Helloooooo……?

Helllloooooooooo………anybody still there? Yes, I know it’s been almost two months since I’ve last posted. I must apologise for my disappearance. Sorry for leaving for so long. With the short two months of summer that we get here in Canada, I’ve been trying to take full advantage of the summer-like weather. The kiddies and I have been enjoying the outdoors as much as possible.

Going for walks.

Man-made lake by our house.

Going to playgrounds.

No that doesn't move, it's just for climbing.

Wheeee......!!!!!!

Getting unexpectedly splashed at the spray park.

SPLASH!

Cooking outdoors.

Moms are some of the best multitaskers ;)

We even enjoyed some baking together.

The kiddies always have so much fun helping.

More about this baking adventure in another post though. So basically we’ve been trying to soak up as much sun as possible and enjoy being kids. Amongst that, I’ve also been busy battling a prisoner, a panda, and even a doughnut. Don’t ask, just don’t ask. I’m just happy that I’m surviving and am still alive sitting here blogging about it. With all that battling though, a girl needs good food to help keep her energy up. If you’re a long time reader, you’ll know that I love seafood. Prawns are one of my favorite seafood to cook because they’re so quick and easy, not to mention delicious also.

This one is one of my favorite prawn dishes. I call it Stir Fried Tamarind Prawns.

Stir Fried Tamarind Prawns

Stir Fried Tamarind Prawns

Ingredients:

450 g package of tamarind (made into tamarind paste)
2 TBS white sugar
1 TBS fish sauce
1 and 1/2 lb prawns deveined (shell or no shell is up to you, but if leaving shell on, devein, butterfly, and leave tail on)
garlic minced (I use a lot, sometimes a whole bulb. Amount is up to you)
2 stalks green onions cut into thirds
2 red chili peppers chopped (optional)

Instructions:

Soak tamarind in hot water (just enough to cover all the tamarind) for about an hour and a half. When time is up, take the tamarind out (with as little water as possible) and push it all through a strainer into a new bowl. This will remove all the seeds and threads. Measure out about 6 tablespoons tamarind paste and mix that with sugar and fish sauce in a bowl and set aside. Heat up oil in a wok and stir fry garlic till just about to brown. Add in shrimp and stir fry till just starting to turn pink.. Add in green onions and red chili peppers (I left out chili peppers because of my kiddies.) and stir fry for about another minute or two. Add in bowl of tamarind sauce and mix around until all prawns have been coated.

Note: If the tamarind sauce is too sour, adjust by adding more sugar or fish sauce or both to taste. It should have a sour and sweet taste to it.

I’ll be off on a mini vacation soon to visit some dear, dear friends. I’ll try to visit you all when I get back. Thanks for dropping by again! To one of the dear friends whom I’m visiting, I look much forward to our battle(s). ;)

BRING IT!

Take care everyone, and enjoy the rest of your summer! Until next time, friends and family! :)

36 Responses to “Helloooooo……?”


  1. 1 Quay Po August 2, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    LeQuan, know why I am the first to comment? Yes, I have been stalking you!! Are you getting worried now? I miss reading your posts and was waiting and waiting until I got this giraffe neck. I am so glad to see this post because if my neck were grow one inch longer, I will topper over! LOL! On a more serious tone, you are doing the right thing my dear to spend time with your kiddies and it is so wonderful to see you and your family enjoying the summer. Love all the photos of you and family. The one in the spray park looks so fun! You have given me a recipe that I wanted. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE tamarind prawns. I have made it twice with different recipes but still not very happy with it. I am definitely going to try yours out. Thanks for sharing and maybe when I cook the tamarind prawns I will emulate your cooking style too! It is kind of cool to hold a wok spatula on one hand and texting on the handphone on the other! Just love that multi-tasking pic! I look forward to your post on your baking adventure. XOXO!

  2. 3 Leah @ Why Deprive? August 2, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    Im glad you’ve been out having some fun. I was wondering where you’d gotten off to. :)
    Those prawns look delicious. I need to buy some fish sauce, it seems like its in all the good recipes, and I can never make them because I never have any.

  3. 4 Jos August 2, 2011 at 4:30 pm

    Wow LeQuan!! Your hair has grown so long and you surely look good!! :D Sounds like you have LOTS of fun and yeah I’m kinda wondering too if you’re off from blogging world for good already..haha.. anyway have a good mini vacation!

  4. 5 A Canadian Foodie August 2, 2011 at 5:07 pm

    TWO months? ONLY? You must have been reading my mind. I was planning on e-mailing you tonight to find out how you and the kiddies are and why you are no longer blogging. And your hair IS long! Cute summer dress! I cannot believe how big “the holy terror” has become! Whew!
    The shrimp looks delicious and I know it is!!! (having eaten there!)
    SO, I will be back about the 22 of August and if you and the kids are free that week – let me know – give me a time, and let’s spend a couple of hours at the park by my house! :)
    XO
    Valerie

    • 6 LeQuan August 2, 2011 at 11:01 pm

      Hey Valerie!

      I would love to get together! It’s been a while. End of August sounds great. I’ll get in contact with you when I get back from my vacation. Hope all is well with you me dear. Speak soon! Hugs!

  5. 7 Ameena August 2, 2011 at 7:30 pm

    You look great in every picture Le Quan! I think the summer totally agrees with you.

    Tamarind is a staple during our month of Ramadan. I love it and I love this recipe. Great combination!

    Have a lovely mini-vacation. I will definitely need one of those by the time that Ramadan – and August – conclude. :)

  6. 8 sophia August 2, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    Missed you!!! I feel like you’ve been gone for years!!! The rest has done you good though, or maybe it was the good food, but you’re positively glowing! :D

  7. 9 pachecopatty August 2, 2011 at 7:52 pm

    I couldn’t believe it! Some action here at Luvtoeat;-) You are such a cute cooker- I’m so happy you’re sharing photos and a recipe with your loyal followers;-) But, I’m more happy that you’re enjoying your short summer with the sweet kiddies;-) Your blog will always be here for you when you have time to share which I’m glad you did! Enjoy your trip and WOW those tamarind prawns look good!

  8. 10 Annco August 2, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    Missed you dearly :) Hope you and your dear friend will cook up a storm… hahaa

  9. 11 Laz August 2, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    The universe gives us a gift today. LeQ’s back in the game. Long overdue.

    Tamarind, red chili pepper, fish sauce & shrimp. Sign me up.

    That’s a large wok you are workin’ on there, while texting I guess. Multi-task indeed.

    You are totally nuts. In the best possible way.

    Keep smiling!

  10. 14 Shirley Tay August 3, 2011 at 2:15 am

    Love the scenery! So cool to have a lake by your house. I only have a small pool next to mine. Sigh! It’s rare to have such luxury like yours due to space constraint here in S’pore :<

    OMG, the dress that u were wearing looks like the one I wore to Perth. Not sure if u'd noticed when u read my post last time. LOL! U sure know how to poise. Hahaha! Love all the shots & of course, the prawns. My fave seafood!

    Hey, enjoy your vacation & hope to see u real soon!

  11. 15 thecompletecookbook August 3, 2011 at 5:27 am

    How lovely to see a post from you again LeQuan. Thank you for sharing your lovely summer photos and fun with us and no I won’t ask about the other stuff. ;-)
    Have a wonderful mini-cation with your friends – look forward to hearing all about it when you return.
    Have a happy day.
    :-)Mandy

  12. 16 Faith August 3, 2011 at 7:49 am

    So happy to see a post from you, LeQuan…you have been missed! I’m glad to hear you’ve been enjoying your summer, it looks like you and your little ones are having so much fun! (And it sounds like it has been pretty eventful too — I won’t ask about your battling a prisoner, a panda, and a doughnut, but you did raise my curiosity, lol!) The prawns look wonderful, I love the balance of flavors in that dish!

  13. 17 purabi naha August 3, 2011 at 9:16 am

    Le Quan, first time here. The place where you stay is lovely! Loved the perfection with which you cooked this prawn dish. We, in India, use a lot of tamarind in our cooking. Although in Hong Kong (where I live now), we don’t find these, so I always get them from India! Loved your blog.
    http://cosmopolitancurrymania.blogspot.com

  14. 18 5 Star Foodie August 3, 2011 at 8:03 pm

    Looks like you guys are having a blast this summer! Enjoy all the fun and outdoors! The stir fried prawns look awesome, excellent flavors.

  15. 19 Anna Johnston August 4, 2011 at 12:49 am

    LeQuan, I’ve missed you. Hugs to you my dear. So good to hear from you. Sounds like you’ve been living life to the full. Go you girl. Summer is rockin, it’s so desperately cold here, i totally forgive you for not touching base with us sooner. I’d be out playing in it too. Thinking of you. Hugs to you and your gorgeous family. Xxx

  16. 20 Light Delight with Tou Tou August 4, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    Hey LeQuan! You are back!!! yeah, I totally understand summer is so precious for canadian! I love the multi-tast photo , haha you indeed are!
    Hope it is still warm enough for some outdoor activities in Canada now, enjoy the rest of your summer!

  17. 21 magicofspice August 4, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    These you are :) A panda? (oops, I asked)…So sounds like you are having a great summer and the kids certainly seem to be enjoying :) Plus you are one mean gillin’ mama, just look at that gorgeous stir fry…I need an outdoor wok :)
    Hope you have a great upcoming weekend!

  18. 22 MaryMoh August 5, 2011 at 1:10 am

    At last you are back! The fight must be tough….haha. But I’m sure you win. I will always let you win just to have that plate of prawns :P I wish we have weather like yours there. Still can’t go out in just T shirts….still cold even though it’s summer. Love all the pictures. The picture on baking looks so fun! Looking very much forward to this weekend! :DDD

  19. 23 Cindy August 5, 2011 at 5:37 am

    Yay! I’m going to start calling you the prawn princess. Yum Yum Yum.

  20. 24 Monet August 6, 2011 at 7:58 am

    What a great way to spend these months. I’ve missed you, but it seems like you have been having so much fun. Thank you for sharing such a delicious meal with me today. I hope you have a beautiful Saturday…and stay cool! Much love from Austin.

  21. 25 CourtJ August 6, 2011 at 7:01 pm

    I love how summertime means I am not the only one with sparse posts :-) The shrimp looks great but I have a really tough time with the smell of tamarind paste as I discovered the first time i tried making pad thai. Too bad because I seem to like things that contain it.

  22. 26 denise @ quickies on the dinner table August 7, 2011 at 7:52 am

    Well, it’s about time!!!!! *wags finger* You had me kinda worried, wondering if I was ever going to see anymore posts from you. Glad to know you’re having a great summer with G-man and the kiddies. I WON’T ask, but I will definitely be keeping an eye on you.

    Your tamarind prawns look amazing! I know it will taste great cos my mum cooks something really similar and I LOVE it!

    So anyway, take care, enjoy the rest of summer and remember, I got my eye on you! Yes YOU!!!! ;).

  23. 27 Tanantha August 8, 2011 at 2:05 pm

    LeQ! hmm..quick question from one of the photos above, were you facebooking while woking!!?? hahaha. Yes, it;s been too long girl! but i feel like i know what you’ve been up to from Facebook. Thanks to a tech. :D
    The kids seemed to have fun and enjoy summer. I totally understand a short summer that we need to take full advantage as much as possible! It won’t come back until next year. sigh. Oh, yeah the prawns and tamarind sauce. You know i like tamarind sauce!

  24. 28 tigerfish August 10, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    Hello, definitely miss your postings. Good to “see” you back :)

    And you brought such a appealing stir-fried prawn dish…yummy!

    Errrr….cooking outdoors or on the phone outdoors ? ;p

  25. 29 Devaki @ weavethousandflavors August 16, 2011 at 7:43 am

    Oh all right…. you’re forgiven for your absence but only because you gave me these beautiful pics and ended with those gorgeous prawns which if you must know, I am fixing in the next week.

    GREAT to have you back Le Quan :)

    mwah mwah…chow :) Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  26. 30 Jessie August 17, 2011 at 3:48 am

    Helllooooooo, LeeQs!! It’s so nice to read your witty words (seriously, I want to hear about your doughnut battle), and to see the gorgeous pictures of you and your family. Could any picture be more precious than the first one (love the matching Superman action!)? And the last picture is just … lol! The one of L on the swing is just too cute for words, so I’ll just say: awwwwwww! We should all have that much exuberance in life :D

    Certainly no need to apologize for disappearances – living life and enjoying time with the kiddies is more precious than any ol’ blog (though I luv yours, as you know :) ). Besides, winter in E-town should be descending right … about … NOW.
    ;)

    I am well-acquainted with your love of seafood, Ms. LeeQola, so I am not surprised at the appearance of prawns here. Yummy!!!!! I love the flavor of tamarind, and wouldn’t you know, we have like five pounds of frozen tamarind (courtesy of Peter, of course). I’ll have to try this delicious dish when I get back from journey #2!

    So, so happy to hear from you, LeeQs! We always have FB, but still! Enjoy the rest of you summer, and can’t wait to read more LeeQie adventures soon!

  27. 31 Quay Po August 21, 2011 at 5:32 am

    LeQuan, Just want to let you know you are being tagged to play the 7 links challenge. I know you are a busy bee but if you don’t the time to do it now, don’t worry about it. Just do it whenever you can. I am thinking of you always.

  28. 32 luckytastebuds August 22, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    Hi!!! Of course we’re still here. Or…well me for sure! Looks like you’ve been enjoying some great family time and gosh your kids are growing up so quickly!!! Still as cute as ever too! I think you’re totally doing the right thing by hanging out with the cuties, soaking up the sun and grillin. Feels like my childhood was so long ago, but those summers were oh so memorable!

    Thank you for that recipe. I have an obsession with king prawns and shrimp but have never really cooked it. (gotta thank my bf for being the master chef here)

  29. 33 Juliana August 26, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    LeQuan, so good to hear from you and to find out that you and your family are doing well and having a wonderful Summer. Love the pictures! As for the shrimp dish, it looks delicious with tamarind sauce.
    Hope you have a wonderful weekend and look forward to more posts :-)

  30. 34 Stevie August 29, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    You’re back, LeQuan! Thank goodness. We’ve missed you! Glad that you’re okay.

    I love tamarind anything. I shall try your prawn dish, perhaps this week.

  31. 35 ChopinandMysaucepan August 31, 2011 at 2:06 am

    Welcome back! Trust you had a good break with your family and the tamarind prawns look pretty delicious! You’re definitely a good multi-tasker!! Now looking forward to some delicious posts!

  32. 36 Nava Krishnan September 2, 2011 at 11:24 am

    beautiful place and you are so lucky to have enjoyed this gorgeous place and the wonderful food.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

