and pleasure to be around as well. Taking amazing photographs is just one of the many great attributes of this lovely girl. If you know her in real life, you’ll agree that she is absolutely one of the nicest and most sincere people you’ll ever meet. She shines with true beauty, both inside and out. Not to mention, she’s one heck of a Taboo player as well!

Thank you so very much Mary and Sharon for welcoming me into your home, introducing me to the rest of your lovely family (and friends), and taking me around to see the many fascinating sights of Scotland. Most of all, thank you both for your beautiful friendship. Yes, Scotland has some beautiful views, but it was the people who made this trip so memorable and special. These memories will forever be engraved in my head. I truly really hope that I will be able to return the favour to you and your family here in Canada some day. Until we meet again my dear friends.

Before I leave, I’d also like to wish a very happy belated birthday to one of my dear blogger friends, Veronica of Quay Po Cooks. Ever since I first started following her blog, Veronica has been nothing but a sweet, kind friend and one of the most supportive bloggers around. She truly has a heart of gold and it definitely shows in this post here. Veronica, happy belated birthday to you and I hope you have many many more blessed ones to come.

K is starting kindergarten soon so between packing her snacks and lunches, taking her to and from school, and taking care of my two year old little monkey at the same time, I’m not sure how much time I’ll have for blogging. I will try to blog and visit your blogs when time allows me to, but just a heads up before you start wondering if I’ve given up on blogging. Wishing you all a great rest of the summer. Thank you again for dropping by and visiting. Until next time, friends and family. :D

45 Responses to “A Most Memorable Scotland Trip”


  1. 1 Shirley Tay August 31, 2011 at 8:05 am

    Fantastic vacation u’ve got here, Lequan! I’ve yet to visit Scotland but it’s one of those places I’d like to visit. Gosh, just look at those food! Mary sure knows how to feed u well. Hahaha! Glad to have u back in action, dear!

    • 2 MaryMoh August 31, 2011 at 2:56 pm

      Yes, you sure got to come, Shirley. By the way, LeQuan has put up some of the best photos here to exaggerate Aberdeen….haha. If you come, I will feed you well….. and we will have to play Taboo :D

      • 3 Shirley Tay September 13, 2011 at 6:13 pm

        Mary, u’ll regret what u said about feeding me well. U know I can really eat right?? Hahaha! Mmmmm…… wish I was there with u gals. If only I stay a bit nearer. Do visit me when u do your Asian tour yah. I’ll cook nice food for u :)

    • 4 LeQuan August 31, 2011 at 10:15 pm

      Shirley, you must visit Scotland (but come visit me first…teehee)! Yes, Mary definitely kept my tummy very happy with all her wonderful food. This woman is a cooking machine! Non stop yumminess from her kitchen everyday!

      • 5 Shirley Tay September 13, 2011 at 6:15 pm

        Lequan, would love to visit & meet u in person. I’m sure we can kick off right, especially on food since we both love seafood. Would love to have u try some of my cooking too :) Don’t u ever forget to visit me if u do come to Asia!

  2. 6 Quay Po August 31, 2011 at 8:15 am

    LeQuan, I told you I will stalk you!! hehe so I finally got to read your post after a LOOOONG TIIIIME!! It is great to know you visited Mary and Sharon and enjoyed yourself so much. I have no doubt you ladies have lots of fun and laughter together. I do not know Mary as well as you but through some facebook chats with her, I already knew she has a bubbly personality and it will be a joy to be around her and not only that I have seen a lot of her mouth watering dishes on her blog. There is not one that did not make me drool. I would love to be able to visit you and Mary someday. You know what? I hope you will plan to come to visit me in KL before I turn 60 so that I can still keep up with your energy, you young thing!! Although you said you are not much of a photographer you have taken some convincing shots. Thanks for the belated birthday greeting and mentioning my post on my birthday at the Caring Home. I hope with the exposure, they will get donation not only from Malaysia but from all over the world. Charity should be “borderless” right? Don’t worry about not blogging often enough, spending time with your family is more important. Remember I said in FB, you stuck with this Quay Po so whenever you put up a post, you know I am right there waiting! XOXO

    • 7 MaryMoh August 31, 2011 at 2:59 pm

      Yes, Quay Po, you have to meet LeQuan. She may turn your black hair to grey or grey hair to white…LOL. Oh, go for more exercise to build up stamina before you meet her. She has the energy of superman! :P

      Thanks very much for your compliment. Hope we can meet one day. And of course we need to play Taboo…haha

    • 8 LeQuan August 31, 2011 at 9:44 pm

      Quay Po,

      Oh Mary is really a hoot! She is exactly who she is on her blog and FB, except just a little bit more hilarious in person b/c you can see her facial expressions. Teehee. I would really love to visit Malaysia one day. That place is certainly one of the tops on my list of must visits. And meeting you my dear is certainly on my agenda. Thank you for all your kind words and all your support always. Big big hugs, my dear! And don’t listen to Mary. I only have lots of energy when someone is chasing me down with a camera. Haha.

  3. 9 Ameena August 31, 2011 at 9:37 am

    I know I already said this on Facebook but what a beautiful place! I want to visit Scotland one day – it seems very similar to London.

    So glad you had a great trip before you get ready for the madness of school once again. Yes, it is an exercise in picking up and dropping all day long, and of course lunch boxes and snacks. I hope things go very smoothly for you!

    Welcome back!

  4. 10 Donutella August 31, 2011 at 12:09 pm

    I rushed here thinking I am first.. but no… :(
    Oh well.. gonna leave a comment anyway!!
    *bubble machine running on max power*

  5. 12 Jen (Irene) August 31, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    Well written LeQ….glad you enjoyed yourself there at my aunt’s place….the more reason you should go back there again….and again….and again…and again…..till she gets sick of you….=P Take care….Catch up with you another time…Irene

  6. 15 Juliana August 31, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    Oh LeQuan, great pictures…and the food all look so yummie! Thank you so much for sharing your vacation pictures…I love the castle…since I never been to Scotland, I appreciated your “tour”.
    Hope you are having a fantastic week :-)

  7. 16 MaryMoh August 31, 2011 at 2:54 pm

    Oh dear, you beat me here on blogging….haha. Mine is still half way through. Maybe I shouldn’t be so ambitious so that I can get the post up sooner about your trip here :P Your post makes me smile all the way and shaking my head all the way cos you did not include the naughty/crazy things you did…LOL. Never mind, consolation here for me for not being the first to post. I can add them into my post…hehe.

    By the way, it was a great 1+ week that you were here. Thanks lots for coming all the way to visit us and thanks lots for all the lovely sweet words. It was just amazing to have met you. I’m sure you will find us in front of your doorstep one day! :D I think we had the most laugh when playing Taboo……laughed till breathless…LOL. I’m sure everyone now would love to play with me…..me and my crazy way of explanation…haha. I never thought it was hilarious until I see you all laughed so hard….LOL.

    And now, what happens to the whisky glasses?…haha

    Hope we will meet again one day. Appreciate your friendship very much!!! Take care as you become more busy. Big Hugs! Mary

    • 17 LeQuan August 31, 2011 at 10:04 pm

      Teehee. I’ve actually been writing this post for the past week. With my Internet going on and off, it took me a lot longer than expected. What naughty/crazy things? I am such a little angel. :P

      My dear, if I were rich, I’d visit you guys at least once every year. I had such a great time. Like I said, Scotland is beautiful, but it really was the people I met (including all your friends) that made this trip so memorable. I mean everything I say and I say it like it is. Those words about you and Sharon were really what I saw in the both of you during my stay, so no need to thank me. I really do hope to find you guys on my steps someday!!!!!!

      Now Taboo is a whole other story and should really have a post of it’s own. My gosh, you are seriously the most hilarious Taboo player I’ve ever played with; and trust me, I’ve played Taboo with a lot of people. You should try playing at one of your ladies’ lunches.

      Thank you so very much for your beautiful friendship, welcoming me into your home with such warmth and hospitality, introducing me to your lovely family, cooking such delicious meals for me, and showing me around beautiful Scotland. The time we had together was way too short. Hopefully next time we meet, it will be much longer. Big giant LeeQs hugs (even though I’m not so big) my dear friend!

    • 18 LeQuan August 31, 2011 at 10:05 pm

      Oh and the whiskey glasses? Yeah, that photo got lost somewhere. Kekeke.

  8. 19 patty August 31, 2011 at 3:10 pm

    I would call this a memorable trip or even a trip of a lifetime! Between the friends, the adventures, the food, the games- you had a great and well deserved trip;-) My husband and I are going to Scotland next year to play golf with a group of people so your post is very inspirational to me- I’m going to pick your brain sometime before we go! Those castles are a trip, looks like you were trying to break into one of them-I think that’s pretty hard to do! Great post on a wonderful experience in a beautiful part of the world;-)

  9. 20 Leah @ Why Deprive? August 31, 2011 at 5:04 pm

    Scotland looks so beautiful. I’ve always wanted to go there.

    It sounds like you had a fabulous time there. Your pictures are gorgeous. I think its especially awesome that you got to spend time with some other bloggers while you were there. Meeting other bloggers is always so much fun. I dont know what it is, but they’re some of the best people I know. :)

  10. 21 sophia August 31, 2011 at 6:43 pm

    Aw, what a lovely trip, and how nice of Mary and Sharon! When is your next trip down to…Los Angeles? Closer and you get to meet me, too. Hahaha!

    Loved the pics…I’ve always wanted to go to Scotland, esp to be mesmerized by the melodic accent.

  11. 23 Laz August 31, 2011 at 7:16 pm

    Glad you had a great trip LeQ’s. Your def took some fantastic photos of a beautiful country.

    Loving the trip to the Glenfiddich Distillery. Awesome Whiskey.

    Bravo!

  12. 24 thecompletecookbook September 1, 2011 at 5:42 am

    LeQuan, what a lovely post about your friends and their home town and all of your photos are beautiful! Best of luck with your little one starting kindergarten and looking forward to your next post.
    Have a happy day. :-) Mandy

  13. 25 Anna Johnston September 1, 2011 at 7:37 am

    How wonderful LeQuan, you certainly did have a smashing vacation didn’t you. Scotland looks beautiful and girl, I’ve gotta say, your photos are beautiful, I feel like I’m right there with you. :) Love that rizzo, and the rolling green valley, and the big red bus, so UK.
    Welcome back, I’ve missed you muchly, it’s a pleasure to see your smiling face and read your wonderful life stories. Can’t wait to hear more about your adventures. PS: Come to Australia next time. :)

  14. 26 5 Star Foodie September 1, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    What a fun trip to Scotland and how awesome that you got to spend time with Mary and Sharon. Gorgeous sights and excellent meals!

  15. 27 Buddycakes September 2, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    That was such a great post!! Am so glad that you got some time for a “you” vacation:)

    • 28 LeQuan September 5, 2011 at 8:32 am

      Buddycakes!!! Haha…I love that you now call yourself that. Thank you, because I know you always truly mean what you say. Would love to do lunch or dinner with you real soon, you know why ;). I’ll give you a call. Big LeeQie hugs!!!!!!

  16. 29 tigerfish September 2, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    So you were in Scotland! Wow! You brought me good memories though there are some attractions here that I did not visit – which means, I can go again!

    And you met up with Mary and her daughter too :)

  17. 30 A Canadian Foodie September 2, 2011 at 9:50 pm

    LQ!
    How could you keep such a secret from me??? I am tickled pink for you! What an adventurer you are! Just picked up and packed up and flew half way around the world to meet and spend time with some cyber foodie friends. I love that! I would do that, too…. maybe. With someone else… I am in awe of you. What fun. I have never been to Scotland or Ireland and MUST go. What beautiful photos and it sounds like you really had a fantastic time. I am SO happy for you.
    VERY cool. I am still in awe.
    Valerie
    XO

  18. 31 magicofspice September 3, 2011 at 10:51 am

    How wonderful that you had a chance to explore such a beautiful place and with two such lovely ladies :) These pictures are amazing and so glad that you had such a great time!
    And a very happy first year of school to K :)
    Hope you have an amazing weekend LeQuan…

  19. 32 Miri Leigh September 4, 2011 at 1:13 pm

    Love these photos– looks like a great trip! Thanks for sharing.

  20. 33 patty September 6, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    Hi LeQuan, I’m back!
    I tagged you in the seven links challenge, it takes a little time but it’s fun to do! I also have 2 awards for you;-)
    Check out my blog for the challenge questions- hope you have time to participate- Best wishes, Patty

  21. 34 Faith September 6, 2011 at 8:16 pm

    What a great post, LeQuan! My mom’s family is Scottish and I’ve been absolutely dying to go there…and now even more so! It is absolutely breathtaking, and how cool that you got to spend time with Mary and Sharon, both of whom seem like such sweethearts! Good luck to K starting kindergarten!

  22. 35 Jessie September 7, 2011 at 7:10 am

    OH. MY. GOSH. You were in SCOTLAND????? WHEN???????? I just returned from Scotland about a week and a half ago!!!!!!! When I wrote you over email that I was doing a little traveling, I never said where I was going, and now I wish I had! OHMIGOSH!!

    Anyway, sorry for all the caps. I’m so glad you had a great time in Scotland, LeeQs, and that you were able to spend some time with the lovely Mary and Sharon. Your pictures are beautiful (including the food, lol), and I love that you got to go to Dunnottar Castle! That was def on my list, but my family and I ended up traveling up the west coast of Scotland instead (although we did spend a few days in Edinburgh). Did you go to any of the Edinburgh festival events? I love that pic of you pulling on the door handle, by the way – so quintessentially LeeQ ;)

    Ok, dude, you gotta tell me where you’re going next time. And feel free to come down here to the US and visit all your American bloggie friends, including (and especially) ME!

    Hugs to K for starting kindergarten – that’s a huge step! I’m guessing the house feels a little empty right now … so hugs for you, too, LeeQs!

    • 36 LeQuan September 9, 2011 at 8:52 am

      Weiner!!!!!! I know eh? Next time we travel, we need to tell one another where we’re going and when. Makes stalking you a lot easier for me that way. ;) Haha, kidding. When you emailed me and said you had just got back from Scotland, I was like, “NOOOOOO!” cause I knew we had just missed one another. Then I thought, “wait till she reads my post” teehee. Yup, your reaction was the EXACT same as mine. If I would’ve known when you were going, I totally would’ve pushed my vacation a week or two back to try to meet up with you. I still can’t believe we missed each other. I was actually back in Canada on Aug. 15th. That’s probably when you went. The Fringe was going on when we were in Edinburgh, but we didn’t watch any of the performances as it was raining and we were only there for a day :(. I absolutely loved Scotland and can’t wait to go back and explore more. Sorry for the late reply. Life is getting hectic with school and balancing one kindergartener and a little monkey who clings by my side almost 24/7. Sigh. Like I said on your bloggie, until next stalking session, my dear. And of course I need to visit you if I’m ever in the States! How could I not? Big big LeeQola hugs!

  23. 37 Tanantha September 7, 2011 at 3:23 pm

    You were in Scotland, LeQ!? I’m so jealous! I’ve never been to Scotland but it’s on my bucket list! I always want to travel more *hush*. Seemed like you had a great time there especially with that pose “don’t damage a public door” hahahaha. I was in Victoria, BC last weekend. Love the city!

    Well, Scotland is much better. Your photos are beautiful. It was great to meet up with friends! Oh wait, K is starting kindergarden? time flies! Did you cry? :-)

    PS: I know you’ve been busy. Thanks so much for still taking tiime to visit my blog, you sweet LeQ!

    • 38 LeQuan September 9, 2011 at 9:02 am

      Hey T,

      You were in Victoria? It’s beautiful there, isn’t it? BC is one of my favorite Canadian provinces to visit. I absolutely love and can’t get enough of Vancouver.

      Yup yup, K just started kindergarten. Time really does fly. And of course I cried. I’m a big sap. I cry at EVERYTHING; weddings, movies, birthdays, airport goodbyes. I always joke, even if you said the word “poop” I’d probably cry. Haha. Hope everything is going well with you, my dear.

  24. 39 Devaki @ weavethousandflavors September 16, 2011 at 2:18 pm

    Dear Le Quan – How wonderful to see that you have had this fantastic vacation in Scotland and you hung out with Mary Moh :)

    Sigh…would love to visit Scotland one of these days. The food has me drooling! And those castles come a close second. I guess now is back to mommy chores.

    chow! Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  25. 40 Stevie September 18, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    What an incredible trip! Your photos look amazing. And the food, divine! You’re really lucky to have such good friends.

  26. 41 Shirley September 22, 2011 at 5:50 am

    Came here from Mary’s blog. Missing Scotland, I see you got the rain in Edi.

  27. 42 Amelia @ princessandthefrosting September 28, 2011 at 6:39 am

    My gosh!! Those pictures of Scotland are absolutely beautiful! So glad I found your blog :)

  28. 43 Light Delight with Tou Tou September 28, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    Hey LeQuan! You had a great trip !!! I always want to go to Scotland – beautiful country, stunning photos! I Love their music too:) I really like the one you try to kick the door open, haha, I had a similar one when I visit England.

    You are hibernating for the whole summer- you must enjoyed it a lot :)

  29. 44 Thristhan October 13, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    Wow, looks like you had a superb vacation there. The Beef Dumpling in Turkey Soup looks good. I really love the old building design they have over there. I lived in England for 2 years and they have similar building structures too. Beautiful right?

  30. 45 Sook October 19, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    It is my dream to go visit Scotland someday! Everything I’ve seen in pictures…. what a gorgeous country!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

