Happy Mother’s Day Mommies!

 Hi everyone! How are you all doing? I hope everything is going well. Thank you for all your lovely comments on my last post. Sorry I’ve been away for so long, I’ve been trying to deal with some personal business. Add motherhood into the mix and blogging just had to take a back seat. I promise to try to make it around to all your blogs as soon as I can, but today I’d like to take the time to wish all these wonderful blogger moms a very Happy Mother’s Day! In no particular order of course:

Mary of Keep Learning Keep Smiling 

Valerie of A Canadian Foodie

Ameena of Fancy That… Fancy This

Veronica of Quay Po Cooks

Denise of quickies on the dinner table and bread expectations 

Shirley of Shirley’s Luxury Haven!

Patty of Patty’s Food

Biren of Roti n Rice

Alisha of The Ardent Epicure 

Natasha of 5 Star Foodie Culinary Adventures

Devaki of Weave a Thousand Flavors

I’m sorry if I’ve missed anybody, you’ll have to forgive me as I’ve got lots on my mind right now.

Instead of sharing a food recipe with you this week, I’d like to share a playdough recipe. I got this recipe from K’s school and I’ve already made 2 batches of playdough for my kiddies. They love playing with playdough.

You can somewhat tell from this picture how big a batch of playdough this recipe makes (enough to fit into that yogurt container).

Playdough recipe:

  • 2 c flour
  • 1 c salt
  • 4 tsp cream of tartar
  • 2 c water
  • 4 tbsp oil
  • 2 tsp food colouring (1or 2 packages of unsweetened Koolaid can be substituted for food colouring)

 Combine two cups flour, 1 cup salt and 4 teaspoons cream of tartar in a lagre saucepan. Gradually stir in 2 cups water with 4 tablespoons oil and food colouring. Cook over medium to high heat, stirring constantly until a ball forms. Remove from heat, cool and knead until smooth on wax paper. Store in an airtight container.

Note: Cream of tartar is a white powdery substance. Please DO NOT confuse it with tartar sauce!

Looky here, my very first Mother’s Day gift that K made for me in school :-D :-D :-D.

I don’t have a green thumb so I’m hoping to keep this plant alive for as long as I can. Hopefully that’ll be more than a week.

These words melt my heart everytime. When she gets older and starts wanting more expensive stuff, I’m going to be in a lot of trouble ;-).

Mothering has been the toughest job I’ve ever had by far, but definitely the most rewarding as well. I’m off to spend quality time with my babies.

Wishing all the wonderful moms out there a very Happy Mother’s Day from luvtoeat – momoirs of a food enthusiast. Until next time, friends and family :-D.

27 Responses to “Happy Mother’s Day Mommies!”


  1. 1 Quay Po Cooks May 8, 2011 at 12:55 am

    AWWW!! how sweet of you to remember me on Mother’s day. Happy Mother’s day to you too my dear. I am sure the first Mother’s Day gift from K sends you to cloud 9, I remember I was walking on cloud 9 for a few days back then when I received the first Mother’s day card made by Nick when he was a tiny lad. The photo of you and your kids kissing you emit the warmth of a loving family. You are right, those are expensive kisses! Can I give you one too so that I can ask for an expensive gift? hehe.. Jokes aside now, LeQuan, through your blog, I know you are a wonderful daughter, wife and Mother and trust me, I know how tough it is to wear so many hats and wear it well. What is most rewarding is you know you are being loved not only by your family but by people who haven’t even met you before from all over the globe, isn’t that amazing? Lots of love from Quay Po & Quay Lo.

  2. 2 Blackswan May 8, 2011 at 1:09 am

    Happy Mother’s Day, Lequan! Thks for having me in mind again & it’s really very thoughtful of you.

    I love to meddle with Playdough too during playtime with my son when he was just a toddler. Miss those days…..

    Your kids are so adorable & I like the last pix best. Captured those precious moments well. Lastly, congrats on your win on my Giveaway & pls email me your postal address soon :) Enjoy your Mother’s Day!

  3. 3 Anna Johnston May 8, 2011 at 3:14 am

    Happy Mothers Day Lovely LeQuan – Sorry to hear your going through some trials, hope all is well & sunny for you soon. xx

  4. 4 Ameena May 8, 2011 at 9:48 am

    Happy Mother’s Day LeQuan!

    What a cute gift from K…aren’t those the best? I have everything Maya ever made for me on Mother’s Day…although I have to admit that some of the other things she’s made for me have…disappeared. :)

    Thank you for mentioning my blog – you are so kind my friend. Enjoy your lovely day full of family and food. I hope it takes your mind off all the things on your mind!

  5. 5 Jessie May 8, 2011 at 1:37 pm

    Aww, this is so sweet, LeeQs! I remember seeing this gift from K on FB and just melting! You have adorable, wonderful children who just luv their mommy! That last pic with the three of you is just too cute :) That’s so nice of you to shout out to your fellow mommy bloggers – hope I can join the ranks before too long! I’ve always thought being a mother must be one of the most difficult jobs out there, but also the most rewarding. You deserve to be honored every day!

    Love the play doh recipe! I’m just the kind of person who would mistake tartar sauce for cream of tartar because I’m not paying attention, lol :P Looks like K and L are loving the huge quantity you made! This recipe is definitely a keeper :)

    I hope everything is going ok and you should take all the time you need. Blogging is a hobby, not a job, so you should definitely enjoy it! Hugs to you on this Mother’s Day! You are my model for being a mommy! xoxo

  6. 6 pachecopatty May 8, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    Happy Mother’s Day LeQuan. I used to make homemade playdough with my kids when they were little, like yours! I forgot all about that, how time flies;-) We just came home from brunch with our family including grandchildren, my hubs just fell asleep on the couch next to me. I was just going to check out my photos from brunch when I saw you posted, hooray, you’re back;-) Take care of yourself, I don’t know how you find time to do all the things you do being a mommy and a blogger! I love your blog and always look forward to visiting. Have a nice Mother’s Day and enjoy your family;-)
    ps. Thanks for mentioning my blog!

  7. 7 Leah @ Why Deprive? May 8, 2011 at 4:20 pm

    Happy Mothers Day LeQuan!! Hope you have a fantastic day with the kids!
    My mom used to make playdough for my brother and I when we were little. It was always so much more fun when it was homemade. Especially because we could choose the colors ourselves. :)

  8. 8 5 Star Foodie May 8, 2011 at 10:26 pm

    Thanks so much for Mother’s Day wishes and Happy Mother’s Day to you! The play dough is so much fun :) and what a sweet gift from your little one.

  9. 9 Jos May 8, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    Happy Mother’s Day, LeQuan..that flower is very pretty :) What kind is it? Such a nice pic of you and your kids

    • 10 LeQuan May 9, 2011 at 12:38 am

      Hi Jos,

      Thank you for your sweet comment. I’m not sure what kind of a flower that is. Gardening is so not my thing. The only flowers I know are Dandelions. Teehee. Then again, I don’t even think they’re called flowers, more like weeds. Haha.

  10. 11 Faith May 9, 2011 at 8:25 am

    You are so sweet to wish these moms a Happy Mother’s Day…I hope you had a wonderful Mother’s Day too, LeQuan!

    You’re a fantastic mom…making playdough for your kids is pretty awesome! I’m sure it will bring your kiddos tons of happy memories.

    Awww, your Mother’s Day gift is so sweet!

  11. 12 Anncoo May 9, 2011 at 8:49 am

    Happy belated Mother’s Day to you LeQuan :)

  12. 13 magicofspice May 9, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    I hope you had an amazing Mother’s Day! And homemade playdough, now that is cool! :)

  13. 14 Light Delight with TouTou May 9, 2011 at 6:42 pm

    Happy belated Mother’s day to you LeQuan! I love to see you and your kid’s picture, such as sweet and happy family! :-) You are great Mom :-)

  14. 15 Reese Darragh May 9, 2011 at 7:05 pm

    @Le Quan: Happy Mother’s Day!

  15. 16 actorsdiet May 9, 2011 at 8:23 pm

    happy mommy’s day (late)

  16. 17 Juliana May 10, 2011 at 12:59 pm

    Happy Belated Mother’s Day LeQuan…I wished I had the playdough recipe when my son was young…I still remember the horrible smell of the ones bought at the stores. The pictures are adorable and very touching…thank you so much for sharing them. Have a wonderful time with you kids…

  17. 18 Tanantha @ I Just Love My Apron May 10, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    Happy belated Mommy’s day to you LeQ! I tested yesterday and was hoping the result was positive but oh well it will come when it’s time. The kids seemed to have so much fun with that dough!

  18. 19 sophia May 10, 2011 at 6:40 pm

    Aw, I love, love love the last picture…I’m starting to understand why you love being a mommy so much. :-)

    I remember having to make play dough for school homework when I was young…my mommy always helped!

  19. 20 Stevie May 11, 2011 at 9:10 am

    That’s so cute. Your children are darlings!

    And making play dough. You are truly uber-mom.

    Hope that you’re well and that whatever it was has ironed out.

  20. 21 DessertDarling May 12, 2011 at 12:33 am

    Awwe- I used to Love making play-dough when I was a kid! You’re creating such great memories for your kids :)

  21. 22 A Canadian Foodie May 12, 2011 at 9:43 pm

    What a beautiful post = as only you can write. Overflowing with love and heart. You missed Stella from Witchy Kitchen, unless Caldron Boy is her husband and not her son. For some reason, I think of him as her son. Of course, I could be wrong, but I do know how much you adore her (like I do).
    Mother’s Day is so special, isn’t it. Such dear photos of your treasures. Mothering is the hardest job, isn’t it. And, definitely, the most rewarding.
    Did you head over to your mom’s? You may not believe this, but this was the first year that my own daughter surprised me. Mother’s Day has always been all about my mother in our family. When the girls were younger, they had their special little cards from school, and that was so endearing. I still have everyone of them – but the day was always a day for celebrating the matriarch of our family: my mother. I have never thought of doing it any other way. I have always taken her and dad and the girls for brunch – and my sister, in these later years as she now lives here, too… and then everyone goes home and mom and I carry on and head out to Holes to buy bedding plants and a Mother’s Day Rose for her garden from me. This year, my daughter called two months early and announced she and my sister were doing the brunch (well, taking us all out) and that was a big treat! It felt odd, somehow. Mom and I still continued on, as usual, but she no longer lives in her home, and has no room for any bedding plants. I did find a gorgeous hanging plant for her that replaced the traditional rose. It is a beautiful day for the family. No doubt about it – and it will only get better.
    XO
    Valerie

    • 23 LeQuan May 12, 2011 at 10:29 pm

      Valerie,

      What a sweet family tradition about the bedding plants and a Mother’s Day rose that you have going on with your Mom. It was such a great joy to hear about how your family celebrates Mother’s Day. You’re definitely right, it will only get better from here. So glad that your daughter was able to surprise you this year!

      Yes, we celebrated at my parents’ house. Four moms this year, my Mom, Gary’s Mom (flew in for the weekend), my sister in-law, and myself. When it comes to celebrations, family is the key word :-D

      Oh, and yes, I did think of Stella, but I’m pretty sure Cauldron Boy is her stud muffin. Lol.

  22. 24 tigerfish May 19, 2011 at 3:07 am

    I was wondering…where have you gone? :O Happy Belated Mother’s Day to you!

    Take care.

  23. 25 Mary May 19, 2011 at 9:23 am

    I hope you, too, had a wonderful Mother’s Day. This is my first visit to your blog and I’ve spent some time browsing through your earlier entries. I really enjoyed the time I spent here and I’ll definitely be back. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  24. 26 Biren @ Roti n Rice May 24, 2011 at 11:35 am

    A very belated Mother’s Day to you LeQuan! I hope you had a good one. Mine was quiet but nice. Had lunch at a family style Italian restaurant. I remember it was raining pretty hard. One year agao, it was bright and sunny and I did a Mother’s Day guest post for Mary. How time flies… Thanks for thinking of me.

  25. 27 CourtJ June 4, 2011 at 11:00 am

    Your little ones look like they gave you a great day. The best part for me is getting cooked for :-)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

